Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have
Contrary to other's opinions I found this show to be extremely funny and well-planned. The theme of humour from the previous TV-series could be sensed in this show and each actor played their part with perfect timing.
I found their references to the TV-show, including a few catch-phrases, witty and a key part to some of the sketches. Although they used some of...
Published on 23 Mar. 2008 by Kadaoies

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not as good as the TV series
As other reviewers have already said, unfortunately this isn't really as entertaining as the TV series itself. Don't get me wrong - it's not utter trash - just that your money is better spent on buying the first two series if you haven't already. I went to see the live show twice, and it was a great night out (espcially as the cast were dead friendly when doing...
Published on 15 Jan. 2007 by Mr. Philip Hackett


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have, 23 Mar. 2008
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh Live [DVD] (DVD)
Contrary to other's opinions I found this show to be extremely funny and well-planned. The theme of humour from the previous TV-series could be sensed in this show and each actor played their part with perfect timing.
I found their references to the TV-show, including a few catch-phrases, witty and a key part to some of the sketches. Although they used some of their previous jokes and ideas, they were used in such a way that they seemed new and refreshing.
This live show is a definate must-have for any Boosh or comedy fan. Even the extras had me laughing, especially the deleted scene. So if you enjoyed the TV and radio series, watching the live show is a good move!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mighty Boosh, 13 Jan. 2007
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh Live [DVD] (DVD)
I took a chance on this as I had never seen The Mighty Boosh tv show before. I had a little knowledge of what the humour was like (having seen them perform on other shows etc) but was still prepared to maybe not like it in large doses. But happily I loved it from start to finish.

From the long introduction, including the fabulous Pies sketch to the second half which has a more coherent structure, all of it is bizarre, insane humour that is rooted in something very universal. The songs in particular are created in reference to other works, sounds that everyone would be familar with.

It also helps that Fielding and Barratt are emmensely likeable, easy to watch and very capable at handling a live audience. Which is just as well since there appears to be a constant heckler at the recording of this performance. It could have thrown them off numerous times but largely they just ignored him.

Now that Ive seen the tv show, I would even say that the live show is better. Barratt and Fielding seem to work best on stage, theres a nice feeling of "anything can happen" when they are live as opposed to the highly stylised, staged feeling of the series. Plus there are quite a few lines and sketches lifted from the show that clearly work better live.

I dont think its necessary to have seen the show before seeing this. In fact it was a nice introduction to the Boosh humour and I would recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars undiluted Boosh, 30 Jan. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh Live [DVD] (DVD)
have seen this twice now. The first time round it felt too long and needed editing. It does run at over two hours. Second time it seemed to run along nicely. The plot seems a bit secondary, but it must be hard to sustain over 2 hours and during a lengthy tour. Jokes mostly work well, there are few actual duff moments. But this is raw stuff and the unexpected does happen on live tours. It comes across as adult surreal panto which isn't apparant in the shorter series or tv episodes. This is not a bad thing because there are good audience participation moments. Lots of swearing, (if that bothers you)but this is undiluted Boosh and probably closer to what they would have liked to have done on TV. Well worth watching though i prefer the 30 minute stories on TV. WARNING If you are new to the Boosh you are better off starting with seasons 1 and 2 before watching this or a lot of references in this will be lost on you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One for the already converted..., 30 Jan. 2007
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh Live [DVD] (DVD)
The trouble with all live comedy DVDs is that it will never be the same as being there. If you were one of the lucky ones who saw this show live last year, you might be interested in this as a souvenir (this was my excuse for buying it), otherwise you might be a bit mystified (see previous reviews). Probably the best way to watch this is a celebration of what was clearly a very enjoyable tour for Noel Fielding and Julian Barrett, and as a stop-gap while the boys get Series 3 up and running. Can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not as good as the TV series, 15 Jan. 2007
By 
Mr. Philip Hackett (Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh Live [DVD] (DVD)
As other reviewers have already said, unfortunately this isn't really as entertaining as the TV series itself. Don't get me wrong - it's not utter trash - just that your money is better spent on buying the first two series if you haven't already. I went to see the live show twice, and it was a great night out (espcially as the cast were dead friendly when doing autographs etc.), so it's possible I'd already worn it out before I got the DVD, but it does rely on a fair bit of recycling of the TV material or at least alluding to it. There's a pleasing number of extras on the DVDs which are probably as fun as extras ever get. Oh, and yes - the bad language and crudity are sometimes a bit much. All in all, hopefully it'll tide us over until series 3 hits our screens, but it's not quite the treat that the series 1 and 2 DVDs are. Oh, they really are very, very good. Make sure you get them won't you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very funny, 20 Feb. 2011
By 
Equinox "Atheistic Pagan" (Newcastle upon Tyne, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh Live [DVD] (DVD)
i liked this so much i did my A level english language coursework on it, i had to transcribe it all, which took weeks of constantly going over it with a fine tooth comb, and analyse the humour - and after all that i still watch and enjoy it.

it's a brilliant live show, with the boosh being of cult status they have thousands of loyal fans who dress up in costumes from the tv show to the live show,it's hard not to go with the crowd on this as the humour and atmosphere is so infectious.

brilliantly funny and intelligent. buy it!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant show, 14 Sept. 2008
By 
Ms. S. L. Lamb (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh Live [DVD] (DVD)
The Mighty Boosh live is quite possibly the Boosh at their best. The show features Vince Noir, Howard Moon, Bob Fossil, Bollo, Naboo and characters such as Rudi, The Hitcher and Old Gregg. Vince and Howard go on a journey through the arctic tundra, and Spain, to retrieve the ruby of cuckundoo in order to save Naboo.

The only downside about the show is that the begninning dragged. The show takes a while to get going and some of the banter between Howard and Vince could have been cut short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mighty Boosh Live, 30 Nov. 2006
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh Live [DVD] (DVD)
Simply put, if you like the Mighty Boosh, then you will want to buy this DVD. If you don't find the antics of Julian Barratt and Noel Fielding funny, then this probably won't convince you otherwise. For fans of the Boosh, however, there's some inspired stuff and the welcome return of old characters, including The Hitcher, Old Gregg, The Moon and Rudy. And yes, there is swearing, the Hitcher in particular gets to unleash some inspired vulgarity, but it's just typical Boosh humour in an area where they don't normally go to. And frankly, the "Naboolio" song is worth the price alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coming at you like a shark with knees., 21 Mar. 2007
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh Live [DVD] (DVD)
"The Mighty Boosh". Just the title perks up my interest and tips me into fangirl heaven. A victim to the charm I may be, but there's no doubt that this live show is the best stand-up out there.

Tip for you all: before watching this - watch the TV series! Many jokes centre around characters' adventures in the show, and also play on existing jokes (such as Naboo's "turning my back on you now..."), so if you watch the live before, it'll be a pretty futile 2 hours of your life.

I find it amusing how Mr "Anti-social Socialist" (2 reviews down) completely slanders this DVD while obviously having no prior knowledge of the Boosh. What single person found that review helpful? Himself? "One has an air of pretending to pretend to be pretentious and the other giggles like an idiot with a tedious voice." - It's called 'being in character', or even better - 'acting'.

So get out there, watch the TV series, then buy the live - it will provide the most surreal hours of your life you will ever bear witness to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty spot on, 27 Mar. 2007
By 
Ray Blake (Hemel Hempstead, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh Live [DVD] (DVD)
The Mighty Boosh was one of the most innovative sitcoms on TV and now it's one of the most innovative live acts. The jokes and references largely hit target and there is an impression that a large part of the show is improvised on the night.

My only criticism is that for me they spend too much time in front of the curtain. On TV this was a quick introduction, but here it is more like a full first act, and things only get going once the curtains open.

A warning to parents: whilst you can happily let the kids enjoy the TV series with you, they need to be safely out of the room for this; there's some very adult content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mighty Boosh Live [DVD]
The Mighty Boosh Live [DVD] by The Mighty Boosh (DVD - 2006)
£4.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews