Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars273
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 25 January 2007
The box set contains the four Python movies and a bunch of bonus disks

- And Now For Something Completely different is a terrifically funny collage of material taken from the first three seasons of the TV show. Made for American TV, this took most of the famous skits (notable exceptions being the Spanish Inquisition and the Ministry of Silly walks) and animations, and turned them into a wonderful stream-of-consciousness movie which is very reminiscent of the original TV show.

- Monthy Python and the Holy Grail is THE legendary movie! A beautiful pastiche of all the Arthurian legends with twists that only the Pythons could conceive (limbless loony knights, a witch hunt involving ducks, Knights who say meaningless yet terrifying word, and a killer rabbit, for starters) this has aged amazingly well, and still has teeth as sharp as the rabbit.

- Monty Python's Life of Brian documents the rise and fall of a man mistaken for a messiah (but I didn't need to tell you that, did I?). It declares all out war on religion, committees, and the gullibility of the needy masses. And, or course, Roman grammar. Recently voted the funniest film of all time for the umpteenth time, especially by cheesemakers, this one really delivers the laughs for those who like their comedy as irreverent as it is lunatic.

- Monty Python's Meaning of Life is an odd duck - part comedy, part musical, part pirate tale and part liver transplant documentary! A loose association of skits (many of which are absolute gold - a wafer-thin mint, anyone?) it is let down by a poor ending and a general lack of substance. The only one of the bunch that's less than excellent, this is a downbeat end to an amazing creative output for the world's funniest comedy team.

- The Personal Best is a taster for the six-disc set of "Personal Best" material from the TV show, and isn't much to write home about.

- The bonus disks are good, but most will buy the set for the superlative movies!

If you don't have this, ignore the silly price tag (a virtually identical set was half the price last year) and BUY this. You need it! You want it!

Just mind out for the rabbit.
11 comment|167 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2009
As my 15 year old son is now getting a sense of humour, I bought this box set for him as a Christmas present.
He did not think these films were all that funny.
The box set is now in my collection and take from me.... they are hilarious.
I have had to rethink my thoughts that my son has a sense of humour.
0Comment|60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2007
The Monty Python movies are absolutely brilliant and outlandishly funny and each movie is great. I need not go into what happens in each one but only review them and each is a thrill. 'Now for something completely different' are a bunch of sketches each one better than the last, 'The Life of Brian' is uproarious and full of comical 'winks' at religion. 'The Meaning of Life' is also a blast except the prologue which I found, well to be frank, rubbish. Apart from this prologue (which you can skip anyway) the rest of the movie is full of larks and is frolicsome. 'The Quest for the Holy Grail' is by far in my own opinon the best of the four and is filled with convival and jovial scenes that had my eyes watering. Just to mention a few 'the black knight', 'a killer rabbit' and 'Lancelots quest' were truly rollicking and even the beginning titles were side-splitting. Monty Python's songs such as 'Always look on the bright side of life', the Lumberjack song and the Galaxy song are all great memorable tunes and I can't help but sing along to them. All the members of the 'Flying Circus' are brilliant ludicrous actors and writers who in their own rights geniuses to themselves. Anyone who buys this box set won't be dissapointed and well if they are than they can never truly apprciate British comedey at it finest. Priceless.
0Comment|61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2011
Whoever likes British humour and can understand it (not all can...I might be a cultural thing for all I know), must have watched at least one of Monty Python's movies. And if by some bizarre accident you haven't had the chance, then go ahead and buy the whole set with some of their best movies and be overwhelmed. Whenever I watch Monty Python and the Holy Grail I can't help and wonder if it was really made that long ago, because all the jokes seem so fresh and absurdly hilarious. It's the kind of humour that makes you wonder what exactly was that just now" and also laugh hysterically for minutes on end, repeating a catchphrase.

Some scenes from the Holy Grail have already become classics and all Monty Python fans have no trouble reciting their movie one-liners or even small bits of dialogue, at least I know that's true for my circle of friends.

The Life of Brian is a wonderful parable for the misunderstanding that occur in all religious beliefs and the level of absurdity that is sometimes involved in irrational spiritual practices. Despite being a Christian myself, I find the plot of the film to be cleverly made and in no way offensive. Also, whenever I feel in a bad mood I automatically start playing one song in my head that cures all bad thoughts. Have you guessed what it is? Oh yeah, it's the Always look on the bright side of life"song at the end of the movie, when all the crucified men start singing it together in a contagious display of optimism despite all dark circumstances.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2010
Python were the best example of how you have to be very clever to be very stupid. Here you have them at their very best to their very worst - although never anything more than worth watching, Meaning of Life was the end of the road. Too hard edged and lazy. Proof that shocking people is easier than getting them to laugh. How much better they were in the early days when trapping milkman and dead parrots were the central items. Even my mother could laugh at that.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2010
If you aren't already a Python fan (what planet are you from??), then this will have you convinced.
Excellent value, and essential Python.
Others have described the content, and with nearly six hours worth of high class entertainment you won't be disappointed unless you're a serious grump.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2010
Monty Python need no introduction or recommendation. This set includes four films and two DVDs of additional material, which I have not viewed as yet. Included in the set are the two "proper" films, "The Holy Grail" and "Life of Brian", and the two that are strings of sketches, "The Meaning of Life" and "And Now for Something Completely Different".

For the price this set is a must for anyone who appreciates the mad humour of the group. I know I will watch these films again and again in years to come. If you are of a more prudent persuasion give this set a miss - unless you enjoy getting upset.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2007
Undoubtedly you will have heard of the legendary Monty Python films even if you have been unlucky enough not to have seen them, and if so, you need to cure this immediately!

Some people just don't get Monty Python; granted it is absurdly silly at times, things happen for NO reason, half the films are crappy cartoons and theres all of about 10 actors doing every single part... but this is just pure comic GENIUS.

For me, Monty Python works on so many different levels; the slapstick comedy is so enjoyable, but then there's alot more intelligence going on here than may first meet the eye.

But then theres even more! The Holy Grail is my personal favourite with its complete stupidity throughout and just general random-ness eg. coconuts instead of horses, a french castle in england, the terrifying bunny monster!, the knights who say 'NI'! The list goes on & on!

And let's not forget, 'And Now For Something Completely Different'! The name is pretty self explanatory; a bunch of mis-matched sketches including the classic 'Parrot scene', 'Upper Class Twit of The Year' & 'How not to be seen'. All brilliantly stupid & hilarious.

if that's not a bargain i don't know what is!

There's no excuse for not owning this if you are in any way a fan of anything Monty Python, or even anything from John Cleese or Micheal Palin. 5 Stars all the way!
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2011
Item arrived promptly and I was very pleased with it. This was a present for my son an he thouroughly enjoyed it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
When Monty Python reached the pinnacle of their fame, it seemed like a good idea to release a movie and the first, ‘And Now For Something Completely Different’, was simply an anthology of their best sketches, redone with a bigger budget. There was always something better lurking in the background and the team spent time in writing period comedy dramas, firstly on the life of King Arthur and his quest for the Holy Grail. It was a great success and while you felt they had not hit top gear it was still a laugh-aloud triumph, including one of the funniest sketches ever written, the Black Knight. Palin plays the innocent Galahad, seduced by the promise of the virgins who guard the ‘grail-shaped’ beacon, but it saved from his peril by the all-action Sir Lancelot (Cleese). ‘Can’t I have just a little peril?’ ‘No, it’s too perilous’. Palin also plays the owner of Swamp Castle and Jones his ineffectual son. ‘One day, lad,’ he says, waving a hand to the window, ‘all this will be yours.’ ‘What, the curtains?’ Frustrated by the insulting French knights, Arthur plans an all-out attack before the actors are arrested by the police. If ‘The Holy Grail’ had missed a couple of buttons, ‘The Life of Brian’ hit all the right ones, often nominated as the funniest film of all time. The hilarious opening shows the Wise Men finding the wrong stable, worshipping the baby Brian as mother Mandy (Jones) watches on. We watch Brian’s development and his love for Judith, a member of the Judean People’s Front (led by Cleese as Reg) and how he becomes involved in the fight for freedom. As he paints ‘ROMANS GO HOME’ in Latin on the palace wall, a centurion stops him, gives him a Latin lesson and tells him to paint it a hundred times. Producer George Harrison makes a tiny appearance when Cleese tries to control ‘those possessed with demons’, saying ‘hello’ to the camera. Palin’s Pilate, with a speech impediment, is marvellously played by Palin who almost corpses when he says ‘And do you find it – wisible – when I say the name – Biggus – Dickus?’ The film ends with his crucifixion and the timeless ‘Always Look On The Bright Side of Life’, although the movie is packed with side-splitting scenes and a brilliantly funny dialogue. Later, the team decided upon another compilation movie, ‘The Meaning of Life’, which did not live up to expectations but still gave us some extremely funny sketches, such as ‘Every Sperm is Sacred, the school sex lesson and the Grim Reaper sketch. The price is a steal for some of the funniest moments in film history and it would be a crime not to buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)