Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars with oden on our side
"cry of the blackbirds" was the first track i ever heard by amon amarth. i thought it was pretty amazing, so i bought the album. im glad i did. this album is awesome and i will be off to get more amon amarth soon as they are a solid band who create masterpieces. this is a great album and i strongly recommend it to anyone who is into any type of death metal, growling...
Published on 30 July 2007 by Pyriel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great album, shame about the sound quality...
I think amazon needs to review its file formats for music download. Quality of sound is terrible....wish i'd just waited and bought the CD!
Published 8 months ago by craig smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars with oden on our side, 30 July 2007
By 
Pyriel (northants, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: With Oden On Our Side (Audio CD)
"cry of the blackbirds" was the first track i ever heard by amon amarth. i thought it was pretty amazing, so i bought the album. im glad i did. this album is awesome and i will be off to get more amon amarth soon as they are a solid band who create masterpieces. this is a great album and i strongly recommend it to anyone who is into any type of death metal, growling vocals and awesome music. 5 shiny *'s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ARRRRGGHHH!!!, 4 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With Oden On Our Side (Audio CD)
A fantastic Metal album pure aggression, and no soft bits if you don't buy this cd then you won't be going to valhalla
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fresh wave of brutality from the masters of Norse Metal, 29 Jan 2010
This review is from: With Oden On Our Side (Audio CD)
Amon Amarth ( named after Mount Doom from Tolkien's Lord of the Rings books ) a Melodic Death Metal at heart which uses Viking imagery and themes for their inspiration and lyrics. Therefore, they are classed as Viking Death Metal for obvious reasons. This is their sixth full length album ( not including the original EP ) and possibly their best to date.
The band uses the afformentioned viking imagery to a spectacular effect, illistrating the likes of battle, pilliging and being on a stormy sea voyage. Just take note of some lyrics from "Gods of War Arise" for a shining example: "hear the tortured screams/ shattering the air/ they awake from soothing dreams/ into their worst nightmare/ fire sweeps their homes/ they feel the dragons breath/ agonizing death" Epic stuff.
Amon Amarth have always infused their tracks with both boatloads of agression and thunderous melody. "With Oden On Our Side" is possibly the bands most melodic work, especially with tracks like "Under the Northern Star" and the superb "Runes to my Memory". When most metal bands try to do aggression, they usually end up sounding like a bunch of hormonal teenagers who are angry at their parents. However, the theme of vikings comes inheritly with a ton of power, wrath and sheer brutality. Amon Amarth's melodic aggression gives each track an epic sweeping feel. Listen to the chorus of "Runes to my Memory", the latter half of the epic "Hermod's Ride to Hel" of the chorus of "Under the Northern Star" - we feel like we're there in the fierce winter with the "dark skies above us" and "biting frost in the air".
This album is probably the bands best, with all new classics that hold their own against the mighty "Victorious March" from "Once Sent From The Golden Hall" ( also an awesome album by the way ). It's also a good album to listen to when you're at the gym: you'll be pumped with adrenaline and energy in no time.
All in all, a truly epic album from a truly epic band. Buy it.

Highlights: Runes to my Memory, Hermod's Ride to Hell, Cry of the Black Birds, Under the Northern Star

Lowlights: Valhalla Awaits Me ( not a bad song at all, it just pales in comparison with the rest of the album )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars glorious metal, 11 Dec 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: With Oden on Our Side (Audio CD)
the follow up to the excellent fate of norns shows amon amrath heading back to a faster and more aggressive sound,but dont go screaming yet as the album is still melodic as you could ever imagine.

The album opens briliantly with valhal awaits me with a storming riff and killer chorus,the first single of this follows with runes to my memory which is a masterpiece of melody,vicious riffage and memorable chorus,the mood changes with third song asator which has black metal riffs with a really fast pace throughout but yes you guessed it plenty of trademark melody.

The album never lets up and is a real grower,certainly in the top 10 albums of 2006,so maybe thats a sign that you need to hear this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh yes ODEN is on our side, 25 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. D. J. Evans (BILLINGSHURST) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With Oden on Our Side (Audio CD)
Got into Amon Amarth after listening to 'Fate of Norns',and what a solid piece of work that is. Along now comes 'With Oden On Our Side' and I can say thank our lucky stars that he is beside us. It took me three listens and then the penny dropped, what a absolute stunning record this is. Quite literally the best metal album of any genre for a longtime. Kicking off with 'valhall Awaits Me' you can almost smell the bloodshed and be glad you are not there. 'Runes To My Memory' has a kind of 'Fate Of Norns' feel a good quality track, 'Hermods Ride To Hel' is stunning. Track 6 'With Oden On Our Side' is arguably the best tune on the record it is an absolute powerblast of heaviness. The chorus is foot stomping stuff which does not go on long enough, but who cares when you got tunes like 'Under The Northern Star' a melancholic master. Every song on this release is an anthem. I dont know how they combine sheer terror heaviness with melody that makes this record especially, and Amon Amarth so listenable and appealing. They are a great band who play intelligent Death metal, they love what they do and you can hear it in their songs, after listening to this nothing is unachievable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aural Rituals to Ancient Gods., 1 Oct 2006
This review is from: With Oden on Our Side (Audio CD)
With Oden on our Side is Amon Amarth's 6th full length studio offering...and what a fitting offering to the one-eyed all father it is!

the great thing about this album is that it take elements from every other Amon Amarth album. The anger and savagery of Once Sent From the Golden Hall, The Avenger and The Crusher combines with the melodic aggression of Versus the World and Fate of Norns to create a stunning collection of brain pounding, village butchering viking death metal.

Songs such as Cry of the Blackbirds could just as easily have been on Fate of Norns whilst songs such as Asator could be right at home on The Avenger or The Crusher.

Not only is it an amalgamation of all that Amon Amarth gave done, however, it also pushes them to new levels in such a way that has not been seen since their magnum opus; Versus the World.

Although I think that Versus the World will, for me, be Amon Amarth's all-time greatest album, I do think that With Oden On Our Side is right up there alongside Once Sent From the Golden Hall (IMO, their 2nd best).

Amon Amarth have found their way again, after the minor detour of the good-but-not-great Fate of Norns, they have mixed awesome power and brutality with melody and awesome songwriting in a way that they have only previously done on the Versus the World album.

An astonishing, stupendous and downright brilliant album that should be embraced by Amon Amarth fans new and old. Oden would be proud and, as it says on the poster "if you're not into Amon Amarth, you're not into metal". Damn right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SVEDISCH DEATH METALL!, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With Oden On Our Side (Audio CD)
Hahaha, really cool. Amon Amarth are an amazing band, every metalheads dream! Excellent, I've written many reviews like this, but Amon Amarth still merit it. Good, head banging, mead swilling, villlage burning, priest killing stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece!!, 27 May 2012
This review is from: With Oden On Our Side (Audio CD)
This is the first Amon Amarth album I got and absolutely love it. No filler tracks here. Thundering riffs, heavy melodic guitars etc...etc... - this album has got it all. If you are into metal then this could never disappoint. Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With Oden On Our Side, 13 July 2011
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: With Oden On Our Side (Audio CD)
2006's With Oden On Our Side is my personal favourite Amon Amarth record. The band recorded some of their best music here, which is high praise considering that the band have never put out a bad album.

Amon Amarth release high quality music, with impressive twin lead guitar harmonies, hammering double kicks and Johan Hegg's incredibly enjoyable death-vocals over the top of it all, in an audible and clear way that helps the band stand out.

The band's Norse/Viking imagery and lyrics helps set a great atmosphere but don't think Amon Amarth are a gimmick band, they have the musical skills and songwriting prowess to back it up.

The album is of a very constant quality so there is no filler or weaker songs to discount, everything on With Oden On Our Side is great. Standout tracks are the famous `Runes To My Memory,' the dynamic `Cry of the Black Birds' and the fabulous title track, which is easily one of the best songs the band have produced to date.

Overall, Amon Amarth are a great band and With Oden On Our Side is a great example of what they do, it still has the fire and passion of their earlier work and yet also the slick, perfection of their later work. Just a great bunch of heavy, enjoyable songs all around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Amon Amarth!!, 28 Jun 2014
By 
Barbara Stasicka-rusak "basia" (Taunton-Somerset-UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With Oden On Our Side (Audio CD)
I do like to list this band and make a collection of theirs cd-s.I recommend to go on live concert as well, They are making a hell of sound!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

With Oden On Our Side
With Oden On Our Side by Amon Amarth (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews