Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely sublime.
I have never been a huge Isis fan. I never got into Oceanic and whilst Panopticon had some good moments for me something was missing. I felt that the length of the songs was sometimes artificially long and got bored of listening to certain parts over and over.

But this album, this album is just something else, it's probably the best album I've heard this year...
Published on 10 Nov 2006 by D. Connolly

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars in the absence of grind.
Celestial and Oceanic were simple, grinding behemoths - expansive drum sounds, harsh gravel vocals and a massively metallic guitar sound that thundered and crunched. Along with other side projects, Turner et al created a sound that borrowed as much as it gave in the post metal genre..

And then he took Isis in another direction, a more instrumentally robust...
Published on 30 Dec 2008 by D. T. Brunetti


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely sublime., 10 Nov 2006
By 
D. Connolly (Middle England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Absence Of Truth (Audio CD)
I have never been a huge Isis fan. I never got into Oceanic and whilst Panopticon had some good moments for me something was missing. I felt that the length of the songs was sometimes artificially long and got bored of listening to certain parts over and over.

But this album, this album is just something else, it's probably the best album I've heard this year by far (unless something sneaks in before the end. I don't even know where to begin, the contrast between the soft and the hard is absolutely perfect, there is very little unnecessary repetition and the whole thing just flows so well. The heavy riffs are amazing, so dense and textured with little Egyptian style guitar licks in the background whilst the softer parts ebbs and flow around the edges, slowly increasing in density resulting in huge almost tantrum like outbursts of sound.

I am thoroughly impressed with this album and am looking forward to one day seeing this band live.

This is a modern classic. Anyone into post modern rock should own this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My two cents, 7 Nov 2007
By 
Mrs. Caroline G. Merrett (Bristol England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Absence Of Truth (Audio CD)
Before i start i would just like to say Isis are not a poor man's tool.

I bought this album by chance in January, As the front cover was that much different to every other album on the shelf.

Isis aren't your normal band you wont find a quick 3 minute sing along here, Instead you find complex sprawling tracks full of emotion, Despite the fact that Aaron doesn't actually sing that much. The music really does speak for itself, The heavy pounding of the drums, the consistency of the bassist, and the effortless way the guitarists flow in-between fiddly little riffs to full on rock out mode.

Every track on this album fits together so well, It never seems to miss a beat from the Epic opener that is "Wrist of Kings", To the Raw power of "Dulcinea", Followed by the brooding beauty of "Over Root and Thorn". "Garden of light" is the perfect album ender showing you in one song what most bands need two or three albums to do.

In my opinion one of the best albums i have ever bought.
I'm very glad i took a chance on Isis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Album, 2 April 2011
By 
churst1 (nottingham,England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Absence Of Truth (Audio CD)
Awesome Album.
Melodic Yet Heavy in equal measure.
The Best album these guys made.
Buy it.In Absence of Truth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric!, 8 Jun 2014
This review is from: In Absence Of Truth (Audio CD)
I love Isis and I think this is their best album. It draws you in and builds in intensity. It has a wonderful dark atmospheric sound. I bought it having listened to Panopticon and I think this album is even better than that. Well worth investing your money in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars in the absence of grind., 30 Dec 2008
By 
D. T. Brunetti "manmadeofjam" (North London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Absence Of Truth (Audio CD)
Celestial and Oceanic were simple, grinding behemoths - expansive drum sounds, harsh gravel vocals and a massively metallic guitar sound that thundered and crunched. Along with other side projects, Turner et al created a sound that borrowed as much as it gave in the post metal genre..

And then he took Isis in another direction, a more instrumentally robust direction that lost nothing that was an integral lynchpin to their sound but didn't feel the same: it was like Turner had turned to his musical influences and wanted to expand Isis into something more like them.
I'm not intimating that this sounds like Floyd or Hendrix, but their progression as a band seems more in tune with a 'prog' mentality than anything previous.

ItAoT is an excellently pieced together album which, from anyone else, would be lauded as the next big thing, but due to Isis's calibre it doesn't look so fulfilling. I find this deserves a three star because unfortunately there are very few epiphanic, orgasmic, spine-tingling moments where I've remembered a crushing riff or a vocal line that makes me shiver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mourning the passing of the first ISIS era., 11 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: In Absence Of Truth (Audio CD)
Oceanic was great, Panopticon was superb. In the Absence of Truth isn't as good as either.

Panapticon is my No.1 all time favourite album. In it there a certain ISIS something that sets them apart from Red Sparowes, Pelican and all those other Post Metal bands. Oceanic and Panoptican had it by the bucket load. In Absence of Truth has it for some tracks - but the bits between fail to maintain the interest - which was the key feature of the last two albums. I can see that turning out masterpieces can get a bit boring if your the creators - and it was worth a try to go this direction. If you've not got Panopticon or Oceanic then buy them. Then try this and mourn the passing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutly great record, a modern masterpiece., 21 Oct 2006
By 
Gs Greaves "gavinmbm" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Absence Of Truth (Audio CD)
Oceanic was great, Panopticon was superb. In the Absence of Truth is without doubt their best yet, it's also the best record of it's kind in some time. With Mogwai's soppy duds keeping on rolling out, Isis continue to offer something different. I think this album will be talked about for some time. It WILL be on many end of year top 10 lists.

In the Absence of Truth is a masterpiece. It's a grower, for sure. But it rewards your listens with mighty bounty. Seriously good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Treading the line between killer & filler, 29 Sep 2007
This review is from: In Absence Of Truth (Audio CD)
Definitely somewhat diluted compared to panopticon and oceanic. Still nice sounding riffs but not as compelling as past tracks. The sound seems to be more Post-Rock than Post-Metal. Its still heavy, but the overall feel is much more progressive. Having said that there are many a post rock band that do it that little better:- Explosions In The Sky, Sigur Rós etc.
I would recommend you still buy it though as even a wounded Isis easily tramples over the rest of the bands in this area of metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Absence Of Truth
In Absence Of Truth by Isis (Rock) (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews