Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably the greatest martial arts movie ever!!!
I grew up in an era of Bruce Lee, Chuck Norris and Jackie Chan (amongst others) churning out classic after classic to satisfy the Kung-Fu-mania sweeping through the US.

However, if there has ever been a movie that more successfully addresses the ethos behind all martial arts, while at the same time, delivering the very highest quality in Hollywood-glossed...
Published on 13 Feb 2008 by W. brown

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Whoosh, Wushu and Why Ronny Yu?
Fearless is directed by Ronny Yu and co-written by Chris Chow, Christine To, Wang Bin and Li Feng. It stars Jet Li, Dong Yong, Nakamura Shido II, Collin Chou and Betty Sun. Music is by Shigeru Umebayashi and cinematography by Poon Hang-sang. Film is a loose telling of the life of Huo Yuanjia, a Chinese martial artist who was involved in a number of high profile fights...
Published on 4 Feb 2012 by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably the greatest martial arts movie ever!!!, 13 Feb 2008
By 
W. brown "Love it!" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fearless [HD DVD] (HD DVD)
I grew up in an era of Bruce Lee, Chuck Norris and Jackie Chan (amongst others) churning out classic after classic to satisfy the Kung-Fu-mania sweeping through the US.

However, if there has ever been a movie that more successfully addresses the ethos behind all martial arts, while at the same time, delivering the very highest quality in Hollywood-glossed action, I've not seen it! Jet Li is awesome, as are the rest of the cast.

An absolute classic! If there is anyone out there who was a fan of martial arts movies as a kid and has not seen this, it will make your day! Pay whatever they're asking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Destined to surprise you, 21 Sep 2007
By 
Fantasy Lore - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fearless [DVD] (DVD)
Even including the vibrant and polished martial arts film `Hero' in which Jet Li also stars `Fearless' is, if not the most exciting martial arts film I've seen in recent years then it's definitely the most original and poignant. The film begins with a tone that's quite playful and humorous as Jet Li's character Huo Yuanjia is a young boy and with aspirations to follow in his father's footsteps and train in the ancient fighting style known as wushu. At that point my expectations weren't particularly high for a film that would offer anything other than the familiar martial arts' surface gloss. Forever accompanied by his faithful friend Nong Jinsun there are liberal doses of comedy (albeit with equal helpings of bloodshed and brutality) and you might begin to wonder as I did if there's likely to be any exploration of a warrior's psyche implied in the film's synopsis, or if it will simply be another empty vessel of high kicks and upper-cuts. But this film is destined to surprise you...

Gradually and grippingly the film begins to build a slightly darker, but also more touching tone, as a tragic fate befalls Huo's family thanks to his arrogance and eagerness to embrace conflict rather than peace. From that point on Huo goes on a journey of self discovery, finding himself in the end in a similar position but with the chance to make the right decision, even if it means making the greatest sacrifice a warrior can make. In fact `Fearless' explores the spectrum of human emotion from humour to grief, honour to forgiveness. If this is to be Jet Li's final martial arts movie, it's easily one of his greater achievements as an actor in this genre. Artfully and poignantly directed, well-acted and beautifully filmed. Stunning and moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 30 Jun 2007
By 
A. Gadney "Yuusuru" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fearless [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this film about 3 times in a row. It's simply brilliant. A great story line based on a real legend which honors martial artists across the globe. As mentioned the fights are brilliantly done but what i really like about this film is the acting, i found myself really involved with the story and loved the way Jet is able to play a more mature role i was actually impressed by his acting, no offense JET!! looking forward to War. This is a must buy for fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Martial Arts extravanganza, 20 April 2007
This review is from: Fearless [DVD] (DVD)
A Film that I enjoyed very much. It has a very strong plot which is also based on a true story about an martial arts master, Huo Yuan Jia and together with great actors and actresses, a masterpiece is presented. As an Asian, I have already seen too much martial arts movie, however this one stuns me with the story and acting as I have mentioned above, but as well as their visual effects, every movement is shown clearly, one would find their heart beating hard as the fight is going on, the music in the film also fits perfectly with the film. I have to mention that this film is quite Hollywood standard and I believe it is because Jet Li had already learn a few elements to make a good Hollywood film when he was filming some Hollywood films a few years back. As Jet Li has said, this will be his last martial arts movie and wants to make it a good one, I think he has already fulfilled his dreams, because this is a truly Jet Li movie and I think a lot of people would like this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a simple, great film, 20 Sep 2006
This review is from: Fearless [DVD] (DVD)
when i went to watch this film, i was expecting something similar to 'Hero' or 'House of Flying Daggers,' where everything is incredibly bright and colourful, and the fighting seems more like a ballet than anything else

with Fearless i was pleasantly surprised by what i saw; the fighting was fast, gritty and shocking, reminding me of the classic 70's kung fu films but with a much more polished, up to date edge. the story was not especially epic, but that's what i loved about it; there was an elegant simplicity to the whole thing that made it easy to connect with and enjoyable to watch. nothing pretentious or over-the-top.

so, if you loved the action in the 70's kung fu films (or just martial arts in general), if you enjoy a good story, and if you have the stomach for some tragic, shocking and violent scenes, then this film won't dissapoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent BD!, 11 April 2009
By 
Kepptain "Kepptain" (Lake Constance, Germany) - See all my reviews
Very good movie, excellent picture quality and all versions of the movie! One of my favorite Jet Li movies.... so far :-)

For all Germanns: Ihr könnt bedenkenlos zuschlagen. Wie mein Vorredner bereits erwähnte kann man zu Beginn des Filmes alle drei Versionen (Unrated, DC, Kino) auswählen! Leider kein Deutscher Untertitel verfügbar aber das Schulenglisch sollte ausreichen.

Greetings from Lake of Constance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 13 Mar 2008
By 
C. Jones (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fearless [HD DVD] (HD DVD)
The action scenes are quite simply stunning (if you like that sort of thing) and the story does have an interesting moral to tell, without being patronising or banal. Jet Li is brilliant, but other actors tend to be lost in his shadow and thus are 2-D. Definitely one of the best Martial Arts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Fear, 6 Jun 2007
By 
Donald Thompson "waldo357" (Belfast N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fearless [DVD] (DVD)
Is this Jet Li's final Martial Arts Movie? Who can tell. What I can tell you about this movie is that it is on a par with Hero, House Of Flying Daggers, Couching Tiger Hidden Dragon and the finest Chinese cimema of the last 10 years. It egiac, beautifully choreographed, elegantly shot and with a credible storyline. Jet Li gives a rouned performance as both an actor and acion star, but its the support actinf which makes this movie stand out as a belieable slice f mrtial arts film making. In the past these characters have been two dimensional grotesques with noting but black or white to add. This movie is full of rounded characterisaion.

The action sequenes are not subtle, they are breathtaking. As usual the "westerners" are the baddies, but some of the chinese characters are less than scrupulous.

With elegantly composed shots, a proper script, fast dynamic action sequences and proper acting, this is a rare breed, a martial arts movie anyone can watch. Without having heard of Bruce Lee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So long and thanks for all the fist, 13 May 2007
By 
M. O. HAYNES "couch magpie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fearless [DVD] (DVD)
This is a well made solid film which demonstrates Jet Li's ability to outclass most of his contemporaries. The fight scenes are excellently choreographed and filmed and the East versus West story is good. I was saddened to find out that this is Jet Li's last film as a lot of my favorite Martial Arts films are his - Unleashed being the most recent that springs to mind. This film is a little more thoughtful than Unleashed and less mired in Hollywood Blockbuster 'action hero' film writing cliches although is equally as naive in places. It was a pleasure to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid if not stunning martial arts movie, 9 Jan 2008
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fearless [DVD] (DVD)
Very loosely based on a true story, Fearless is the story of Huo Yuanjia, a martial artist who became famous by challenging and defeating martial artists from around the world in order to return pride to the Chinese nation at the beginning of the twentieth century. In the film Huo Yuanjia faces personal tragedy but overcomes all obstacles until he becomes a world renowned martial artist.

Although not terribly historically accurate this film is still entertaining to watch with some great fight choreography and a little more depth than you would get from the usual martial arts movie. Personally I found that the main problem with the film, and the only reason I didn't give it five stars, was Jet Li himself. Although his martial arts is peerless and a joy to watch I feel he is not greatly gifted in the acting department seeming rather uncomfortable and unconvincing in the quieter parts of the film. Overall however Fearless was a most enjoyable movie with a nice story and a surprisingly emotional ending. Although not the best martial arts movie in the world I do feel that any fan of the genre would enjoy this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa72f5618)

This product

Fearless [DVD]
Fearless [DVD] by Nan Sun (DVD - 2006)
2.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews