Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The films you get
The films you get are:

Volume 1
Kind Hears and Coronets
Nicolas Nicklby
Passport to Pimlico
Went the Day Well?

Volume 2
Hue & Cry
The Lavander Hill Mob
The Titfield Thunderbolt
Dead of Night

Volume 3
Scott of the Antarctic
The Ladykillers
The Magnet
The Man...
Published on 14 Jan. 2012 by BeRo

versus
18 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Quality
These are truly great films but the quality of these DVDs is truly awful. I bought Vol. 1 for Christmas but I am returning it (today is Boxing Day) because the films jump, stall and just crash. It's just poor quality recording. Truly disappointing.
Published on 26 Dec. 2008 by Mr. P. Cleaver


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The films you get, 14 Jan. 2012
This review is from: The Definitive Ealing Studios Collection - Volume One [DVD] (DVD)
The films you get are:

Volume 1
Kind Hears and Coronets
Nicolas Nicklby
Passport to Pimlico
Went the Day Well?

Volume 2
Hue & Cry
The Lavander Hill Mob
The Titfield Thunderbolt
Dead of Night

Volume 3
Scott of the Antarctic
The Ladykillers
The Magnet
The Man in the White Suit

Volume 4
Whisky Galore!
Champagne Charlie
The Maggie
Always Rains on Sunday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic starting collection, 11 Jan. 2009
By 
J. Penn "jabo20" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Ealing Studios Collection - Volume One [DVD] (DVD)
When I bought this I`d only ever seen Passport to Pimlico a long time ago and rembering that I thought it was a truly brilliant concept for a film and was a super watch as well.Watching it again almost thirty years on I havent changed my mind. Went the day well I did`nt remember but after watching this dvd it came back to me, a dark and quite grim portrayal of a covert invasion of Britain.
The other two movies are equally as good.
A fine starting collection to commemorate British film making at its best.
Oh, and certainly no problems with the dvd quality and playback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for the collection 4, 18 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Ealing Studios Collection - Volume One [DVD] (DVD)
Anyone with an interest in our British cinema will love this collection from our greatest(?) studios. The choice of films across the four boxes in the series is well made and covers most of the genres popular at the time. As a child of the fifities and sixties I can revel in the nostalgia and innocence of a more content age. There is no CGI or special effects beyond the very basic and it is down to clever direction and adaptation by using what was available in terms of sets and locations. Great viewing - enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brit com, 13 Oct. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Ealing Studios Collection - Volume One [DVD] (DVD)
Everything you expect from Ealing comedies. Quirky, black and white and the same faces. Passport to Pimlico is a national treasure. 'Went The Day Well' I'd never seen before and it was a kind of message to the nation in that you should be careful who you trust.
You either love them or like them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ealing studios collection, 12 July 2010
By 
Mitzy (Ramsgate, Kent U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Ealing Studios Collection - Volume One [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this collection as I love well acted comedy's and Ealing Studios productions. All of them are entertaining, two funny, and suitable for all the family to view together, as there is none of the swearing and violence that todays films tend to have. Some people dislike black and white films, but I think it lends atmosphere, gives better definition to faces and reminds me of long lost days gone by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ealing At Its Best, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Ealing Studios Collection - Volume One [DVD] (DVD)
Ealling At Its VERY Best
Great value for four films
These are classic films in there own right
Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good oldies, 19 Oct. 2010
By 
KTW (Aix en Provence, France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Ealing Studios Collection - Volume One [DVD] (DVD)
but no subtitles whatsoever; the soundtrack being what it is, not easy for a foreigner like myself to grasp all the dialogues especially in "Pimlico". I wish Amazon would always specify (what if any)subtitles in the DVD features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love the old films!, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Ealing Studios Collection - Volume One [DVD] (DVD)
love this box set ... the good old british classics from Ealing studios is a winner for me! no need for bangs or explosions or CGI because the story lines are so well written, with some good old fashioned british comedy lines wrote in as well ... even my teenagers watched them and they thought they were brilliant ... if you love the old black & white british films then this is for you. Arrived on time, well packaged and well worth the five stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD VALUE FOR A PIECE OF HISTORY, 25 Feb. 2014
By 
Patrick Burns (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Ealing Studios Collection - Volume One [DVD] (DVD)
THESE FILMS ARE GREAT TO WATCH TO BRING BACK MEMORIES WHEN THEN IS NOTHING BETTER ON TV.
YOU HAVE TO GET USED TO BLACK AND WHITE AGAIN BUT THEY ARE GREAT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great old Ealing films well worth watching for looking back ..., 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Ealing Studios Collection - Volume One [DVD] (DVD)
Great old Ealing films well worth watching for looking back at yesteryear. The print quality of some of the films leave a bit to be desired but overall a good purchase of productions you can see time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Definitive Ealing Studios Collection - Volume One [DVD]
£12.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews