Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History in the Making
The greatest game in historical strategy, roll playing great Roman leaders and fighting historical battles. The senates orders are not made to follow but can be helpful, their commands can be from taking a city to recruiting a unit of mercenaries. Destroying factions is a sure way to get the senate on your side and to become more reliable as well as helping the defence...
Published on 1 Sep 2007 by Cameron W Pearce

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Impressive to look at but dull to play
Impressive to look at but dull to play - I guess its not really my type of game, its just to slow for me
Published 1 month ago by M. JF Hine


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History in the Making, 1 Sep 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome: Total War - White Label (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
The greatest game in historical strategy, roll playing great Roman leaders and fighting historical battles. The senates orders are not made to follow but can be helpful, their commands can be from taking a city to recruiting a unit of mercenaries. Destroying factions is a sure way to get the senate on your side and to become more reliable as well as helping the defence of your people.

I would recommend this game to anybody who is interested in Roman history or enjoys strategy gaming experiences. It is suitable for older children as well as adults and provides real escapism, you become totally pulled into the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Strategy Game, 4 Aug 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome: Total War - White Label (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
I have played this game for 4 years now. When it was released, there were a awful lot of bugs. Now, they are all patched and nicely done but there is one big thing I have to tell you at the end.

You do need a good system in order to play this game impressively. The minimum requirements is 1 Ghz and 256 Ram but I recommend roughly about 2.5Ghz with 1 to 2 Gb of Ram in order to play it decently. (if there is video card, 512mb is better)

You are given 3 factions at the beginning. All Rome(Julia, Brutii and Scipii). But, later on, when you completed the game(took all lands), you can play other european factions as well such as Greeks, Pontus..etc.

Basically, You have to conquer Europe with your roman troops. In the Campaign map, you have to place your soldiers on certain places and whenever you encounter enemy or take the enemy settlement, the battle screen appears(the time to engage). Looking at Roman Legionaries all lined(formed) up with reflection and sunshine is awesome here. This is a strategy game so you've got to think how you attack enemies in order to win. the total units that general can hadle is about 2500 and a bit over. War elephants and Egyptian Chariots were excellent and very interesting to see in the battle field. Big scale and dramatic game. (you also have to build up your settlements)

Music, Graphics and effects are all good. No complaints here. Worth having if you like Strategy game(such as Age of Empires). Certainly not designed for less patient players as it gets nervous and frustrating later on. Come on you are Conquering whole Europe with Roman Legions!

Now, the bad thing. This is a big program mistake that the Creative Assembly made in the game(which I found many times). When you get to a certain extent during the gameplay, say, conquerded about 2/3 of the land, the game dumps back to the desktop.I loaded from the autosave point but same again. If you are lucky, you don't get this bug. Sometimes, you do get this when you get to nearly end. I could have finished this game by now but to be honest, I haven't because of this. I started all over from the beginning.

If you have Vista, be aware that it dumps back to the desktop after about 4 or 5 hours of the game play with the problem I wrote above.

over all, this is a good game with good price. I recommend you to buy the Rome total war Anthology where you get Original Rome total war, and 2 expansion games together in one box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Formidable., 22 Aug 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome: Total War - White Label (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
It's just a classic game all round. A magnificaent blend of Strategy, war, management and Roman style politics. A true great of the Total War series. The campaigns are so fantastic and enthralling: nothing is as satisfying as building your own Roman empire (unless it's seeing your classy assasin strike down the enemy general just before battle). The battles are awe inspiring: especially the sieges and river crossings.

The only down side is there isn't a 2 player mode which is surprising as it is a turn based game. This however is not worth taking off a star because this game should be remembered as the defining TBS.
96/100: because of no multiplayer mainly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hail Rome!, 4 Aug 2008
By 
D. Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome: Total War - White Label (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Nearly ten years ago I remember playing Age of Empires. I really enjoyed playing it, and I imagined how much greater the game could be if it was in 3D, with the option to view the battles from the ground.
When Shogun was released in 2000, I was really hoping that the Creative Assembly were going to follow up with a Roman Period game, but I imagined that they wouldn't.

I was therefore very surprised to discover that in 2004 they were going to release this game. In the four years that have followed, Rome: Total War still stands as one of my favourite games, and one that I still play sporadically to this day.

The game puts you in command of the Romans just as they have finished the conquest of Italy in 280 BC. You have a choice of three Republican families to control: the Julii, who must deal with the Gauls and Germans; the Brutti, who are at loggerheads with the Greeks and Macedonians, and the Scipii, who are engaged in a war with the trading superpower of Carthage. This set up might not be a realistic depiction of Roman history, but does present you with some interesting choices.

Your mission is to expand the Empire's borders at any cost. Every once in a while you are given mission by the Roman Senate, which gives you bonuses in the forms of soldiers, money or titles. Eventually when you become too powerful, the Senate and the other two Roman families will oppose you, throwing you into a turbulent civil war. You must triumph over the senate so that you can finally achieve your goal of becoming Emperor of Rome.

Once you have achieved this goal then a number of other ancient factions are unlocked for you to play. These include the Greeks, Egyptians, Parthians, Britons, Germans, Seleucids, Carthaginians and Gauls. To spice up the play there other non-playable factions who oppose you including the Thracians, Scythians, Iberians, Numidians, and the superpower of Macedon. My only gripe with the campaign is that you're not allowed to play as the Macedonians, which is a shame really. But then again they are playable in the game's 'Alexander' expansion.

The game is split into two parts. One is the turn-based campaign map where you manage citites, taxes and train soldiers, while the other is the real time battle map, which allows you to command thousands of detailed 3D soldiers in epic cinematic battles. The two game modes are combined, so that when you meet an enemy army on the turn based campaign map, it will then switch to the real time battle mode for you to duel it out with the enemy, if that is what you want to do (you can also auto-resolve battles).

Because of its free-form mode of play, and its lack of linear gameplay, the game has plenty of variety. Each time you play a campaign, you will face different odds and challenges. Part of the longevity and the fun of the game is in this aspect.
Beyond the campaign there is a custom battle mode (create your own armies and then command them on battlefields of your choice), a quick battle mode which allows you to play a random battle generated by the computer and a historical battle mode. The historical battle section allows you to play out a famous battle from the period 280 BC to 11 AD, from Caesar's Siege of Gergovia to the Battle of Cynoscephalae, the Siege of Sparta, Battle of the River Trebbia, The Battle of Telamon, the Battle of the Teutoberg Forest and so on.

When this game was first released no one had ever attempted a game on this scale before, what with a marriage between epic 3D battles between detailed armies (with zooming in options)and a turn based game on a gigantic map. Since then we have had Medievall II and in the near future there will be Empire: Total War. But Rome will always be considered one of the greatest and most revolutionary games in the strategy genre. At this price the game is defiantely worth getting. Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God-like., 9 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. Od Smith "d2kvirus" (Coulsdon, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome: Total War - White Label (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
There's one thing to say about Rome: Total War - it's an amazing game, simple as that.

Now I just have to pad the review out a bit...

When you start out the game, you're straight in with your Roman faction (the Julii, Brutii or Scipii - depending on where you want to start and who you want to war with first), managing your cities, keeping down the factions that war with you, and fulfilling the wishes that the Senate put upon you. Later on, a Civil War will see you aim to take control of Rome itself, as well as fight off the other Roman factions - which is a big step up from the likes of Gaul.

The battles, of course, are the game's killer app - you can be your own battlefield general, marching over your enemies, planting ambushes, or turning a defeat into victory (this is before taking sieges into account).

However, where the game steps above the regular is that you can unlock other factions to use, either by defeating them in the game or by completing it (50 settlements and Rome is the aim), and then a new dimension is opened: you can use Greece, Carthage, Egypt - all of which have different methods in battle and troops, even city structures, which broadens the experience completely. After all, you can steamroll your way to victory with a Roman faction, but can you do the same with Gaul? True, some factions aren't unlockable without a hack (Macedon being the most notable), but there's so much in the game that keeps you hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm Anthony Tiberius the juili Moss, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rome: Total War - White Label (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Epic strategy war game with some of the best armies that history have to offer " the ROMANS" lol if you understand tactics this baby is for you. Ask yourself this question would you send your cavalry head on against a well drill troop of spearman!!?
I just hope that RTW2 is as good or better?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rome: Total War - White Label (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
For the value its a must if your a strategy game addict. Online battles are also enjoyable but have a lack of players due to the game being 6 years old. Campaign is the best feature of Rome:total war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I came, I saw, I conquered!, 23 Sep 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome: Total War - White Label (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
This game may be old, but it is still awesome. I bought Rome and Medieval 2 TW together and have been playing them back to back for a few weeks now. Boy am I glad I bought them!
Having only played Age of Empires before, the Total War style of play was definitely new to me. I'd recommend starting out on easy if you're unfamiliar with it.

TW encompasses both real-time-strategy for the battles and a turn based system for the campaign (essentially the economic and logistical running of your civilisation).
At first I didn't really like the battles as they seemed slow and perhaps a little too methodical, and wasn't a huge fan of the campaign style either. But once I'd shelved my dispersions, and expectations based on AoE, it sucked me into my own little world of ancient Rome.
So it's worth persevering if you're not sure in the beginning, the game takes a while to "build up" as you advance and vanquish.

Rome TW really is the complete historical experience, from blood of the battlefield to the glory of the city centre. Firstly you manage your settlements and Towns through menus that enable you to build everything from simple dirt roads to legionary barracks, and palaces. The while keeping the denari rolling in and the citizens happy and healthy.
Your settlements can be upgraded as their populations grow. And as you earn more money you can build better armies and buildings and conquer more places to add to your empire. Thankfully the game is not as black and white as I make it, and there is indeed much to do from brokering treaties with other nations to managing your taxes and build policies. Not to mention the epic battles that can be fought!

In a nutshell Rome Total War encompasses great real-time-strategy play and fantastic economic simulation that is fun, interesting, and very engaging. Wholly recommended for the RTS player looking for a new challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Excellent!, 19 Jun 2012
By 
Brawny Withed (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome: Total War - White Label (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
This game in my opinion is the greatest Strategy game ever. Picking a faction their are two aspects to the gameplay. First of you have to manage and organise your settlements, economy, complete missions given by the Roman Senate and manage the general happiness of your people. The second aspect is the battle and military aspect which Total War games are famous for.

The gameplay is fun, challenging and terribly time consuming. I would recommed this game to any lover of either History or strategy games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rome total war, 11 Dec 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome: Total War - White Label (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Rome total war arrived on time with mild scratches. Once arrived it was half an hour to download and didn't make you download anything else big or dangerous. To download you need basic windows and disc drive. Preferably a PC game but can be brought on MAC for extra. The game itself is fantastic better than later models that are very hard to download and earlier ones which just aren't as entertaining, Rome total war is great, and my second hand one only cost 5 pounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb26d3e64)

This product

Rome: Total War - White Label (PC DVD)
Rome: Total War - White Label (PC DVD) by Avanquest Software (Windows XP)
4.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews