Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bionic Beauty, 8 May 2007
By 
Gregory S. Buzwell "bagpuss007" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bionic Woman: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Season 2 of the Bionic Woman had pretty much all you could ever wish for in a television show. The scripts were sharp and witty, the plots were either suitably dark and twisted (Kill Oscar, Doomsday is Tomorrow) or light and funny (In This Corner Jaime Sommers, Sister Jaime) and in Lindsay Wagner the show had a beautiful, charismatic lead who could genuinely act. Lindsay Wagner - make no mistake - was very easy on the eye but, leaving my churning hormones to one side for a second, she was first and foremost an extremely talented actress. If you watch her in Deadly Ringer where she portrays a woman suffering a complete psychological breakdown you can see just how good she was. Lindsay Wagner, as you would expect from the lead in what was primarily supposed to be an entertaining sci-fi show suitable for children and adults alike, could do funny and dynamic and stylish and sympathetic. After all she dominates every episode in the series so she effectively had to provide the likeable focal-point all the time, but she could also do dark and tortured. In Deadly Ringer she plays a dual role, being both Jaime Sommers and a woman who looks just like her but who has a very different character, and given the opportunity to go through the entire range of emotions from euphoria to the darkest of dark despairs she really shines as a very talented actress.

The best stories here are the two and three parters such as Jaime's Shield, Doomsday is Tomorrow, Deadly Ringer and Kill Oscar - the last of which introduced the rather sinister fembots. My personal favourite is Doomsday is Tomorrow in which Jaime battles against a beautifully-mannered computer in an attempt to prevent the world being destroyed in a nuclear holocaust. It is, quite honestly, as good and dramatic a piece of televison as I have ever seen.

The stand alone episodes tend, in general, to be a little more light-hearted and give the lead characters greater scope to show their comic talents. Some of the little scenes between Lindsay Wagner and Richard Anderson (who played the charming and reassuring Oscar Goldman) make for great televison. You can sense the genuine affection between the actors and the scenes really shine as a result. Indeed watching the series as a whole you do get the feeling that the entire team of actors, directors, story-writers etc., all had a great deal of affection for the programme and gave it their very best in order to make it a success.

Season two shows the programme at the height of its powers. More settled, and with less to prove, than in the first series but still fresh and innovative. I, for one, am very glad to see this fabulous little box set on the market. Seventies TV at its beautiful, charming, daring, likeable, charasmatic best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AT LAST--the 2nd Season has finally arrived..., 1 Nov 2006
This review is from: The Bionic Woman: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
My first impression whilst watching these episodes is realising that they have been heavily butchered in syndication. It was quite the revelation that Alex 7000 had actually preyed upon Jaime's fear of snakes in "Doomsday is Tomorrow." That part had been edited from every single episode I have seen in syndication! Also, the part where Jaime leaps up onto the gantry in that same episode to escape the rocket fire had been cut. This is actually a very good piece of film and stunt work, because it does actually look like Jaime has leapt 20 feet into the air. Brilliant editing.

I do have to remark upon the mislabling of this set, however. This is NOT THE COMPLETE 2ND SEASON! The Return of Bigfoot is missing, part 2 of which aired as a Bionic Woman episode. My guess is that Universal have decided to package the "Bionic Bigfoot" episodes with the Six Million Dollar Man sets, as they have been syndicated that way. However, Jaime Sommers does appear in both parts, and Universal might just as well have included both parts of this classic episode for us Bionic Woman fans along with the notation that these were crossover episodes. After all, to be entirely correct, they're going ot have to do this with the SMDM sets that contain these episodes. Okay, enough ranting and pouting about that.

Thank you, Universal-Playback, for offering the Bionic Woman in unedited form. The only complaint I have is with the sound quality. There is some background static on the soundtrack during several episodes. I tried different players with the same results. I don't know if Universal Playback's source material contained this technical flaw or whether this is indeed a defect in the discs themselves.

The picture quality, on the other hand, is very good. I had forgotten how cute Lindsay Wagner was back then. She's still not hard on the eyes these days.

By far, this is the best of the Bionic Woman seasons...but, that doesn't mean Universal should stop there. We fans still want the 3rd season, complete with the handful of rubbish episodes that went along with it.

Enjoy...this is a great classic show from the 70's. Why Universal have not released this stateside is beyond me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 3....., 19 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: The Bionic Woman: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I agree with other reviewers that Season 2 is the best. However, Season 3 includes some very good episodes too. So for those of you tired of waiting for it to be released in the U.K., go to the German Amazon site([]) and do a search for Lindsay Wagner. Koch Media has released the third season of the Bionic Woman (Die sieben Millionen Dollar Frau), with re-mastered pristine picture and sound quality AND.....best of all, in addition to the German language soundtrack, the original English soundtrack! And although all the info on the packaging is in German, English episode titles are in brackets in the booklet. Thanks to Koch Media for doing such a great job in releasing this third and final season of the Bionic Woman. It's great to see my kids enjoying this show I loved so much at their age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great set, 28 Oct 2006
By 
B. Beaupain (Auburn, WA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bionic Woman: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I was pleased with season 1 and am also pleased with this set. Except it is not complete. The second season pilot episode is actually Part 2 of a 2 part story that began as the 4th season pilot of Six Million Dollar Man entitled Return Of Bigfoot. So "In This Corner, jaime Somers" is actually episode 2 of the 2nd season. Another trivia item is that Part 2 of "Kill Oscar" is actually a Six Million Dollar Man episode and its obvious when Lee Majors isn't credited as a Guest Star in Part 2 and the text font for the episode credits is the same as all the SMDM episodes. But from what I have heard that is because when it aired in UK it aired as a Bionic Woman Episode so thats why the changes were made. Nevertherless, I am glad that was kept on the disk. Now lets hope that Univeral Playback doesn't wait so long in releasing season 3 as a year is a long time to wait. Of course as soon as I get all the sets, MCA in the US will of course release them stateside...it always happens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Bionic Set, 7 Dec 2006
By 
A (Brooklyn, New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bionic Woman: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The Bionic Woman finally on DVD! The eisodes look great!

To the person who said it's not really complete because of the Big Foot episodes not being included...When the Bionic shows went into syndication that episode was never included in the Bionic Woman series. The crossover episodes were inserted in the respective series to give continuity. The second part of Kill Oscar was actually a Six Million Dollar Man episode, but has been placed with Bionic Woman for this reason as were others.

Great to see the episodes remastered and uncut!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hit and miss, 25 Aug 2008
By 
Mr. M. Leacy "Michael Leacy" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bionic Woman: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
After the excellent Season 1 and before the so-so Season 3, Season 2 is exactly that - in between. It has some of the best episodes ever but also contains some real horrors. Included on this set is "Deadly Ringer" - the best Bionic Woman story ever with Lindsay Wagner showing off her fantastic acting skills in the dual role. Then we have another classic 2 parter "Doomsday is Tomorrow" - the 2nd best Bionic Woman story ever. A real tour-de-force with a nail-biting end. These 4 episodes are enough to make this purchase worthwhile. Other gems include "Kill Oscar" and the creepy "The Vega Influence".
At the other end of the scale there is "The Night Demon", "Iron Ships and Dead Men" and "Biofeedback" - all terrible.
Still, Lindsay Wagner's presence makes every story watchable, no matter how bad the script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best season ..., 8 Feb 2009
By 
Jason Davis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bionic Woman: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
It has the extremely relevant and exciting "Doomsday Is Tomorrow 1-2" and the introduction to the awesome Fembots in "Kill Oscar 1-3" on DVD at last, and it is well worth owning for those alone. I am anxiously awaiting season 3 - I hope they release it in 2009!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hurry up with Maximillian, 24 May 2008
This review is from: The Bionic Woman: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Got season 1+2 and they are both brilliant. I remembered Lindsey wagner as being gorgeous and my god she still is. Cant wait for season 3 because i liked the episodes where she finds Maximillian the bionic german shepherd. ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bionic Woman 2, 20 May 2011
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bionic Woman: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This was a great fun science fiction series from the 1970s. This is season two of the Bionic Woman. It was a spin off series from the Six Million Dollar Man. That show was based on the novel "Cyborg" by Martin Caidin, The title role of Steve Austin, the main character was played by Lee Majors. The story of the original novel and the later series is the crash of former astronaut Steve Austin as he tests a new craft, Austin is severely injured in the crash and is "rebuilt". His right arm, both legs and left eye are replaced by "bionic" implants that enhance his strength, speed and vision far above human normality. The Six Million Dollar Man had been very succesful and during season two there was a two part story that introduced the character of Jaime Sommers played by Lindsay Wagner, Jamie was a professional tennis player who rekindled an old romance with Austin, only to experience a parachuting accident that resulted in her being given bionic parts similar to Austin. Ultimately, however, her body "rejected" her bionic hardware and she died. The character was very popular, however, and the following season it was revealed that she had barely survived, having been saved by an experimental cryogenic procedure, and she was given her own spin-off series, The Bionic Woman.
So this DVD release brings the complete second season of the Bionic Woman This spin off series had its own unique style. Jamie Sommers uses her Bionics only when she has to. She usually manages to hide her special ability and often uses them in a way that makes it look like other people have actually lifted something heavy or broken down a door or lock. Jamie has a Bionic right arm, two Bionic legs and a Bionic ear.
Some of the stories re visit ideas from the Six Million Dollar Man and the first series of The Bionic Woman. For example robots. (The roots of such a story line can be found in the earlier British Series The Avengers, but understandable here with simular artificial robotics through Bionics)
Also the show featured the slow-motion action sequences. This was an idea that was copied from another succesful show "Kung Fu" but had the the accompanying "electronic" sound effects.
. For some people the show was just far fetched nonesence. Some people would even dismiss it as daft. However, the show had one major ingrediant. It was fun. This is science fiction where anything is possible. Where the "what if" thought comes into play. This was a good show that you shouldn't take too seriously. It was meant to be far fetched, fun and entertaining. The world is serious enough so this was great escapism.
There are two regular characters familiar from the Six Million Dollar Man with Dr Ruby Wells played by Martin E Brookes and Oscar Goldman played by Richard Anderson. Also Lee Majors guests as Steve Austin.
For me the Bionic Woman was a more interesting character that Steve Austin. She has confidence but is also vunrable. She is slighty scatter brained and gentle. She has interesting asignments that put her in glamourous situations and gritty moments in tough environments. There is great humour also and the whole thing is just good fun. This was the original Bionic Woman with interesting stories, bright scenes, light heartedness, well produced, escapist fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Attention Bionic Woman Fans, 25 Feb 2009
By 
Gregory Shanley (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bionic Woman: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I have had this DVD release a few years and thoroughly enjoyed it.

In the US the third and final season of "The Bionic Woman" has been released with loads of extras.

The season2 region1 version has "The Return of Big Foot" part2 and the "The Return of Big Foot" part1,which was

a "Six Million Dollar Man" crossover episode,these two Big Foot episodes are missing from this region2 release,so

beware!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bionic Woman: Series 2 [DVD]
The Bionic Woman: Series 2 [DVD] by Lindsay Wagner (DVD - 2006)
£7.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews