Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant surprise...
...given the pseudo-macho-ego-out-of-control-fest that was the very average MI 2. As usual, it's good writing that saves the day and JJ Abrams does not let us down. True, there are some (alright, a lot) of moments which stretch credibility but hey, this isn't documentary it's CINEMA.

The charm of the first one was I suppose the intricacy of the plot and the...
Published on 30 Nov 2007 by m

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty average
This 3rd instalment of the Mission Impossible films sums up exactly what is wrong with most Hollywood films today.

Lets be fair and start with the good points: The stunts and action sequences (particulary on the bridge) are breathtakingly good. The acting from Philip Seymour Hoffman and Laurence Fishburns (in a small role) is very good. Cruise and the remainder...
Published on 30 April 2007 by S J Buck


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant surprise..., 30 Nov 2007
By 
m "macey" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mission Impossible 3 (Single Disc) [DVD] (DVD)
...given the pseudo-macho-ego-out-of-control-fest that was the very average MI 2. As usual, it's good writing that saves the day and JJ Abrams does not let us down. True, there are some (alright, a lot) of moments which stretch credibility but hey, this isn't documentary it's CINEMA.

The charm of the first one was I suppose the intricacy of the plot and the sense of some sort of real-world grounding of the action, and whilst they don't really gun for that, there's enough intelligence to make it more than the simple 'Tom does Arnie' ethos of MI 2.

And fair play - there are some incredible moments - my heart was in my mouth when the Cruiser seems to actually leap off the top of a Chinese tower block. You know it's CGI, but it's still amazing.

Don't let MI 2 put you off, things are back on track here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty average, 30 April 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mission Impossible 3 (Single Disc) [DVD] (DVD)
This 3rd instalment of the Mission Impossible films sums up exactly what is wrong with most Hollywood films today.

Lets be fair and start with the good points: The stunts and action sequences (particulary on the bridge) are breathtakingly good. The acting from Philip Seymour Hoffman and Laurence Fishburns (in a small role) is very good. Cruise and the remainder of the cast are reasonable as well. There is also a lovely cameo role from Simon Pegg which is worth catching.

However on the downside there is virtually no characterisation. The script is at best average, and did I care in the least about anybody in the film (no). Stunts and explosions are great, but if thats all that the film consists of then you no longer have a film. This isn't quite that bad but if you took that out of this film you would have about 15-20 minutes left at the most.

So its worth seeing, there are some great moments, but I'd recommend renting it rather than buying as it really is a typical bloated Hollywood blockbuster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mission Accomplished, 6 Dec 2006
By 
J. A. Samson (Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Great action from start to finish, Mission Impossible 3 is an exhausting film in which Tom Cruise delivers a great performance with his able team. The action scenes were very exciting, over the top and just fun to watch. I enjoyed it and would recommend it for those who like films of the action genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A winning mixture of action and espionage, 28 Oct 2006
By 
M. JONES "mj1001" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I first saw the trailer for M:I3 and yawned. I thought it would be another flashy and brainless stuntfest with a token villain. However, my experience of the film itself was different.

The first 'Mission Impossible' was a very good follow-on from the TV series, whereby a team of spies would carry out impossible assignments with pinpoint accuracy, timing, diversion and wit. The film version maintained this element, but it's plot was too contrived for some.

The second film was a different breed altogether and opted for gunblazing, high-kicking action and STILL managed to be quite dull.

Finally, the third 'Mission Impossible' comes to dvd and manages to be a perfect blend of the two styles aforementioned. This time, Ethan Hunt is about to tie the knot but has to spring into action and rescue his protege. His mission leads him to Owen Davian, a smart and ruthless arms dealer who is much more dangerous than Hunt gives him credit for.

The reason the film works so well, unlike the 2nd installment is because JJ Abrams knows how to keep the audience interested. Instead of having to wait a good 40 minutes for the action and set-pieces that we were promised, M:I3 kicks off with one big scene after another. However, there's so much more ingenuity and charm compared to the first two films in the way that the impossible missions are carried out. The biggest and most rewarding sequence takes place in the vatican and is a joy to watch and even reveals the technology behind the famous facemasks of Mission Impossible. Another exciting sequence is set in China where you expect a slow M:I2-like infiltration, which quickly turns into a frantic snatch-and-grab job.

The villain, Davian, is played brilliantly and doesn't need to rely on his strength to fight Hunt. Even in Hunt's custody, it's clear that the man is several moves ahead and certainly manages to put the spy through the mincer.

All in all, a very good and satisfying mixture of I and II, which manages to even improve on both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome stunts, but lacking a certain something, 2 Jun 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this film with some amazon vouchers that I received for my birthday. The stunts in this film are absolutely breathtaking, especially in the 'Bridge Attack' scene. However, the film lacks a certain something, but with that said, Tom Cruise and Phillip Seymour-Hoffman's performances were really good.

The special extra's are really good, although some of them are a bit boring.

Over all, a cracking film which I thoroughly reccommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, but still not better than the first one!, 13 Sep 2006
By 
Cazza "CS" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
when i saw that jj abrams was going to direct this one i thought it was going to be alias on the big screen - which it was - but this isnt a bad thing...cruise reprises his role as ethan hunt and is excellent as usual in the lead role...ah, if only he hadnt been on oprah...michelle monaghan plays the love interest well and the always impressive ving rhames is back as luther. more of maggie q please in this type of role...she is stunning and kicks some serious butt as part of ethan hunt's team. its philip seymour hoffman though that steals the show as the bad guy - he should do more of this - the opening scene between him and tom cruise is excellent and sets up the rest of the film as a roller coaster ride of excitement - if action is your thing then get this, but dont expect to see the same as the first mission impossible - which for me is still the best of the 3 with a perfect blend of action, drama and thrills.

MS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Go at Saving......, 23 July 2014
‘Mission Impossible 3’ (2010) is a much better film than its predecessor but not quite up to the original. As in the other films there’s a convoluted plot with a ‘macguffin’ which doesn’t bear serious scrutiny – in fact, in this film the writers....... I won’t say but it becomes pretty obvious. As with the others in the franchise there’s fast and furious action and acrobatic performances (some in reality would produce serious injury or death), but there’s not quite so much ‘shoot them up because they can’t kill Americans’ as featured in IM_2. Storyline & script are better than MI_2 with less play on spectacle for its own sake – although I did find the Vatican sequence stretched credibility. I also wondered how much part of the plot owed to that superb spoof ‘True Lies’ with Arnold Schwarzenegger – perhaps not so much ‘fact resembling fiction’ as ‘thriller resembling parody’. Direction and photography were good.
Tom Cruise and Ving Rhames are as workmanlike as in previous outings. The villain is nicely played by Philip Seymour Hoffman, both Billy Crudup and Lawrence Fishbourne were enigmatic in their bureaucratic roles and Michelle Monaghan had a good stab at ‘the wife to come home to’ (a la Jamie Lee Curtis in the spoof). Finally I enjoyed Simon Pegg in the minor role as a near-hysteric who brings home the bacon.
Overall I enjoyed the couple of hours so it’s worth 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars From a fan of M:I-2, 29 Jun 2007
By 
Andrew Kyle "Fangg" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I need to make it clear to everyone so that no preconceptions are made: i loved, nay, adored Mission Impossible -2. The first was good, and i loved the serious spy film angle, but the second was just pure escapist daftness and for that very reason i enjoyed it immensely. So come to the third i wasn't sure how things would pan out: serious spy? Classic action? Daft action? I watched with anticipation...

And it was excellent. It has all the trappings of a daft action film but manages to weave the numerous set pieces (a helicopter chase through a wind turbine farm, a raid on the Vatican, a terrific bridge scene) into a tough plot, involving the theft of something called "the Rabbit's Foot" by a weapons dealer, who then takes Ethan Hunts wife as leverage. Plus theres a double agent in there somewhere. Its all quite confusing but despite complaints about this, its definitely comprehensible and all makes sense.

The cast is stellar: Tom Cruise, Phillip Seymour Hoffman, Ving Rhames, Lawrence Fishburne, all playing it straight and producing excellent results. Theres a good level of necessary humour in the mix, which is always good in moments of seriousness (the bit with the radio is a standout).

Oh and for those fans of the two predecessors there is also face-swapping and a ridiculous stunt scene as well.

Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mission Predictable, 12 Feb 2007
This review is from: Mission Impossible 3 (Single Disc) [DVD] (DVD)
As action movies go,if I'd never seen any other Mission' movie it still would of fell short for a great movie.I suppose because the particular storylines for the first two movies have become a tried,tested and successful format so number three just followed suit.To me,this "M-I" failed slightly because the story was a little weak.As always Tom proves himself in the stunts and action sequences and for a first-time director's big movie the guy did a very good job but I got to the end and was still sitting in my seat saying,"Is that it?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Effects don't come before storyline...., 17 Nov 2006
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mission Impossible 3 (Single Disc) [DVD] (DVD)
What a hyped up movie this turned out to be! In an age of computer driven special effects, and budgets to spend that are crazy, it would seem MI3 focuses more on annoying shakey camera's (either that or they hired some nervous crew) that make it hard to focus on whats happening, and lots of action. But what about the storyline?

I still regard the first film as the best, because it had the 'character' of the original Mission Impossible series - Nathan Hunt wasn't so over acted by Tom Cruise as in this film, and the camera work was much better, actually resembling a good pattern. It was also the storyline that made in so watchable and interesting. On this film however, apart from just getting to grips with something to do with a 'rabbits head/leg' that a bad guy wants... what's the actual point of the film? The only things to come out of it are that he gets married rather cheaply, and then retires from the IMD at the end.

The effects are good, undoubtedly. But it just gets to a point where enough is enough, and it takes over the story of the film, much like recent Bond films (which has thankfully been corrected - Casino Royale dumps technology...). The directing is ok too, with some good shots of cruise firing his gun. But you look at these kinds of scenes compared to the original, and you can't help but wonder how 'sameish' this film looks to other high-action films that are pumped out of the box office.

Verdict? To put it simply, this is just another action film, and theirs nothing remotely unique about it. Stick to the original, and avoid the second!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mission Impossible 3   (Single Disc) [DVD]
Mission Impossible 3 (Single Disc) [DVD] by J.J. Abrams (DVD - 2006)
£2.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews