Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cat & Mouse suspense ... all too possible in real life
This film took a little time to take off in the beginning, but it was necessary to stage the action that would come later.

The movie opens with a powerful politician, played by John Voight, killing another politician who refuses to support a bill that would allow spying into people's lives to protect the country. That killing is caught on tape and the tape...
Published on 23 Jan 2008 by Mary Chrapliwy

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Audio track in castilian spanish too
This Blu Ray has the audio track in castilian spanish too. Also all the extras have subtitles in spanish.

The film is really good and have amazing special effects too so it's a very interesting title for a full HD television.
Published on 4 Jun 2009 by jjaviroquai


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Enemy of the state, 31 Aug 2010
By 
J. P. O'dwyer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enemy of the State (Extended Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Good Film. Shows you how we are all being watched on a daily basis by big brother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enemy of the State, 20 Jun 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
In today's surveillance society films like `Enemy of the State' can make for thought provoking viewing at times and coupled with a fairly decent storyline this is a good way to spend a couple of hours. This follows a Washington attorney (played by Will Smith) who inadvertently get possession of a video containing a political assassination. A NSA team is set up to discredit him and to track down the tape and pretty soon things take a sinister turn, with bugs, tracking devices, stopped credit cards, smear campaigns and more and pretty soon he is way out of his depth. Fortunately he has a contact who is adept in counter surveillance (who he previously bought information from for his legal cases) who is able to assist him in regaining his life and levelling the playing filed with the NSA spooks who are on his tail. Whilst some of the technology and surveillance ideas in this film seem a little far fetched, I am sure some of these techniques are used and even some more we aren't even aware of. You start to contemplate the level of surveillance and privacy in society as more infringements start to unfold throughout the film, not bad for an action flick. The acting is pretty good from all involved and Gene Hackman is excellent and steals the film from Smith, but to be honest the supporting cast is so good that this has worthy performances from all involved. This moves at a fast pace and is directed well, with a real sense of action and also disquiet at the roving satellites that spin overhead. This is a good action film and raises some interesting issues about privacy in modern society and it is well worth a look at some point.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fast, fun and furious, 1 Aug 2000
By A Customer
For an action-packed movie this is great!Will Smith gives an exellent performance playing a serious role along with Barry Pepper (saving private ryan) and Seth Green (Buffy the vampire slayer)a brilliant film for everyone to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great suspense, 15 Dec 2006
By 
S. Horton "jonny3400" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Top notch performance from will smith in yet another movie. This guy can act a part extremely well, able supported by hugh jackman. Great film throughout, that will keep you in suspense, and wondering what will happen next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping!, 9 Mar 2000
By A Customer
I'm not usually an action film fan, but this was gripping. I kept expecting Will Smith to make me laugh, but he was really convincing as a serious actor. It makes you think what could happen if technology goes too far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT ALL THE WAY!, 14 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This film is one of the greatest films ever made, in my eyes, with everything a film needs, A good plot, plenty of action, and funny parts. Will Smith is amazing as Robert Clayton Dean. Definetely worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Classic Thriller, 10 July 2009
This review is from: Enemy of the State (Extended Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I had seen this film before but several years ago & it stuck in my memory. A great thriller & I think one of Will Smith's best films to date. Gene Hackman is superb as usual. A must for any fans of thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emanuel Film Club Reviews, 5 Dec 2004
By 
Book Lover24 (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I found this movie intense, it is action packed from start to finish and kept me on the edge of my seat. I also thought it was very well acted.
(A Lovell)
I thought it was a good film. It was tense and you didn't know what was going to happen next. The action was good and so was the storyline.
(Thomas Bacon)
This was an entertaining film based around an exciting storyline and good special effects.
(R J Hamilton)
Even though it was the second time I have seen this film, it made it so much better to appreciate. The technology side was a little far fetched but it made it even better. Good, gripping action packed film.
(D Woodruff)
A story of the indomitable spirit against overwhelming odds. The ending in such stories is as always predictable but this is a captivating thriller that leaves you breathless in anticipation at every juncture. Will Smith plays a young lawyer who stumbles open a US government security organisations dark secrets. While Gene Hackman gives another sterling performance as a lone renegade.
The ubiquitous spy satellite cameras captures their every movement as they try to elude the pursuers. The plausible reality of being watched will linger long after the ending and I will be surprised if you do not look over your shoulder (or above it!) and wonder whether you are being watched surreptitiously.
(N Veersasamy)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ENEMY, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enemy of the State (Extended Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
ARRIVED WELL BEFORE ESTIMATED DATE.A BRILLIANT FILM TO WATCH.I HAVE A NUMBER OF FILMS WITH WILL SMITH IN,AND I CAN HONESTLY SAY,HAVE NEVER BEEN DISAPOINTED.EXCELLENT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... end and became more about will smith against the bad guys rather than missing the point about everyone being ..., 5 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the plot derailed toward the end and became more about will smith against the bad guys rather than missing the point about everyone being watched constantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Enemy of the State (Extended Edition) [DVD]
£5.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews