Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Game - Series 1 to 5, 2 April 2007
By 
J. Kissack (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Game : Complete BBC Series 1-5 (6 Disc Box Set) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
I caught up with Jack and Victor on TV during series 5 and thought it was brilliant. I bought the complete series 1-5 for my husband for Christmas thinking that if he did not like it I could claim ownership of the DVD's.

We started to watch them over the Christmas period when there was nothing on TV and it soon became a regular part of our routine to put the DVD's on of an evening. Every series is an absolute masterpiece and you will all probably recognise some of the charactors from your own neigbourhood, from Tam who has yet to buy a pint to Isa the gossip. Naveed is played brilliantly and we sit and wait for the new series to be shown later this year.

Even if you are not Scottish, you will find it hard to stop laughing at the boys, every episode is an absolute gem, a masterpiece. By the time we had finished watching all the DVD's we felt like Jack and Victor were old friends of ours.

A must buy for all who love comedy at it's best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smashin', 8 Nov 2006
By 
Lucy Lavande (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Still Game : Complete BBC Series 1-5 (6 Disc Box Set) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
None of my friends in England have heard of this comedy show, it's shamefully underpublicised here despite being one of the most original, clevery written and hilarious shows about. Could it be that the BBC are prejudiced against Scots? Surely no...? The situations are funny, but the jewel of this show is the banter bewteen the characters. This is where Still Game stands out - there's no sense of them throwing in a funny line and waiting for the laughs, it's more subtle and sustained humour which makes the characters and situations more believable and likeable. The complete series 1-5 come in a lovely box set, with no extras but you can't complain for £37 really. For any fan of the show, this box set is a really lovely thing to own which will make you laugh out loud with every re-visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "my mate joe's a burglar..........", 10 May 2007
By 
A. Turner (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Still Game : Complete BBC Series 1-5 (6 Disc Box Set) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
this show is absolutely brilliant. i have been hunting for this down south (england) for ages, but to no avail apart from one of the later series on dvd. but finally it's available in a box set. Jack and Victor are hilarious and Naveed the shopkeeper is funny with his banter with his wife. a number of episodes that i like are the one with Robbie Coltrane as a bus driver, the one where Bobbie the barman's dirty little secret is found out by a couple of the locals and they're trying to keep the gossip from Isa.

but for those of you that don't know about they're humble beginnings in chewing the fat, it is worth buying that as well as still game because the little sketches of these hilarious elderly odd couple are priceless. especially the ones where they are sat in the pub wi there cronies havin a wee sing song (the title of this review is just a sneaky peek at one of them) and the purchase that one of them made in the gents toilets for pleasing the ladies.

so to sum up this is just brilliant comedy that beats any other that's on the box at the minute. so sit back relax and don't forget the incontinence pants.....coz you're guaranteed to wet yourself!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creme De La Creme Of Scottish Comedy, 7 Aug 2007
This review is from: Still Game : Complete BBC Series 1-5 (6 Disc Box Set) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
I could write an entire book about how funny this series is, but instead, I'll just write this review. Greg Hemphill and Ford Kiernan have consistently managed to capture all that is funny and witty about the black and earthy Scottish humour. Instead of glossing over the colourful language of many Glasweigan people, they have shown it in all it's glory, and also given us a wide and charismatic range of characters ranging from the endearing (Isa) to the witty (Navid) to the side-splittingly funny (Winston). Along the way, they have also come up with a vast range of plots which are never dull, and always interesting.

The dialogue is realistic with more than enough comedy thrown in to be hilarious. The locations too are realistic, but are given charm by the people in them, some of whom are so convincing as elderly Glasweigans it would be impossible for a 'Still Game' virgin to tell otherwise. Add to the mix some of the most unashamedly blunt, honest and funny one-liners that you have ever heard in British comedy and what you get is a classic. This programme is sadly underrated, though I hear it is now becoming more popular South of the border. I hope this is on television for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fandabadozy ya BASS, 1 Mar 2007
By 
Olivia Blair "climatic_fanatic" (Aberfeldy) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Still Game : Complete BBC Series 1-5 (6 Disc Box Set) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Still Game is a Scottish sitcom, a spin-off from the sketch show series Chewin' the Fat. Originally beginning as a stage play, it was created by Chewin' The Fat's Ford Kiernan and Greg Hemphill, who also play the lead characters. Since it debuted on September 1st, 2002, Still Game has shown thirty five episodes, including a Christmas and Hogmanay special.

It has become a Scottish institution, especially the Hogmanay show.

The title refers to the antics of two Glaswegian pensioners named Jack Jarvis and Victor McDade. Set in Craiglang, a fictional district of Glasgow, the show follows the lives of Jack, Victor and their various friends.

If you liked Rab C then this is a shoe-in for you. Sort of para-handy for todays generation. If you are Scottish and have never seen this then go to the back of the class and put the conical hat on with the big D on it. It does not get better than this at summing up the Scottish psyche.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's GETITUPYE! - All one word., 6 Dec 2007
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Still Game : Complete BBC Series 1-5 (6 Disc Box Set) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Whilst I am a bit trepadacious (is that a word?) about the DVD for series 6 (Hopefully Santa got my note) having read the reviews of that, I can only concur with the vast majority of reviewers here to say that Still Game is the best TV comedy of the "Noughties". I can only assume that the producers of two pints of lager and a packet of rubbish have compromising pictures of Beeb executives for its virual takeover of the late night comedy slots, when this excellent series should be on there at least, if not in the prime time slot. I can only assume that there is some sort of hangover from Rab C Nesbitt that suggests that the "English" may find the accents/idioms hard to understand, which doesn't appear to be a bar to programmes littered with "Mockney"/Scouse/Brum etc accents. Cultural racism I call it - but that's for another day. In effect this is no way as "Scottish/Glesga" as RCN and heartily endorse this great value package. There are 5 series on here for goodness sake and there are belly laughs galore on each and every one of them. Some of the humour is "Early doors" subtle and some of it is Laurel and Hardy slapstick. The rest of it is just bloody funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shame on the BBC for not making more of the best comedy in years., 12 Sep 2007
By 
steve b (Dudley England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Still Game : Complete BBC Series 1-5 (6 Disc Box Set) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Still Game is without question the funniest show on TV. Make no mistake Still Game can sit alongside Dads Army, The Likely Lads, Only Fools and Horses and Phoenix Nights as a true comic great.

The setting is a Glasgow Council Estate and the antics of a group of pensioners headed by Jack and Victor and supported by one legged Winston, nosy Isa, Tam the miser, Eric and Shug the electronic expert. Non pensioners include Boaby the Barman and Navid the longsuffering shop keeper. Like all the best comedies there may be flights of fantasy but the show remains grounded in reality.

The adventures of this mottly crew can sometimes be crude but always funny. Imagine Last of the Summer Wine set on a council estate rather than the Yorkshire Countryside and before that show decended into slapstick and you get the idea.

Shame on the BBC for not making more of the best comedy in years. It appears that the Beeb thinks all we want to watch is shows in which a bunch of snobby middleclass berks complain that their stuffed baby kangeroo has too much garlic and the wrong sauce, rather than a comedy about real people making the best of their lot and being very funnty about it. That or they think we spend all our time buying and selling houses.

Watch Still Game the funniest show on TV today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best comedies around!, 16 Nov 2006
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Game : Complete BBC Series 1-5 (6 Disc Box Set) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
I kicked myself when I started watching thins part way through series 3, I couldn't believe I'd missed this for the last couple of years!

This set has the first five series (the new sixth series starts tonight on BBC2!).

Most people haven't heard of this series, which is a shame as it is one of the best acted, and one of the best scripted comedies for a long time.

The series is a spin-off from Scottish Sketch comedy show Chewing the Fat and the relationship between Jack Jarvis and Victor McDade, it is a bit like Last of the Summer Wine - But funny!

It isn't really like last of the summer wine, I was lying. The only similarity is the fact that it is centred around old people. But in this the old people aren't really that old - but the make up is convincing enough.

The real strength in this series is the way the characters always grumble, complain, and slag each other off - but you know they all have great warmth for each other.

You genuinely care for the characters in this and every one of them is believable.

I find this series hilarious, one of the main topics is gossip and one of my favourite comedy moments involves Navid the corner shop owner hears a juicy piece of gossip and him and Isa start to divvy out who they are going tell.

The first series of this is the slowest paced one, you see how Jack and Victor become neighbours. The comedy is true to the rest of the series as there are sad undertones throughout the episode.

Running jokes and themes include Victor's family and how they don't come to see him. He often gets excited only to have his heart broken whilst he tries to convince himself that they have genuine reasons for not coming.

It is the reflection of the realities that older generation faces in the more deprived areas of modern day Britain that gives these series another dimension. From heating pokey flats, to seeing friends dying - it has it all.

Watch this for a genuinely funny TV series with characters you will fall in love with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable!!, 6 Jan 2007
This review is from: Still Game : Complete BBC Series 1-5 (6 Disc Box Set) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Simply brilliant comedy at its very best. The characters are what make this series so unmissable - the laugh's coming thick and fast; but the genius is that they aren't forced jokes, but enter the story in a natural way that brings the "Still Game" series to brilliant life. Well done to Ford and Greg and the cast of Still Game. As mentioned by another reviewer...why did it take so long for this series to be shown in England? We've been missing out...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous!, 27 May 2008
By 
Ms. G. Harrison (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Still Game : Complete BBC Series 1-5 (6 Disc Box Set) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Rarely do you stumble on something as hilarious as this. Why it doesn't have a bigger slot on BBC I'll never know - it's an absolute gem. The life-long relationship and mad antics of Jack and Victor (aided and abetted by the wonderful Winston) make for fantastic comedy. The sarky shopkeeper Navid is brilliant and the other characters, Isa, Tam, Boaby, Shug etc all shine in their own right and play wonderful parts. Superbly written, every episode is jaw achingly funny and at points I thought I may stop breathing!!! Miss this at your peril!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Still Game : Complete BBC Series 1-5 (6 Disc Box Set) [2006] [DVD]
Used & New from: £7.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews