Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


132 of 138 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable!
This film is an absolute gem, completely unforgettable, and is so relevant to relationships today. It is a true love story, showing how the friendship, that leads to love and passion, develops between two women. Not to mention how it affects the people around them.

Not only that, the leading actors, Robin Greenspan & Lacie Harmon are completely compelling,...
Published on 22 Mar 2007 by Vanessa

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Completely Boring
This movie is basically about two women discussing their life together from the first time they met. The Narrator covers the flash backs which happen constantly during the entire movie. I found this to be a loooong tedious movie with no structure or form. The acting also appeared to be inferior. I did not enjoy this movie at all.
Published on 2 Sep 2009 by Pearce


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

132 of 138 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable!, 22 Mar 2007
This review is from: Girl Play [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
This film is an absolute gem, completely unforgettable, and is so relevant to relationships today. It is a true love story, showing how the friendship, that leads to love and passion, develops between two women. Not to mention how it affects the people around them.

Not only that, the leading actors, Robin Greenspan & Lacie Harmon are completely compelling, believable, and ultimately true to themselves, given that it is their own relationship suddenly on view to the entire world. It is a work of art, and gives an emotional insight into real relationships, that is sadly lacking in a lot of movies of our time.

Not to mention the humour - particularly with the director of the play, excellently acted by Dom Deluise, and, without fault, the wonderful Mink Stole, who plays Robin's mother.

Finally, the casting, acting, and producing are all spot-on, and I cannot praise this film highly enough. As is said by those who worked on this film (in the extras) it is a universal film about love, whether you are gay or heterosexual, everyone will identify with Girl Play because it is ultimately about love, and love alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Completely Boring, 2 Sep 2009
By 
Pearce (South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Girl Play [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is basically about two women discussing their life together from the first time they met. The Narrator covers the flash backs which happen constantly during the entire movie. I found this to be a loooong tedious movie with no structure or form. The acting also appeared to be inferior. I did not enjoy this movie at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring and poorly acted, 22 Aug 2007
This review is from: Girl Play [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
I sincerely would like to know what the reviewers who gave this film 5 stars were smoking when they watched it!

In this film, the two main characters speak to the camera and explain the story in flashbacks. This concept could be OK if it was not so heavily used and combined with poor acting. Characters are cardboard like, the gay director conforms to all the clichés you can think of, complete with camp younger boyfriend , etc...

I could not watch this until the end it was so bad. If you have no tolerance for poorly acted zero-budget american movies who only makes it through production because they have a lesbian theme (breadcrumb theory, anyone?), then avoid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars powerful, evocative, heartwarming, 12 Aug 2007
By 
Adrian rudd "Ade" (Frome , somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Girl Play [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
Girl Play is a beautiful tale, simply told. the fact that the two leads are telling their story gives the film an honesty and a reality . the acting or narration is sometimes a little stilted but throughout the piece the honesty shines through. its a tale of love and how two people found each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars girl play, 31 Oct 2010
This review is from: Girl Play [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
diddnt think much of it .I hate thing that start and stop and not much of a story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 15 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Girl Play [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't even bother to watch the whole of this movie as it really was that bad. I felt ripped off after buying it. A typical low-budget film with no substance what so ever. I would sooner watch a video of paint drying on Youtube!!! Boring, awful & pointless.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quite Awful, 2 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: Girl Play [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
I had high hopes and then after watching 10mins of this I lowered my hopes...and then lowered them so more. Even then this still disappointed me.

Bad acting. Badly filmed. Bad script. Bad delivery. Bad chemistry. Pick a word and put BAD in front of it.

There are plenty of GOOD lesbian films out there and this is not one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 July 2014
By 
C.G.C. (RS, Brazil) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Girl Play [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
Nice movie. I like that they tell the story and how they feel about the play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Believable and very funny, 8 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girl Play [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
This film will make you think and make you laugh, its a true story and its worth watching the extras - not a typical love story as such but very watchable and romantic in its own way. The lead characters are very believable and draw you into their worlds and its a great story. Buy it, watch it with your partner and feel good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gets better as it goes on, 7 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Girl Play [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
At the start of the film me and my partner got that sinking feeling when you realise 'yes, its another weird, awful lesbian film'.
It doesn't hold your attention, and the actresses can be extremely irritating, however, if you can persevere with it, we were surprised to find the ending actually quite good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Girl Play [2004] [DVD]
Girl Play [2004] [DVD] by Lee Friedlander (DVD - 2006)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews