Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year
The Crusade is a kickass album that goes off to a kickass start with Ignition and Detonation. Musically, the songs are completely different, but lyrically Detonation is part 2 of Ignition.

In fact, The Crusade is a lyrical masterpiece from start to finish. With several songs being dedicated to events that have happened, such as Entrance of the Conflagration: a...
Published on 10 Oct 2006 by Matthew Malloy

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trivium's Transitional Album
The dust has settled on 'The Crusade' now, with over six months passed since its release. Having taken a quick look at the overall rating for this CD, however, I have to say I was quite stunned at it being almost 5 stars. So, here's my two cents on Trivium's 3rd album, take it or leave it.

What started off as a band with great technical chops and confidence...
Published on 8 Jun 2007 by I. Lehnert


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trivium's Transitional Album, 8 Jun 2007
By 
I. Lehnert (Derby/Blackburn, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crusade (Audio CD)
The dust has settled on 'The Crusade' now, with over six months passed since its release. Having taken a quick look at the overall rating for this CD, however, I have to say I was quite stunned at it being almost 5 stars. So, here's my two cents on Trivium's 3rd album, take it or leave it.

What started off as a band with great technical chops and confidence quickly spiralled to stratospheric proportions just 2 years ago as 'Ascendancy' caught the metal world's attention back in 2005. Less than 18 months after its release and despite massive amounts of touring, Trivium found time to write and record 'The Crusade'. The hubbub was there, the adverts were in place at your local HMV, and it seemed like this was an album all metalheads needed to know about, and acquire, of course. And thanks to Roadrunner being so efficient on the marketing front, it sold like hotcakes. But that doesnt disguise the fact that this is, in fact, Trivium's least consistent album yet.

'The Crusade' does a few things right, for sure. The guitar work seems far more varied than previous works, and with Matt Heafy ditching the screaming vocals almost altogether his strong James Hetfieldian vocals come to the fore, giving the band a more traditional edge. In the HEAVY deparment, 'To The Rats' thrashes about with all the pace and poise of a classic Testament number; 'Entrance of the Conflagration' serves as their best homage to traditional metal and 'Unrepentant' shows some furious welding of a honed melodic edge with tight but restrained riffing.

But on the other side of this album, the band seemed to have branched off and tried to write songs with a bit more variety to them, which is certainly commendable considering 'Ascendancy' and its fast-speed-fits-all mentality. But unfortunately, most of the time it just doesnt pay off. 'The Rising' in particular is an aimless dull affair, with riffing so tedious its more creepy than sleazy. The album's token 'ballad', if you can call it that, entitled 'This World Can't Tear Us Apart' is as dour as it's title suggests and lyrically it plays like any tried and tested progressive-love song you've ever heard. These moments are all the more frustrating when pitted against the face-melting might of album opener 'Ignition', and the delicious melodic vocal hooks found on various tracks. But unfortunately for everyone of them there's an 'Anthem', with its shudderingly embarassing chanting sounding like it's come from the tail end of a Motley Crue outtake, and Heafy trying far too hard to sound like Hetfield.

With 'The Crusade', it seems Trivium have tried to do two things; refine their thunderously heavy moments and expand their song writing palette. On the former they have definitely succeeded, but on the latter I think they've failed this time around. They can certainly be commended for trying something different with around half of these songs, but that 'something different' will hopefully be majorly tweaked and improved upon come album number 4, or I prophesise some serious problems ahead for these young metal titans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year, 10 Oct 2006
This review is from: The Crusade (Audio CD)
The Crusade is a kickass album that goes off to a kickass start with Ignition and Detonation. Musically, the songs are completely different, but lyrically Detonation is part 2 of Ignition.

In fact, The Crusade is a lyrical masterpiece from start to finish. With several songs being dedicated to events that have happened, such as Entrance of the Conflagration: a song about a woman that drowned her children in the bath. Unrepentant: a song that tells the story of a man that killed his daughters for fear of them following in their older daughter's path. And Sadness Will Sear: a song about a gay teenager that was killed for the way he was.

The Crusade covers many styles of music, ranging from the Motley Crue style Anthem (We Are The Fire), to the Def Leppardy The Rising, back to the Slayerish intro to Detonation. Although the songs have hints of other styles to them, there is a definite Trivium sound to all of them.

This album features the song The Crusade, and when Trivium said this song was epic, they meant it! This extremely technical 8 minute long intstrumental did more than keep me interested all the way through.

Musically, every single song is amazing. Matt Heafy's voice sounds amazing, along with his and Corey Beaulieu's guitar riffs and solos, Paolo's bass lines and solos, and Travis's drumming make The Crusade album of the year, and it is a must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Living up to they hype, 10 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: The Crusade (Audio CD)
The Crusade has been one of the most anticipated metal albums of the year, people have been talking about it for months. BUT does it live up to the hype? The fact that it hasn't been out of my cd player since yesterday should say it all!

The Crusade is a clear progression from Triviums earlier albums (Ember To Inferno, Ascendancy) most notably with the vocals. Matt has replaced the screaming with singing, a move which will surely encourage more new fans. Musically the album is more diverse and the talent in this young band shines through even more. This time we get more input from all members of the band, which can only be a good thing - the tracks written by Beaulieu and Gregoletto are as good as those written by Heafy.

There are a number of stand out tracks on the album, there's a favourite for everyone! Highlights include Entrance Of The Conflagration, And Sadness Will Sear, To The Rats as well as the single Anthem (We Are The Fire). A lot of these tracks have the potential to be real crowd pleasers at gigs. Perhaps the most different track on the album is the title track The Crusade - a 8 minute instrumental which allows them to show off their musical ability. Whilst scepitical about it at first, it is great!

Overall The Crusade was more than worth waiting most of the year for, and no doubt will be in my cd player for ages! They have proved that Ascendancy was not a one off and that they are here to stay! 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A damn good CD, forget the negative reviews!, 26 April 2007
This review is from: The Crusade (Audio CD)
I heard 'A Gunshot to the Head of Trepidation' a long while back and had a desire since to get hold of Ascendancy but never got round to it - anyway when checking their site to get the Gunshot video I stumbled upon the fact they had a new album out. Of course I thought I'd get that and then catch up later with the other two...

This album is GOOOOD - it's filled with nice riffs, solos and the lyrics aren't half bad either! They are a step up from Ascendancy, as is the musicianship and the production.

Trivium manage to make every song listenable...actually that's a lie, the one track 'This World Can't Tear Us Apart' is pretty dire - just for the lyrics and cheesy intro - but apart from that the music is spot on.

It also features one of the best songs I've heard in 'Becoming the Dragon' which alone is worth the price of the album!

Anyway I give it 4.75 out of 5 just because of the bad track, apart from that it's a blinder!

I've noticed everyone drawing comparisons with Iron Maidens 'Bring Your Daughter...' on one of their songs - forget that, it has the words 'Daughter' and 'Slaughter' in the chorus, but the subject matter is completely different and the rest of the song is nothing like Maiden's.

As for the Hetfield/Metallica comparisons - to be honest Metallica for me never produced a really consistent album - ...And Justice For All and maybe MOP at a stretch was the closest thing to a fully listenable album...

Don't listen to the negative reviews, and put all your 'THIS IS MAINSTREAM' demons in the demon bin - just give it a few listens and I'm sure you'll be headbanging along!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One step closer to world domination, 3 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: The Crusade (Audio CD)
Following the mass success that was Ascendancy, Trivium were expected by many to keep the same "formula" and produce an album in the same style. They however had different intentions.

The most apparent change is the change in vocal style. When I originally listened to trivium, I loved the music, but the screaming that went with it, whilst good for what it was, did not suit my taste. The clean choruses demonstrated the potential of the vocalist and i found myself wanting more. That potential is fulfilled on this album. Matt Heafy's vocals emerge from each song in soaring melodies, adding a more musical element to the record. If not singing cleanly, a "James Hetfield-esq" growl is adopted which fits perfectly with the style of music and shows his versatility as a vocalist.

The songs themselves have also matured away from the metalcore style that was used on Ascendancy. The opening track, Ignition, sets the tone for the record: a rhythmic melodic thrash song. There are also a couple of 70's rock songs with a modern twist which will have crowds chanting without doubt. The lyrics throughout the cd have deep meanings that are extremely relevant to all and are definately worth listening to. The guitar solo's throughout the cd are phenomenal and demonstrate the obvious talent that Matt Heafy and Corey Beaulieu have for their instruments. The standout solo of the cd must be in "Tread the Floods". The CD is closed out with an epic 8 minute instrumental once again showing the outstanding musicianship of the members of the band and surely sets the bar for the next album.

Standout tracks - Detonation, Entrance of the Conflagration, Sadness Will Sear, This World Can't Tear Us Apart, Tread the Floods and The Crusade
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Crusade = Brilliant, 24 Oct 2006
By 
joe "joey" (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Crusade (Audio CD)
There are only a few great bands in the world, and trivium are one of them, combining fast technical thrash riffs and complex drum beats in this highly adrenalized and awaited album. The songs on this album all come with a certain story behind each of the doors in these songs, so there is a meaning to each of the songs and a reference. Each song holds a different story, all of which were tracked down by one Matt Heafy, who is as knowledgable as any song writer i've ever seen, his lyrics are so strong and have so much meaning to them, and combined with the music that is created just gives an album for the age, this maybe coud be the best album out this year, but there is some stiff competition, but this album at the moment just sticks out, it already has sold an un real amount of copies, and has only been out since the 9th of october! They always sell out their tours as they are so eagerly awited by their fans! which they have many of!. One other thing, i hate it when people say thet they sound like metallica, METALLICA ARE AWESOME, but trivium sound nothing like them, metallica ave moved on from their thrash and even changed their tuning, but they still remain to be one of the greatest metal bands ever in my eyes!, matt heafy's and james hetfield's voices are completely different and dont have any sort of correlation between them!, they both have the same style of music, but they both are two very different bands even though they influence each other! i recommend the crusade to absolutely everyone! it is amazing! 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crusade rules!!!, 23 Oct 2006
This review is from: The Crusade (Audio CD)
What a great album, lots of growth and more thrashy based. The first track (ignition) has great riff's, lush solo and i thought this track had great lyrics and a good subject to do about. I also liked the piano melody. I wasn't a big fan of track two (detonation), probably one of my least favorites but it does have a few nice hooks and beats, the drumming rules as always. I really loved the third track, great feel throughout, nice tempo to mosh to and cool chorus. The next track (Anthem) is a great single, really upbeat and sing-along-able. Unrependant is the next track and it delivers an agressive feel which i loved, but then changes to be really dramatic in the chorus.Loved the solo on this track, i have enjoyed their new style of solo's on this album, very slayerish in parts.Track six (and sadness will sear), is one of my favorites, really dark song but the chorus's isn't so much, more uplifting. Didn't really like track seven much, sounded to much like a Metallica song like for whom the bell tolls or something then mixed with the third track on the album. I did like the interlude part and the vocals though.To the rats (track eight) is one of my favorites on the album, really fast paced with great riff's and drum beats. Track nine is another favorite of mine (this world can't tear it), its abit softcore for Trivium but i suppose the whole album is abit compared with their previous work. A great melodic song to hit peoples hearts, plus some great solo action. The next track (tread the floods) is probably my favorite track on the album. Loved the vocals, riffs, drumming, everything!! amazing track.This track has one of my favorite trivium chorus's. Contempt breeds is the next track and another one which i really enjoyed, nice and fast with dark guitaring but also a more friendly sounding chorus which breaks it up abit.I loved the next track (the rising) really pulse driven and a great headbanging song, in my option this sould of been their anthem.The crusade, classic instrumental, lots of character and great rythems, upbeat but raw as well in parts. Brilliant way to end the new album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Notch Stuff!, 22 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: The Crusade (Audio CD)
Ascendancy was an amazing album, excellent guitar, vocal, bass and drum works there was nothing that I could fault about this album, and seeing it performed live was even better.

Now we are on to the next chapter of the amazing behemoth that is Trivium, their latest release "The Crusade" is a change from their last album but a good one, the shouting has gone and made way for 'real' singing from Matt Heafy there are loads more solos, a song will go from total thrashy style to great mellow vocals and music in a second, this is neck snapping metal at it's best.

Album opener 'Ignition' is a full out onslaught of thrash, its a total punch in the face for the listener and is a stirling opener for this great album, followed up by this years earlier track teaser of 'Detonation' the album in my opinion gets better as it goes along. With great songs like 'Anthem', 'Tread the Floods' and 'This World Can't Tear Us Apart' (the follow up song to Dying in your Arms') and the 8 minute musical epic and also album closer 'The Crusade' you clearly couldn't find a thing wrong with this album.

In my opinion everyone should own this CD if you don't already go a buy it you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metal is still alive!!!, 10 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: The Crusade (Audio CD)
the crusade, where do i start?

I'll start with the new vocal style, it is so amazing. All "true" metal fans shall think that after Ascendancy, trivium couldnt get any better, well they are totally wrong. Trivium has proved everyone wrong, and made one of the most amazing albums ever. infact, i would definitely say it is the best metal album of the last 10 years. The vocals arent screaming as they were on the previous two albums, but now Matt is singing the lyrics. His singing is so amazing, it has been compared very similair to hetfield, thats how good it is!! The lyrics are really strong aswell, take this line from detonation(track 2) for example: "Fire rains down on the American dream

Watch all you love seethe and scream"

The power behind these lyrics reinforce Triviums very rapid rising to becoming THE metal gods of their generation.

Next i'll tell you about the sound on this album, With the killer solos and the pounding old school metal riffs, this album is one to definitely give a listen. I swear anyone who appreciates rock will love this album, especially with the more stripped back organic guitar playing. With amazing solos to air-guitar to and heavy riffs to pump your fist to, The crusade has it all.

Even the drums on this album are totally killer, Travis has proved himself as one of the greatest drummers on the msuic scene at the moment (Golden God won for Best Drummer, 2006)

So to finish with, I TOTALLY reccomend you to buy possibly the best meal album to be made in your lifetime, standing strong net to the likes of Master of puppets, The Crusade!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best album Yet: YOU NEED IT, 24 Oct 2006
This review is from: The Crusade (Audio CD)
I bought this the day it came out having loved their previous albums and of course their new single: Anthem: I can safely say it has not left my stereo since and that was two weeks ago.

There really isnt a single bad track on the album and by the time youve gone through nearly an hour of awesome music, your brain is knackered from both the catchiness and brilliance of the riffs and choruses and the lightning speed of the solos. The thing that sets this album apart from their previous albums is that in' the crusade' Matt Heafy sings, this I feel is the one thing that the old trivium needed to bring them up to the status that I believe they now have as the greatest metal gods in the world. All the lyrics are now audible and it soon becomes obvious that Matt has some serious things to sing about, whether it be 'Ignition' about issues such as racism and sexism or the slightly more amusing 'to the rats'where they tell of their opinions of those who dislike their band.

My favourite track is 'The Crusade' as I think it sums up how much the band have grown as musicians amd generally how awesome the entire album is.

Enough said, buy it and you will not be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Crusade
The Crusade by Trivium (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews