Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD for men or women
I recommend this DVD to any women or men interested in improving posture and well-being. After some sessions, I truly feel the difference.

PROs:
*Quite challenging for all levels,
*Good explanation on the technique,
*Very engaging teacher, with good information (focused, motivated, not too cheerful or only image driven person)
*Complete...
Published on 21 Dec. 2009 by Patxi 77

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very hard to follow
This DVD is almost impossible to follow. It isn't explained very well. For some reason the presenter thinks you are able to look down at the floor and at the TV at the same time. When explaining the positions of certain muscles or joints she does not tell you what or exactly where these are. It's also too quick and basic for you to understand what she means. There is no...
Published on 25 Sept. 2008 by Jason Tootle

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD for men or women, 21 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Pilates For Men with Lindsey Jackson [DVD] (DVD)
I recommend this DVD to any women or men interested in improving posture and well-being. After some sessions, I truly feel the difference.

PROs:
*Quite challenging for all levels,
*Good explanation on the technique,
*Very engaging teacher, with good information (focused, motivated, not too cheerful or only image driven person)
*Complete workout with warmup, cooldown and advanced bonus
*Good production values. This is the best fitness DVD I've seen in terms of nice teacher, setup, no strident teacher or music.
*Two soundtracks: With music and without it, very good!

CONs:
I can't think of anything. I'm buying another DVD from Lindsey Jackson, to see if there are even more exercises. Only caveat is that I haven't seen specific benefits to other sports I practice, but it's well worth only for the posture and well-being impact!

ADDENDUM:
After a year, this is still my favourite workout DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised, 11 Jun. 2010
By 
B. Clayton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pilates For Men with Lindsey Jackson [DVD] (DVD)
One the great things about buying online is not having to show a checkout person that I'm buying an exercise DVD for PILATES, which as every man knows is a bit of girly stretching. So its odd to find myself sitting here posting such a positve review! Okay, so maybe I was expecting it to be harder than a few stretches, but I was surprised by just how much of a workout this DVD provides. As a man new to pilates I was relaxed and impressed with the sessions, although clearly I can't comment on how benificial an experienced 'Pilateser' might find it.

So what about this particular DVD? Well, Lindsey Jackson does a superb job at talking you through the sessions in a clear, matter-of-fact and enthusiastic style, avoiding either an over-macho or over-girly feel. The main criticism is probably that it seems a little short, although Ms Jackson provides good examples throughout the programme to extend the difficulty and I hope this will keep me engaged! I felt comfortable exploring Pilates in this way, and even ventured into the relaxation section at the end of the DVD... and woke up 30 minutes later!

Overall then I think this is a great little DVD, and accepting that it is also more expensive than many of its competitors, I am more than happy that it is money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars extremely enlightening and practical, 9 Oct. 2006
By 
This review is from: Pilates For Men with Lindsey Jackson [DVD] (DVD)
As a sports lover who has suffered many injuries, and is looking for alternatives which can stimulate and strengthen wihtout causing further damage, I have found this DVD the exact thing that I was looking for, and the excercise in it surprisingly challenging. The relaxation section is also excellent. The explanations are very clear to follow. And if you are like me, and don't like to excercise with music in the background - it may be turned off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't normally write reviews, but..., 13 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pilates For Men with Lindsey Jackson [DVD] (DVD)
I don't normally write reviews, but its such a pleasant surprise to find such a good exercise DVD:
- Its not hosted by a gushing American who's all image and little else.
- Production values are excellent, but don't substitute for good instruction or overwhelm the instruction.
- Its aimed at men, without being too macho, as so many books/DVDs aimed at the male market seem to think they need to be.
- Lindsey Jackson makes you feel like you're in a class with her & is interested in your well-being. (e.g. The intro section that cautions you on safety is meant to stop you injuring yourself, not simply as a necessary legal disclaimer intended to stop her ending up in court.)
- The exercises are explained & demonstrated very well. Having two people on screen at the same time to demonstrate variations on the same movement has the advantage that you can continue to follow the same, familiar, DVD whilst increasing/improving your workout over time. A really nice & very useful touch.
- There's also an MP3 relaxation track on the DVD which you can download and use on your mp3 player.
Overall, well thought out and nicely produced. GO BUY IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pilates DVD, 5 Sept. 2007
By 
This review is from: Pilates For Men with Lindsey Jackson [DVD] (DVD)
I think that the real value for using this DVD as a man, is it's emphasis on developing suppleness and flexibility in the body, and not just muscle mass and strength. Any insinuation that Pilates is in the least bit sissy for men, can soon be dispelled by visiting a local hospital, fitness centre, or football physiotherapy room. Where methods akin to pilates are used for recovery form injury, and more importantly to prevent injury in the first place.

So I think pilates is more of the preventative method to enable the body to be come both flexible & supple, and develop strength appropriately aligned to ones own physical type. Not to neccessarily look like Mr.Universe.

The DVD and content is excellent and easy to use. Calm and at a pace that is steady and not rushed at all. The blokes look like regular guys, and it's fun.

the only thing that I would advise people to do, is because the exercises can be with the head on the ground, one is forever craning the neck to look at the telly! So I would definitely watch the DVD a good few times, memorise each exercise, and save yourself the need to crane the neck up to see what you should be doing! After all, don't want any neck injuries do we? Then one can follow the prompts from the presenters voice. Just a thought.
Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very hard to follow, 25 Sept. 2008
This review is from: Pilates For Men with Lindsey Jackson [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is almost impossible to follow. It isn't explained very well. For some reason the presenter thinks you are able to look down at the floor and at the TV at the same time. When explaining the positions of certain muscles or joints she does not tell you what or exactly where these are. It's also too quick and basic for you to understand what she means. There is no way of knowing if you are positioning yourself exactly where you should be. She also doesn't explain what this powerhouse is too well and it's hard to know if you're doing it right. If you want to learn pilates I would suggest going to a studio to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your Personal Trainer, 18 Oct. 2006
This review is from: Pilates For Men with Lindsey Jackson [DVD] (DVD)
Lindsey Jacksons expert tuition takes you through a workout in a way that transports you into the DVD itself. She talks clearly and smoothly encouraging you to discover the power of pilates. I found this useful as a beginner as I can stop and start each exercise and build up the series till I am ready at my own pace.

The flexibility and strength demonstrated is breath taking and the energy expressed is evident in the hilarious outtakes where sweat mopping breaks are needed to prevent both trainer and pupil from taking the splits too far!

The relaxation techniques are a welcome and important reminder that this is not just about body awareness but also mind and spirit.

Lindsey is no doubt amongst the best in the world and its only a matter of time before she becomes a celebrity personal trainer. This is your opportunity to get close to Lindsey and join her mixed ability class of students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Its not basic!, 8 Feb. 2009
By 
Mr. M. J. Davies "Mark42" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pilates For Men with Lindsey Jackson [DVD] (DVD)
Agree with the more negative comments unfortunately, you are expected to do intermediate to hard pilates exercises and look at the tv at the same time, it doesnt work.

The pilates for men book is much better and unfortunately the dvd has not added to any exercise routines i will be doing.

As i said previously there is no basic level routine and the workout is over an hour long, why is there not a 20-30 min workout as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pilates review, 13 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pilates For Men with Lindsey Jackson [DVD] (DVD)
Very pleased with this DVD, I teach pilates and found Lynsey Knowledgeable and very clear in her instruction. I agree with other reviewers that it is not particulary suitable for beginners . she provides plenty of variety in the sessions,and some of the exercises are quite challenging. the DVD would be suitable to use in between classes,but having an instructor to observe your positioning is best overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what the doctor ordered!!, 4 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pilates For Men with Lindsey Jackson [DVD] (DVD)
After suffering with Sciatica for a long time a doctor recommended I try Pilates. This DVD is easy to follow for a complete beginner like myself and I started to see an improvement after only a couple of sessions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pilates For Men with Lindsey Jackson [DVD]
Pilates For Men with Lindsey Jackson [DVD] by Addictive Media (DVD - 2006)
£23.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Pilates For Life [DVD]
Pilates For Life [DVD] by Darcy Bussell (DVD - 2006)
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (340)   
Buy new£13.76
In stock

The Complete Book of Pilates for Men: The Lifetime Plan for Strength, Power & Peak Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (30)   
Buy new£11.99
In stock

Pilates Essentials - for Beginners and Improvers with Lindsey Jackson [DVD]
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (31)   
Buy new£12.77
In stock