Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


149 of 151 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable lunacy
The box set contains the four Python movies and a bunch of bonus disks

- And Now For Something Completely different is a terrifically funny collage of material taken from the first three seasons of the TV show. Made for American TV, this took most of the famous skits (notable exceptions being the Spanish Inquisition and the Ministry of Silly walks) and...
Published on 25 Jan 2007 by J Kilby

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars For a 6-DVD boxset it was really good value and I know that he will enjoy watching ...
Bought as a Christmas present for my dad. For a 6-DVD boxset it was really good value and I know that he will enjoy watching this.
Published 8 months ago by Kel


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

149 of 151 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable lunacy, 25 Jan 2007
By 
J Kilby - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Monty Python - The Movies (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
The box set contains the four Python movies and a bunch of bonus disks

- And Now For Something Completely different is a terrifically funny collage of material taken from the first three seasons of the TV show. Made for American TV, this took most of the famous skits (notable exceptions being the Spanish Inquisition and the Ministry of Silly walks) and animations, and turned them into a wonderful stream-of-consciousness movie which is very reminiscent of the original TV show.

- Monthy Python and the Holy Grail is THE legendary movie! A beautiful pastiche of all the Arthurian legends with twists that only the Pythons could conceive (limbless loony knights, a witch hunt involving ducks, Knights who say meaningless yet terrifying word, and a killer rabbit, for starters) this has aged amazingly well, and still has teeth as sharp as the rabbit.

- Monty Python's Life of Brian documents the rise and fall of a man mistaken for a messiah (but I didn't need to tell you that, did I?). It declares all out war on religion, committees, and the gullibility of the needy masses. And, or course, Roman grammar. Recently voted the funniest film of all time for the umpteenth time, especially by cheesemakers, this one really delivers the laughs for those who like their comedy as irreverent as it is lunatic.

- Monty Python's Meaning of Life is an odd duck - part comedy, part musical, part pirate tale and part liver transplant documentary! A loose association of skits (many of which are absolute gold - a wafer-thin mint, anyone?) it is let down by a poor ending and a general lack of substance. The only one of the bunch that's less than excellent, this is a downbeat end to an amazing creative output for the world's funniest comedy team.

- The Personal Best is a taster for the six-disc set of "Personal Best" material from the TV show, and isn't much to write home about.

- The bonus disks are good, but most will buy the set for the superlative movies!

If you don't have this, ignore the silly price tag (a virtually identical set was half the price last year) and BUY this. You need it! You want it!

Just mind out for the rabbit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 15 Feb 2007
By 
S. Walmsley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Python - The Movies (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
The Monty Python movies are absolutely brilliant and outlandishly funny and each movie is great. I need not go into what happens in each one but only review them and each is a thrill. 'Now for something completely different' are a bunch of sketches each one better than the last, 'The Life of Brian' is uproarious and full of comical 'winks' at religion. 'The Meaning of Life' is also a blast except the prologue which I found, well to be frank, rubbish. Apart from this prologue (which you can skip anyway) the rest of the movie is full of larks and is frolicsome. 'The Quest for the Holy Grail' is by far in my own opinon the best of the four and is filled with convival and jovial scenes that had my eyes watering. Just to mention a few 'the black knight', 'a killer rabbit' and 'Lancelots quest' were truly rollicking and even the beginning titles were side-splitting. Monty Python's songs such as 'Always look on the bright side of life', the Lumberjack song and the Galaxy song are all great memorable tunes and I can't help but sing along to them. All the members of the 'Flying Circus' are brilliant ludicrous actors and writers who in their own rights geniuses to themselves. Anyone who buys this box set won't be dissapointed and well if they are than they can never truly apprciate British comedey at it finest. Priceless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Python Films, 2 Feb 2009
This review is from: Monty Python - The Movies (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
As my 15 year old son is now getting a sense of humour, I bought this box set for him as a Christmas present.
He did not think these films were all that funny.
The box set is now in my collection and take from me.... they are hilarious.
I have had to rethink my thoughts that my son has a sense of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for all, 27 April 2010
By 
J. Mero (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Python - The Movies (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
If you aren't already a Python fan (what planet are you from??), then this will have you convinced.
Excellent value, and essential Python.
Others have described the content, and with nearly six hours worth of high class entertainment you won't be disappointed unless you're a serious grump.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monty Python, 30 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Python - The Movies (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Item arrived promptly and I was very pleased with it. This was a present for my son an he thouroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monty Python's best, 11 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: Monty Python - The Movies (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Monty Python need no introduction or recommendation. This set includes four films and two DVDs of additional material, which I have not viewed as yet. Included in the set are the two "proper" films, "The Holy Grail" and "Life of Brian", and the two that are strings of sketches, "The Meaning of Life" and "And Now for Something Completely Different".

For the price this set is a must for anyone who appreciates the mad humour of the group. I know I will watch these films again and again in years to come. If you are of a more prudent persuasion give this set a miss - unless you enjoy getting upset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Python overdose - more of a good thing than bad, 2 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Python - The Movies (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Python were the best example of how you have to be very clever to be very stupid. Here you have them at their very best to their very worst - although never anything more than worth watching, Meaning of Life was the end of the road. Too hard edged and lazy. Proof that shocking people is easier than getting them to laugh. How much better they were in the early days when trapping milkman and dead parrots were the central items. Even my mother could laugh at that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars monty python, 16 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Monty Python - The Movies (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
i orderd this for my dad for christmas last year ... great price for 6 dvds quick and reliable service very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monty Python - The Movies (6 Disc Box Set), 19 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. Gerald Graham "gerry graham" (Hawick,Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Python - The Movies (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
A great buy with hours of laughs. brings back fond memories of monty Python from years ago. Certainly recommend this set to anyone who likes a good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun with Monty Python, 3 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Python - The Movies (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Monty Python - The Movies (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [1971]

Evergreen Pythons! Amazing collection for great fun. Don't miss it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monty Python - The Movies (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [2006]
9.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews