Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HILARIOUS VINTAGE CLASSIC!
Hilarious comedy starring all the unique creations of Dick Emery!

Dick Emery plays 'Charlie Tully' - a clever con man whose every 'yarn' is believed. Not missing an opportunity, Charlie sells a dog that does not belong to him and ends up in prison. After conning the Prison Officer (and half of the other Prison staff too!) he gets out, and is in pursuit of...
Published on 22 Dec. 2008 by FAMOUS NAME

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly for fans of Dick Emery or 70s Brit comedy
Full-length movies don't always do proper justice to television shows. This Dick Emery movie falls into that category. While it has some funny moments and Dick does a good job acting out some of his characters, it doesn't have the same punch or oomph that his T.V. show did - admittedly the T.V. show was mostly short sketches. Also, don't expect to see young Gaylord and...
Published on 5 Dec. 2009 by Adelaidian


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HILARIOUS VINTAGE CLASSIC!, 22 Dec. 2008
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ooh, You Are Awful [DVD] (DVD)
Hilarious comedy starring all the unique creations of Dick Emery!

Dick Emery plays 'Charlie Tully' - a clever con man whose every 'yarn' is believed. Not missing an opportunity, Charlie sells a dog that does not belong to him and ends up in prison. After conning the Prison Officer (and half of the other Prison staff too!) he gets out, and is in pursuit of his former partner's string of girlfriends, so that he can 'expose' their backsides in order to piece together the number of a combination to a safe - part of which is tattooed upon each of these girls' nether regions!

Everyone who enjoyed Dick's Shows and characters will love this - they're all here, including; 'Mandy Dunnit' as a trainee Police Woman and 'Hetty' who makes the Porter (Jimmy Gardner) run for his life in an hilarious scene when she utters those famous lines in spinster-ish frustration: 'Are You Married'?

Pat Coombs also stars - alongside lots of other big names and so many familiar faces you will lose count!

Great British Classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still funny after all these years, 25 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ooh, You Are Awful [DVD] (DVD)
When I purchased this, I thought it might be amusing - I was wrong, it's HILARIOUS.

Takes me back to when cinema and British comedies were still very popular, before video took over

Dick Emery is often overlooked these days, yet his characterisations were very funny, and he was a versatile and gifted actor.

This film is a showcase for his talents, but has some great support from other cast members.

A veritable seaside postcard of a film - just the thing for Christmas viewing if you don't care for the usual tv offerings. The plot winds in and out of all sorts of situations, but has a good ending entirely in keeping with the rest of the story.

Ideal as a gift for those older "hard to buy" for friends and relatives - they'll be tickled to bits with it - just make sure they have a DVD player first, as some may still depend on VCRs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ooh....You Are Awful, 13 Mar. 2007
By 
E. Dale "elained2" (W. Yorks, England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ooh, You Are Awful [DVD] (DVD)
Although I don't own the dvd I do have the video of this film, very enjoyable, all Dick Emery's creations are used in it, Mandy, Lampwick, vicar, etc. Dick Emery gets out of the prison and gets involved in lots of situations to try and find the loot of his deceased mate, unfortunately his mate had a penchant for tattoos and as also young women,,,code for Swiss bank account is tattooed on backs of various nubile young women, if you like dick Emery you will enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly for fans of Dick Emery or 70s Brit comedy, 5 Dec. 2009
By 
Adelaidian (Sth Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ooh, You Are Awful [DVD] (DVD)
Full-length movies don't always do proper justice to television shows. This Dick Emery movie falls into that category. While it has some funny moments and Dick does a good job acting out some of his characters, it doesn't have the same punch or oomph that his T.V. show did - admittedly the T.V. show was mostly short sketches. Also, don't expect to see young Gaylord and his daaaad in this one.

Overall, it's an OK movie to watch on a weekend afternoon for fans of 70s British comedy or for Dick Emery DVD collectors. Would probably give it about 6.5 out of 10, hence 3 stars for this Amazon review.

It's a shame that there isn't more Dick Emery stuff out there. The Best of the Dick Emery Show is good fun but is only about 80 minutes long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ooh... You are awful... but I like you!, 23 Oct. 2010
By 
Elfe Willowson (Southern England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ooh, You Are Awful [DVD] (DVD)
I came across this DVD by accident & remember watching the film years ago on TV. Even if you are not a Dick Emery fan, It is a good film to watch. For those who like old-fashioned humour, the type before the "PC" brigade got their hands on things, then you'll probably enjoy this. For me, it is the little one-liners that make the film (the converstation between Charlie & Jo at Waterloo station for instance) & the silliness of it all. Even though this was made during the early Seventies (clothes, hair-dos an' all) it doesn't seem dated. For those of you who decide to buy this film, just sit back, feet up and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten gem!, 23 Feb. 2010
By 
I. Turner (East Yorkshire,England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ooh, You Are Awful [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this excellent comedy about twenty years ago on BBC1,I taped it...........then wiped it! BIG mistake! It wasn't screened for many years. It popped up about eight months ago........I set my DVD recorder.......but half the film was filled with snooker! I guess it over ran. Anyhow,this film is a laugh a minute classic,one of the best British comedies I have ever sat through,it's such a shame the the great Dick Emery is all but forgotten today. If you like broad Brit comedy........then I urge you to buy the dvd,you will not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Dick Emery!, 6 Oct. 2009
By 
J. Osborne (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ooh, You Are Awful [DVD] (DVD)
Being mature enough to have seen Dick Emery's shows on TV, this film was a real trip down memory lane. The ease with which he dons the different roles is amazing and the laughs come thick and fast. This is comedy at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Old fashioned British humour, 25 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ooh, You Are Awful [DVD] (DVD)
Dick Emery is a colourful conman who gets up to all sorts of antics in this film. You have the good old fashion humour, nothing smutty or distasteful and a corny plot. I loved the film all the way through as he tries his hardest to turn a con on almost anyone he meets. For me there was an anticipation that someday all will catch up with him (and it does) and he being the adaptable conman comes out reasonably unscathed. A great film to just sit down and watch and reminisce about the good old days of British humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OOH, 16 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ooh, You Are Awful [DVD] (DVD)
I HAD BEEN LOOKING FOR THIS MOVIE FOR A WHILE AND I WAS NOT DISSAPOINTED JUST GOOD OLD BRITISH COMEDY NO SMUT A GOOD AFTERNOON ENJOYABLE FILM I HAD ONLY SEEN IT ONCE BEFORE AND I CAN TELL YOU IT WAS JUST AS FRESH. I ENVY PEOPLE WHO WATCH OLD COMEDIES FOR THE FIRST TIME THERE CAN NEVER BE ANOTHER DICK EMERY ESPECIALY WHEN IN DRAG NOTHING GLAM JUST FUN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars funny man, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ooh, You Are Awful [DVD] (DVD)
i was a regular to the Dick Emery Show all those years ago and i still love his humour to this day, ok its a bit dated in parts and a bit corny in parts but he was a funny man and very talented
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ooh, You Are Awful [DVD]
Ooh, You Are Awful [DVD] by Cliff Owen (DVD - 2006)
£7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews