Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars76
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.17+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 March 2008
Contrary to other's opinions I found this show to be extremely funny and well-planned. The theme of humour from the previous TV-series could be sensed in this show and each actor played their part with perfect timing.
I found their references to the TV-show, including a few catch-phrases, witty and a key part to some of the sketches. Although they used some of their previous jokes and ideas, they were used in such a way that they seemed new and refreshing.
This live show is a definate must-have for any Boosh or comedy fan. Even the extras had me laughing, especially the deleted scene. So if you enjoyed the TV and radio series, watching the live show is a good move!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2007
I took a chance on this as I had never seen The Mighty Boosh tv show before. I had a little knowledge of what the humour was like (having seen them perform on other shows etc) but was still prepared to maybe not like it in large doses. But happily I loved it from start to finish.

From the long introduction, including the fabulous Pies sketch to the second half which has a more coherent structure, all of it is bizarre, insane humour that is rooted in something very universal. The songs in particular are created in reference to other works, sounds that everyone would be familar with.

It also helps that Fielding and Barratt are emmensely likeable, easy to watch and very capable at handling a live audience. Which is just as well since there appears to be a constant heckler at the recording of this performance. It could have thrown them off numerous times but largely they just ignored him.

Now that Ive seen the tv show, I would even say that the live show is better. Barratt and Fielding seem to work best on stage, theres a nice feeling of "anything can happen" when they are live as opposed to the highly stylised, staged feeling of the series. Plus there are quite a few lines and sketches lifted from the show that clearly work better live.

I dont think its necessary to have seen the show before seeing this. In fact it was a nice introduction to the Boosh humour and I would recommend it highly.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2008
have seen this twice now. The first time round it felt too long and needed editing. It does run at over two hours. Second time it seemed to run along nicely. The plot seems a bit secondary, but it must be hard to sustain over 2 hours and during a lengthy tour. Jokes mostly work well, there are few actual duff moments. But this is raw stuff and the unexpected does happen on live tours. It comes across as adult surreal panto which isn't apparant in the shorter series or tv episodes. This is not a bad thing because there are good audience participation moments. Lots of swearing, (if that bothers you)but this is undiluted Boosh and probably closer to what they would have liked to have done on TV. Well worth watching though i prefer the 30 minute stories on TV. WARNING If you are new to the Boosh you are better off starting with seasons 1 and 2 before watching this or a lot of references in this will be lost on you.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2007
The trouble with all live comedy DVDs is that it will never be the same as being there. If you were one of the lucky ones who saw this show live last year, you might be interested in this as a souvenir (this was my excuse for buying it), otherwise you might be a bit mystified (see previous reviews). Probably the best way to watch this is a celebration of what was clearly a very enjoyable tour for Noel Fielding and Julian Barrett, and as a stop-gap while the boys get Series 3 up and running. Can't wait!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2007
As other reviewers have already said, unfortunately this isn't really as entertaining as the TV series itself. Don't get me wrong - it's not utter trash - just that your money is better spent on buying the first two series if you haven't already. I went to see the live show twice, and it was a great night out (espcially as the cast were dead friendly when doing autographs etc.), so it's possible I'd already worn it out before I got the DVD, but it does rely on a fair bit of recycling of the TV material or at least alluding to it. There's a pleasing number of extras on the DVDs which are probably as fun as extras ever get. Oh, and yes - the bad language and crudity are sometimes a bit much. All in all, hopefully it'll tide us over until series 3 hits our screens, but it's not quite the treat that the series 1 and 2 DVDs are. Oh, they really are very, very good. Make sure you get them won't you?
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2011
Ok. So a lot of "fans" have commented on this product, saying how terrible it is and quite frankly, that's not the case. I do have to agree that the first tour was slightly better than the second. But who cares?! it's still the same old lovable boosh. Vince is still the hilarious Vince we know and love, Howard, still a Jazz maverick, Naboo is still the tiny shaman followed closely by his familiar, Bollo. With familiar faces such as the hitcher and Bob fossil still making their appearances, newer faces such as Tony Harrison and The crack fox are warmly welcomed. With little sections for all the characters in the first half, the second half is a "serious" play about global warming - directed by Howard. Well known music from the T.V. show and some revenge on the honey monster to end, brings the show to a well rounded off finish. Any true boosh fan should enjoy, the jokes are still there and the characters are still the same ones we met in the first series. Don't listen to the rubbish that others have been writing about the quality being missing, If you ask me Its still a work of pure genius.

p.s. The Bonus playing cards are amazing :) hope you enjoy.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2010
Having heard little from the Boosh in a while, I was happy to see this released, so I purchased the special edition. Firstly, the new live DVD. Well,the entrance and half hour of Howard and Vince talking are very funny, with bits of audience interaction (latecomers being embarrassed!)thrown in. Then comes the "guest" part fo the evening, in which other characters are introduced. First up is Bob Fossil, whom I have never been a fan of-but he does do a reasonable routine, based on his dancing. Then comes Naboo and Bollo, sadly a disappointment, as they are on for a ludicrously short time, and their "rap" routine just doesn't do it for me. Next is Tony Harrison, live for the first time. Although his segment seems a bit under rehearsed, you have to laugh. Unfortunately, he introduces another character, played by Fulcher, a stand-up comedian who doesn't speak English. I advise you to fast-forward this section, it is Rich Fulcher at his most cringeworthy and least funny. It is then the turn of Julian Barratt as the crack fox, also live for the first time. Of course, he is hilarious, probably the best of the guests. It is then the Hitcher. well, perhaps he appears a little too often, but he does provide a reasonable routine.
Then, it is the second half. I was expecting a Boosh-style adventure, as seen during the last live show, but unfortunately it is a disappointing alternative-a play about global warming, written by Howard. Although the dialogue is essentially amusing, it just doesn't seem to be leading anywhere. There are too many resorts to the old joke of the other characters finding Howard tedious and trying to undermine him. And of course, there is another innuendo-laden performance from Fulcher, that is too silly to laugh at. when you reach the end of this section, it picks up. There is a good routine from "Eleanor", followed by a medley of Boosh music, and the execution of the Honey Monster, for plagarising the crimp. Now on to the other discs. The bonus features on disc 2 are reasonably good, with a backstage film. But I was disappointed to find the other 2 discs containing the previous live show, which I already own, and have written an Amazon review for (slight rip-off?).
The playing cards are very entertaining, well illustrated, in the "Top Trump" format. overall, it is mostly reasonable, with just a few downsides.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2009
Like the majority of people leaving reviews i love the boosh,the last 3 seasons have been great and there last live tour was hilarious,this on the other hand is not.It may have a bigger budget but its got a lot less laughs.Very disjointed,not enough of either bolo or naboo and the songs (for the majority) have all been used and heard in season 3.Fulcher was a good saving grace,but he alone couldnt breath life into this corpse of a show.what struck me most is that it was just one character after another roled out with very little aim,story or plot.

I would strongly urge you rent before you buy.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2011
i liked this so much i did my A level english language coursework on it, i had to transcribe it all, which took weeks of constantly going over it with a fine tooth comb, and analyse the humour - and after all that i still watch and enjoy it.

it's a brilliant live show, with the boosh being of cult status they have thousands of loyal fans who dress up in costumes from the tv show to the live show,it's hard not to go with the crowd on this as the humour and atmosphere is so infectious.

brilliantly funny and intelligent. buy it!! :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2008
The Mighty Boosh live is quite possibly the Boosh at their best. The show features Vince Noir, Howard Moon, Bob Fossil, Bollo, Naboo and characters such as Rudi, The Hitcher and Old Gregg. Vince and Howard go on a journey through the arctic tundra, and Spain, to retrieve the ruby of cuckundoo in order to save Naboo.

The only downside about the show is that the begninning dragged. The show takes a while to get going and some of the banter between Howard and Vince could have been cut short.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)