Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History in the Making
The greatest game in historical strategy, roll playing great Roman leaders and fighting historical battles. The senates orders are not made to follow but can be helpful, their commands can be from taking a city to recruiting a unit of mercenaries. Destroying factions is a sure way to get the senate on your side and to become more reliable as well as helping the defence...
Published on 1 Sept. 2007 by Cameron W Pearce

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Still A Good Game
it`s still a great game but was looking for the 3 disc one so I can play more than just the 3 Rome houses
Published 13 months ago by pattom


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History in the Making, 1 Sept. 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome: Total War - White Label (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
The greatest game in historical strategy, roll playing great Roman leaders and fighting historical battles. The senates orders are not made to follow but can be helpful, their commands can be from taking a city to recruiting a unit of mercenaries. Destroying factions is a sure way to get the senate on your side and to become more reliable as well as helping the defence of your people.

I would recommend this game to anybody who is interested in Roman history or enjoys strategy gaming experiences. It is suitable for older children as well as adults and provides real escapism, you become totally pulled into the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Strategy Game, 4 Aug. 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome: Total War - White Label (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
I have played this game for 4 years now. When it was released, there were a awful lot of bugs. Now, they are all patched and nicely done but there is one big thing I have to tell you at the end.

You do need a good system in order to play this game impressively. The minimum requirements is 1 Ghz and 256 Ram but I recommend roughly about 2.5Ghz with 1 to 2 Gb of Ram in order to play it decently. (if there is video card, 512mb is better)

You are given 3 factions at the beginning. All Rome(Julia, Brutii and Scipii). But, later on, when you completed the game(took all lands), you can play other european factions as well such as Greeks, Pontus..etc.

Basically, You have to conquer Europe with your roman troops. In the Campaign map, you have to place your soldiers on certain places and whenever you encounter enemy or take the enemy settlement, the battle screen appears(the time to engage). Looking at Roman Legionaries all lined(formed) up with reflection and sunshine is awesome here. This is a strategy game so you've got to think how you attack enemies in order to win. the total units that general can hadle is about 2500 and a bit over. War elephants and Egyptian Chariots were excellent and very interesting to see in the battle field. Big scale and dramatic game. (you also have to build up your settlements)

Music, Graphics and effects are all good. No complaints here. Worth having if you like Strategy game(such as Age of Empires). Certainly not designed for less patient players as it gets nervous and frustrating later on. Come on you are Conquering whole Europe with Roman Legions!

Now, the bad thing. This is a big program mistake that the Creative Assembly made in the game(which I found many times). When you get to a certain extent during the gameplay, say, conquerded about 2/3 of the land, the game dumps back to the desktop.I loaded from the autosave point but same again. If you are lucky, you don't get this bug. Sometimes, you do get this when you get to nearly end. I could have finished this game by now but to be honest, I haven't because of this. I started all over from the beginning.

If you have Vista, be aware that it dumps back to the desktop after about 4 or 5 hours of the game play with the problem I wrote above.

over all, this is a good game with good price. I recommend you to buy the Rome total war Anthology where you get Original Rome total war, and 2 expansion games together in one box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hail Rome!, 4 Aug. 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome: Total War - White Label (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Nearly ten years ago I remember playing Age of Empires. I really enjoyed playing it, and I imagined how much greater the game could be if it was in 3D, with the option to view the battles from the ground.
When Shogun was released in 2000, I was really hoping that the Creative Assembly were going to follow up with a Roman Period game, but I imagined that they wouldn't.

I was therefore very surprised to discover that in 2004 they were going to release this game. In the four years that have followed, Rome: Total War still stands as one of my favourite games, and one that I still play sporadically to this day.

The game puts you in command of the Romans just as they have finished the conquest of Italy in 280 BC. You have a choice of three Republican families to control: the Julii, who must deal with the Gauls and Germans; the Brutti, who are at loggerheads with the Greeks and Macedonians, and the Scipii, who are engaged in a war with the trading superpower of Carthage. This set up might not be a realistic depiction of Roman history, but does present you with some interesting choices.

Your mission is to expand the Empire's borders at any cost. Every once in a while you are given mission by the Roman Senate, which gives you bonuses in the forms of soldiers, money or titles. Eventually when you become too powerful, the Senate and the other two Roman families will oppose you, throwing you into a turbulent civil war. You must triumph over the senate so that you can finally achieve your goal of becoming Emperor of Rome.

Once you have achieved this goal then a number of other ancient factions are unlocked for you to play. These include the Greeks, Egyptians, Parthians, Britons, Germans, Seleucids, Carthaginians and Gauls. To spice up the play there other non-playable factions who oppose you including the Thracians, Scythians, Iberians, Numidians, and the superpower of Macedon. My only gripe with the campaign is that you're not allowed to play as the Macedonians, which is a shame really. But then again they are playable in the game's 'Alexander' expansion.

The game is split into two parts. One is the turn-based campaign map where you manage citites, taxes and train soldiers, while the other is the real time battle map, which allows you to command thousands of detailed 3D soldiers in epic cinematic battles. The two game modes are combined, so that when you meet an enemy army on the turn based campaign map, it will then switch to the real time battle mode for you to duel it out with the enemy, if that is what you want to do (you can also auto-resolve battles).

Because of its free-form mode of play, and its lack of linear gameplay, the game has plenty of variety. Each time you play a campaign, you will face different odds and challenges. Part of the longevity and the fun of the game is in this aspect.
Beyond the campaign there is a custom battle mode (create your own armies and then command them on battlefields of your choice), a quick battle mode which allows you to play a random battle generated by the computer and a historical battle mode. The historical battle section allows you to play out a famous battle from the period 280 BC to 11 AD, from Caesar's Siege of Gergovia to the Battle of Cynoscephalae, the Siege of Sparta, Battle of the River Trebbia, The Battle of Telamon, the Battle of the Teutoberg Forest and so on.

When this game was first released no one had ever attempted a game on this scale before, what with a marriage between epic 3D battles between detailed armies (with zooming in options)and a turn based game on a gigantic map. Since then we have had Medievall II and in the near future there will be Empire: Total War. But Rome will always be considered one of the greatest and most revolutionary games in the strategy genre. At this price the game is defiantely worth getting. Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Formidable., 22 Aug. 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome: Total War - White Label (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
It's just a classic game all round. A magnificaent blend of Strategy, war, management and Roman style politics. A true great of the Total War series. The campaigns are so fantastic and enthralling: nothing is as satisfying as building your own Roman empire (unless it's seeing your classy assasin strike down the enemy general just before battle). The battles are awe inspiring: especially the sieges and river crossings.

The only down side is there isn't a 2 player mode which is surprising as it is a turn based game. This however is not worth taking off a star because this game should be remembered as the defining TBS.
96/100: because of no multiplayer mainly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God-like., 9 Jun. 2007
By 
Mr. Od Smith "d2kvirus" (Coulsdon, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome: Total War - White Label (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
There's one thing to say about Rome: Total War - it's an amazing game, simple as that.

Now I just have to pad the review out a bit...

When you start out the game, you're straight in with your Roman faction (the Julii, Brutii or Scipii - depending on where you want to start and who you want to war with first), managing your cities, keeping down the factions that war with you, and fulfilling the wishes that the Senate put upon you. Later on, a Civil War will see you aim to take control of Rome itself, as well as fight off the other Roman factions - which is a big step up from the likes of Gaul.

The battles, of course, are the game's killer app - you can be your own battlefield general, marching over your enemies, planting ambushes, or turning a defeat into victory (this is before taking sieges into account).

However, where the game steps above the regular is that you can unlock other factions to use, either by defeating them in the game or by completing it (50 settlements and Rome is the aim), and then a new dimension is opened: you can use Greece, Carthage, Egypt - all of which have different methods in battle and troops, even city structures, which broadens the experience completely. After all, you can steamroll your way to victory with a Roman faction, but can you do the same with Gaul? True, some factions aren't unlockable without a hack (Macedon being the most notable), but there's so much in the game that keeps you hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing game!, 14 July 2007
By 
Helix (South West) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome: Total War - White Label (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
First time I played it I didn't really rate it but I still decided to buy it - when I played it again and discovered the magnitude of things you could do I realised what an idiot I was not liking it to start off with!
The graphics while not being the greatest are sill awesome for the type of game it is where you can zoom in right to a soldiers face and still see intricate detail.
The gameplay is very good with a good custom map idea where you can pit truly huuge armies against each other and decide the winner and where all the teams are avaliable for play. The campaign is also brilliant with three Roman teams to start off with: Julii, Scipii and Brutii; more teams are avaliable but only when you have destroyed them or if you win the campaign (long or short) you can unlock all the teams in quick seccession.
Overall a great game that can keep you entertained for hours, Ive had the White label version for a long time now which is a better bet than the multiple disc origional because it is easier to install and I think it runs better aswell.
A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rome TOTAL REALISM - a new lease of life, 8 Mar. 2010
By 
Grev (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome: Total War - White Label (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Anyone who owns or is buying this game should immediately download the patches for Rome Total Realism, a free mod which completely rejigs this game for the better. While it doesn't improve the graphics it makes the units and factions much more historically accurate (no more made up Roman SAS style units!), utterly rejuvenating this now old game. I never thought I'd play Rome again after Medieval II came out years ago, but I'm having great fun replaying it all over again in a much better version. Download that mod!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dated but fun, 23 Aug. 2014
By 
D. Burnett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rome: Total War - White Label (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
For those who have played any of the Total War games will know roughly what you're getting into. A turn based strategy game with diplomacy options coupled with Battles in RTS mode. It is unfortunate that it is ageing so much, as even other titles from the series over a decade old look nicer. There is quite a high level of complexity in the TBS part of the game, which can prove frustrating to those used to pure RTS. Once the battle starts and troops engage there is also limited actions you can take with them.
The morale side of things can either be incredibly fun (especially in multiplayer) or really annoying (especially in multiplayer) as your army can often decide to leave the battlefield if you're losing troops too heavily. I think this small aspect can detract from strategic blocking of one section of the battle field with small groups whilst attempting a flanking maneouver if your small group runs away upon losing purposefully and their army has time to reform to meet your charge. If things like that annoy you consider Praetorians.
If you want a better looking game consider Total War : Rome II
If you want to relive the glory games and can over look a few niggles both gameplay and graphics, get this whilst you can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm Anthony Tiberius the juili Moss, 10 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rome: Total War - White Label (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Epic strategy war game with some of the best armies that history have to offer " the ROMANS" lol if you understand tactics this baby is for you. Ask yourself this question would you send your cavalry head on against a well drill troop of spearman!!?
I just hope that RTW2 is as good or better?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, 17 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rome: Total War - White Label (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
For the value its a must if your a strategy game addict. Online battles are also enjoyable but have a lack of players due to the game being 6 years old. Campaign is the best feature of Rome:total war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rome: Total War - White Label (PC DVD)
Rome: Total War - White Label (PC DVD) by Avanquest Software (Windows XP)
£4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews