Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait, 29 Oct 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Allo 'Allo! - Series 5 - Volume 1 [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
Listen very carefully I will say this only once.

This has been a long time coming but well worth the wait. Rene carries on from where he left of in series four having lost Maria in the post Rene has now got Mimi la bonque to contend with she is the new waitress sent in by the resistance, Mimi is a small girl who would love to kill the Germans and Rene has his hands full stopping her and if that isn't enough he still has to hide the British airmen, the fallen madona with the big boobies, the cuckoo clock, and the cracked vase with the big daises as well avoiding Lieutenant Gruber, keeping Col Von Strohm happy with the girls wet celery and the flying helmet, and helping the resistance, not forgetting officer crabtree with his unique French language also deceiving Edith with his affair with Yvette. And to top it all the Italians get involved in the form of Capt Alberto Bertorelli poor Rene how dos he do it.
This is a classic series and there are nine altogether I intend to buy all of them if they all are released (series five part two out in December can't wait)
A very funny program with hilarious innuendoes and stereotyped caricatures that work well together.
BBC have put some classical situation comedies together and this is one of the best .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well, it's great but..., 24 Nov 2006
By 
K. Wheeler "hughjampton" (Swanage, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 'Allo 'Allo! - Series 5 - Volume 1 [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely adore Allo Allo, and am thrilled that they are finally releasing more. I thought we were going to have an endless stream of the first few series of everything ever made, and never finish any of them.

Two problems with series 5. Firstly the episodes are shorter; because they did a whole marathon run of 26 episodes they've spread events a bit thinner.

And secondly, and my biggest bugbear, why not just one Season 5 box set? Almost every other programme has them - Keeping Up Appearances, Green Wing, X-Files, Alias, etc

Oh well, here's looking forward to the end of December for the second half.

Now, if only they'll release the next set of Last of the Summer Wine...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Rest, 28 Dec 2006
By 
Mr. T. G. Child (Budapest, Hungary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 'Allo 'Allo! - Series 5 - Volume 1 [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
Well the BBC has at long last decided to start putting out the remaining series. Except that in Hungary (where I currently live) we have been able to get this series for a year now. Indeed all nine series are out here and they are cheaper than the UK. I can say that having got the lot that series 5 is among the strongest. To my mind apart from the first three which are magic this is the best. Yes they did 26 (and we have to buy series 5 as two sets) but the laughs keep coming. After series 5 I am afraid it is downhill; some of actors change and the scripts get weaker; so make the most of it . Be careful with series 8 as the program that explains what happens between series 7 and 8 came out here as an extra on series 9 because it was a Christmas special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Allo, Allo' - One of the Greats!, 1 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: 'Allo 'Allo! - Series 5 - Volume 1 [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
You just have to see this! The characters are hilarious, they take the mickey out of the French, the Germans, the British AND the Italians, Richard Gibson as Herr Flick of the Gestapo is especially good,and Guy Siner as Lieutenant Gruber. And the waitresses, who are all in love with Rene Artoir!!!

Definately not one to miss seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Allo Allo, 7 July 2009
By 
Pune "Pune" (Stratford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Allo 'Allo! - Series 5 - Volume 1 [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
This is just classic entertainment, the whole series is so funny, if your feeling a wee bit low, put this on and soon you will be chuckling away.
The only downside, once you have started watching, its very hard to stop!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Comedy, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Allo 'Allo! - Series 5 - Volume 1 [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
Wonderful,sweet, uncomplicated comedy written at a time of great comedy writing, Jeremy Lloyd & David Croft served us well throughout the 80s & 90s. And the cast, They are all so likable that you await the arrival of each one of them knowing that they will be so entertaining in their own particular way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Allo 'Allo! - Series 5 - Volume 1 [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
Oh Rene! Oh Michelle, let me feel you quiver through the material of my thin blouse!!!! Gordon Kaye was fabulous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Allo 'Allo, 16 May 2012
By 
Patrick Nolan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Allo 'Allo! - Series 5 - Volume 1 [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
Listen carefully, I shall say this only once. Very happy with the product and the service from Amazon. I had forotten how funny Allo Allo is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic tv comedy, 23 Oct 2011
This review is from: 'Allo 'Allo! - Series 5 - Volume 1 [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
The usual antics of Rene are light hearted and funny. I have to stop myself wishing everyone a good moaning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 20 Sep 2011
This review is from: 'Allo 'Allo! - Series 5 - Volume 1 [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
This was the final DVD of the set that I needed and I'm so glad I found it. It's hilarious from start to finish. I thought I'd seen all the episodes first time around, but these were so great we were rolling around in hysterics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

'Allo 'Allo! - Series 5 - Volume 1 [1988] [DVD]
9.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews