Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A DVD Masterpiece' - Record Collector Feb 2005, 3 Feb 2005
By A Customer
JULIAN BREAM
My Life In Music
* * * * *
Music On Earth MoE 002
A music DVD masterpiece
Julian Bream retired in 2003 after an incredible 50 year career. After seeing director Paul Balmer's award-winning DVD on Stephane Grappelli, Bream - a life-long devotee of Grappelli associate Django Reinhardt - set aside plans for a standard autobiography and invited Balmer to collaborate on a life story in vision instead. Balmer - a hugely experienced film-maker who grew up in the Merseybeat milieu - recalls that he 'took several milliseconds to say yes'! The result is by far the best-made and most captivating biographical film of a musician I've seen, bar none. Beautifully filmed, with stunning sound quality on the two new performances Bream delivers for the cameras (Britten's fiendish 'Nocturnal' and De Falla's 'Homenaje'), the main part of the DVD comprises Julian's life in 32 chapters, lavishly illustrated with archive film - including Django, Stravinsky and a ground-breaking 1963 improvisation with Ali Akbar Khan. As Julian never bothered 'crossing over' into rock, he may have appeared to some as uninteresting. Yet the man in this utterly compelling film is a natural, almost rakish raconteur, himself for many years a maverick outsider - single-handedly forcing, through sheer brilliance, the stuffy classical music world of the 1940s and '50s into accepting the guitar and lute as instruments worth hearing, writing-for and teaching. Balmer uses the DVD format to its limit - camera angle options, director's commentary, and a mass of bonus material on film, in text form and in audio (eg. a full 23 minute previously unreleased BBC radio session). Forget genres: anyone interested in the history of the guitar in the 20th century will be stunned and delighted with this fabulous document.
Colin Harper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Life, 1 Oct 2006
By 
P. R. Bennett (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Julian Bream - My Life in Music [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is just perfect, from the superb performances to the warmth and insight of the man himself. The settings - 'The Maltings' for the pieces recorded for the DVD and his house in Hardy country for the reminscences are quite beautiful. Additionally you get lots of archive footage of JB, together with a duet with John Williams and a surprise bonus - a chunk of Django Reinhardt which is very rare.

It's only recently that I've come to realise his preeminence as a guitarist, with more feel and drive than your average modern-day classical guitarists who tend to sound timid and careful in comparison. This is all apparent on the DVD. The anecdotes, from his humble beginnings to his work with Britten and Villa-Lobos are all very entertaining and enlightening. A great production. Totally recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving and inspiring, 3 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Julian Bream - My Life in Music [DVD] (DVD)
What a fantastic story! I found it moving and inspiring. I'd assumed that Julian Bream came from a wealthy family with a background in classical music. And of course was completely wrong. I've told lots of anecdotes from the the film to friends, lent it to some and bought it as a birthday present recently. If you like a good story and you enjoy guitar music, you're in for a treat.Julian Bream - My Life In Music [DVD] [2006]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable journey through a virtuoso's career, 14 Jun 2006
By 
Paul H (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This DVD is the second in the series (the first about the Stephane Grappelli) from this company, and this retrospective on the career of Julian Bream is fantastic. It contains constant narration from the man himself, with sparing commentary by the interviewer. Chapters are well organised and accessible, extras are great, as well as some audio only material. We get to see and hear Bream playing from age 13 to his retirement in various settings.
The striking thing is what a down to earth and graceful musician he is. He shows no lofty pretentiousness about his virtuosity or the music he plays, and his anecdotes are often very amusing. He has explored and played early Spanish and Baroque guitars and learned the lute to give the early repertoire some authenticity. Without Bream, the Royal College of Music would doubtless still regard the guitar as a lesser "cowboy" instrument (as one of Bream's own tutors called it!), and it would still not be taught there today!
Throughout this DVD, his playing is simply sublime. As a guitarist of any genre, it is a real inspiration to watch, and for a non-guitarist, an invaluable document of a great career and how the classical instrument should be played. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really accessible bloke, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Julian Bream - My Life in Music [DVD] (DVD)
Sounding like an eloquent, civilised cross between Lionel Bart and Alan Sugar, Bream is not a bit stuffy and is full of warmth. His words, the clips, the references... all combine for a terrific finished article.

Me, my wife, 12 year old son (who is studying guitar) and my mother in law were all really taken by this film so he clearly spans the generations.

I am not sure why this man never did a lot more for TV -- he is a natural.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful lutanist and guitarist, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Julian Bream - My Life in Music [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent ,charmingly modest account of Julian Bream's professional life.There were very good and varied recordings of his playing.He has single handedly brought worldwide recognition of the lute and guitar as classical instruments and therefore sparked a huge resurgance in the number of players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful guitar, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Julian Bream - My Life in Music [DVD] (DVD)
Bought for a guitar enthusiast - what can I say - its just Julian Bream - fantastic playing & musicianship. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hero, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Julian Bream - My Life in Music [DVD] (DVD)
Love Julian Bream's work, the guy is a genius and his collaborations with John Williams are legendary. Maybe they will get together again one more time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an absolute delight, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Julian Bream - My Life in Music [DVD] (DVD)
This film is structured around a long interview in which Julian Bream talks engagingly about...his life in music. In addition to a number of full performances there are many biographical photos and clips illustrating aspects of his career. I have watched the whole thing twice and it is an absolute delight.

I must also mention a book by Tony Palmer called 'A Life On The Road' which is brilliantly put together from Bream's own words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant. I highly recommend this, 19 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Julian Bream - My Life in Music [DVD] (DVD)
brilliant. I highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Julian Bream - My Life in Music [DVD]
Julian Bream - My Life in Music [DVD] by Julian Bream (DVD - 2006)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews