Customer Reviews


261 Reviews
5 star:
 (206)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Final Series
As they say, all good things have to come to an end. This wonderful series finally wraps up with Season Six which incidentally is one of the best. The best episodes are to be found in Grief Encounter; The 'Ouses In Between, Just In Time, and of course the very final episode Accentuate The Positive. If you have not seen this before, dont worry, because I have no intention...
Published on 4 Oct 2006 by E. A. Redfearn

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars first three better
I found the first three series far better than the last three, when they changed the main female actors without any comment. Somehow the last three series became too 'serious' to be entertaining to me.
Published on 18 Jan 2011 by Rodney G. Stevenson


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Final Series, 4 Oct 2006
By 
E. A. Redfearn "eredfearn2" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
As they say, all good things have to come to an end. This wonderful series finally wraps up with Season Six which incidentally is one of the best. The best episodes are to be found in Grief Encounter; The 'Ouses In Between, Just In Time, and of course the very final episode Accentuate The Positive. If you have not seen this before, dont worry, because I have no intention of telling you how it ends. Watch it through yourself and find out. Be prepared to have some tissues handy though, there may be a few tears shed between the many laughs which the entire series has managed to maintain over six long years. Full marks to Laurence Marks and Maurice Grain for maintaining the high standard of comedy over such a length of time. And of course, not forgetting that very fine comedy actor Nicholas Lyndhurst as Gary Sparrow whose professionalism and style grew in stature from the series humble beginnings. Elizabeth Carling as Phoebe, and the lovely Emma Amos as Yvonne made their respective roles their own, following on from Dervla Kirwan and Michelle Holmes (both whom were very good during the first three series.) And we must not forget both Victor McGuire as Ron, Gary's trusted and loyal friend right up to the end, and Christopher Ettridge as the gormless policeman, and later commissioner, Reg Deadman. Their contributions to the success of the series can never be understated. The comedy one liners are quite hilarious throughout. One episode I must mention, and that is when Gary accidentally goes too far back in time to the era of Jack The Ripper. This is a classic episode and must be seen for Emma Amos appears in this episode as the Music Hall Singer Marie Lloyd, and she is quite sensational, so dont miss it!

Supplemented by an interesting interview with the lovely Elizabeth Carling, and brief interviews with the original creators of the series before the final episode begins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swell Series from the Swing Era, 5 Jan 2009
By 
Eileen Forster Keck (Providence, RI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goodnight Sweetheart: The Complete Collection (11 Disc Box Set) [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
As a Yank I was drawn in after seeing episodes on my local public television station(s) and firmly hooked.

It's well-written, and great attention to detail in terms of set dressing, costumes and miscellaneous information about the times make it absorbing for anyone interested in the period. The soap opera aspect is just a plus.

This is funny and charming and a lovely way to lose yourself in another time. The actors (all) are very good and have excellent comic timing, as well as a talent for the dramatic.

My husband and I invested in an all-zone DVD player just so that we could purchase this, as it's not available in US format.

Highly recommended for any swing dancer, historian or Anglophile Yanks out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's about time!, 6 July 2005
By A Customer
I have been waiting a long time for this show to finally come out on DVD. Tired of waiting for several British shows to be released on DVD in the USA, I purchased an international, region free DVD player so I could purchase DVDs from the UK. So, my opinions might vary slightly from the majority of people here.
This has to be one of the all time funniest sit-coms in the history of television comedy - ever! Nicolas Lyndhurt is one of my favorite actors - I love everything he's ever done including "Only Fools and Horses" and "Piglet Files". (Don't laugh at me) "Goodnight Sweetheart" is so original in its format of Sci-Fi/Comedy. I know there is argument over the change of the actors playing Phoebe and Yvonne, however, after I got used to the new actors, I still loved the show. With all the crap that is on the air today from reality shows to that other dribble that comes out of Hollywood, even with the change of 2 key charachters, this show (seasons 4-6) is still far superior compared to what else is out there. Elizabeth Carling (the 2nd Phoebe) has the most incredible, beautiful singing voice. Very impressed by her talent, I recommend the soundtrack to this show if you can find it. Fresh format, excellent writing, brilliant acting "Goodnight Sweetheart" is a treat. I agree with the reviewer who suggests watching this on a rainy night with a roaring fire. Smart, Funny and Charming, this show is gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whats a toilet duck?, 12 Jun 2006
By 
D.A.C "1984" (widnes,cheshire,u.k) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is much better than series 4.Both Liz Carling and Emma Amos had made the roles of Phoebe and Yvonne their own and the acting felt much more natural.In terms of writing this series gave me some of the best laughs I ever got out of any of the previous 4 series.My personal favourite episode was were Phoebe wanders into the 1990s after a bomb blows a hole in the space time thingy and leaves it open for people to walk through.I couldnt stop laughing when Phoebe who had been told to sit in the toilet(while gary cleared away all the post war things)suddenly shouts out "Whats a toilet duck?"

This series kept the ratings high and provides so many funny if a bit unbelievable moments that its probably one of the best comedy series out there.However the inevitable axe was looming but when would it fall?the series was blighted with Last Ever rumours in the press.Thankfully it carried on the laughs with one more series which threw up a few suprises of its own......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars almost goodbye, 2 Mar 2006
By 
D.A.C "1984" (widnes,cheshire,u.k) - See all my reviews
this was nearly going to be the last series of this amazingly popular show but unfortunately it wasnt.After this series the two leading actresses left.The following 4th series was awful though 5 and 6 redeemed themselves.This series though was excellent.the writing,acting and everything about it made this stand out from other shows and ensured that it was one of the highest rating shows on t.v.worth collecting series 1-3 on dvd if you are a fan or not.for trivia sake the show ran from 1993 - 1999.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Jan 2007
This review is from: Goodnight Sweetheart: The Complete Collection (11 Disc Box Set) [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
I received this as a gift for Christmas, and was extremely pleased with it. I am a huge fan of Nicholas Lyndhurst, and he plays the part of Gary, a bigomist with dual lives in wartime 1940's London and mid 1990's London perfectly. His battle to do the right thing whilst knowing he is doing wrong is a theme throughout the entire series. His MI5 persona in wartime London is executed with incredible acting and the whole series is a joy to watch.

The brilliantly written scripts are acted excellent throughout the series. The ending is done especially well. This is a bargain for all 50+ episodes.

This is a really enjoyable series, and a nice boxset to add to any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 13 Jan 2007
This review is from: Goodnight Sweetheart: The Complete Collection (11 Disc Box Set) [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
The perfect collection for a big fan, wanting to buy all the dvds, having the chance to have them all in this gorgeous tin was perfect, it also includes postcards with the characters on. Hours and hours of brilliant viewing, took me 2 weeks to watch the whole boxset, and thats without the extras! Includes fascinating interviews and finally all the series's out on dvd, if you have never seen goodnight sweetheart it's a must, it's a light family timetravelling comedy that'll never age! It contrasts between the hectic modern day stressful days to the endearing, traditional, innocent war time days, and gary manages to fit into both and the troubles and scrapes he gets into!

A real must, it's on top form with all the other great 'marks and gran' comedies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought on a whim. Very impressed., 10 April 2007
By 
K. A. French (Uk. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goodnight Sweetheart: The Complete Collection (11 Disc Box Set) [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
I remeber seeing this years ago when i was little, saw a few episodes then forgot about it. Then saw this when looking up some comedy box sets to feast my eyes on. Bought it even though my mum was saying you will hate it and watched first episode and it was brilliant. watched the whole dvd in about a month and when i finally got to the end i wanted to watch it again. The writing is wounderful and the comedy is great. I really only bought this because Nicholas Lynhurst was in it and knew this would be good. The end is played out very well (not like brittas empire, rubbish ending) so it was a great buy considering when i bought it, it was 65.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unable to stop watching, 19 April 2009
By 
B. J. Thomson "Benny" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goodnight Sweetheart: The Complete Collection (11 Disc Box Set) [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
Thought I would treat myself after watching a few re-runs of Goodnight Sweetheart on Sky... both myself and my wife loved it... recently had a baby and once you start watching the episodes you are soon addicted knowing the next adventure is only a click away.

If you are hesitating whether or not to buy this product I advise you go for it... each episode is watchable over and over with Lyndhurst's brilliant acting and uplifting storylines... in this recession a timewarp back to the early nineties when all was good!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Comedy, 5 April 2006
By A Customer
After originally watching this comedy i thought to myself this wasn't nothing special. But how wrong was I. Not only does it bring humour to Gary (Nicholas Lyndhurst) by combining his future knowledge to the past, but it also shows that with extra knowledge he was able to combine a normal life in 1996 to make himself seem important and knowledable in 1942.
Althought this isnt as classic as the first series it keeps on going and showing the heartaches and the ever changing lives of his two ladies.
I would reccommend you buy this if you are a big fan but if you are a first time buyer then seek the first series onwards otherwise you will find yourself wondering what is going on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goodnight Sweetheart: The Complete Collection (11 Disc Box Set) [1993] [DVD]
13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews