Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars201
3.8 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation3|Edition: Standard|Format: Box|Change
Price:£8.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 December 2007
There are lots of people saying that the gameplay on this is too simplistic and it is repetative, there is little skill involved in the eavesdropping and pick pocket missions. Personally this suits me down to the ground.

Many years ago I was a great gamer. I could play for hours and master all the skill and moves involved. Now life has overtaken this. Work and home life ensures that while in my heart I enjoy playing games, I really do not have the time to master the complexities these days.

The graphics are breathtaking. The controls are simple and I can pick it up after a week and still play the game. I can see an end to it (having completed 5 assassinations so far). Recently I sell games when they get too complicated or difficult to play after weeks away.

If you are a gamer at heart, but feel that you can not give the hours to master tricky moves etc then I would recommend this to you.
44 comments|130 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2008
I would agree with the majority of views that criticise the gameplay for asassins creed - it is definitely lacking in variation.

But I dont think anyone has given the control system the credit it deserves - it is truly stunning. The character can move in such a fluid, natural way around the cities you have to explore. Absolutely everything you think you should be able to get a grip on you can. When running away from guards you have spooked you can genuinely run and climb anywhere and move as quickly as you can think...

The graphics and detail is amazing - its a pleasure to look at as you move around the cities.

This isnt enough though - the missions are slow and the dialog tedious. I can only hope that the sequel combines the amazing control system with some decent gameplay..
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2008
Assassin's Creed passed me by during its initial release, which was odd considering I have an interest in the Crusades and the Medieval period. When I did get to learn about it I avoided it because of the fairly negative reviews. Eventually my cousin got a hold of the game, and I felt impressed enough by the small demonstration that I brought a copy too.
While I certainly enjoyed the game, I do understand that the game's detractors do make a valid criticism of its gameplay.

It's worth covering the plot first. The game is split into two halfs. One is set in the Holy Land around AD 1191, at the height of the Third Crusade, when Altair, (the character you control) is given a task of eliminating nine elite members of the Crusader and Saracen armies, in order that his Master, Al Mualim, can usher in a new era of peace. The other half is seen through the eyes of Desmond Miles, Altair's descendant, some time in the near future as he is kidnapped by the members of Abstergo Industries, and forced to test out their new invention, the 'Animus', a machine that allows its user to access the memories of their ancestors.

One of the weak points of the game is how the two storylines merge; as what should have been a historical adventure quickly turns into a murky and confusing sci-fi thriller. Towards the last few levels of the game, the future/Medieval storyline becomes increasingly asinine and convoluted.
They also don't merge very well in terms of gameplay, as the future section only allows you to interact with two characters, access a computer and go to sleep. Essentially its just a glorified interactive cut-scene.

The other section, set in the Middle Ages, is where the main action takes place. Some have described this game as a Medieval GTA, and that's not too far off. You are given free reign to walk, run and climb (but frustratingly not to swim) over most of the Holy Land. Three large cities, Jerusalem, Damascus and Acre are available to explore, as well as all the countryside in between. This is not to mention the Assassin fortress at Masayaf. The medieval world is accurately reconstructed with the buildings and costumes being based on contemporary accounts. Historians were used during the game to ensure the visual world's accuracy. It works very well as visually this game is one of the most beautiful on the PS3. The graphics are stunning, while the the characters movements, whether in fights, or in climbing or on horseback, are fluid and realistic.

The game is also easy to get a control over, with some buttons being used as different body parts, for instance triangle for head, X for legs, square for sword hand etc. This makes climbing and fighting easy to control, but it also means there is little skill involved, espcially during battles, which involves pressing the right button at the right time to pull off a kill. That said, it's still a lot of fun.

The enemy AI on the other hand leaves a lot to be desired. You can simply walk behind a guard and kill him just by pressing one button (which allows you to blend in) which automatically makes you less conspicuous to them. They will at other times attack you for no reason. They will also attack you in large groups if they see you running through the streets. This makes travelling slow and difficult as you have to walk to most of your destinations in order to not attract attention to yourself.

Another hinderance to the game is how the missions are handled. In order to Assassinate somone you must first visit the Master Assassin at Masayaf. He will order you to travel to one of the cities, this means having to explore all the countryside in between (by climbing watch towers) which is time consuming and dull.
When you finally reach the city you must do the same, by exploring all the alleyways. Then you must visit the man at the Assassin's Bureau, he will ask you to carry out a series of investigations, including interrogation, pickpocketting, eavesdropping (just listening to a boring conversation for several minutes) and performing tasks for informers, such as having to kill a certain amount of people within a given timeframe, or collecting flags.
With these tasks completed you must then head back to the bureau. He will then give you your assassination target. Once you've completed the mission you must then head back to the Bureau (avoiding all the guards along the way). After this you head back to Masayaf for more missions. Essentially the entire game is played out this way, from start to finish. It is extremly repetitive, and it isn't helped by the characters dialogue, which is overlong and dull.
Another problem is the lack of activites to do. The cities are large and bustling, but there is very little interaction between you and its people. There are no shops to buy weapons, no buildings to walk into, and nothing much to do. The city folk themselves become annoying as they constantly spoute the same phrases over and over again as you pass them.
The game would have been less frustrating if the creators had entered a larger and diverse set of phrases for the game's citizens and public speakers.
The addition of the pestering poor women ("Please Sir, I need some coin!") , the drunks and the madmen will leave you fumming as they constanly push you about or get in your way, often blowing your cover and forcing you to do the same missions again and again.
A set of mini-tasks are included although they have no impact on the game's storyline whatsoever. These include fighting Knights Templar (a lot of fun) and collecting hundreds of flags (mind numbingly time consuming and utterly, utterly pointless).

I won't bother spoiling the game's ending for those who will play it, but I did find the game's direction towards the end rather disappointing, and I wasn't happy with how it turned from a historical adventure game into a sci-fi & fantasy/supernatural setting.

With all of this in mind though, Assassin's Creed is a good game. The sword fights are fun, and it makes a nice change from all those Modern/ World War 2 shooters. It's by no means perfect, and it didn't live up to the massive hype, but it's still a solid, enjoyable game.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2008
As a massive fan of the prince of persia titles, this at first glance offered an extremely detailed and wide world to explore. I wont waste time running over the good and bad points in detail as others have done this very well already. I will simply focus on the fact that the game has no challenge in terms of difficulty, even if you screw up a mission you have little chance of being killed because the fight system is so basic to master. once you have gained a bit of experience and some of the better skills you are basically unstoppable. Good stealth titles like 'splinter cell' and even 'man hunt' have you slaughtered instantly if you are seen, so for me the stealth element was completely lost.

But with the world so vast and quiet, You will find yourself breaking cover just to start a row and have a bit of action. Choose the most unfriendly location, in terms of gaurd numbers and I reckon you could walk out without a scratch having bled every single one of them.

The game is completely repetative and to be honest - pretty boring. I mean my girlfriend who bless her, will comment on what I am playing just kept saying ''how can you sit on that, it looks so boring'' and to be honest - she was right. If it wasn't for my OCD for completeness I wouldnt have bothered finishing the game - which by the way is a complete anti-climax.

As a PS3 sales weapon, this is a great demonstration of what my black bundle of joy can / could do BUT the game lacks the basics of a great title like Prince of Persia. Challenge and Reward.

However, if you find it cheap somewhere - it is well worth a look.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2007
I've been gagging to play this game, but then again who wouldn't be? You play a medieval assassin roaming the Holy Land kicking arse, what's not to love?

Let's start with the highlights. The environment is simply the best free roaming game environment I've ever seen, bar none. From perching on top of tall towers looking over ancient cities to the detail in the flocks of pigeons on the rooftops. It's a wonder to behold and if this is the standard that next generation consoles have to live up to we're in for some real eye candy. The simplicity of the control system is pretty good as well, although it takes a few missions until you gain the full sequence of moves. That said it may be too simple for some people.

Now the low-lights. Given the time and effort that Ubisoft spent crafting such a beautiful environment you would have thought they would provided more to do in it. Ubi make great play of what they call social stealth, the ability to blend into the marvelous crowds they've created. Unfortunately although you can climb, swing and jump over most of the buildings the social stealth is pretty limited to pretending to be a monk, hiding in a tent or sitting on a bench, bearing in mind this is the same software house that developed Splinter Cell it's pretty mind boggling they didn't work harder on this aspect.

The ugly. Cutscenes, I know that the developers spend a lot of time producing them but sometimes you just want to skip through them, especially if you've seen them before. Like most games sometimes the cutscene slow the game play to the point they become very frustrating if you can't skip over them. The mission types become repetitive and the assassinations themselves are pretty easy. I was hoping it would get more difficult as it went on, they didn't

On a personal note the sci-fi plot is just annoying. I hope Ubi dump Desmond and keep Altair in any sequel he could carry quite a few games.

All in all, I would have this game rather than not and I'm sure if they bring out a sequel it'll only get better.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2007
Assassins Creed is really going to divide opinion due to 2 very straight forward reasons, firstly, LOOKS and secondly, GAMEPLAY.

Let's start with the LOOKS. The actual in game visuals are truly stunning and incredibly cineamtic. The cities you play within have the hustle and bustle of their real counterparts and the rooftop vistas and the climbing sequences deliver jaw-dropping horizons and camera work. The main character design is exceptional, with his movement being incredibly smooth and intuitive; climbing never feels unnatural, with handholds seamlessly blended into the city architecture. As a result you will genuinely want this to become the experience the PS3 so richly deserved.

Herein lies the problem - beautiful scenery and characters do NOT make up for underdeveloped GAMEPLAY. What this game does, it does with definite finesse, however ultimately the experience lacks involvement and therefore a real sense of achievement. Firstly, CLIMBING and ROOF-RUNNING (great fun for a couple of days) are almost too straight forward; the over-simplicity of the controls means there is a distinct absence of interaction and danger. Secondly, the game is ultimately repetitive - go to city, visit the assassins bureau, find a view point, get information, assassinate victim. This is not helped as "climbing", getting information via "eavesdropping" and "pickpocketing", are essentially skill-less activities. The fighting control system has also been over-simplified to incorporate impressive fighting moves. This means that once your character's abilities develop you can fight off hordes of soldiers by a few simple well timed button presses; once again you'll start to wonder where the edge of your seat action is. The stealth element of the game actually works superbly well, largely because you will have to plan your strategy and execute it well to meet your objective. Once you become accustomed to the fact that guarding soldiers will start to get twitchy once you are in their "line of sight", hanging off buildings and carefully picking them off one by one becomes very rewarding.

Ultimately Assassins Creed is a style over substance game. Unfortunately the repetitive nature of the gameplay and a lack of involvement and excitement in the key areas of climbing and fighting means this is set to become little more than a weeks fun or a glossy in-store demo to sell more PS3 consoles.
11 comment|71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2008
So I've just completed the fourth assassination and I am having soooooo much fun with this game. Enough has been written about the visuals, and indeed much has been written about the lack of variety. Well to me this game has more depth in it's little finger than many others have in the whole game. Repetitive? Halo? Doom? Every FPS ever written? In an era of endless sequels, FPS's and war games, where the games industry seems stuck in a rut with no creativity or original thought, I give full marks to Ubisoft for trying to do something new. The story, like the overall pace of the game, unfolds slowly. It seems well written and thought out, and the dialogue and voice acting is well done. The scope and attention to detail within the cities blows me away, and I can explore for hours.

There are valid criticisms - there is no point to collecting flags or killing Templars, other than for personal satisfaction and the sense of completeness. The combat can be awkward at times, and there could be more variety in the different investigation missions. However I don't feel these detract too much from what is a very compelling experience.

I guess I like games that don't try to rush me through in a few hours, and for £50 I appreciate it. I can't wait to see what AC2 can bring, with more time to focus on the gameplay instead of creating a truly world-class engine.
11 comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
S T O R Y
You play as Altair, a member of the Assassin order, a sect that performs politically motivated murders to influence power and control. Amidst the sun drenched Middle East, it is the time of the third crusade, you and your Assassin brothers are looking for a special relic located in King Solomon's mines. However, the longstanding rivals of the Assassin order, the Templars, are looking for the very same relic. The acquisition of the relic goes bad. You are now stripped of your rank, and it becomes your quest to restore your honour and discover the secrets of the prized relic.

Assassin's Creed story-heavy nature proves to be its undoing, as its convoluted themes and historical references do little to spur on the events.

G R A P H I C S & S O U N D
Assassin's Creed is a beautiful looking game. The amount of historical research that has gone into this world is nothing short of astounding. The Assassin's fortress is a stunning landmark, towering into the sky, overlooking the glittering sea around it. There are major cities to visit: Acre, Damascus and Jerusalem. Each of the cities has a distinct look, smothered in glorious architecture. Each of the cities are divided into their own districts and suburbs, emphasising the gap between the rich and the poor. The Kingdom is a large section of land that binds the three cities together, and it is a stunning region full of rolling hills and monstrous mountains. The art direction is powerful, no expense has been spared to bring these famed cities to life.

The character model of Altair is immaculately detailed, bringing out his mysterious and shadowy personality. Altair's animations are impeccably smoothness, which brings to light how realistically he will move through large crowds and interact with numerous NPCs. The soundtrack excels during the finale of the game, throwing thumping orchestral work at the player.

Sadly, Altair's voice acting is abysmal. The 12th century assassin speaks with an American accent, which is just beyond baffling.

G A M E P L A Y
Consider yourself a 12th century Solid Snake, minus a voice that sounds like you may have throat cancer. Maps are never fully presented from the beginning. To do this players will have to climb to the top of tall viewpoints and survey the land around them. The rotating view is stunning, and will highlight many important aspects of the game. Altair can take a leap of faith from a tall structure and fall into a conveniently placed haystack. The main objectives of the game are to kill nine men across The Kingdom. Naturally, each task will become tougher as you progress. Here's how the process works: Find out who the target is from your leader. Gather intel from an Assassin's bureau in one of the city. Stick to specific guidelines and times before you attempt to pounce upon your target.

Altair has plenty of gadgets up his sleeve to start a mini war. The most notable items he has are his trusty wrist mounted blades, used for quick assassinations and quick combat. Altair is also a masters swordsman, so, players can expect to come across a number of swords, hammers and daggers. Even though players will want to stalk their targets, Altair will still have to fend off waves of enemies with counter-attack combat. Enemies will use plenty of grappling attacks to disrupt combat flow, but these can be easily avoided in order for you to open up a can of whoop ass upon them. Combat situations can also be avoided by simply running away, blending into crowds, or even quickly scurrying over rooftops. The climbing and free-running aspects are excellent. Altair moves so smoothly when climbing up walls and performing daredevil acrobatic moves. Surveying the environment around you is important, which will help pinpoint enemies and highlight objectives. This is known as Eagle Vision, and it will become a lifesaving attribute as the game progresses.

Altair's adventure ends up suffering from ludicrous repetitive mission objectives. The rinse and repeat formula adds tedium to the overall experience. The enemy A.I. Is laughable and poses very little threat during combat.

O V E R A L L
Altair is an intriguing character, even though he sounds like a Californian surfer dude! The story grows and brings forth many twists and turns. The graphics are gorgeous and the setting is engrossing from start to finish. If Ubisoft Montreal eliminate redundant gameplay issues, then they can push this series into bold territories.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
The game that introduced me to a series that I have come to respect and love so much. As you are most probably aware, Assassin's Creed is the first game in the series and takes place during the times of the Third Crusade in the Holy Land. You play through the ancestral memories of a man named Desmond Miles. Desmond Miles is the modern day protagonist who is kidnapped by an organisation called Abstergo and is forced to use a machine called the Animus which allows him to access the genetic memories of his ancestors. In this case Desmond Miles is used to access the memories of an Syrian Assassin called Altair ibn La Ahad in order for Abstergo to locate what they are looking for.

Just before the release of this game in late 2007 I remember reading about it and the concept of it immediately just interested me. As a person of history I wanted to play this game so I can see an interesting visualisation of the Holy Land during the Third Crusade. That's one of the things that I like about Assassin's Creed and that is the historical periods which it is set in. I found the controls and gameplay sides of the game to be very intuitive and fluid and the free running, climbing and all that jazz that is well known with the Assassin's Creed games to be impressively smooth. Everything is so easy to grasp and controlling Altair with his standards as well as free running around the buildings and environment quickly become second nature. Once you've gotten used to playing the first AC game, all the subsequent games will be easy to grasp. The graphics and portrayal of the times are very detailed and accurate. I now always picture the Crusades as they were in this game whenever I am reading a history book about the Crusades.

You are given a variety of weapons and tools to assassinate nine targets in order to regain your status in the Assassin's Brotherhood. I don't want to spoil the story too much for anyone who hasn't played it. Such cool weapons include a sword, the signature hidden blade, throwing knives and a few others.

Amazingly I haven't noticed any major bugs and glitches with this game it is very well made. It runs smoothly and doesn't have any annoyances with it.

The downsides of Assassin's Creed are mainly its repetitive gameplay where each assassination target has a set of mission objectives to complete in order to obtain more information about Altair's target. It's all so repetitive and you find yourself not paying much attention to what is going on. It makes replaying the game less exciting due to its repetitiveness.

If you weren't interested in the Crusades before playing this game then you most likely will be after experiencing Assassin's Creed. I feel strange because I started getting interested in the history of the Crusades after playing this game.

The final verdict is this feels more like an uncompleted beta version of the subsequent games and is still very good for getting introduced to the series as well as its enthralling storyline. The repetitiveness of the game may mean that this is good for only playing once but the gameplay itself is still very fun and enjoyable. If you haven't experienced the memories of an Assassin then I recommend you pick this one up whenever you can.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2008
I recieved a ps3 for christmas aswell as assassins creed which at the moment is my only ps3 game.

For a starter game for the ps3 it shows everything that the ps3 brags about in terms of graphics.

Now for me the stunning scenery, sword fights and horse riding adds everything to realism apart from the fact your stuck in some lab and you have to go into your memory to play the part of Altair (your descendent.

The dialogue is very good aswell as the free running mechanism.

Now if your like me and do every assassination by the book ie: search for clues about your assassination target, go to every view point in the city it can get a bit repitive but fun in the same sense, as you are doing what i imagine every assassin has to, find out information about your target, plus the view points as the camera rotates shows a brilliant backdrop of the game.

The only downside is when you or if you choose to save a citzen and engage the guards in the battle in process of being a good samaritian, once you have got rid of the citizen harrassing guards some more random guards who HAPPEN to be passing your way decide to attack you which is quite annoying and you spend a good half hour killing millions of guards.

Also as i found when i engaged the fake Richard De Sable in battle and your getting arrows shot at you from above that can be rather frustrating and can leave you saying a few choiced words, to start off with its quite easy to be the perfect assassin with all the stealth kills even the first couple assassination targets are quite easy.

But as you progress deeper in the game it is quite impossible to be the perfect assassin all the way through.

As for the ending im not gonna spoil it but if your a hardcore video-gamer like myself then i feel you will be dissapointed and be feeling what was the point of the whole game.

Hope you found my review helpful.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)