Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


144 of 148 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn, double damn, and an extra pint of damn!
I'd already purchased the first three when this came out, but I got it anyway. There are five discs for four series, with series four comprising two discs, but really, the only thing I can see different is the box; there are no bonuses, unless you count the box.

Series one and two flow into each other quite well with recurring characters such as the yelling...
Published on 2 Dec. 2006 by Wodehouse Freak

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the memory
I haven't finished watching it all yet but so far it isn't as I remember. The two stars appear rather too pleased with themselves and not as clever as they imagine. Maybe it's too soon to be revisiting it but it just seems dated now, while at the time I thought it was timeless. Looking back I wonder why I even enjoyed it so much in the first place. So far I haven't seen a...
Published 22 months ago by SB


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bit Of Fry And Laurie - BBC Series 1-4 Complete Box Set [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
Many hours of shared laughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bit Of Fry And Laurie - BBC Series 1-4 Complete Box Set [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
A Bit of an 80s Keepsake
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bit Of Fry And Laurie - BBC Series 1-4 Complete Box Set [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this as a gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scrumptious!, 12 Aug. 2009
This review is from: A Bit Of Fry And Laurie - BBC Series 1-4 Complete Box Set [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
The comedy sketch or "skit" show can be a rum old cove make no mistake, and so it was with some slack-trousered trepidatoriness that I approached the purchase of the comic plum that is indeed THE COMPLETE A BIT OF FRY AND LAURIE.

For it is a sad yet jolly truism that this is the form of comedy most prone to (dare I say it? Yes I dare...) becoming dated. That is to say, less than sparklingly up-to-the-minute and more last century's leftover haggis-and-rissole pie. They can be somewhat hit and, if I may be so bold, miss affairs.

And so it is with much joy that I can assure you of the timelessness of these exquisite offerings - barring of course the occasional mention of such luminaries of the age as Mr Kenneth of Baker - remains intact. Delicious morsels of comic nuggetry can be consumed in the knowledge that they remain as fresh as if left on the top shelf of your refrigerator in a Tupperware recepticle of maximum efficiency.

All four delightful little series performed by the divinely bejacketed twosome are included across 5 shiny little diskettes of mounting magnificence. Messrs Fry and Laurie have long moved on from this kind of business, and so it is with great sadness that I must impart that we are unlikely to see them performing the likes of these handsome preparations again, and thusly we should embrace the legacy that Master Stephen and Master Hugh have left us with a certain amount of joy and thankfulness.

The crème caramel known (most splendidly) as disc one has upon its glittering surface 6 gorgeous episodettes forming series one where young Stephen and younger Hugh begin their long-suffering quest for joculous immortality. But hold! For there is more! For the so-called "pilot" precedes them all, and what a fruitsome concoction it makes.

The delicate buffet that calls itself disc two (or indeed the second disc) contains - alongside the six delicate buttercups that form the complete series two - a long forgotten comedy jewel, the Cambridge Footlights Review programme roughly hewn by the BBC into proud and plump televisual shape from its foul maggoty stage persona.

With the inevitability of an unloved season, disc three can be inserted in your slot to bring you, rather naturally, the morsel of loveliness comprising the complete series three and that will bring you naturally into the vicinity of the moist towellette that is series four, which splits itself unevenly across the aptly monickered discs four and, not to but too fine a point on it, five. To some, that remains a fetid bowl of misguided slurry, to others it is the extra marshmallow in the raspberry sundae of life. Alas, dear reader, on this you may only judge for yourself.

Scrumptious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars two brilliant comedians' work worth having on your bookshelf, 12 Feb. 2009
By 
Andreas Hug (Lucerne, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bit Of Fry And Laurie - BBC Series 1-4 Complete Box Set [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
Anyone interested in British comedy and in Stephen Fry and Hugh Laurie in particular must want to be in possession of these DVDs. What could be nicer after a hard day's work than to enjoy half an hour of sophisticated (well, mostly) nonsense???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bit Of Fry And Laurie - BBC Series 1-4 Complete Box Set [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
bought as a gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A+, would buy again., 11 Feb. 2010
By 
G. Nielsen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bit Of Fry And Laurie - BBC Series 1-4 Complete Box Set [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
Product is of excellent quality, except when it is not. The sound and video varies slightly due to the quality of the recording, but that was not a problem at all and not very noticable. I enjoyed this DVD set and would recommend it to anyone who likes non-sequitur and clever humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent seller, 9 Nov. 2014
By 
Mrs. A. J. Alexander (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bit Of Fry And Laurie - BBC Series 1-4 Complete Box Set [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
Great dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic intelligent comedy., 15 Sept. 2010
By 
T. Blackburn (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bit Of Fry And Laurie - BBC Series 1-4 Complete Box Set [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
Fry and Laurie have at times been criticized for being too highbrow - this does indeed come across and you sometimes get the feeling that they string the same joke / idea out for too long, and the emphasis is occasionally a little too centered on self-indulgent language. However, this is not supposed to be laugh-a-minute gag-centered comedy. What it is is genuinely clever, original and interesting, and quintessentially english as you might expect from these two geniuses. There are many self-reference jokes, and often the 'fourth wall' is broken, with sketches stopped half way through, or a camera panning out to reveal a set. This is fascinating and most often hilarious, and does much to move this to another level in some sense. And naturally, the songs performed by Laurie are a real highlight for me every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of nostalgia !, 2 May 2011
By 
S. Thompson (Christchurch, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bit Of Fry And Laurie - BBC Series 1-4 Complete Box Set [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
Very dated now and not as good as I remember when I saw the series on TV, but still very watchable. The potential talent of these two brilliant comedians shows through in every scene and it is not hard to understand why they became so famous. A real collector's item !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Bit Of Fry And Laurie - BBC Series 1-4 Complete Box Set [1989] [DVD]
£16.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews