Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars71
4.2 out of 5 stars
Price:£4.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 September 2007
The greatest game in historical strategy, roll playing great Roman leaders and fighting historical battles. The senates orders are not made to follow but can be helpful, their commands can be from taking a city to recruiting a unit of mercenaries. Destroying factions is a sure way to get the senate on your side and to become more reliable as well as helping the defence of your people.

I would recommend this game to anybody who is interested in Roman history or enjoys strategy gaming experiences. It is suitable for older children as well as adults and provides real escapism, you become totally pulled into the game.
11 comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2007
I have played this game for 4 years now. When it was released, there were a awful lot of bugs. Now, they are all patched and nicely done but there is one big thing I have to tell you at the end.

You do need a good system in order to play this game impressively. The minimum requirements is 1 Ghz and 256 Ram but I recommend roughly about 2.5Ghz with 1 to 2 Gb of Ram in order to play it decently. (if there is video card, 512mb is better)

You are given 3 factions at the beginning. All Rome(Julia, Brutii and Scipii). But, later on, when you completed the game(took all lands), you can play other european factions as well such as Greeks, Pontus..etc.

Basically, You have to conquer Europe with your roman troops. In the Campaign map, you have to place your soldiers on certain places and whenever you encounter enemy or take the enemy settlement, the battle screen appears(the time to engage). Looking at Roman Legionaries all lined(formed) up with reflection and sunshine is awesome here. This is a strategy game so you've got to think how you attack enemies in order to win. the total units that general can hadle is about 2500 and a bit over. War elephants and Egyptian Chariots were excellent and very interesting to see in the battle field. Big scale and dramatic game. (you also have to build up your settlements)

Music, Graphics and effects are all good. No complaints here. Worth having if you like Strategy game(such as Age of Empires). Certainly not designed for less patient players as it gets nervous and frustrating later on. Come on you are Conquering whole Europe with Roman Legions!

Now, the bad thing. This is a big program mistake that the Creative Assembly made in the game(which I found many times). When you get to a certain extent during the gameplay, say, conquerded about 2/3 of the land, the game dumps back to the desktop.I loaded from the autosave point but same again. If you are lucky, you don't get this bug. Sometimes, you do get this when you get to nearly end. I could have finished this game by now but to be honest, I haven't because of this. I started all over from the beginning.

If you have Vista, be aware that it dumps back to the desktop after about 4 or 5 hours of the game play with the problem I wrote above.

over all, this is a good game with good price. I recommend you to buy the Rome total war Anthology where you get Original Rome total war, and 2 expansion games together in one box.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2008
Nearly ten years ago I remember playing Age of Empires. I really enjoyed playing it, and I imagined how much greater the game could be if it was in 3D, with the option to view the battles from the ground.
When Shogun was released in 2000, I was really hoping that the Creative Assembly were going to follow up with a Roman Period game, but I imagined that they wouldn't.

I was therefore very surprised to discover that in 2004 they were going to release this game. In the four years that have followed, Rome: Total War still stands as one of my favourite games, and one that I still play sporadically to this day.

The game puts you in command of the Romans just as they have finished the conquest of Italy in 280 BC. You have a choice of three Republican families to control: the Julii, who must deal with the Gauls and Germans; the Brutti, who are at loggerheads with the Greeks and Macedonians, and the Scipii, who are engaged in a war with the trading superpower of Carthage. This set up might not be a realistic depiction of Roman history, but does present you with some interesting choices.

Your mission is to expand the Empire's borders at any cost. Every once in a while you are given mission by the Roman Senate, which gives you bonuses in the forms of soldiers, money or titles. Eventually when you become too powerful, the Senate and the other two Roman families will oppose you, throwing you into a turbulent civil war. You must triumph over the senate so that you can finally achieve your goal of becoming Emperor of Rome.

Once you have achieved this goal then a number of other ancient factions are unlocked for you to play. These include the Greeks, Egyptians, Parthians, Britons, Germans, Seleucids, Carthaginians and Gauls. To spice up the play there other non-playable factions who oppose you including the Thracians, Scythians, Iberians, Numidians, and the superpower of Macedon. My only gripe with the campaign is that you're not allowed to play as the Macedonians, which is a shame really. But then again they are playable in the game's 'Alexander' expansion.

The game is split into two parts. One is the turn-based campaign map where you manage citites, taxes and train soldiers, while the other is the real time battle map, which allows you to command thousands of detailed 3D soldiers in epic cinematic battles. The two game modes are combined, so that when you meet an enemy army on the turn based campaign map, it will then switch to the real time battle mode for you to duel it out with the enemy, if that is what you want to do (you can also auto-resolve battles).

Because of its free-form mode of play, and its lack of linear gameplay, the game has plenty of variety. Each time you play a campaign, you will face different odds and challenges. Part of the longevity and the fun of the game is in this aspect.
Beyond the campaign there is a custom battle mode (create your own armies and then command them on battlefields of your choice), a quick battle mode which allows you to play a random battle generated by the computer and a historical battle mode. The historical battle section allows you to play out a famous battle from the period 280 BC to 11 AD, from Caesar's Siege of Gergovia to the Battle of Cynoscephalae, the Siege of Sparta, Battle of the River Trebbia, The Battle of Telamon, the Battle of the Teutoberg Forest and so on.

When this game was first released no one had ever attempted a game on this scale before, what with a marriage between epic 3D battles between detailed armies (with zooming in options)and a turn based game on a gigantic map. Since then we have had Medievall II and in the near future there will be Empire: Total War. But Rome will always be considered one of the greatest and most revolutionary games in the strategy genre. At this price the game is defiantely worth getting. Highly Recommended!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2007
It's just a classic game all round. A magnificaent blend of Strategy, war, management and Roman style politics. A true great of the Total War series. The campaigns are so fantastic and enthralling: nothing is as satisfying as building your own Roman empire (unless it's seeing your classy assasin strike down the enemy general just before battle). The battles are awe inspiring: especially the sieges and river crossings.

The only down side is there isn't a 2 player mode which is surprising as it is a turn based game. This however is not worth taking off a star because this game should be remembered as the defining TBS.
96/100: because of no multiplayer mainly
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2007
There's one thing to say about Rome: Total War - it's an amazing game, simple as that.

Now I just have to pad the review out a bit...

When you start out the game, you're straight in with your Roman faction (the Julii, Brutii or Scipii - depending on where you want to start and who you want to war with first), managing your cities, keeping down the factions that war with you, and fulfilling the wishes that the Senate put upon you. Later on, a Civil War will see you aim to take control of Rome itself, as well as fight off the other Roman factions - which is a big step up from the likes of Gaul.

The battles, of course, are the game's killer app - you can be your own battlefield general, marching over your enemies, planting ambushes, or turning a defeat into victory (this is before taking sieges into account).

However, where the game steps above the regular is that you can unlock other factions to use, either by defeating them in the game or by completing it (50 settlements and Rome is the aim), and then a new dimension is opened: you can use Greece, Carthage, Egypt - all of which have different methods in battle and troops, even city structures, which broadens the experience completely. After all, you can steamroll your way to victory with a Roman faction, but can you do the same with Gaul? True, some factions aren't unlockable without a hack (Macedon being the most notable), but there's so much in the game that keeps you hooked.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2012
This game may be old, but it is still awesome. I bought Rome and Medieval 2 TW together and have been playing them back to back for a few weeks now. Boy am I glad I bought them!
Having only played Age of Empires before, the Total War style of play was definitely new to me. I'd recommend starting out on easy if you're unfamiliar with it.

TW encompasses both real-time-strategy for the battles and a turn based system for the campaign (essentially the economic and logistical running of your civilisation).
At first I didn't really like the battles as they seemed slow and perhaps a little too methodical, and wasn't a huge fan of the campaign style either. But once I'd shelved my dispersions, and expectations based on AoE, it sucked me into my own little world of ancient Rome.
So it's worth persevering if you're not sure in the beginning, the game takes a while to "build up" as you advance and vanquish.

Rome TW really is the complete historical experience, from blood of the battlefield to the glory of the city centre. Firstly you manage your settlements and Towns through menus that enable you to build everything from simple dirt roads to legionary barracks, and palaces. The while keeping the denari rolling in and the citizens happy and healthy.
Your settlements can be upgraded as their populations grow. And as you earn more money you can build better armies and buildings and conquer more places to add to your empire. Thankfully the game is not as black and white as I make it, and there is indeed much to do from brokering treaties with other nations to managing your taxes and build policies. Not to mention the epic battles that can be fought!

In a nutshell Rome Total War encompasses great real-time-strategy play and fantastic economic simulation that is fun, interesting, and very engaging. Wholly recommended for the RTS player looking for a new challenge.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2007
First time I played it I didn't really rate it but I still decided to buy it - when I played it again and discovered the magnitude of things you could do I realised what an idiot I was not liking it to start off with!
The graphics while not being the greatest are sill awesome for the type of game it is where you can zoom in right to a soldiers face and still see intricate detail.
The gameplay is very good with a good custom map idea where you can pit truly huuge armies against each other and decide the winner and where all the teams are avaliable for play. The campaign is also brilliant with three Roman teams to start off with: Julii, Scipii and Brutii; more teams are avaliable but only when you have destroyed them or if you win the campaign (long or short) you can unlock all the teams in quick seccession.
Overall a great game that can keep you entertained for hours, Ive had the White label version for a long time now which is a better bet than the multiple disc origional because it is easier to install and I think it runs better aswell.
A must buy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 March 2010
Anyone who owns or is buying this game should immediately download the patches for Rome Total Realism, a free mod which completely rejigs this game for the better. While it doesn't improve the graphics it makes the units and factions much more historically accurate (no more made up Roman SAS style units!), utterly rejuvenating this now old game. I never thought I'd play Rome again after Medieval II came out years ago, but I'm having great fun replaying it all over again in a much better version. Download that mod!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2012
This game in my opinion is the greatest Strategy game ever. Picking a faction their are two aspects to the gameplay. First of you have to manage and organise your settlements, economy, complete missions given by the Roman Senate and manage the general happiness of your people. The second aspect is the battle and military aspect which Total War games are famous for.

The gameplay is fun, challenging and terribly time consuming. I would recommed this game to any lover of either History or strategy games.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
About the game:

Simply put, Rome Total War is both satisfying and fun to play. The in-game music and speech (British accent) are both clear and a pleasure to listen to. Battles require patience and thought, and you'll need to send the right units in at the right time, in order to defeat your enemy. (just don't send your archers to fight face-to-face with troops that have swords... you'll want to keep them at a distence to skirmish your foes (and then move them away from the enemy should they come too close to you). Play through the tutorial and then a few regular games, and you'll start to gain experience and get the hang of it :-)

Compatibility:

For those of you wondering whether the game will work on Windows 7 64 bit OS, the answer is YES, it is stable and runs just fine! Simply install it in your ''Program Files (x86)'' folder and you're away.

This game ran fine (without compatibility problems) on my Nvidia Geforce GTX 560 Ti, 1GB. I had it running at 1920x1080 and raised most of the settings to maximum (according to my own taste) and it looked quite acceptable, considering the age of the game and when it was released. Note: you can access the more advanced graphics settings in the main menu: Options > video Settings > then check the box 'Show Advanced Options'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)