Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Notch Again
I have always liked the Jeremy Clarkson Dvd's. My only complauin is that they usually spend too much time trying to "prove" something, and forget they are supposed to be funny and exciting. This new one though tells you pretty early on that the Americans can't make cars very well and sets about doing silly things in cars you don't often see.such as the Dodge Viper. The...
Published on 24 Nov. 2006 by W. R. Truelove

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Contraversial DVD
If you like Top Gear and cars, then I would go for this DVD.
In this edition, Clarckson travels to America and the aim of his mission is to find out if the Americas can actually make a decent car.

The main topic of conversation on this review page is that Jeremy Clarckson is being terribly biased and slagging not only American Cars off, but Americans...
Published on 2 Jan. 2009 by Jalelo Gram


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Notch Again, 24 Nov. 2006
By 
W. R. Truelove "mrmillwall" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jeremy Clarkson - The Good The Bad The Ugly [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I have always liked the Jeremy Clarkson Dvd's. My only complauin is that they usually spend too much time trying to "prove" something, and forget they are supposed to be funny and exciting. This new one though tells you pretty early on that the Americans can't make cars very well and sets about doing silly things in cars you don't often see.such as the Dodge Viper. The best bit is the new Ford GT hat I hadn't heard of, the X1 model. Clarkson is as funny as ever, especially when given free reign to slag off the yanks. This is probably his best DVD that I have seen, and is an easy present to anyone who likes cars. (I dare say I'll be buying it for one or two people)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's great - even better than last year!, 22 Nov. 2006
This review is from: Jeremy Clarkson - The Good The Bad The Ugly [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I bought this last week as I love Clarkson's DVDs and get them every year - but this one is by far the best. I've watched it twice already! It feels more like a movie rather than his normal DVDs, mainly because its not filmed on an airfield in the UK again but this time, he's on a desert in America which looks amazing! Clarkson is trying to find out if the American cars can match the European cars and as you can imagine, he has a lot to say about it! Its also got loads of new incredible stunts and even the Stig gets involved! I'd definitley recommend going out and buying this - its brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Had to import it....worth the wait...hysterical and brilliant!, 12 Jan. 2008
By 
Richardson "Clarence" (Sunny California USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jeremy Clarkson - The Good The Bad The Ugly [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
...Being an American ...its hard not to be offended by the stereotyping that Mr Clarkson carries on a bit too far on this program...well it would be if it weren't sadly...TRUE! As one of the few over here who's inseam is larger than his waistline, and who does know where Europe is and could name the countries I couldn't stop laughing at the ingenious combination of humor and information. I am slowly collecting the Clarkson DVDs from the UK and am jealous of you folks for the fact that you get to enjoy this type of program on a regular basis.
Highly recommended...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, Not Ugly, just Very Good, 15 Sept. 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jeremy Clarkson - The Good The Bad The Ugly [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This is Jezza's 2006 DVD annual, which was filmed in the United States, when Jeremy reviewed an interesting selection of American cars. It is clear from the opening shots that, by and large, he despises cars from the other side of the big pond. He starts with an assessment of the Corvette Z06, which he damns with faint praise. He then has a go at the obsession of the Yanks with firearms, and goes on to review a very pretty Ford Mustang convertible, which is compared unfavourably with a 1968 Mustang GT (I.e. the car which featured in the movie Bullitt). He next thrashes a Shelby Mustang and a Roush Mustang, which is much more like it. He enthuses about Roush's re-invention of the Mustang. I'm in the market to buy the very latest incarnation of the Ford Mustang, which is now finally available over here in right-hand drive, and so I was very interested in this segment of the show. The Roush is raced through the desert against a lower powered but more agile Lotus Exige, with interesting results. He goes on give it the beans with the gargantuan Chrysler 300C SRT, which he crucifies for its lack of handling. Sexiest of all, is the V10 Dodge Viper, which he gives a mixed review. Watching Jeremy's annual Christmas DVD is as essential as turkey and sherry trifle in my family, and I've never seen a bad one. However, I didn't give this one 5 stars, only because of the absence of any true supercars or hypercars (excluding the Viper). Given that a lot of these older Clarkson DVDs can now be picked up for a couple of quid, if not less, I think that they are now quite a bargain, especially if you're on the hunt to buy a second hand sports car, or even just dreaming about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Contraversial DVD, 2 Jan. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jeremy Clarkson - The Good The Bad The Ugly [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
If you like Top Gear and cars, then I would go for this DVD.
In this edition, Clarckson travels to America and the aim of his mission is to find out if the Americas can actually make a decent car.

The main topic of conversation on this review page is that Jeremy Clarckson is being terribly biased and slagging not only American Cars off, but Americans themselves. But I think you have just got to accept that this is just Jeremy Clarckson being himself. And I have to say, it is very funny.
Forgetting all the controvery, Clarckson does actually does do some good car tests: some of them serious; some of them not so serious. One of the funniest things has to be Jeremy walking across a million way junction, and still not getting hit by a car. Another comical part is when he blows up a motorbike - I get the message that he can't stand them. Probably one of the funniest parts though, is when gets a gunslinger and tells him to shoot up a Toyota Prius. Nearly fell out of my seat laughing when I saw the window smashing. Man, the Toyota Prius is a bad looking car.

What I think this product lacked is it needed more stunts and things you can keep rewinding and looking at for endless times. Also, for most of the DVD he is in the desert and I feel that he could do more tests in the city. Another criticism of mine (I have mentioned this before) is he slags Americans and their cars of but I don't really seem to mind.

Overall, a good DVD but could do with a little more stunts however, it is still fun to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crazy, 14 Feb. 2013
By 
I. White "Wheelieman" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jeremy Clarkson - The Good The Bad The Ugly [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
If you love Top Gear then this is a must
Full of crazy antics and wonderful commentary from Jeremy Clarkson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD OLD JEREMY, 23 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Jeremy Clarkson - The Good The Bad The Ugly [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
in this DVD Jeremy puts American cars against some of Europes finest in a quest to find a good American car.he also sees if the Americans are any good at destroying a car,or if they build cars as good as the rest of the world.I am a big fan of jeremy clarkson and think this would not be something to be ashamed of.overall this DVD is a very good effort but it does last a bit too long at 80 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing, 10 Jan. 2011
By 
Jack Downey (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jeremy Clarkson - The Good The Bad The Ugly [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I struggled to pick a start rating for this. If you like Jeremy Clarkson, you'll probably enjoy this. If you're American, you probably won't, because this is essentially a hatchet job on the American performance car.

It's set on the race track and there is lots of tire smoke as Jeremy goes sideways with each car. However, he sets out his bias at the start - he's not a fan of America in general and doesn't like its cars. The rest of the DVD sets out to "prove" that these are no good.

However, some of the comparisons are ridiculous. For instance, he has the Stig lap the track in a Dodge Ram and then in an Ariel Atom. Unsurprisingly, the Atom is significantly quicker. However, Jeremy doesn't then bolt a tow bar to the Atom, so they can compare their towing abilities.

Another strange scene was Jeremy driving a Jaguar XK8 through Death Valley and waxing lyrically about its wonders. How come he doesn't race an American car in this? Or even acknowledge that it was an American company, Ford, who taught Jaguar the meaning of quality.

So at the end of this DVD, you will know that American cars are not like European cars. But you probably knew this already. What I think would have been more interesting is if Jeremy had explored what makes a great car for an American. I'm sure he'd quickly realize that Americans have a different set of requirements to us Europeans and maybe our cars are not so good in an American context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 29 Mar. 2007
By 
Saturnicus "Saturnicus" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Jeremy Clarkson - The Good The Bad The Ugly [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Clarkson does not pull punches. Nor is he objective. He hates most things foreign (especially American) unless it is a good car. I first saw this on boxing day and thought it was great fun.

I thoroughy enjoyed this DVD and if you don't want to take Clarkson too seriously it is a good buy. But he does make you stop and think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jezza, what a legend!, 19 Mar. 2007
By 
Mr. J. Jones "J Jones" (Farnham, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jeremy Clarkson - The Good The Bad The Ugly [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Got his DVD for Xmas 2006, stuck it in the DVD player straight away and I was blown away! Anybody who is a fan of the car reviews on Top Gear - the camera work, the music, the sound effects, the editing, the way the dialogue is constructed - will LOVE this DVD! Features some awesome cars, incredibly witty comments by Jeremy, an interesting experiment with a Lincoln and a Jag to see which one would make the best swimming pool... or reservoir!... and to finish it all off Jeremy takes the GT40 for a spin, literally! The camera work & editing in this DVD is top notch, as a media student I look at this stuff for inspiration every day! In sum - *must have* viewing for any car fanatic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jeremy Clarkson - The Good The Bad The Ugly [DVD] [2006]
£1.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews