Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Solo Album
Superb! Mesmerising voice, breathtaking melodies and incredible energy. Pure Joy. It is difficult to say which track is better. I would say the track "Anniversary" is a bit paler compared to the other ones but still the rest is just perfect.
Published on 12 May 2005

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too manic, not enough nirvana
Plant sings like a demon, but the drums are laughably too loud, they should have ditched all the synths, the production is blusteringly over-emphatic, too many of the songs lack distinctiveness or direction, and the whole thing sounds like a heavy rock band (albeit with a tremendous singer) let loose in a recording studio and told to turn it up to eleven.
However,...
Published 4 months ago by GlynLuke


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Solo Album, 12 May 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manic Nirvana (Audio CD)
Superb! Mesmerising voice, breathtaking melodies and incredible energy. Pure Joy. It is difficult to say which track is better. I would say the track "Anniversary" is a bit paler compared to the other ones but still the rest is just perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars his best solo album, 16 May 2002
This review is from: Manic Nirvana (Audio CD)
sure its not very zeppelin, sure its got some 80s synth instruments which sound a little dated now. but percy is in fabulous voice, and when it all comes together - as it does, on more than half the tracks - its quite stunning. put it this way - i bought this on cassette the week it came out, and some 5 or 6 years later, when i was still listening to it, i upgraded to CD. there are not many albums you can say that about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too manic, not enough nirvana, 19 April 2014
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Manic Nirvana (Audio CD)
Plant sings like a demon, but the drums are laughably too loud, they should have ditched all the synths, the production is blusteringly over-emphatic, too many of the songs lack distinctiveness or direction, and the whole thing sounds like a heavy rock band (albeit with a tremendous singer) let loose in a recording studio and told to turn it up to eleven.
However, there`s still a lot to like here, with a few good tracks, but it ain`t Fate of Nations or Mighty Rearranger, arguably his best two `solo` albums.
Sounds like something he needed to get off his - bared, naturally - chest.
I love Robert Plant, but I`m not an uncritical fan. This is one-third excellent, one-third intriguing, one-third utter crap.
One thing it sure doesn`t deserve in a million years is five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not going anywhere, 6 Oct 2011
This review is from: Manic Nirvana (Audio CD)
Apart from the first track,which is excellent,the rest of the tracks all start promisingly with a good chugg along rhythm then - nothing, thats it for the whole song, except for Bob moaning and wailing like he's being tortured. Very poor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another average album, 13 Mar 2001
This review is from: Manic Nirvana (Audio CD)
This album is better than the previous ones, but falls again in the average rate, nothing powerfull here, except the last music "Watching You" that makes the difference, its the only brilliant song here. "Fate of Nations" is far superior than this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manic Nirvana (Audio CD)
This album is awesome, I'd not heard it before,but I haven't found 1 bad track on it, well worth buying, delivery takes a while but considering where it's coming from it's worth the wait, it arrived on time and well packaged, I will be happy to buy from them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars breathless, 6 Mar 2013
This review is from: Manic Nirvana (Audio CD)
like another reviewer i got this on cassette when released and i'm wondering wether to get a cd version dozen or so years on,the title sums up the music,it's fast and rockin'and the cover is like posters at '73 era gigs,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tracklisting for this album, 21 Jun 2011
Hurting kind, I`ve got my eyes on you. Big love. SSS &Q. I cried. Nirvana. Tie die on the highway. Your ma said you cried in your sleep last night. Anniversary. Liars dance. Watching you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Manic Nirvana
Manic Nirvana by Robert Plant (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews