Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars joy shared - joy doubled
I hope the meaning of this saying is clear. Usaually I'm too lazy to write reviews, but when you get to see something that good, you kind of want to share the joy: buy it, watch it, enjoy it!

We do not have Numb3rs on TV here in Lithuania, I just happened to stumble on it by chance. As a "somebody who once tried, but failed to become a pro of applied maths"...
Published on 26 Nov. 2006 by Anita

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A kind of softer, gentler, politically correct CSI - a relaxing watch but very predictable
I rather liked the first season of Numb3rs and I certainly do not regret watching it, but let it be said, that this is NOT a master piece.

The show is about two brothers who happen to work together for FBI, solving federal crimes in Los Angeles. Don Eppes (Rob Morrow) is a senior agent of FBI, a still young but already very experienced veteran who also worked...
Published on 28 Nov. 2007 by Darth Maciek


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars A kind of softer, gentler, politically correct CSI - a relaxing watch but very predictable, 28 Nov. 2007
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Numb3rs [DVD] (DVD)
I rather liked the first season of Numb3rs and I certainly do not regret watching it, but let it be said, that this is NOT a master piece.

The show is about two brothers who happen to work together for FBI, solving federal crimes in Los Angeles. Don Eppes (Rob Morrow) is a senior agent of FBI, a still young but already very experienced veteran who also worked in the past for US Marshals. His younger brother, Charlie Eppes (David Krumholtz) is a civilian and has a regular work at one of California universities but he also consults for FBI - and he is a very appreciated asset, because he is a genius in mathematics. The brothers work well together, although there is a little tension between them, resulting from the days of their childhood, when Charlie, being the genius kid, was getting much more attention from the parents...

Street wise Don and mathematically gifted Charlie are a great team. In this season they mostly work with agent Terry Lake (Sabrina Lloyd), a cute young blond woman, soft in speech but very tough in a gunfight and agent David Sinclair (Alimi Ballard), a very ambitious, smart and physically powerful black man. One of Charlie's students, Amita Ramanujan (Navi Rawat) occasionally helps in the mathematics - she also has a powerful but totally hopeless crush on her professor.

Eppes brothers have lost their mother to cancer but their father, Alan Eppes (Judd Hirsh) is still with them and they still orbit around his calm and wise presence. The last significant character is dr Larry Fleinhardt (Peter MacNicol, of "Ally McBeal" fame) - a genius astrophysician, a treasure of wisdom and a delightful comic character.

Now, "Numb3rs" are not "CSI" or "Law and Order". The stories are very soft - which means that bad guys get caught and punished (they always confess!) and families of victims get closure and consolation. All the main heroes are nice and good people and they almost never make mistakes (although they can be misguided by people who lie to them). Political correctness is respected to the letter - bad guys are pharmaceutical companies, ex-Green Berets, traumatised veterans of Iraq War, white racists, etc. Good guys are whistle blowers, environmental activists, etc. Stories are also VERY predictable - I am not very smart, but still I almost always could guess who did it in the middle of the episode.

Humour is moderately present - Peter Mac Nichol and Jude Hirsch provide most of it. Surprisingly, Charlie, who is a slightly removed from reality genius, is very little used in humouristic moments, although the one episode in which he plays Scrabble is a really good moment - as a total mathematician he is close to dyslexia...

All in all, this is a nice, soft and gentle thing - but very, very far from the reality and not on the same level as great criminal shows like "CSI", "Law and Order" or "Without a trace".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars joy shared - joy doubled, 26 Nov. 2006
This review is from: Numb3rs [DVD] (DVD)
I hope the meaning of this saying is clear. Usaually I'm too lazy to write reviews, but when you get to see something that good, you kind of want to share the joy: buy it, watch it, enjoy it!

We do not have Numb3rs on TV here in Lithuania, I just happened to stumble on it by chance. As a "somebody who once tried, but failed to become a pro of applied maths" myself, I considered it as a great challenge to the authors: to create cases, that can be solved by mathematical methods. In fact in some cases the maths does seem overimposed a bit, but it never, never leaves you disappointed. The plots are really good, there's not even a moment, when you'd feel bored, you get some good characters, not only the two brothers Don (who is with FBI) and Charlie (a professor of applied maths), who use different ways to solve crimes. Plenty of close-ups to appreciate the actors' work, if you are up to it. And this little moment at the end of every episode, to create an incredibly warm atmosphere, like when Charlie pretends he got interested in golf, just to please his father.

Just a couple of minor nuisances. The discs are packed in quite a stupid way, one atop on another. And then it seems quite unfair to have only 12 episodes in season 1. So it's "only" 5 stars. If not for these flaws, it might be 6!

A cry for help for the end: what about season 2 for region 2??? And it's already 24 episodes, as far as I know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing Maths to the Masses!, 17 Nov. 2008
By 
A. Smallwood (London, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Numb3rs - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
On the face of it, a TV show about a guy that helps to solve crimes by using mathematics sounds a little bit far-fetched and boring. However, this is a show that will appeal to more than just mathematics geeks (me included). It brings together a number of interesting characters, very well portrayed by the various actors, and creates a believable and interesting story every week. The use of maths is a new twist on the standard crime TV show and adds a freshness and new feel to the program. David Krumholtz provides a believable and, perhaps more importantly, a likeable persona to the main man Charlie Eppes and after just one or two episodes you really begin to understand and sympathise with his character (if not the maths that he uses).

Numb3rs is a program that will have something for everybody, and now that it has dropped so low in price it is definitely worth a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MAGNIFICENT OBSESSION, 1 July 2010
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Numb3rs - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Never play cards with Charlie Eppes. You will lose - not only at cards but at practically everything else, except perhaps golf. Numbers are his passion, he able to see permutations few others can, results startling and accurate.

FBI brother Don increasingly calls on his services, Charlie promptly to become immersed in equations and formulae to help steer LA cops onto the right track. Almost unerringly he pinpoints where the serial rapist lives and where he is next likely to strike, outwits computer hackers, anticipates the bank robbers' next port of call, traces the source of a killer flu virus, locates a railway saboteur - and much else besides.

Maths has been made interesting, which cannot often be said. The series owes more to cerebral activity than to action (although there is still quite a bit). The outcome may not appeal to those who prefer their cop shows jampacked with corrupt colleagues, mavericks, messy divorces, torrid romances, alcoholic excesses and other ploys to boost the ratings. Here the officers are competent, simply getting on with the job.

Strengths? An unusual premise (numbers the key to everything), a fine script, charismatic leads. Rob Morrow and David Krumholtz impress as Don and Charlie, their bond palpable and movingly depicted. Tactfully Don is coaxing Charlie out of an often reclusive existence. There, numbers have been his safety blanket when he is otherwise unable to cope - as throughout their mother's terminal illness. Family scenes with their dad (Judd Hirsch) generate a real warmth, they all in different ways getting on with life after their loss. For light relief Peter MacNicol stars as Charlie's former mentor, quirkily entertaining as he offers insight and occasionally urges caution to correct wobbles in the thought process.

Eleven episodes. Alas, no extras. Also alas, an over-abundance of music which often distracts - depriving the series of the five stars it would otherwise have received.

(Watch out for an in-joke. The film showing in one episode? "Sorry Wrong Number".)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars above average cop thriller show, 2 May 2015
By 
Lee "lee" (South Africa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Numb3rs - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fantastic detective / cop / thriller show, one that for many might well have slipped under the radar.

The idea that applying mathematical theory to behaviour patterns might help trace crimes is no more or less plausible that the wonky science we see week in, week out on the variations of CSI. Also, there is plenty of "traditional" cop work on the go.

Well written, an excellent cast and the occasional appearance of the music of Talking Heads - what's not to like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Solving crime with maths, Brilliant!!, 11 April 2010
This review is from: Numb3rs - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Numb3rs offers an unusual way of solving crimes. The shows is about an FBI agent DOn who is catching bad guys with help from his younger brother Charlie. Charlie teaches apllied mathemathics on a fictional university CalSci, which is based on the real university CalTech in California. For example he used maths to exactly predict time and location of another bank robbery. The first season contains only 13 episodes but it's worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Region 2 let down yet again!!!, 28 Jan. 2008
By 
Caradoc Elmet (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Numb3rs [DVD] (DVD)
Enough has already been said about the programme itself so I just want to make a comment on the boxed set... the Region 2 set is pathetic!

The Region 1 releases are packed with extra features including behind the scenes featurettes, episode commentaries, deleted/extended scenes, blooper reels, etc. The Region 2 release has nothing! Not a single extra feature! All you get are the episodes. There is nothing here which hasn't already been broadcast on tv.

The above is true of the Region 2 releases of seasons 1 & 2 which are all I've seen so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant surprise!, 7 Dec. 2014
By 
BtheP50 "Movie Maestro" (Dartford, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Numb3rs - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
If I were to wake up in the night, Numb3rs would be on some channel or another and would be the ideal "sleeping potion".
However, having bought the series to give it a second chance I was very surprised. It is very good!
Don't worry about the "algarythms" just enjoy it for the crime drama that it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great show, 16 Jun. 2007
By 
O. Doyle "celticshedevil" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Numb3rs [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a big fan of CSI and the like where the bad guys leave clues behind and the good guys polish the clues up to hunt them down. Numb3rs is in the same vein as your average crime-fighting series but the FBI in this instance is using maths to find the bad guys. Confused? Me too! Maths was never my forte at school so I'm a bit baffled by the gobbledegook in Numb3rs but I have to admit I learned quite a bit too!

The casting in Numb3rs is fantastic with David Krumholtz and Rob Marrow as two very different brothers who use their skills to solve crimes for the FBI. The producers couldn't have picked a more believable father in Judd Hirsh if they tried but for amusement factor the highly acclaimed Peter MacNicol plays ubergeek Larry. It's a cast that works and is a huge part of why Numb3rs is such a successful series.

An excellent series with some great story-lines but with a cast that makes it what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great series, but all the extras from the US-version are missing, 21 Dec. 2008
By 
S. Fischer (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Numb3rs - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Let me first say that I think this is a very interesting and well-done crime series. But since the European releases (including this British one) lack the US-extras I feel ripped off. I don't think it's asking too much to get behind the scenes featurettes, commentaries, etc. I really wish amazon put more information on their websites so you know in advance whether a box set is actually worth buying or not. So here's a list of what we're missing:
Crunching Numb3rs: Season One
Point Of Origin: Inside The Unaired Pilot
Audition Reels With Optional Commentary By Mark Saks
Cast And Crew Commentaries On Select Episodes
Do The Math: The Caltech Analysis
Charlievision: FX Sequences 1.0
Blooper Reel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Numb3rs [DVD]
Numb3rs [DVD] by Rob Morrow (DVD - 2006)
Used & New from: £0.72
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews