Customer Reviews


176 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (49)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


125 of 131 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suits my busy life!!
There are lots of people saying that the gameplay on this is too simplistic and it is repetative, there is little skill involved in the eavesdropping and pick pocket missions. Personally this suits me down to the ground.

Many years ago I was a great gamer. I could play for hours and master all the skill and moves involved. Now life has overtaken this. Work and...
Published on 9 Dec 2007 by S. Wager

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sets the new standard..
I would agree with the majority of views that criticise the gameplay for asassins creed - it is definitely lacking in variation.

But I dont think anyone has given the control system the credit it deserves - it is truly stunning. The character can move in such a fluid, natural way around the cities you have to explore. Absolutely everything you think you should...
Published on 16 April 2008 by R. Prince


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

125 of 131 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suits my busy life!!, 9 Dec 2007
By 
S. Wager "swag72" (Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed (PS3) (Video Game)
There are lots of people saying that the gameplay on this is too simplistic and it is repetative, there is little skill involved in the eavesdropping and pick pocket missions. Personally this suits me down to the ground.

Many years ago I was a great gamer. I could play for hours and master all the skill and moves involved. Now life has overtaken this. Work and home life ensures that while in my heart I enjoy playing games, I really do not have the time to master the complexities these days.

The graphics are breathtaking. The controls are simple and I can pick it up after a week and still play the game. I can see an end to it (having completed 5 assassinations so far). Recently I sell games when they get too complicated or difficult to play after weeks away.

If you are a gamer at heart, but feel that you can not give the hours to master tricky moves etc then I would recommend this to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sets the new standard.., 16 April 2008
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed (PS3) (Video Game)
I would agree with the majority of views that criticise the gameplay for asassins creed - it is definitely lacking in variation.

But I dont think anyone has given the control system the credit it deserves - it is truly stunning. The character can move in such a fluid, natural way around the cities you have to explore. Absolutely everything you think you should be able to get a grip on you can. When running away from guards you have spooked you can genuinely run and climb anywhere and move as quickly as you can think...

The graphics and detail is amazing - its a pleasure to look at as you move around the cities.

This isnt enough though - the missions are slow and the dialog tedious. I can only hope that the sequel combines the amazing control system with some decent gameplay..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 81 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So near, yet so far...., 19 Nov 2007
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed (PS3) (Video Game)
Assassins Creed is really going to divide opinion due to 2 very straight forward reasons, firstly, LOOKS and secondly, GAMEPLAY.

Let's start with the LOOKS. The actual in game visuals are truly stunning and incredibly cineamtic. The cities you play within have the hustle and bustle of their real counterparts and the rooftop vistas and the climbing sequences deliver jaw-dropping horizons and camera work. The main character design is exceptional, with his movement being incredibly smooth and intuitive; climbing never feels unnatural, with handholds seamlessly blended into the city architecture. As a result you will genuinely want this to become the experience the PS3 so richly deserved.

Herein lies the problem - beautiful scenery and characters do NOT make up for underdeveloped GAMEPLAY. What this game does, it does with definite finesse, however ultimately the experience lacks involvement and therefore a real sense of achievement. Firstly, CLIMBING and ROOF-RUNNING (great fun for a couple of days) are almost too straight forward; the over-simplicity of the controls means there is a distinct absence of interaction and danger. Secondly, the game is ultimately repetitive - go to city, visit the assassins bureau, find a view point, get information, assassinate victim. This is not helped as "climbing", getting information via "eavesdropping" and "pickpocketing", are essentially skill-less activities. The fighting control system has also been over-simplified to incorporate impressive fighting moves. This means that once your character's abilities develop you can fight off hordes of soldiers by a few simple well timed button presses; once again you'll start to wonder where the edge of your seat action is. The stealth element of the game actually works superbly well, largely because you will have to plan your strategy and execute it well to meet your objective. Once you become accustomed to the fact that guarding soldiers will start to get twitchy once you are in their "line of sight", hanging off buildings and carefully picking them off one by one becomes very rewarding.

Ultimately Assassins Creed is a style over substance game. Unfortunately the repetitive nature of the gameplay and a lack of involvement and excitement in the key areas of climbing and fighting means this is set to become little more than a weeks fun or a glossy in-store demo to sell more PS3 consoles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for the fast-paced-blast-the-crap-out-of-everything ADD crowd..., 25 Mar 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed (PS3) (Video Game)
So I've just completed the fourth assassination and I am having soooooo much fun with this game. Enough has been written about the visuals, and indeed much has been written about the lack of variety. Well to me this game has more depth in it's little finger than many others have in the whole game. Repetitive? Halo? Doom? Every FPS ever written? In an era of endless sequels, FPS's and war games, where the games industry seems stuck in a rut with no creativity or original thought, I give full marks to Ubisoft for trying to do something new. The story, like the overall pace of the game, unfolds slowly. It seems well written and thought out, and the dialogue and voice acting is well done. The scope and attention to detail within the cities blows me away, and I can explore for hours.

There are valid criticisms - there is no point to collecting flags or killing Templars, other than for personal satisfaction and the sense of completeness. The combat can be awkward at times, and there could be more variety in the different investigation missions. However I don't feel these detract too much from what is a very compelling experience.

I guess I like games that don't try to rush me through in a few hours, and for 50 I appreciate it. I can't wait to see what AC2 can bring, with more time to focus on the gameplay instead of creating a truly world-class engine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but Flawed, 12 Nov 2008
By 
D. Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed (PS3) (Video Game)
Assassin's Creed passed me by during its initial release, which was odd considering I have an interest in the Crusades and the Medieval period. When I did get to learn about it I avoided it because of the fairly negative reviews. Eventually my cousin got a hold of the game, and I felt impressed enough by the small demonstration that I brought a copy too.
While I certainly enjoyed the game, I do understand that the game's detractors do make a valid criticism of its gameplay.

It's worth covering the plot first. The game is split into two halfs. One is set in the Holy Land around AD 1191, at the height of the Third Crusade, when Altair, (the character you control) is given a task of eliminating nine elite members of the Crusader and Saracen armies, in order that his Master, Al Mualim, can usher in a new era of peace. The other half is seen through the eyes of Desmond Miles, Altair's descendant, some time in the near future as he is kidnapped by the members of Abstergo Industries, and forced to test out their new invention, the 'Animus', a machine that allows its user to access the memories of their ancestors.

One of the weak points of the game is how the two storylines merge; as what should have been a historical adventure quickly turns into a murky and confusing sci-fi thriller. Towards the last few levels of the game, the future/Medieval storyline becomes increasingly asinine and convoluted.
They also don't merge very well in terms of gameplay, as the future section only allows you to interact with two characters, access a computer and go to sleep. Essentially its just a glorified interactive cut-scene.

The other section, set in the Middle Ages, is where the main action takes place. Some have described this game as a Medieval GTA, and that's not too far off. You are given free reign to walk, run and climb (but frustratingly not to swim) over most of the Holy Land. Three large cities, Jerusalem, Damascus and Acre are available to explore, as well as all the countryside in between. This is not to mention the Assassin fortress at Masayaf. The medieval world is accurately reconstructed with the buildings and costumes being based on contemporary accounts. Historians were used during the game to ensure the visual world's accuracy. It works very well as visually this game is one of the most beautiful on the PS3. The graphics are stunning, while the the characters movements, whether in fights, or in climbing or on horseback, are fluid and realistic.

The game is also easy to get a control over, with some buttons being used as different body parts, for instance triangle for head, X for legs, square for sword hand etc. This makes climbing and fighting easy to control, but it also means there is little skill involved, espcially during battles, which involves pressing the right button at the right time to pull off a kill. That said, it's still a lot of fun.

The enemy AI on the other hand leaves a lot to be desired. You can simply walk behind a guard and kill him just by pressing one button (which allows you to blend in) which automatically makes you less conspicuous to them. They will at other times attack you for no reason. They will also attack you in large groups if they see you running through the streets. This makes travelling slow and difficult as you have to walk to most of your destinations in order to not attract attention to yourself.

Another hinderance to the game is how the missions are handled. In order to Assassinate somone you must first visit the Master Assassin at Masayaf. He will order you to travel to one of the cities, this means having to explore all the countryside in between (by climbing watch towers) which is time consuming and dull.
When you finally reach the city you must do the same, by exploring all the alleyways. Then you must visit the man at the Assassin's Bureau, he will ask you to carry out a series of investigations, including interrogation, pickpocketting, eavesdropping (just listening to a boring conversation for several minutes) and performing tasks for informers, such as having to kill a certain amount of people within a given timeframe, or collecting flags.
With these tasks completed you must then head back to the bureau. He will then give you your assassination target. Once you've completed the mission you must then head back to the Bureau (avoiding all the guards along the way). After this you head back to Masayaf for more missions. Essentially the entire game is played out this way, from start to finish. It is extremly repetitive, and it isn't helped by the characters dialogue, which is overlong and dull.
Another problem is the lack of activites to do. The cities are large and bustling, but there is very little interaction between you and its people. There are no shops to buy weapons, no buildings to walk into, and nothing much to do. The city folk themselves become annoying as they constantly spoute the same phrases over and over again as you pass them.
The game would have been less frustrating if the creators had entered a larger and diverse set of phrases for the game's citizens and public speakers.
The addition of the pestering poor women ("Please Sir, I need some coin!") , the drunks and the madmen will leave you fumming as they constanly push you about or get in your way, often blowing your cover and forcing you to do the same missions again and again.
A set of mini-tasks are included although they have no impact on the game's storyline whatsoever. These include fighting Knights Templar (a lot of fun) and collecting hundreds of flags (mind numbingly time consuming and utterly, utterly pointless).

I won't bother spoiling the game's ending for those who will play it, but I did find the game's direction towards the end rather disappointing, and I wasn't happy with how it turned from a historical adventure game into a sci-fi & fantasy/supernatural setting.

With all of this in mind though, Assassin's Creed is a good game. The sword fights are fun, and it makes a nice change from all those Modern/ World War 2 shooters. It's by no means perfect, and it didn't live up to the massive hype, but it's still a solid, enjoyable game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long Term Investment - Little Reward...., 24 Jun 2008
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed (PS3) (Video Game)
As a massive fan of the prince of persia titles, this at first glance offered an extremely detailed and wide world to explore. I wont waste time running over the good and bad points in detail as others have done this very well already. I will simply focus on the fact that the game has no challenge in terms of difficulty, even if you screw up a mission you have little chance of being killed because the fight system is so basic to master. once you have gained a bit of experience and some of the better skills you are basically unstoppable. Good stealth titles like 'splinter cell' and even 'man hunt' have you slaughtered instantly if you are seen, so for me the stealth element was completely lost.

But with the world so vast and quiet, You will find yourself breaking cover just to start a row and have a bit of action. Choose the most unfriendly location, in terms of gaurd numbers and I reckon you could walk out without a scratch having bled every single one of them.

The game is completely repetative and to be honest - pretty boring. I mean my girlfriend who bless her, will comment on what I am playing just kept saying ''how can you sit on that, it looks so boring'' and to be honest - she was right. If it wasn't for my OCD for completeness I wouldnt have bothered finishing the game - which by the way is a complete anti-climax.

As a PS3 sales weapon, this is a great demonstration of what my black bundle of joy can / could do BUT the game lacks the basics of a great title like Prince of Persia. Challenge and Reward.

However, if you find it cheap somewhere - it is well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost a classic., 20 Nov 2007
By 
Paul Taylor "Paul" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed (PS3) (Video Game)
I've been gagging to play this game, but then again who wouldn't be? You play a medieval assassin roaming the Holy Land kicking arse, what's not to love?

Let's start with the highlights. The environment is simply the best free roaming game environment I've ever seen, bar none. From perching on top of tall towers looking over ancient cities to the detail in the flocks of pigeons on the rooftops. It's a wonder to behold and if this is the standard that next generation consoles have to live up to we're in for some real eye candy. The simplicity of the control system is pretty good as well, although it takes a few missions until you gain the full sequence of moves. That said it may be too simple for some people.

Now the low-lights. Given the time and effort that Ubisoft spent crafting such a beautiful environment you would have thought they would provided more to do in it. Ubi make great play of what they call social stealth, the ability to blend into the marvelous crowds they've created. Unfortunately although you can climb, swing and jump over most of the buildings the social stealth is pretty limited to pretending to be a monk, hiding in a tent or sitting on a bench, bearing in mind this is the same software house that developed Splinter Cell it's pretty mind boggling they didn't work harder on this aspect.

The ugly. Cutscenes, I know that the developers spend a lot of time producing them but sometimes you just want to skip through them, especially if you've seen them before. Like most games sometimes the cutscene slow the game play to the point they become very frustrating if you can't skip over them. The mission types become repetitive and the assassinations themselves are pretty easy. I was hoping it would get more difficult as it went on, they didn't

On a personal note the sci-fi plot is just annoying. I hope Ubi dump Desmond and keep Altair in any sequel he could carry quite a few games.

All in all, I would have this game rather than not and I'm sure if they bring out a sequel it'll only get better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Crushingly disappointing, 14 Dec 2007
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed (PS3) (Video Game)
When I read the first few reviews of this, I seriously doubted a game in development for such a long time, by a company who KNOWS how to make good games and a title so high in profile could be received with the negative comments it had.

When I first put it on my chin hit the floor when I overlooked a city. The depth of field and clarity is something to really behold. The first few hours the very dubious over arching story line in the laboratory was easily ignored, and I felt it better to get a good five or six hours in before really passing judgement. There was no way the sword play, interaction, controls and missions were going to remain so stunted, wooden and... rubbish for the entire game right?

Well, I played it for five hours, went on holiday for two weeks, came back and played it for another hour. Not only was I bored with the repetition of what you had to do in each mission, the utter one dimension of every aspect of the game was screaming at me. Terrible plot, chronic controls for anything other than running (!), clumsy one trick sword fighting, and repetition in EVERY aspect of the game. In short, boring. Utterly.

No stealth kills in missions, just the same old sword play move "defend, defend, counter, defend, counter" and you're done. Then you have to endure painful moralistic sermons from the victims. This is the company that bought us Splinter Cell for crying out loud!

After the fifth time, I just switched it off without saving. Don't bother. Save your cash, and get a Hitman or Splinter Cell game for your choice of platform. Seriously! Don't even be tempted to get a cheap second hand one either. 10 or 45, it is a waste of cash and a few hours of your life you will lament losing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good game but..., 17 Nov 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed (PS3) (Video Game)
I got this game this morning, started playing it this afternoon ive killed 2 out of the 9 assassination targets so i cant comment on the plot but from a first impressions point of view the game is very good but just not what i was expecting. After reading all the reviews and watching the videos i was excited. The fighting controls where each button controls a body part and also climbing up walls all over the place, i got the impression i would have alot of freedom to do what i wanted on this game and kill my target the way i wanted. The truth is a little different but even so the game is worth a buy.

Everythings very similar, each assassination is done the same way and you have the options to save civilians, pick pocket, interrogate or eavesdrop as side missions in the cities if you dont feel like doing the assassin mission just yet. But basically your just doing the same thing 9 times except its a different target and a different part of the city. Also when you climb to the top of these tall towers for a view there is always a stack of hay right underneath you so you can jump off, this is enjoyable but not realistic. On top of that when you try to enter a city i already know that there will be a civilian in distress who i can rescue outside the walls, this will then trigger some monks to show up outside the gates and then i can blend in with them and sneak through the gates, again its just not realistic for them to be there everytime. I would much prefer them to be there occasionally and that would mean i'd hafto come up with another way in, this would be more challenging.

Its dissapointing as...like i said i expected more freedom to roam. However not to be too negative, there are good things. As you complete your missions and progress you will be given more weapons and better moves. Once you get the hang of your weapons and how to use them you can get some real excitement out of stabbing guards through the neck with your blade or counter attacking a guards attack with a lethal combo (great fun). Also the cities are split into 3 ( making 9 sections which as you can guess means you do a assassination in each section). As you progress you will have the freedom of the city combined with your new abilities which should make your gaming more enjoyable. So all in all, not the game i was expecting but still a good one.

by the way the horse riding is also quite enjoyable.

**Having now finished the game there isnt much you can do after completion except replay the assassinations and go around killing guards, both of which would get a little tiresome after awhile.

The plot is a crazy one thats for sure, its original and although at first the plot annoyed me as i just wanted to play the game it did eventually start to interest me. I wont give the plot away but the game does leave itself blantantly open for sequals which will obviously come. Some people have got very excited about the plot and the ending which......leaves you puzzles to solve. Solving them would require alot of googling and to be honest i just don't care enough to bother. Im sure Assassins Creed 2 will answer all questions anyway so whats the point.

Overall an interesting story with some good gameplay and great graphics. It does dissapoint in certain areas like repetitiveness which can make it boring. A good attempt and i will buy the next game which hopefully improves on its weaknesses first time round. **

sorry my review is so damn looooooooong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Begin the memories of Desmond's Assassin ancestor Altair ibn La Ahad, 21 Jan 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed (PS3) (Video Game)
The game that introduced me to a series that I have come to respect and love so much. As you are most probably aware, Assassin's Creed is the first game in the series and takes place during the times of the Third Crusade in the Holy Land. You play through the ancestral memories of a man named Desmond Miles. Desmond Miles is the modern day protagonist who is kidnapped by an organisation called Abstergo and is forced to use a machine called the Animus which allows him to access the genetic memories of his ancestors. In this case Desmond Miles is used to access the memories of an Syrian Assassin called Altair ibn La Ahad in order for Abstergo to locate what they are looking for.

Just before the release of this game in late 2007 I remember reading about it and the concept of it immediately just interested me. As a person of history I wanted to play this game so I can see an interesting visualisation of the Holy Land during the Third Crusade. That's one of the things that I like about Assassin's Creed and that is the historical periods which it is set in. I found the controls and gameplay sides of the game to be very intuitive and fluid and the free running, climbing and all that jazz that is well known with the Assassin's Creed games to be impressively smooth. Everything is so easy to grasp and controlling Altair with his standards as well as free running around the buildings and environment quickly become second nature. Once you've gotten used to playing the first AC game, all the subsequent games will be easy to grasp. The graphics and portrayal of the times are very detailed and accurate. I now always picture the Crusades as they were in this game whenever I am reading a history book about the Crusades.

You are given a variety of weapons and tools to assassinate nine targets in order to regain your status in the Assassin's Brotherhood. I don't want to spoil the story too much for anyone who hasn't played it. Such cool weapons include a sword, the signature hidden blade, throwing knives and a few others.

Amazingly I haven't noticed any major bugs and glitches with this game it is very well made. It runs smoothly and doesn't have any annoyances with it.

The downsides of Assassin's Creed are mainly its repetitive gameplay where each assassination target has a set of mission objectives to complete in order to obtain more information about Altair's target. It's all so repetitive and you find yourself not paying much attention to what is going on. It makes replaying the game less exciting due to its repetitiveness.

If you weren't interested in the Crusades before playing this game then you most likely will be after experiencing Assassin's Creed. I feel strange because I started getting interested in the history of the Crusades after playing this game.

The final verdict is this feels more like an uncompleted beta version of the subsequent games and is still very good for getting introduced to the series as well as its enthralling storyline. The repetitiveness of the game may mean that this is good for only playing once but the gameplay itself is still very fun and enjoyable. If you haven't experienced the memories of an Assassin then I recommend you pick this one up whenever you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Assassin's Creed (PS3)
Assassin's Creed (PS3) by Ubisoft (PlayStation 3)
6.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews