Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game
I was addicted to the Settlers games when they first came out many years ago but slightly disappointed when they updated the graphics of the characters in later versions as I felt it took away some of their charm. Having ordered this game, I was a little apprehensive as to how good it would be having read some bad reviews.
Now I've played it I'm delighted to see...
Published on 4 July 2008 by Ian

versus
24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment
I had high hopes for this game as it returns to the original roots of the settlers franchise. It should have been the perfect combination of portability and touchscreen goodness on the DS and it is surprising just how much of a mess of things they made.

The game runs slow with often skipping animations, the screen is cramped and although you can zoom out this...
Published on 13 Aug. 2007 by Mr. J. R. Davidson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 4 July 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Settlers (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I was addicted to the Settlers games when they first came out many years ago but slightly disappointed when they updated the graphics of the characters in later versions as I felt it took away some of their charm. Having ordered this game, I was a little apprehensive as to how good it would be having read some bad reviews.
Now I've played it I'm delighted to see that it echoes the original format brilliantly and I'm just as addicted as I was before!
My only gripe would be the amount of scrolling necessary to see the whole world you've created but this is down to the small screens of the DS and not the game itself so it can't be helped.
This is now one of the best games I own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment, 13 Aug. 2007
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Settlers (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I had high hopes for this game as it returns to the original roots of the settlers franchise. It should have been the perfect combination of portability and touchscreen goodness on the DS and it is surprising just how much of a mess of things they made.

The game runs slow with often skipping animations, the screen is cramped and although you can zoom out this makes the game run slower and causes crashes. Saving and loading takes anything up to a minute and over (doesn't sound long but you just try it!), sounds effects seem distorted, the touchscreen sometimes responds to you but not always. The dual screen is well implemented allowing you to have various reports on the top screen while you continue to play on the bottom but thats about its only redeeming feature.

It an absolute mess, which is a shame because the original games were good fun to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just like the good old times, 8 Mar. 2010
By 
Barf (Anchorage, AK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Settlers (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Having played hours and hours of the original Settlers games, I needed to own this one as well. I was not dissapointed, the game is just as good as the old one. Same interaction as in the real game. No problems with game being unstable. Sometimes it's a bit tiring trying to hit the right spot with the stylus, but that does not affect the overall fun at all!
Great little game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice game - not great on a DS though, 15 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Settlers (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I love this game, and i love how simple using it on the DSi is, however the small screen means you spend more time trying to get to the bit of map that you want than actually playing - would be better on a tablet i think though :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brill game!, 1 Oct. 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Settlers (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This is a fantastic game that returns to the very roots of 'The Settlers' franchise; maintaining the originals charm and appeal, but with updated and portable gameplay. Excellent game. Highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 14 April 2009
By 
tanya_b (Bournemouth, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Settlers (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
If you are a fan of the Settlers PC games (as I am) then you will not be disappointed with this game.
I have not experienced any of the crashes or problems loading that other gamers have mentioned - just hours of fun game play!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars To Be Avoided, 5 Dec. 2007
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Settlers (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This game rates as the worst game I've ever posessed in over twenty years of gaming. Anyone expecting a halfways playable game will be sorely disappointed. The menu structure is abysmal, and the graphics are way below what I'd expect. I didn't even want to give it one star, but that's as low as you can go, about the same as this game.
DON'T WASTE YOUR CASH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Settlers (Nintendo DS)
The Settlers (Nintendo DS) by Ubisoft (Nintendo DS)
£39.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews