Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 October 2008
sure, ren and stimpy is hilarious. and yes i did enjoy the dvd A LOT!

but, knowing that i dont have the banned episode 'mans best friend', the 'hanging song' on the episode 'out west' and various comenteries on a few episodes actualy enrages me everytime i watch this dvd. what futher enrages me is that there is a frame taken from the episode 'mans best friend' on the back of the 3rd disc box.

i dont think im over reacting when i use the word 'enrages' but i bought this dvd hoping to see the, so called, 'uncut' versions of ren and stimpy.
and i was totaly let down.

buy the usa verion, really do, because the uk version is a complete and utter waste of money especialy as you dont get what you are told.
11 comment|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2006
First of all, let me say that these first and second season episodes of Ren & Stimpy are the finest TV animated cartoons ever made.

Sadly, when the American DVD was made, the mastering team used versions of the episodes that had had material removed to free up time on commercial-heavy American TV. However, the DVD restored other cuts that had been made for children's TV.

This British DVD has been taken from the same source as the US version, but now adds cuts of its own. The British Board of Film Classification have decided to remove the end of one of the cartoons to make it suitable for children and idiots. This DVD is not aimed at children. If it was, it would have been released under the Nickelodeon brand. Also, the episode that children's TV executives "banned" (that is, decided to confine to the vaults for over a decade) - "Man's Best Friend" - which was on the American DVD, is missing here, probably because of its violent content.

This makes the tagline at the top of this being a "Collector's Edition" utterly laughable. Save yourself the bother and buy the American Region 1 version - it's still incomplete, but at least it's incomplete because of an accident instead of nanny-state government censorship.
11 comment|136 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2008
As well as the missing episode discussed in other reviews- the notorious Man's Best Friend, listed on the reverse of the box but not included on the third disc- the Region 2 version does not feature any of the seven commentaries by John Kricfalusi and company or the art gallery that's on the Region 1 version.

Joshua Smith's review of the Region 1 release includes a comprehensive list of all the originally broadcast material cut from the episodes. The story of The Ren & Stimpy Show's development is so convoluted that what does or does not constitute the "original" versions of any given episode is open to interpretation. John K himself, when challenged over the apparently incomplete nature of this "uncut" set confessed that these are the only versions available for remastering. Creative rights for the characters have reverted to Kricfalusi, therefore even if some Nickelodeon executive is sitting on a secret stash of uncut master tapes, MTV Networks probably can't release them.

For these reasons, the Region 1 Collector's Edition Box Set: John K Presents The Ren & Stimpy Show UNCUT, The First and Second Seasons represent the very best dvds any Ren & Stimpy fan can hope for, even if they're not perfect.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2005
This DVD-box is a must for fans, or anyone who remember to have seen the Ren and Stimpy Show, or people who like crazy cartoon drawings, maaaad expressions and voices, hardcore cartoon-toy-commersial parodies, or UNMATCHED parodies on cartoon clichés.
R&S Show is really advanced, modern humor, even 10 years after it was first shown, and is ready to be re-discovered by people who ever saw and liked a TV episode.
Contains around 30 episodes, chronologically listed. Excellent image quality (the reviewer above has a bad DVD player) and sound.
Starring: Ren, Stimpy, Mr. Horse, the Pope (voice by Frank Zappa!), Sven Höek, Crocostimpy, THE BIG SLEEP!!, Muddy Mudskipper, and many more !
*This show is not for children. It contains adult language and situations.*
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2007
***First of all, for all of those who have never watched Ren and Stimpy:

I would have to say, it is similar to a violent Spongebob Squarepants. The humour is based around Ren hitting Stimpy, mad screams and crazy laughs. No humour is based on celebrities, or toilet humour. Yes, there are farts, but the most disgusting things they do are eating dirt, rubbish and hairy balls of god knows what.

On the whole, I'd place it more disgusting than Futurama, but tamer than South Park. This is not for kids, but not for adults either. If you think you are weird, this is probably for you.

***Now, if you have seen Ren and Stimpy...

The region 1 boxset that everyone has said is uncut and much better than the region 2 one, its not worth the hassle of finding something to play it on (unless you cannot live without the cut parts that you probably haven't even seen before).

The noticable bits that were cut were:

-an extra line of what Ren's going to do to Sven and Stimpy

-on the western episode, there is a hanging song(which you can understand was cut, but it was a pretty naff song. Canadian Kilted Yaksman and Happy happy joy joy were 10 times better).

-then obviously the banned episode:Man's best friend

(SPOILER IF YOU HAVEN'T SEEN IT:

Man's best friend is only half an episode(10 mins). Its a pretty boring episode about the liquor man getting Ren and Stimpy as pets. The reasons for banning it (I believe) are: lots of implied smoking(they use doggy treats as cigars), and Ren attacks the owner for a good 3 minutes (that really is as violent as any other episode).

In conclusion, its not worth obtaining the boxset for this episode. Did you find Stimpy's fart boring? Its worse than that.)

Now, the best episodes:

-Royal Canadian Kilted Yaksman

-The great outdoors(beaver fever)

-Space madness(Icecream bar)

-Stimpy's invention(Happy happy joy joy song)

-Untamed world

and of course, the log adverts that should only be in these 2 seasons.
11 comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2005
The more you watch this,the better it gets. Recommended to all cartoon lovers and psycopaths. Although it doesn't really have much swearing or adult content compared to other things, but it's easy to see why Nickelodion were uneasy about it.
Note- Set your DVD player to NTSC for maximun quality. It becomes pixilated and rather dim coloured when set to PAL.
There's so much to love here, there are limited special features, but the shear quality and humour of the cartoon compensates for this.
A must buy for lunatics and psycopaths alike.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2006
Why is it that the best cartoon ever is always censored?

In case you're all wondering, the cuts only apply to the UK release. The episode that has the missing ending is OUT WEST. The episode now fades to the end credits after the line "HORSE THEIVES! HANG 'EM!", meaning that the brilliant hanging song will never be seen on any home video release in the UK.

That's not the worst of it though. The cover is a joke because although the artwork is great the episode MAN'S BEST FRIEND is missing, yet it is listed on the box. Also, the second dvd case in the set (the box contains 3 slim DVD cases) says 'Uncut' instead of 'Unleashed'. Finally, the blurb on the back of the box is the same as the region 1 release, stating that all episodes are uncut when they are not. The region 1 DVD was released 2 years before this one, so Paramount's decision not to change the blurb at all makes them very lazy people indeed.

The last problem I have with this DVD is the menu system. The highlighter is almost the same colour as the text, making it very difficult to see what you are selecting.

Nethertheless, I still enjoy watching this DVD despite the low points of this release. The picture and sound quality is fantastic, and the episodes are as funny as I remember them. The cuts made for TV aren't too bad, but it is easy to tell where cuts have been made.

So Mr Horse, do you like this DVD? Yes sir, but it could have been better.
11 comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2010
Ren & Stimpy came out when I was a teenager and since watching it on BBC2, I was hooked. This is one of the most surreal random programmes I have ever watched, from Powdered Toast Man to Muddy The Mud Skipper. The humor in these cartoons is not for children, it is for an older audience and some of the content i.e violence would not be for small children. The stories are based around a dog and a cat living together and will sometimes involve them being at home and things happen like when Stimpy oasses wind and then it becomes a living gas cloud that he loves like a child. The animation is amusing, and when there is something gross you are suddenly presented with a still that is quite detailed e.g. Focusing on a pock marked buttock.
This has become more of a cult show over time because if you missed it's first showing on TV I do not believe they have reshown the series, and I have looked regularly. For the price, this is deffinatly worth a try if you haven't seen it and have a dark sense of humor, and for fans, buy it because it is uber :)
It still makes me laugh after all this time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2008
"Man' Best Friend" is NOT mentioned at all on my packaging nor is it on it but there is still a a screenshot on the third slim case. I hope they'll sneak in the "Lost Episodes" DVD when it comes here;)
I heard some have it and other just have it mentioned but not on it.
Here is everything that my DVD does not include:
Man's Best Friend
All Commentaries
The Lord Loves Hangin' Song
The Bloody Head Fairy Scene (also on the US DVD)
The rest are just snippets which are also not on the US DVD.

The cuts are sad but there's no point getting angry at the BBFC.
I don't know why they have a warning on every disc saying "Mature Content" I think it is perfectly viewable to children due to BBFC. I think the word that sounds like crop and cap is featured though.
The first DVD has most of the best episodes on it but there all good.
I personally favourite:
Space Madness
Stimpy's Invention
Ren's Toothache
Sven Hoek
Haunted House
Big House Blues
Dog Show
The Royal Canadian Kilted Yaksmen
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2005
This set contains the best seasons of ren and stimpy in all their stinky glory! Watch one of the greatest cartoons of all time for both kids and adults, with fantastic extras too. One thing worth mentioning however is the adult warning. This is bit extreme as there is NO adult language at all and although there is some 'scary' scenes, this is only the case if you're under 8. In other words, buy this dvd cos it rules.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse