Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year
The Crusade is a kickass album that goes off to a kickass start with Ignition and Detonation. Musically, the songs are completely different, but lyrically Detonation is part 2 of Ignition.

In fact, The Crusade is a lyrical masterpiece from start to finish. With several songs being dedicated to events that have happened, such as Entrance of the Conflagration: a...
Published on 10 Oct 2006 by Matthew Malloy

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trivium's Transitional Album
The dust has settled on 'The Crusade' now, with over six months passed since its release. Having taken a quick look at the overall rating for this CD, however, I have to say I was quite stunned at it being almost 5 stars. So, here's my two cents on Trivium's 3rd album, take it or leave it.

What started off as a band with great technical chops and confidence...
Published on 8 Jun 2007 by I. Lehnert


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 411 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHO-O WHO-O, WHO-O WHO-O!!!, 18 Oct 2006
By 
D. Rigby "fatsaints" (UK, Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crusade (Audio CD)
I cant belive that this is the third album from these guyes!!

I thougth there first one on roadrunner (Ascendancy) was good but this is brilliant!!! the first album made them one of the best bands ever!!

Speed is the essence of this album!! and with such great exacution!!

This is metalcore at its best!!

Get this album!!!

It's worth it!!!

Honestly!!!

Dave
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best I Have Heard, 17 Oct 2006
This review is from: The Crusade (Audio CD)
I want to start off this review with two points:

Trivium are the only band who can pull off the Metallica sound and make it sound natural, and the vocals may have changed, but they have changed for the better.

I bought this album the day it was released, and every time I go to put it back in the case, I find myself pressing the play button and listening to it again.

The guitars and drums are mind-blowing, the vocals also shocked me, his voice is brilliant.

People who have said negative things about this album "The Crusade" Obviously have never listened to the single released, seen the video or bought the album, there is not one think I would tell Trivium to improve on, they have done a incredible job on this new release.

Amazing album, go and buy it. One of the best releases of October.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FINNALY... THE CRUSADE IS HERE!!!, 12 Oct 2006
This review is from: The Crusade (Audio CD)
After all this waiting! the new triviuma album is finally out!!!! i have listened to it over and over again! And it just keeps on sounding better!! when i first heard it i thought it sounded a lot like Metallica but after i while i got into it a bit more, and relised just how Trivium make every note their own! Trivium's new album is the best one yet, it has everything!! solos! great lyrics! it's fast! i love this album the bets track by far is "To The Rats"! i really don't think they deserve some of the bad reveiws they received from other magazines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hell yeah, 10 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: The Crusade (Audio CD)
Trivium the crusade is deffinately worth buying. It has some mind blowing songs from 'To the rats' to 'Crusade'. From triviums sold out shows to growing number of fans they've really hit it big. Buy it =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of The Crusade, 10 Oct 2006
This review is from: The Crusade (Audio CD)
In my opinion, this is triviums best album. It is a brilliant work of art - with such tracks as 'And Sadness Will Sear' taking a dive into Trvium's deeper side of things, with some still brutal tracks as 'Ignition' and 'Entrance Of The Conflagration;, still keeping with some classic Trivium Hard to Soft, such as 'Unrepentant'. This album features many techniques better past albums have lacked, such as the power of th instrumental. The title track for the album is immensely complex, and shows us Trivium's true ingenuity through the music, and is definitely well worth a listen. 5 Star product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing work, 10 Oct 2006
This review is from: The Crusade (Audio CD)
I totally disagree with the kerrang review, this album is pure magic! Nice to see they have dropped alot of the screaming and moved into some good metal riffs and that matt heafy has produced a very nice metal voice.

Deffinetely an amazing followup to their album 'Ascendancy'.

This album is a must have for any true metal fans!

Trivium have obviously made a name for themselves, and are deffinately a good example of Roadrunner records aswell.

Good work guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as the majority of reviews suggest, 12 Oct 2006
By 
eet fuk9 (Leicester ENGL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Crusade (Audio CD)
My second best album buy this year. Second of course to Come What(ever) May. The album does have a few draw backs, some of the crowd interaction parts, and the behind closed doors sounding effects seem a tad cheesy sometimes. But it does grow on you, and it is a very different direction from the previous album, it sure beats the childish sounding screaming, but maybe a bit too metallica. Of course the guitar work is amazing on the album and does blow you away, but not as ground breaking as Ascendancy. Taken as its there third album now it is amazing, and is very different to old trivium, but could have done with a little more work me thinks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 11 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: The Crusade (Audio CD)
There are many words to describe this album, my favourite one being AMAZING; this album is a fusion of Trivium's old sound and a new more mature Metallica-esque sound, which I must say, they pull off very well.

The main thing I have to say about this album - the songs don't half stick in your head. I love the fact that I'm sat in Maths at College and all I can think of is...woah-oh-woah-oh... and it's like yeah...maths is boring but this album has to be good!

I'm not kidding, try it out and you'll see!

I was originally skeptical about this album because I liked their old sound, but my friend let me listen to this album on its release day and I had to buy a copy. It's amazing, quick paced but heartbreaking in its own way. This album is an amazing blend of musical talent but still with the anthemic qualities that make it as unforgettable as either of its predecessors, aswell as Metallica's Black Album.

A brilliant effort from the Floridian Metal outfit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 9 Oct 2006
By 
E. Chater "heavy denver" (kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crusade (Audio CD)
Wow this is amazing. i have been into this music for over 20 years now but lately have been bored with some of the music coming out so to hear trivium bring another killer album out is excellent. this is definatly in my eyes album of 2006
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leading the way in contemporary thrash metal, 14 Mar 2007
By 
gingerguru "gingerguru" (Billericay, Essex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Crusade (Audio CD)
If you are reading this amongst the huge number of mixed reviews posted on this album, you will probably be struggling to decide which opinion to go with.

To truly assess this album requires a bit of objectivity which is clearly lacking in alot of the devoted fan type-reviews. You will also see various genre labels banded around as people seem preoccupied with pidgeon-holing the band into a particular style and following.

Forget all that! This is heavy metal in its broadest sense, pretty much in the same vein as 80s Metallica, Megadeth and Testament with a contemporary re-working which does stop it from being a mere rip-off of what us more seasoned metallers have heard before.

In my book, there is nothing wrong in referencing your influences and Trivium are quite open in their adoration of bands like Metallica and more contemporary artists such as guitarist John Petrucci from the fantastic Dream Theater. In fact, it is precisely this mix of influences from bands at different ends of the metal spectrum that produces such an intoxicating fusion of thrash,heavy metal and progressive elements.

This is great stuff - great production, great solos, great arrangement and in terms of the previous album, Ascendancy, a natural progression for a band which still has a lot of years ahead to progress and forge their own sound - Heafy has only just turned 21 after all!

My particular favourites are the album opener, Ignition, Detonation and the title track. Having said that, it's actually difficult to think of a weak track.

Forget your preconceptions and the hang ups regarding the homage to Metallica - this is a hugely enjoyable album for all those who appreciate the basic essence of rock and heavy metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 411 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Crusade
The Crusade by Trivium (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews