Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking epic rock album-but really "bat out of hell" 2and a half
There were three key ingredients in the success of the original "Bat Out of Hell"- the incredible rock operatic voice of Meatloaf himself, the Springsteen meets Lloyd Weber widescreen songs of Jim Steinman-and the incredible production talents (including searing lead guitar and amazing vocal arrangements) of Todd Rundgren.Only one of those is present throughout this CD,...
Published on 26 Oct 2006 by M. W. Hatfield

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity
Bat Out of Hell 3 could have been something truly special. All the album had to do was capture the passion and sweeping narrative of the previous two incarnations. However, it seems to have failed to live up to these expectations. Whilst there are some moments of inspiration, one gets the feeling that the album is a mish-mash of songs that fail to have any form of...
Published on 26 Oct 2006 by Mr. J. A. Way


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking epic rock album-but really "bat out of hell" 2and a half, 26 Oct 2006
By 
M. W. Hatfield "mwhatfield" (Gainsborough, Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bat Out Of Hell 3: The Monster is Loose (Audio CD)
There were three key ingredients in the success of the original "Bat Out of Hell"- the incredible rock operatic voice of Meatloaf himself, the Springsteen meets Lloyd Weber widescreen songs of Jim Steinman-and the incredible production talents (including searing lead guitar and amazing vocal arrangements) of Todd Rundgren.Only one of those is present throughout this CD, and that's what loses the one star.

But make no mistake-this is a powerful and enjoyable album, and probably the best epic rock album of the year.Worth buying? For sure!

First, the good news..Meat sings throughout, and is in superb voice.Whether belting out hard rock machismo,or sobbing tender ballads, his voice is up to the challenge, and sounding better than it has for years.This is a five-star performance on every track, even when singing the nu-metal of "The Monster is loose" or the funky rock of"If it ain't broke, break it!". Vocally, this is a worthy album, and worth it for Meat alone.

The production,while powerful and modern, just falls short of the dynamics and variety of "Bat1". Desmond Child is the man in the chair, and he adds some modern rock flourishes, including some strong songs-"The Monster is Loose" makes Meat a credible modern rock act. However-he ain't no Jim Steinman, and it's clear that his brief here has been to mimic the Steinman style, leading to some contrived piano-based passages and harmonies which are nearly...but not quite!..Steinman.

And that's the one big problem here. There are 7 Steinman songs here, out of 14, and while 7 Steinman songs is better than none..it ain't enough. And if Steinman himself isn't the Steinman of old (Except when it is the Steinman of old as in the superb reworking of "Bad for Good") then one thing's for sure..nobody else is anywhere near as good at this Wagner meets Phil Spector in Springsteen's front room as Steinman himself.

So, what have we got? A great voice, some lovely piano ballads, rock music with real tunes, some guest stars (notably Brian May,doing that trilling Queen lead guitar thing)and a few modern touches.

What are we missing? The subtle dynamics, the magic melodies of Steinman at his best, the sense of theatrics..and a little bit of authenticity. Sometimes it almost feels like Meatloaf creating a tribute album to the real Meatloaf of 1977.

And yet...

And yet...

This is a thrilling great epic Cinemascope rock album, which you will belt out of your car windows as you drive down the highways of your mind , surrounded by ersatz monsters and demons.

And if they're painted by Julie Bell rather than Richard Corben..well it's 2006 not 1977..

Damnit, you'll enjoy it.But it's not really "Bat Out of Hell 3". More like "Bat out of Hell 2 and a half".

Still beats most of the competition, though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dad Rock Rules, 10 Nov 2006
By 
Firstly, this CD should come with a warning: MOTORISTS - PULL YOUR CAR OVER AND APPLY YOUR HAZZARD LIGHTS BEFORE YOU PLAY TRACK 4 - AIR GUITAR TENDENCIES MAY ENDANGER YOUR SAFETY AND THE SAFETY OF OTHER ROAD USERS. The album is everything you expect from a Meat Loaf album but with a droplet of Queen added to the mix (which is no bad thing!). Brian May lets his hair down and does what he does best on Bad for good, the intro is royalty itself!! The tracks combine old with new and few fail to please. Meat Loaf has called in his friends and the result is golden. The album will appeal to those who like their music loud and filled with emotion. Three small gripes though that lose it the 5 star status in my opinion. The lack of a steinman style spoken intro to a key song seperates it from Bat I and II, disappointingly breaking the feel of a sequel. The title track is not the strongest one on the album and again this disappoints somewhat when you look at the magnificence shown on the openers on the first two albums. Finally the accompanying DVD is short,filler material with very poor sound quality. Roll on the tour dates!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Hell of an achievement., 25 Oct 2006
It's taken 30 years, but, for me, this album has bettered the original for the first time; this is a magnificent achievement for Meat and for Desmond Child. The previous two albums under the Bat Out Of Hell banner contain songs all written by Jim Steinman, this volume has songs penned by other writers who have written for Meat previously as well as some from Jim himself. Although we are all familiar with other versions of Steinman's 'It's All Coming Back To Me Now', this one is by far and away the best. It's great that Meat has finally recorded Steinman's 'Bad For Good' and it is magificient and includes guitar from Brian May. The album has a much rockier feel to it than any of Meat's previous albums with some pretty harsh guitar, especially the angry opener 'The Monster Is Loose', Steinman's 'In The Land Of The Pigs----' and 'If it Ain't Broke---' with bitterness as well as anger coming through. 'Seize The Night' is a lengthy epic fusing rock with classical with vocals from a boy soprano. There are some shorter pieces which you can imagine are potentially more 'radio-friendly' such as 'Alive', 'Cry Over Me' and 'If God Could Talk' and these, along with 'Blind As A Bat' are a bit more like the Meat Loaf songs we're accustomed to. Needless to say, Meat himself sings with breath-taking power and ferocity; he sounds like he's in torment at times. It's a challenging listen in places (more than ever before) and you feel yourself wondering how the hell he does it. At over 77 minutes, there's a lot of listening here, and the only criticism I would have of this masterpiece of epic proportions is that it's a little too long. But it is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Needs a couple of listens, 24 Oct 2006
By 
M. Hathaway - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bat Out Of Hell 3: The Monster is Loose (Audio CD)
As a long term Meat Loaf and Jim Steinman fan, I wanted Bat III to be great. On the first listen though, I have to admit I was disappointed. However, after 3 or 4 run throughs, the album is well and truely stuck in my head.

Following on from Bat 2 with covering tracks from other Jim Steinman albums : "Bad for Good" the title track from Steinman's own album. "Seize The Night", the original of which was called "Carpe Noctem - Fuhl Die Nacht!" from the German stage show "Tanz Der Vampire". And "It's All Coming Back To Me Now" and "Future Ain't What It Used To Be" from the album "Original Sin" from Pandora's Box. "It's All Coming Back To Me Now" is the only one to have a major reworking, by being turned into a duet, which works really well. "Bad for Good" will always be an excellent track, but why did they ask Brian May to play on it? The beginning sounds terrible now, like Queen on an off-day. Don't get me wrong, Brian May is a guitar god, but he sounds totally out of place here.

On the whole, this album is a lot heavier than previous Bats, the tracks "Monster Is Loose", "If It Ain't Broke Break It" and "In The Land Of The Pigs (The Butcher Is King)" especially. Somehow, tracks like "Alive" and "What About Love" manage to raise the "Over the top" bar of production set by earlier Bat albums.

As I said at the beginning, this album takes a couple of listens before it really gets into your head. Just stick with it and it's worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait? Absolutely!, 25 Oct 2006
By 
A. Murrie (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Many doubted that it could be done, I was even secretly a little worried that it wouldn't quite live up to the first 2 Bat albums. But it does. It's over the top, hellish and epic - exactly as a Bat album should be. The tone of this one is darker and while I've only had a couple of listens right through, there are several instant classics. The production values of the album overall are excellent, some tracks using a full live orchestra to great effect with some nice Bat references such as 'Seize The Night' which uses the Back Into Hell melody as an underscore. The title track is quite simply awesome and Meat Loaf's voice throughout sounds better than it has in 10 years. I cannot recommend this enough, not only as a conclusion to a trilogy but as a great album in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Beast Is Back, 9 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. R. Gamble "Rab Gamble" (Belfast, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Definitely for the true Meat Loaf fan, this album follows the familiar format of storytelling in the operatic rock genre at which Meat Loaf sits at the pinnacle. The opening track (The Monster's Loose)blasts into your eardrums leaving you feeling a little nostalgic for the previous albums. Yet it has a more hard rock feel to it than we would normally associate with Meat.

The album does however contain it's fair share of ballads, not least of which is "It's All Coming Back To Me Now". This breaks in some way from the norm as it has been previously recorded (by Pandora's Box & Celine Dion) and feels a little inferior to those previous releases. But that dissapointment aside the rest of the tracks (in particular Blind as a Bat, Bad For Good, & Alive) are vintage Meat Loaf.

If you have followed Meat Loaf from the beginning then there is shades of all of the early albums in this one and I thoroughly recommend it. But if you are new to Meat Loaf then I suggest you give the first Bat Out Of Hell & Dead Ringer a listen before jumping into this album, you'll thank me for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll never touch the eject button again........, 28 Oct 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album is not for the faint of heart, or neigbours with thin walls. It is loud, proud and louder. The style is almost operatic with heavy orchestral interludes. Classic rock ballads abound with the stunning 'What about love' just screaming to be on the karaoke lists anytime soon.

It's a long album too, with a variety of great rock styles. Great to know that Stienman is back in the writing seat with Meat Loaf. No 'Bat' album is complete without Patti Russo. Just when you think it's all complete, legends like Brian May pop up in classic form.

You can tell I like this, can't you. Buy it and you'll agree..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Consistent yet different, 31 Oct 2006
By 
Dave Snape (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Meaty has delivered yet another stunning masterpiece. The range of musicians listed on the album will give anyone an idea of the quality of the CD. These include Brian May, Steve Vai and Eric Sardinas amongst others! If these guys are willing to partake in a Meat Loaf album, that must only serve to confirm the quality of the album. Superb. No screaming motorcycles that I've heard yet and I've listened to it many times but that doesn't detract from the wide range of music on this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good Meatloaf album but not as good as the previous 2 Bats, 31 Jan 2007
By 
Mrs. A. H. Pinto (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bat Out Of Hell 3: The Monster is Loose (Audio CD)
I have been a huge fan of Meatloaf ever since "Bat out of Hell 2" came out. I have been eagerly awaiting "Bat out of Hell 3" ever since "Welcome to the Neighbourhood" came out and I realized that not all Meatloaf albums are equal. So is this new album richer than diamonds or just a little cheaper than spit?

Well the answer is neither. On my first listening I was not impressed but to be honest I was almost expecting Bat out of Hell 2.1. I waited a day or two and then went back and listened to BooH3 with an open mind and enjoyed it much more the second time round. Several of the songs had grown on my a lot once I started listening to them and not my own expectations. There are several songs on there that are right up there with Meatloaf's classic hits.

Sadly there are also a few tracks that really disappoint. On Bat 1 and 2, pretty much every track was a hit. On 3, there are some great hits but there are also some sad misses. I won't bother listing exactly which tracks I like and dislike as others have pretty much covered my feelings here. The one track I felt really sad about was "Bad for Good". This song is one of Jim Steinman's best and ever since I heard it, I had hoped that Meatloaf would cover it one day. I guess I should have made do with my imagination. Meatloaf puts his customary gusto into most of the tracks on the album but somehow he falls flat on "Bad for Good". I really liked his duet interpretaion of "All coming back to me now" so I was suprised to hear it followed immeadiately by such a bland version of another of Steinman's greats.

I have given this album 4 stars as feel it is still a good album overall. It is better than "Welcome to the Neighbourhood" but it is really not up there with the first 2 Bat albums or "Dead Ringer".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity, 26 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. J. A. Way (York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bat Out Of Hell 3: The Monster is Loose (Audio CD)
Bat Out of Hell 3 could have been something truly special. All the album had to do was capture the passion and sweeping narrative of the previous two incarnations. However, it seems to have failed to live up to these expectations. Whilst there are some moments of inspiration, one gets the feeling that the album is a mish-mash of songs that fail to have any form of direction. What made Bat Out of Hell and Back Into Hell special was that not only were the songs fantastic, but each album told a story. This latest volume fails to contain such a theatrical mastery.

There are some good collaborations on this record and Meatloaf's voice is as strong and distinctive as ever. However, one gets the feeling that this album is a missed opportunity and that a little more time and effort could have weaved something much more memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bat Out Of Hell 3: The Monster is Loose
Bat Out Of Hell 3: The Monster is Loose by Meat Loaf (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews