Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Season One laughs present and accounted for!
I had forgotten how much I enjoyed Hogan's Heroes before getting my hands on this Season One collection. I would have loved to have been in the room when the idea guys pitched this show to network executives: it's a comedy, see, set in a WWII German prisoner of war camp, and naturally we'll have some Heil Hitlers thrown around but, really, what could be funnier than...
Published on 14 Aug 2005 by Daniel Jolley

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars hogans heros
couldn't get it to work . what is region one I dont understand Is it because it came from america willie
Published 4 months ago by Wilma


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Season One laughs present and accounted for!, 14 Aug 2005
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I had forgotten how much I enjoyed Hogan's Heroes before getting my hands on this Season One collection. I would have loved to have been in the room when the idea guys pitched this show to network executives: it's a comedy, see, set in a WWII German prisoner of war camp, and naturally we'll have some Heil Hitlers thrown around but, really, what could be funnier than that? It's a sure thing. Whatever might have been said in that meeting, the truth is that this improbable idea of a show was indeed a sure thing that hit its mark from the very start. Bob Crane was born to play Colonel Hogan, John Banner ranks close to the top when it comes to supporting actors in a comedy series, and the irrepressible Colonel Klink (played perfectly by Werner Klemperer - who picked up two Emmys for Best Supporting Actor for his trouble) is truly a character for the ages. It's hard to believe this show is now forty years old, some of its star players long dead. I swear, though, I think it's funnier now than it's ever been.
You don't get any special features with the Season One DVD set (although it appears Season Two will include some extra goodies), but you do get all 32 (count 'em, 32) complete episodes from that magical first season of 1965-1966. The pilot episode is in black and white, but all of the other episodes are in color (as CBS boasts at the start of every broadcast). It would be wonderful to hear some commentary by the main players, but the most prominent members of the cast are no longer alive. John Banner died in 1973, Werner Klemperer in 2000; Bob Crane, of course, was brutally murdered in 1978. It's very interesting to note that John Banner was a Jew who fled Austria after the Anschluss (but not before spending some time in a concentration camp - as did Robert Clary, as well) and that Werner Klemperer and his family (his father was the famous conductor Otto Klemperer) left Germany for America just after Hitler came to power. The fact that they both played bumbling German soldiers on the show proves that irony does not always travel without a sense of justice. General Burkhalter and Major Hochstetter were also played by Jewish men.
As for the show, I hardly need describe it. Hogan and his men are not your normal POWs; no one has ever escaped Stalag 13 precisely because it is these prisoners' mission to stay there and help the Allied war effort in innumerable ways: helping other prisoners escape, securing valuable intelligence, engaging in acts of sabotage, etc. There's really no limit to the military hijinx they pull off, all under the nose of the self-possessed Colonel Klink. Sergeant Schultz, for his part, wants to know Nothing! Nothing !! Klink unknowingly helps Hogan and his men more often than not. He has no clue that Hogan and his men are anything more than Allied solders broken at the hands of the Iron Colonel - despite the fact that secret German weapons have a habit of disappearing and reappearing elsewhere in camp, German anti-aircraft guns have a tendency of moving out of the way for local Allied bombing runs, scientists have a tendency to disappear after visiting the camp, and all sorts of other shenanigans are nothing short of routine. Of the 32 episodes in the first season, there's only one weak story in the bunch (the switcheroo episode in which Ivan Dixon plays an African prince as well as Kinch). Since I can't describe every episode, I'll make special mention of only one: The Great Impersonation. This is a true classic in which Sergeant Schultz is talked into impersonating Colonel Klink in order to get three of Hogan's men out of captivity and back to Stalag 13.
Trips to Klink's office were especially enjoyable in the first season because of the presence of Cynthia Lynn as Klink's secretary Helga. I don't know why she didn't continue in the role, but Hilda (Sigrid Valdis, who would marry Bob Crane right there on the set) couldn't hold a match to Helga in later seasons. Season One also featured some notable guest appearances. William Christopher (Father Mulcahy from TV's M.A.S.H.) appeared in two episodes, Bernard Fox showed up twice as the thoroughly British Colonel Crittendon, and - best of all - Gavin MacLeod appeared as nothing less than a Gestapo officer.
Hogan's Heroes is just an incredibly funny show, but it's more than that. It took talented writers to think up so many crazy capers week in and week out, and Season One is a testament to their skills. These characters are as well-defined as any you will find anywhere else, thanks to a fantastic cast (Colonel Klink is one of my favorite characters of all-time). Everything about this show works, and I'm sure that you'll still be hearing Schultz's catchphrase and seeing children walk around with quarters in their eyes pretending they're monocles a hundred years from now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still works...You'll have a great time!, 8 July 2009
By 
AlanMusicMan (North Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hogan's Heroes: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Whether it was morally right to set a light hearted comedy in a WW2 German prison camp is, of course, questionable. It's the same question as was asked about 'Dad's Army' in 1968. Making comedic mileage out of times of great hardship, threat and tragedy is always going to raise eyebrows.

However, it's always amusing to see history turned on its head and to see the oppressors bested by the oppressed. It's been done over and over, so it must find audiences.

In UK TV and films we've had Porridge, Dad's Army, 'Ello 'Ello and so on. In the US they had Hogan's Heroes: Of course MASH is somewhat the same kind of premise, conscript doctors dragooned by the Army, which they then outsmart at every opportunity. The US probably had other shows along these same lines that we never saw in Europe. Mel Brooks has made something of a speciality of this strand of comedy with material like Blazing Saddles, Young Frankenstein, The Producers etc. I think Mel was maybe a writer on Hogan at some stage?

So, Hogan's Heroes. A prison camp in Germany in WW2, run by egomaniac Idiot Colonel Klink (excellently played by the dapper Werner Klemperor). The camp is host to a load of captured allied airmen and soldiers. Colonel Robert Hogan (Bob Crane) is the senior officer among these men.

Due to the lax regime in the camp (exemplified by John Banner's excellent numbskull Sergeant Schultz) the 'captives' build extensive underground facilities that allow them to live in some comfort - for example they have a dry cleaner and a tailor's shop making German uniforms and suits down there! These facilities also allow prisoners to come and go from the camp as they please and assist other prisoners to escape to freedom. Klink's captives are in fact the core cast, and a constantly changing set of downed allied airmen who are en route home. However, Klink's superiors (and, initially at least, Klink himself) are convinced that the camp is escape proof and run with iron discipline. Naturally, the prisoners frequently assist Klink in maintaining this illusion!

So after all this time (made in the late 1960s remember - by Bing Crosby productions, no less) how does it all look now in the 2000s? Well, some of the episodes are still just superb, most are very watchable, a very few are embarrassingly bad. Mostly the comedy still works, it's almost all in colour (good colour too) and the quality is good. This means that kids will watch it without any problem and they will LOVE the visual gags even if they are not initially 100% informed about the premise.

So, yes, well worth reissuing these on DVD. If you remember it from way back, have another look now. If you watch it sympathetically, you'll have a great time.

Alan T

FOOTNOTE: If you ever get a chance to see the terrific James Garner film "36 Hours" (1964) you will see John Banner (towards the last third of the film) playing almost the same character as Schultz, but not for laughs, this time he's serious. Of course this pre-dated Hogan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Cheer, 6 Oct 2010
By 
Frosty (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hogan's Heroes: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not going to rant on about the quality of this show; that speaks for itself. However, if anyone out there is thinking along the lines of xenophobic stereotypes and the propriety of treating a brutal conflict in a light-hearted way then you really do need to see this. Hogan's Heroes pokes gentle fun at everyone, including the "heroes". You might not see the horrors of war but you do get to see the humanity, on both sides, that the more brutal depictions neglect. And, contrary to popular depictions, people certainly don't turn off their sense of humour just because they are in a war.

I'd been humming the theme tune for ten years or so before my son found a lone episode on the internet two years ago. He's now just as hooked as I am to this amazing programme and, of course, Schultz (and his catchphrase) is our favourite. In fact the whole family turn to this series to cheer us up when we've had a bad day. One minor irritant is that 'Helga' was replaced by the more unbelievably wooden 'Hilda' but then she's not in it that much. This is pure entertainment at it's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 9 Mar 2011
This review is from: Hogan's Heroes: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Great to watch with the whole family. Although made many years ago it doesn't age. If you like comedy like Dads Army you will enjoy this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars hogans heros, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
couldn't get it to work . what is region one I dont understand Is it because it came from america willie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still hilarious, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember this as a kid, so I thought why not get all of them, great quality and even though I don't remember alot of the episodes, some I do, great clean old comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I see nothing...nothing except classic humour, 13 Dec 2013
By 
Paragon (Yorkshire,England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember watching this as a child. It is timeless like Dads Army and Allo Allo.
Col Klink (Werner Klemperer) is superb, his father was the great classical conductor Otto Klemperer.
It is funny but must be taken tongue in cheek.
If you want to brighten up a raining day, this is the one to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hogan's Heroes: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
THIS IS JUST WHAT I WANTED EVERYTHING GOOD EXCELLENT SERVICE RECIEVED ON TIME IN EXCELLENT CONDITION ENJOYING VIEWING THIS SET OF DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Re live your youth!, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hogan's Heroes: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Gift for my husband. He loved it. Hard to get on pal 2. Great buy. Been serching for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series., 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hogan's Heroes: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
One of my favourite sitcoms.Great slapstick humour.Schulz is the best.Klink is also great. Hogan is not my favourite a bit too ''polished ''performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hogan's Heroes: Season 1 [DVD]
Hogan's Heroes: Season 1 [DVD] by Bob Crane (DVD - 2006)
Used & New from: £34.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews