Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comic masterpiece
Season 7 of Seinfeld is the last to feature the talents of head writer and series co-creator Larry David, who would go on to find equal critical acclaim in HBO's Curb Your Enthusiasm. Therefore, this is a must buy for Seinfeld fans, as while season's 8 and 9 contain great episodes and moments, they lack the bite that Larry David's fevered imagination provided the...
Published on 1 Oct 2006 by M. D. P. Meechan

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A box set too far
Mostly not funny,and mostly unbelievable. The plots are contrived to the extent of being excruciating. Kramer is still funny but the little guy is way too much in a box set.
Published 19 months ago by alexander robertson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Birthday present, 12 Jun 2013
By 
A. Holland - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seinfeld : Season 7 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Purchased as a birthday present - the DVD arrived in time and no fault was reported back to me. Seinfeld is a good de-stress sit com with which to chill out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Has the episode with the hot coffee in which Kramer goes to a lawyer who looks like Sammy davis jr
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seinfeld begins to question his life., 6 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seinfeld : Season 7 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I remember by the time that the seventh season of Seinfeld had ended, some critics were complaining that the show had gotten too dark. By the finale, "The Invitations," they thought the characters had turned a corner and there was no coming back. Human life had no value, death was just another punchline.

Not that there is anything wrong with that. With Larry David at the helm, this shift in tone was not just a whim. The idea is put on the table in the opening episode, "The Engagement." In a rare moment of self-awareness, Jerry begins to question his life. Is it enough to go through a string of women, never staying with one for long, never committing to anything? He and George make a pact to get serious about their lives, to grow up and look to the future. Of course, this plan goes awry. Kramer quickly talks Jerry out of giving up his freedom for the prison of a stable life, but no one stops George from running off to find Susan Ross and asking her to marry him.

Seinfeld spent its first six seasons tearing into the rest of the populace for its idiosyncrasies and what the core cast saw as faults. In Season 6's "The Face Painter," Elaine says to Jerry, "I will never understand people," and he replies, "They're the worst." This is Seinfeld summed up in two lines. Though we have been laughing all along, we've largely been laughing with Jerry, Elaine, George, and Kramer. In Season 7, Larry David decides that we should be laughing at them. Now all of their obsessions and peculiar ideas will be seen as their downfall. Jerry's reasons for dumping his girlfriends will grow more and more ridiculous, and though Elaine will also make claims to wanting a better life, her need to judge men on whether or not they are "sponge-worthy" makes her as updateable as Jerry.

Susan Ross ends up providing the main counterpoint against the Seinfeld-centered world. In "The Pool Guy," George begins to disintegrate when Elaine tries to bring Susan in the circle. George points out that there are now two of him: Independent George and Relationship George. If the two ever meet, he fears that Relationship George will devour the Independent version, who gets to do all the things that relationships usually put a stop to. What George doesn't count on is that Susan will find that independent world as crass and would rather stay out of it than interrupt it.

Many of the stories will feature George trying to navigate these two worlds, and when he does, it sheds more of a light on the others. The nature of secrets and shared information, for instance, are subjects of both "The Secret Code" and "The Sponge." Plus, there is the disastrous meeting of the in-laws in "The Rye."

Not that Season 7 is only about George's engagement, even if it does take us from the premiere to the finale. We get more outrageous schemes, like kidnapping the dog that annoys Elaine by barking through the night, as well as Newman and Kramer trying to make a fortune from bottle deposits. We meet the Soup Nazi, homosexual thugs who terrorize Kramer, and a creepy doll who looks like Estelle Costanza. Even if the flavor is a little more bitter this year, it's still plenty hilarious.

It was also to be Larry David's last season. Would we have wanted him to leave under any less shocking circumstances?

EPISODES: * The Engagement * The Postponement (Audio commentary by Jason Alexander and Julia Louis-Dreyfus) * The Maestro * The Wink * The Hot Tub * The Soup Nazi (Jerry Seinfeld, director Andy Ackerman, and writer Spike Fersten) * The Secret Code (writers Alec Berg and Jeff Schaffer) * The Pool Guy (Jerry Seinfeld, Andy Ackerman, and writer David Mandel) * The Sponge (writer Peter Mehlman) * The Gum (writers Tom Gammill and Max Pross) * The Rye * The Caddy * The Seven * The Cadillac, Parts 1 & 2 * The Shower Head (Jason Alexander and Julia Louis-Dreyfus) * The Doll (writers Tom Gammill and Max Pross) * The Friars Club (writer Dave Mandel) * The Wig Master * The Calzone (Jerry Seinfeld, Andy Ackerman, writers Berg and Schaffer) * The Bottle Deposit, Parts 1 & 2 * The Wait Out * The Invitations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another must own from the best American sitcom of all time - buy the whole series, 9 Dec 2009
By 
N. Addy "nicknick" (UK, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was the last season of Larry David's direct involvement with Seinfeld and he certainly goes out with a bang. Classic episodes which bring laughter again and again include 'the postponement' (George attempts to retract his engagement proposal), 'the wink' (a squirt of grapefruit juice in George's eye leads to his sincerity being questioned), 'the soup nazi' (Seinfeld has to choose between soup and his girlfriend 'schmoopie'), 'the rye' (George and Susan's parents meet for the first time), 'the seven' (George announces he wants to call his first child seven, then comes up with a better name) or 'the doll' (Susan has a doll which looks exactly like George's mother). I could have mentioned every episode - the most amazing aspect of this seventh season is that it is so consistently funny, without a duff moment. Absolute comedy genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just really love watching Seinfeld ev'ry now and then:+), 7 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Seinfeld : Season 7 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
We just really love watching Seinfeld ev'ry now and then<3
This is a good season! In my opinion the best Seinfeld episode is in this box! Won't say no more...:0) Also there are episodes less good, but hey, you can't win 'em all. They are not bad either, just "regular":0)
All in all. If you love Seinfeld, buy this<3
Best regards
Maria<:0)8-<
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NO SOUP FOR YOU!, 25 Mar 2009
By 
J. Ashby - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seinfeld : Season 7 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I'm working my way through Seinfeld and have just today bought the last season (or series as I remember they used to be called before everything got all 'americanized').

I'm up to 'series' 7 and am at the point that I remember watching when Seinfeld was on telly years ago (BBC 2 I think it was). I missed the majority of the first 6 'series' for one reason or another and to the best of my knowledge they were never repeated, so what a joy it was to find they were getting a DVD release.

So, as I say I'm up to 'series' 7 and this 'series' includes one of my all time favourite episodes... 'The Soup Nazi'.

The entire cast is on top form here and the script is as sharp as they come.

Comedy gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars coolness, 17 Mar 2009
By 
H. painter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seinfeld : Season 7 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
as with all seinfeld dvds they are so worth it! very funny great extras and not ad breaks!! it just keeps getting better and funnier as they go on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better and Better, 9 Mar 2009
By 
Laura L. Nisbet "muddywellies" (Ayr, Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seinfeld : Season 7 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I think Seinfeld got better and better with each season. This is one of my favorite seasons. I love that in this season each character starts to realize just how pathetic each other and themselves are but yet still do nothing to try to stop it. In fact, they seem to encourage each other to carry on. And it has the Soup Nazi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing else but Seinfeld !, 24 May 2009
By 
Isabelle Oudry "Liouba" (France, E.U.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I wish Seinfeld to be seen on TV screen in France because it is such hilarious and witty stuff ! I am sure it would have only good effects on health. Laughing is good for you :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A box set too far, 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seinfeld : Season 7 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Mostly not funny,and mostly unbelievable. The plots are contrived to the extent of being excruciating. Kramer is still funny but the little guy is way too much in a box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seinfeld : Season 7 [DVD] [2006]
Seinfeld : Season 7 [DVD] [2006] by Jerry Seinfeld (DVD - 2006)
8.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews