Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars88
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£2.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 13 February 2008
I grew up in an era of Bruce Lee, Chuck Norris and Jackie Chan (amongst others) churning out classic after classic to satisfy the Kung-Fu-mania sweeping through the US.

However, if there has ever been a movie that more successfully addresses the ethos behind all martial arts, while at the same time, delivering the very highest quality in Hollywood-glossed action, I've not seen it! Jet Li is awesome, as are the rest of the cast.

An absolute classic! If there is anyone out there who was a fan of martial arts movies as a kid and has not seen this, it will make your day! Pay whatever they're asking!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
on 21 September 2007
Even including the vibrant and polished martial arts film `Hero' in which Jet Li also stars `Fearless' is, if not the most exciting martial arts film I've seen in recent years then it's definitely the most original and poignant. The film begins with a tone that's quite playful and humorous as Jet Li's character Huo Yuanjia is a young boy and with aspirations to follow in his father's footsteps and train in the ancient fighting style known as wushu. At that point my expectations weren't particularly high for a film that would offer anything other than the familiar martial arts' surface gloss. Forever accompanied by his faithful friend Nong Jinsun there are liberal doses of comedy (albeit with equal helpings of bloodshed and brutality) and you might begin to wonder as I did if there's likely to be any exploration of a warrior's psyche implied in the film's synopsis, or if it will simply be another empty vessel of high kicks and upper-cuts. But this film is destined to surprise you...

Gradually and grippingly the film begins to build a slightly darker, but also more touching tone, as a tragic fate befalls Huo's family thanks to his arrogance and eagerness to embrace conflict rather than peace. From that point on Huo goes on a journey of self discovery, finding himself in the end in a similar position but with the chance to make the right decision, even if it means making the greatest sacrifice a warrior can make. In fact `Fearless' explores the spectrum of human emotion from humour to grief, honour to forgiveness. If this is to be Jet Li's final martial arts movie, it's easily one of his greater achievements as an actor in this genre. Artfully and poignantly directed, well-acted and beautifully filmed. Stunning and moving.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 20 April 2007
A Film that I enjoyed very much. It has a very strong plot which is also based on a true story about an martial arts master, Huo Yuan Jia and together with great actors and actresses, a masterpiece is presented. As an Asian, I have already seen too much martial arts movie, however this one stuns me with the story and acting as I have mentioned above, but as well as their visual effects, every movement is shown clearly, one would find their heart beating hard as the fight is going on, the music in the film also fits perfectly with the film. I have to mention that this film is quite Hollywood standard and I believe it is because Jet Li had already learn a few elements to make a good Hollywood film when he was filming some Hollywood films a few years back. As Jet Li has said, this will be his last martial arts movie and wants to make it a good one, I think he has already fulfilled his dreams, because this is a truly Jet Li movie and I think a lot of people would like this film.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 30 June 2007
I watched this film about 3 times in a row. It's simply brilliant. A great story line based on a real legend which honors martial artists across the globe. As mentioned the fights are brilliantly done but what i really like about this film is the acting, i found myself really involved with the story and loved the way Jet is able to play a more mature role i was actually impressed by his acting, no offense JET!! looking forward to War. This is a must buy for fans alike.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Very loosely based on a true story, Fearless is the story of Huo Yuanjia, a martial artist who became famous by challenging and defeating martial artists from around the world in order to return pride to the Chinese nation at the beginning of the twentieth century. In the film Huo Yuanjia faces personal tragedy but overcomes all obstacles until he becomes a world renowned martial artist.

Although not terribly historically accurate this film is still entertaining to watch with some great fight choreography and a little more depth than you would get from the usual martial arts movie. Personally I found that the main problem with the film, and the only reason I didn't give it five stars, was Jet Li himself. Although his martial arts is peerless and a joy to watch I feel he is not greatly gifted in the acting department seeming rather uncomfortable and unconvincing in the quieter parts of the film. Overall however Fearless was a most enjoyable movie with a nice story and a surprisingly emotional ending. Although not the best martial arts movie in the world I do feel that any fan of the genre would enjoy this film.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
on 20 September 2006
when i went to watch this film, i was expecting something similar to 'Hero' or 'House of Flying Daggers,' where everything is incredibly bright and colourful, and the fighting seems more like a ballet than anything else

with Fearless i was pleasantly surprised by what i saw; the fighting was fast, gritty and shocking, reminding me of the classic 70's kung fu films but with a much more polished, up to date edge. the story was not especially epic, but that's what i loved about it; there was an elegant simplicity to the whole thing that made it easy to connect with and enjoyable to watch. nothing pretentious or over-the-top.

so, if you loved the action in the 70's kung fu films (or just martial arts in general), if you enjoy a good story, and if you have the stomach for some tragic, shocking and violent scenes, then this film won't dissapoint.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 11 April 2009
Very good movie, excellent picture quality and all versions of the movie! One of my favorite Jet Li movies.... so far :-)

For all Germanns: Ihr könnt bedenkenlos zuschlagen. Wie mein Vorredner bereits erwähnte kann man zu Beginn des Filmes alle drei Versionen (Unrated, DC, Kino) auswählen! Leider kein Deutscher Untertitel verfügbar aber das Schulenglisch sollte ausreichen.

Greetings from Lake of Constance
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 30 December 2006
Jet Li, champion wushu practicioner and martial arts movies star, has out done not only himself, but other martial artists as well. He, along with director Ronny Yu create not only one of the best martial arts films ever, but an excellent historical story about a man's (Huo Yuanjia) conflict with himself, on his journey to represent an entire country.

This movie showcases some of the most magnificently staged sparring, including matching and different styles and weapons. The first two major fights are "wushu vs. wushu" style fights, as Huo Yuanjia, who taught himself wushu against his father's wishes, tries to egotistically turn himself into a local champion, forgetting what his parents tried to teach him, forgetting what wushu and the martial arts are truly about and going only for personal glory. Due to circustances about the 2nd of these fights that should not be revealed, he exiles himself, and learns through self-examination and self-awareness the lessons his parents were teaching.

Upon returning, and seeing the ridicule forced upon the Chinese by other countries at that time (1900's), he takes on the reigning US Champion Hercules O'Brien (played by Nathan Jones, WWF wrestling champion). Truly one of the best choreographed fights in recent film history, the massive Jones against the dimunitive Li is one of the martial highlights of the film.

Huo Yuanjia, with the help of his childhood friend, then founds the Jin Wu Sports Federation (still in existence today), to rebuild pride in China.

The beginning and ending of the film spotlights Huo Yanjia vs. four champions (three from the west and one from Japan). The bonus material in the film briefly reviews these four champions true to life martial arts expertise and experience, giving credence to why these fights scenes are so amazingly real.

The bonus material, especially the "Fearless Journey" piece, is an excellent albeit short review of Jet Li's vision of wushu.

This movie is on my list of top ten martial arts films of all time, besting even Jet Li's Fists of Legend and some of Bruce Lee's best. While the martial arts sequences are the centerpiece, the story represents truly what wushu and martial arts are about: the struggle we all have with ourselves to be better tomorrow that we are today. It is an enjoyable film to watch.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 13 March 2008
The action scenes are quite simply stunning (if you like that sort of thing) and the story does have an interesting moral to tell, without being patronising or banal. Jet Li is brilliant, but other actors tend to be lost in his shadow and thus are 2-D. Definitely one of the best Martial Arts
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 4 January 2008
After the fairly gripping beginning the pace slumps a bit and I was left thinking that this would be a conventional Kung Fu film with lots of action fights but without any depth to it. I almost switched it off and went to bed. BUT... The tone suddenly changed and grabbed my attention. Suddenly I realised that this film was dealing with ideas many martial artists have considered-such as the purpose of martial arts. Is it purely to be the best, the strongest, the most dangerous, or is there something more to it? So for me there was a lot of depth to it. It was only at the end of the film that I realised that the film was actually about a historical character. And I think it's probably got the best acting from Jet Lee I've ever seen.
As other reviewers have commented, this film has been over edited and wireworked, and the amount of blood flying around at times is a bit OTT. However, I still enjoyed it. I have deducted one star because I think that there was potential to make this an even better film but the director took the easy way out and went for conventional wire work fights (Although they're still pretty good).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
House Of Flying Daggers [2004] [DVD]
House Of Flying Daggers [2004] [DVD] by Takeshi Kaneshiro (DVD - 2005)

Ip Man [DVD] [2008]
Ip Man [DVD] [2008] by Donnie Yen (DVD - 2009)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.