Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expensive but seems well-designed and well-made
I am very pleased with the KitchenAid Artisan 5KCG100 Coffee Grinder which I got after my disaster with the Dualit burr grinder (see my review of that).

On the box it states in large letters that the burr grinders are made of stainless steel. You can unscrew the grind control dial and look at the burr grinders and they also provide a brush for cleaning them...
Published on 30 Jan. 2009 by Dr. F. Nancy Burge

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth taking some trouble with
I've had my Artisan grinder since 2006 and have used it all that time to feed a Gaggia Classic espresso machine. This means I'm surprised to read some of the comments here from users who've found it unsuitable for espresso; it may not be perfect but I've found it much better than adequate.

First of all, it's a very pleasing device to have on a counter top, and...
Published on 29 Nov. 2011 by will_de_beest


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expensive but seems well-designed and well-made, 30 Jan. 2009
By 
Dr. F. Nancy Burge (Isle of Skye) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am very pleased with the KitchenAid Artisan 5KCG100 Coffee Grinder which I got after my disaster with the Dualit burr grinder (see my review of that).

On the box it states in large letters that the burr grinders are made of stainless steel. You can unscrew the grind control dial and look at the burr grinders and they also provide a brush for cleaning them. Because the motor is on the side rather than underneath, there is nowhere for stale ground coffee to lurk, and the beans fall straight onto the grinders and then the ground coffee falls straight into the container directly underneath and there is no need for a shoot.

This was almost three times more expensive than the Dualit grinder but in my opinion it is well worth the money. The whole thing seems to me to be designed to grind coffee well. The instruction book says you can recalibrate the grinders if you need to if they wear and even states what micron size the grind settings should produce (250-1250 microns). It seems to be well made, out of good quality materials (not cheap plastic and mild steel) and it is quite weighty.

From the book "Large 5.72 diameter flat cutting burrs provide long life and superb grind consistency. Burrs can be adjusted to compensate for wear, or calibrated to meet stringent grind-size specifications for espresso and French Press grinds. A special DC motor and gear reduction system slows the rotation of the cutting burrs, minimizing the frictional heating of the grinds and preserving coffee flavour and aroma".

I have just used the KitchenAid Artisan 5KCG100 Coffee Grinder to grind some freshly roasted beans and the coffee is delicious.

Despite the price, I do think it is good value for money because of the excellent design and the build quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth taking some trouble with, 29 Nov. 2011
By 
will_de_beest (South Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I've had my Artisan grinder since 2006 and have used it all that time to feed a Gaggia Classic espresso machine. This means I'm surprised to read some of the comments here from users who've found it unsuitable for espresso; it may not be perfect but I've found it much better than adequate.

First of all, it's a very pleasing device to have on a counter top, and the hammered grey paint has kept its looks well with no special treatment. The big selector dial and the on-off toggle switch both feel satisfyingly old-school. While I'm not especially keen on the glass collector - it needs to be perfectly aligned to slot under the chute and I'm convinced I'll manage to break it one day - it does reduce the problem of coffee grounds clinging to a plastic container, and it (and the top hopper) will clean up in the dishwasher.

How does it grind? Out of the box, not perfectly, but there are a couple of easy adjustments to improve that. First of all, do as the manual says and select the finest range of grind options; even in this range, 4 (out of 8) is plenty coarse enough for a cafetiere, and much past 7 will choke the espresso machine. Then train yourself always to wind the dial back to zero before approaching your grind setting from below; there is some backlash in the mechanism and this method gives a much more consistent setting. Incidentally, you don't have to be constrained by the click-stops on the dial - it will work quite happily between clicks, which is sometimes where the optimum setting lies.

The stock Artisan has a couple of other quirks that can be reduced or eliminated with a little fiddling. The worst offender is the sprung plastic disc through which grounds emerge. The exit hole has a bar across it, presumably to keep fingers out of the mechanism, but this scatters grounds everywhere (if you're dispensing straight into a filter holder) or prevents them coming out at all if you're using the glass collector. If you're an adult who doesn't poke fingers into machine tools, it's a two-minute job to snip the bar out, and this immediately makes the grinder better behaved. I'd like to try replacing the disc with a stainless steel piece, because the static it accumulates still causes messy scattering, but this is a start.

The other foible is that another guard, this time in the feed hopper, tends to trap beans and prevent them falling into the burrs. Again, you could remove the guard with a metal file, but I've chosen to live with it and just rock the grinder from side to side when it's nearly empty to shake the last couple of beans loose.

The truth is probably that I've decided to live with and work around this grinder's imperfections because I like it. One day, I'd like to have a proper Italian grinder just for espresso, and to keep this one for everything else. There's a lot of life left in it, so it could well happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Burr Grinder!, 27 Dec. 2009
By 
M. Capilitan "m_capilitan" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: KitchenAid Artisan Burr Coffee Grinder Red (Kitchen & Home)
Since getting this grinder about a month ago it's been great. I previously had a krups grinder, but it was starting to give trouble so I splashed out for the Kitchenaid to go with the mixer, blender & processor we also have. The grind out of it works great with the Gaggia we have, and we haven't had to open it up it to fine tune the grind even further, but I do like that you have the option of that and it shows you how in the manual. Like all Kitchenaid products, it's built like a tank, and really sturdy. The only slight issue with it is the glass jar the the grind goes into is very thin, and you certainly don't want to drop or hit it hard or it will smash...I'm even a bit wary when I tap it to get all the coffee out! Apart from that thin jar, the grinder is the buisness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KitchenAid Burr Coffee Grinder Review!, 19 Nov. 2012
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: KitchenAid Artisan Burr Coffee Grinder Red (Kitchen & Home)
We've owned one of these for well over 18 months now, but purchased ours from John Lewis (ours was black not red). At the outset that i will state that yes this is expensive but you get what you pay for in life. It's very heavy and extremely well made. At the top is a glass Jar which hold the coffee beans prior to grinding with the black lid which simply fits securely on top (please note that there is a rubber seal so as to keep the beans fresh). Half way down at the front is the giant grind control dial from which you adjust what level of grind you want ranging from:

1 - Coarse (french press)
2
3
4
5 - Medium
6
7
8 - Fine (Espresso)

You can of course play with this and pick the ideal grind level to suit your pallet. Now towards the bottom is another Glass jar which can simply be removed from where it sits to gain access to the ground beans, nothing more to be said although the jar is large enough to hold a substantial about of newly ground coffee! On the right hand side is the toggle switch that operates the grinder (no messing about it's either on or off), there is a vent above the switch finished in silver which gives a touch of class.

Now down to reviewing the product in action... Firstly it's quite loud when you switch it on because the grinding cogs are quite close together and i guess the friction of grinding whole beans into powder in mere seconds is bound to make some noise. You also get the nice smells of freshly ground coffee to go along with it. To give you an example of how fast and efficient this is, it can grind a whole 227g bag of coffee beans (grind level 5 medium) in 1 minute. To put that into perspective 227g of beans will fill the top jar to the lid. I can vouch for the differing grinding abilities too, fine is virtual powder and coarse looks like ground rock salt so the variation on offer is huge, we tend to find that 5- medium is best for everyday and seems to work if all you want is coffee with milk/cream. A scoop and brush are provided with the grinder for portioning the coffee and cleaning respectively.

PROS: The best domestic grinder I've come across, Huge variation between the grinding levels 1-8, extremely well made from solid metal, cleaning is easy, has a retro look and fits in the kitchen nicely!

CONS: Expensive (yet worth it), Loud in operation but no louder than any other grinder.

VERDICT: Some will say why don't you just buy ground coffee? Well, anyone that knows anything about coffee will tell you that by using whole beans rather than ground coffee you get a better taste because the beans locks the flavor and smell in until you release it. When you buy ground coffee most of the smell and goodness has already gone added to this you pay more because they include the cost of grinding it for you. Trust me and grind you're own i guarantee the coffee experience will be far better. This unit is well made and looks the business, sure there are other grinder out there but this is a burr grinder which is regarded as the best way to grind coffee beans to unlock the maximum taste. It may be expensive but it's worth the investment, besides all this you will then get the enjoyment of trying a whole host of different coffees that you never even thought existed!! Paired with a proper coffee machine you'll love every minute of owning this!

HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!! (please don't hesitate to ask any questions by leaving a comment below and i will get back to you a.s.a.p!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works for espresso on Gaggia Classic - just!, 17 May 2012
Reading grinder reviews is frustrating. For anything under a £250 price tag, there are always some people saying 'Doesn't work for espresso' and others saying 'Just had a great cup of espresso with my xxx machine'. So you are left wondering if the first guy has simply failed to operate the thing properly (especially if they don't seem to know how to operate the Amazon review system and leave 4 copies of their bad review - he-hem) or if the second guy thinks anything is espresso if it's brown and comes out of a machine marked espresso. Or, what if the positive reviews are all from people with machines that are designed to cope with poorly ground coffee - eg the Gaggia Classic's 'prefect crema' device now shipped as standard? (Excuse me while I shudder. I'm such a snob. Unfortunately I'm a snob with a small budget, a coffee grinder that had been left at the house of a friend who promply disappeared off on holiday and an urgent need to buy a replacement locally that I could convince myself was a 'step up' and therefore not a ridiculous waste of money.) So I needed to take a risk, given that this was the only moderately 'high end' grinder available in local outlets.
So, a reality check first. This may seem like a lot of money for a grinder if all you've had before is a little thing with whirly blades, but unfortunately in the world of espresso it is only just above the bargain basement. You are going to be at the limits of its fineness. It may depend on the machine you have and the beans you buy whether it works or fails. The rule of thumb is 'spend as much on the grinder as you do on the espresso machine'. The other rule of thumb is read the manual, and the other rule of thumb (or maybe we are on pinkies now) is that coffee is best between 3days to three weeks of roasting, and if it's older than that you might well need a finer grind to make it work - but why not but good fresh coffee instead?
So, I have a Gaggia Classic with standard filter baskets - NOT the perfect crema things. I have high standards, which my equipment doesn't quite fulfil but it comes close. Up until now I was using a Starbucks Barista (rebadged Dualit) grinder which worked OK on the very finest setting, though I always wished I could go half a click or so finer.
So after I found myself grinder-less I tried ready ground coffee which made me realise just how good my usual setup actually was for the money. Then I looked around for a sub£200 replacement. I wanted it NOW so I bought it locally; if I had had an ounce more of self control I might have gone for the Ascaso from Amazon.
This was really the only option locally so despite the mixed reviews I went for it. I didn't even try it out before doing the 'finer grind' adjustment detailed in the manual. That was very easy but you do need an allen key.
On the finest grind, after the mod, it produces a lovely espresso on my Gaggia Classic with fresh beans from Hasbean.co.uk. More or less spot on perfect timing 25-30 second extraction on a double shot. By contrast, the pre-ground Illy I bought was rushing through way too fast.
So for me it works. Would I like an extra notch or two down so that I could experiment with finer? Yes, but I don't want it an extra £100 worth. Is it better than the Dualit? Yes - not by miles, but enough to be glad I've bought it.
One thing I don't like is the shape of the glass jar that catches the grounds. They couldn't have designed something less practical for pouring coffee grounds into a portafilter. Any mess that you save by the glass being non-static, you make up for by spilling it everywhere. However, I solved that -first by using the little plastic funnel that came with my diswasher for putting the salt in and then by remembering that my aeropress coffee maker came with a funnel specifically designed for this purpose. So all sorted.

Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent coffee grinder, 22 May 2010
By 
D. P. Morgan (Epsom, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the third coffee grinder I have puchased in just over a year. The first two were cheaper chopper types and, I believe, a false economy. This grinder is substantial and feels totally solid. It will not get easily knocked over. I think it is good looking well designed machine. On its finest setting it does not grind quite fine enough to suit my wife but there are adjustments that can be made to grind finer. It is very simple to use. Set the grind level you want and flip the switch. Nothing fiddly about this machine. The hopper and receiver are both glass and easy to clean. Overall a very fine machine that looks like it will last and last.

Definitely worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best!, 29 April 2014
This review is from: KitchenAid Artisan Burr Coffee Grinder Red (Kitchen & Home)
Excellent in every way. And here's a helpful (I hope) tip. If, like me you're nervous of the beautifully made but highly vulnerable glass coffee container provided, there is a Kilner jar of just the right size which is much tougher and does the job beautifully. Just take off the metalwork. Then you can save the lovely Kitchen Aid container for when you have visitors. Well done Kitchen Aid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars style and substance, 8 Feb. 2009
By 
Daniel Dalton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KitchenAid Artisan Burr Coffee Grinder Red (Kitchen & Home)
well, appearances are a matter of taste, but this looks pretty cool in my kitchen, and would grace many others likewise. The 50's cadillac, fins'n'all effect is matched with a robst, and well-fitted quality (fine tolerances, lovely touch to the materials, and heavy, solid, construction) that the pictures do no justice. furthermore, the whole unit is fairly serviceable, with easy access to the burrs via some well placed bolts (no clips and rivets here, this is sensible stuff)

Furthermore, it does the job it should. Big burrs and a powerful motor rip through coffee giving an even and fragrant grind in no time. There is a slight ozone smell from the motor when left running too long; i don't like the way this mixes with the coffee aroma, but suppose it's inevitable from a powered unit.

I genereally drink coffee from a press, and the coarsest setting is coarser than i would need. I have used this occasionally to make espresso, and the finest setting is powder-fine, producing a rich, sweet, coffee, with rich thick crema; clearly superior to the pre-ground brands i have tried.

the catch, however, is that in order to reach the finest/coarsest grinds it is necessary to take the unit apart a little, and adjust the internals. with a 4mm allen key, this is a 2 minute job, so not impossible to achieve at all; but still not what one might wish to do after dinner with guests (my credentials as a nerd are well enough established that i don't need to get my toolkit out over dessert) As I keep it set to coarsest grind most of the time, it's no matter (and in fact the limits on default setting are adequate for most purposes anyway: but this costs more than "adequate" money imho) For those who drink lots of either coffee, this might be vexing.

If this were a necessity, then I'd understand, but as far as i can see, there's not reason the grind settings couldn't be wider without the operation, except for the appearance of the front dial. I think, then, that there is a little too much bias to the form, rather than function of this machine.

On the other hand; I can't see a better all-round alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars well built, bad grind fro espresso, 7 Oct. 2011
I recently bought this item after my cheap Krups gave up the ghost.
The build quality is very good, but please, do not buy if you wish to use it in an espresso machine. The grinds are far too course and inconsistent. I have made the fine adjustment as per the instructions, but it is still far, far too course; and very inconsistent.
Go to the coffee geek website for many many reviews that same the same thing. I wish I had read those before buying.

If you have a paper filter, drip style, coffee maker then I believe this machine would be suitable, but I cannot comment properly as I do not have that style of machine.

Again, if you have an espresso machine, do not buy this product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars reliable grinder, 3 Oct. 2009
By 
vh1967 (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
I have had mine for about three years now and use it several times a day every day. It has an adjustable fineness dial and when you choose maximum the coffee is very fine - more fine than when you buy ground coffee for cafetiere and looks about the same as for filter coffee makers in appearance. I like my coffee fine so I can get maximum flavour out as quickly as possible as I have coffee that has been left standing too long. I use a cafetiere eo make my coffee. This grinder is easy to use and control, reliable, good looking and produces great ground coffee. It is easy to take apart the grinding section for the cleaning which is good to do about each 6 months to get rid of coffee build up. The grinder has a real solid quality, made of virtually all metal. Because of this it is very heavy so it will not move about the worktop. It comes with a stiff brush to clean with. The glass bowl the coffee is ground into meets cleverly with the machine via a special assembly that moves just enough to easily place and remove the bowl yet assembly meets so snugly with the bowl during grinding there is no risk of the precious coffee going astray. I thoroughly recommend this grinder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

KitchenAid Artisan Burr Coffee Grinder Red
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews