Customer Reviews


138 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!
My baby and I love this octopus! It was bigger than I thought but probably because he has another octopus (only has 6 legs though! which is one reason why I bought this one) that is smaller. The musical notes keep my baby's attention and he smiles when he hears it. He is 3 months old now so not yet able to squeeze the legs yet but I'm sure he will love it even more when...
Published on 14 Oct. 2010 by Barbara Griffith

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its okay, and thats all
this is a fun toy, but ridiculously heavy, definitely not for a newborn, better suited to children 9 months+
squeezing the octotunes legs are a task in itself, and that is for an adult, could have been built better.
however all that said and done, our baby does like sitting and having staring competitions with it
Published 9 months ago by AHalai


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 14 Oct. 2010
By 
Barbara Griffith "new mum" (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lamaze Octotunes (Toy)
My baby and I love this octopus! It was bigger than I thought but probably because he has another octopus (only has 6 legs though! which is one reason why I bought this one) that is smaller. The musical notes keep my baby's attention and he smiles when he hears it. He is 3 months old now so not yet able to squeeze the legs yet but I'm sure he will love it even more when that time comes :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its okay, and thats all, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lamaze Octotunes (Toy)
this is a fun toy, but ridiculously heavy, definitely not for a newborn, better suited to children 9 months+
squeezing the octotunes legs are a task in itself, and that is for an adult, could have been built better.
however all that said and done, our baby does like sitting and having staring competitions with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much grinning, 7 April 2008
This review is from: Lamaze Octotunes (Toy)
My little one loves Octotunes. It sits there benignly, getting passed over in favour of toys with more immediate gratification but after a toot or two of the tentacles, everything gets dropped and she sits transfixed with a grin as wide as you like as I belt out a simple tune. It'll be a while before she can muster the strength to get a sound out of it herself but she also has the vanilla scent to keep her interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic fun, 14 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Lamaze Octotunes (Toy)
So good my daughter hasn't had the chance to play with it as myself and my husband have been challenging eachother to recreate different well known tunes!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beloved toy, 1 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Lamaze Octotunes (Toy)
My toddler saw this at a friends house before christmas and played with nothing else. Santa was kind enough to get her one and she loves it! It wouldn't be more than a cute cuddly toy until the child has large and strong enough hands to squash the legs and make horn noises, each leg a different pitch, but at two plus it's loads of fun (and her 9 year old sister loves it too!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Niece is a big fan!, 16 Dec. 2010
By 
Mr. N. J. Armstrong (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lamaze Octotunes (Toy)
I bought this as a present for my niece and she absolutely loves it. I had to pry it off my sister-in-law of course after she fell in love with the smell!

My neice is perhaps a little young to get the full enjoyment out of the song capabilities of the legs, but she loves the bright colours and smell, and will hopefully grow to use the legs in time.

It will be interesting to see how long the smell lasts (as a bonus) but so far I would absolutely recommend this present to anyone :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars smell yummy, 25 Oct. 2010
By 
Ms. Laura Nelson (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lamaze Octotunes (Toy)
This is a lovely toy, it smells gorgeous and looks great. Is a nice big toy, bigger than I thought it would be than when I ordered it which is a bonus. Makes lovely tunes from the octopus tentacles, it does that my little boy a few attempts to get it but he's only 10 months so I'm sure he'll get there in the end. This toy is well made as always from the lamaze range. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic smiles and smells so good, 30 April 2008
This review is from: Lamaze Octotunes (Toy)
My Daughter adores this just wish it was small enough to take out everywhere. Lovely scent of vanilla really nice wish all toys smelt this good . Mum and Dad love it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice Smell But Too Heavy and Cumbersome, 23 Nov. 2011
By 
MLA (Jakarta, Indonesia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lamaze Octotunes (Toy)
Lamaze Octotunes is not the best toy in the Lamaze range. It smells wonderful - the vanilla scent has kept for a couple of years. However, as a toy it is too large and cumbersome to be a good companion for babies. It is too heavy to lift and can't be manipulated easily because the balance isn't great. The musicality is ok but is too difficult for babies to actually play. It does create a nice clear note but this is a difficult instrument to play even for daddies.

Octotunes looks great and the big smiling face is a real plus. Babies seem drawn to come and say hello. What they can do with it is somewhat limited though. It is too heavy for a baby to move around consistently. It can't be whisked off into other areas, it can't be put on or in things, and the shape makes it difficult to drag. Other Lamaze products are much much lighter. The eight legs are a little cumbersome and it isn't really possible for babies to get them in a position to be able to play the notes. The legs naturally tuck underneath and around one another and don't splay when Octotunes is put into a standing position. Time has to be taken putting the legs in order to get them ready for some sound.

The sound is the main purpose of Octotunes. The eight notes are played by pressing the end of the Octotunes legs. A baby will not find this easy. Grasping the pressure points on the leg requires a hand considerably larger than that of a baby. With other Lamaze products creating their sound much more easily, a baby won't be drawn to play with this one as often. The notes require quite a hard squeeze so it is not really easy to play them in a fast sequence. A traditional octave will be a bit slower than a parent might expect. It is also a little frustrating for an adult to not be able to just grab the legs and have the noise come out easily. It isn't something that can be sung along to for instance.

The quality of the finish and the smell are excellent. Lamaze products are well made and Octotunes is no exception. There seems little risk of a baby pulling Octotunes apart. The vanilla smell is very appealing and has held for us for over a year so far. The smell is probably the best feature.

Octotunes seems nice enough but it doesn't hit the main target which is to make music. Compared with Eddie the Elephant Tunes a baby will find it much harder to enjoy. A baby with a lot of music in its life will not find Octotunes to be a huge influence. Eddie Elephant Tunes is a more engaging musical member of the Lamaze line and a better buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lamaze Octotunes (Toy)
Got the first one and had to send it back as one of the legs didn't work. Got a replacement and had to send that one back too with the same problem. Such a shame as it's a great idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lamaze Octotunes
£16.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews