Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars is this another fallen star!
iwas introduced to lucie via judie tzuke! and i have to say like judie her material never disappoints!!!

before i start...i have to say the record company are going seriously wrong somewhere! i found out by chance the album had been released and then more shocked that 2 singles preceeded it!!! i never heard of there releases!!! and whats is worse they are...
Published on 22 Mar. 2007 by Mr. Nathan Armstrong

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lucie Silvas: Doesn't Quite Hit The Mark This Time
When Lucie Silvas first arrived onto the mainstream in late 2004, I thought here we go again... it was quite the fad at the time to sit pretty young women in front of a piano to belt out lacklustre pop-love songs. But her debut album dispelled such accusations. It was a fine example of how to do good pop music. The lyrics were thoughtful, the melodies and arrangements...
Published on 3 Feb. 2008 by Fjireland


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars is this another fallen star!, 22 Mar. 2007
By 
Mr. Nathan Armstrong - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Same Side (Audio CD)
iwas introduced to lucie via judie tzuke! and i have to say like judie her material never disappoints!!!

before i start...i have to say the record company are going seriously wrong somewhere! i found out by chance the album had been released and then more shocked that 2 singles preceeded it!!! i never heard of there releases!!! and whats is worse they are probably the weakest songs on the album!

the two singles "last year" and "sinking in" are ok but nothing memorable! from track 3 you get wonderful songs..everyone is wonderful!

i fear our lucie will become a fan based artist like judie...she will produce great things but they will go unnoticed! still miss tzuke can still fill halls round the country after 30 years and some of her best work nobody has ever heard!

i see it as a shame on the record buying public..they get told to buy whatever is the latest trend....hence james blunt sells 20 million albums!

lucie aint going to get on the music channels of mtv ect..i do pity the children of today...in the 80s you had to sell huge amounts to have a hit...if it hit the top 40 it was a success..and you werent dumped by your record company if you didnt have top 10 hit after top ten hit!

i digress!!! the album is brilliant!the vocals wonderful! the songwriting wonderful! its just a shame if only a few of us hear it!!! anyone for the cheeky girls!!!

if you like lucie give judie a listen! shes amazing! another forgotten songwriter/singer with the power to play with your heart!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucie's Masterpiece, 15 April 2007
By 
Andy Felipe "afh" (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Same Side (Audio CD)
It's an absolute disgrace that Universal Records failed to give this album the promotion it so richly deserved as it's easily one of the best singer/songwriter albums of the last 10 years. What Lucie Silvas has recorded here is nothing short of a masterpiece. Every song is a thing of beauty, with Lucie's superb vocals and piano playing reinforced with magnificent arrangements and part writing for, most notably, guitar and brass. This recording is of such quality that it deserves to win Grammys and the Mercury Prize. Sadly, without the full support of her record company's PR machine, this is very unlikely. Shame on them. A superb achievement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Album, 26 April 2007
By 
Patrick Hehir (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Same Side (Audio CD)
Again, I agree with previous reviews that promotion for this was very poor. I only became aware of it because it was in my Amazon recommendations. That aside, this is another excellent album from one of Britain's best contemporary singer songwriters. If you liked Breathe In you'll like this. Deducting one star just for the fact that it is a little samey and while I love Lucie's style it would have been nice to hear something new. Having said that, I love every song and enjoy the album immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Same Side, 14 Jan. 2007
This review is from: The Same Side (Audio CD)
So how can you improve on arguably the best singer / songwriter album of the 2000's. The simple answer is "you can't" but it sure runs Breathe In a close second. There are some outstanding tracks in this (The Same Side, Already Gone and Something About You) which follow on from the amazing formula of Breathe In but some good up tempo style as well (Sinking In and Alone. Buy it and Breath In too if you haven't already/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Album, 18 April 2007
This review is from: The Same Side (Audio CD)
I agree with previous reviewers that the promotion for this album was not good. The only reason i was aware of it was from being a fan of the first album and keeping an eye out for details of the new release.

The album lives up to the standard of 'Breath in'. No massive change in style (a good thing) more well written songs and an amazing voice.

Lucie Silvas deserves more credit - there are not that many UK singer songwriters with a voice as good as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lucie Silvas: Doesn't Quite Hit The Mark This Time, 3 Feb. 2008
This review is from: The Same Side (Audio CD)
When Lucie Silvas first arrived onto the mainstream in late 2004, I thought here we go again... it was quite the fad at the time to sit pretty young women in front of a piano to belt out lacklustre pop-love songs. But her debut album dispelled such accusations. It was a fine example of how to do good pop music. The lyrics were thoughtful, the melodies and arrangements were catchy and memorable and as for the voice... well it was refreshing to listen to someone who genuinely had vocal talent for a change and a real soulful one at that.

This album sadly isn't a match for her first, there's just no denying it. It sees Silvas abandon the sort of radio-ready numbers that made her debut album so catchy and easy to listen to. There are moments where it takes you back to the sort of path her debut followed but largely this time, Silvas has opted for downbeat, slow numbers that sound sort of folky as they rely mainly on acoustic guitar to carry them. Her vocal abilities and piano skills are largely untapped on this album

She seems despearate to restrain her voice and sings in an understated manner most of the time ... kind of like Katie Melua and co. There's nothing horrible of course in these songs but they just seem to lack a bit of life.
This time out she has abandoned her piano skills as the focal point for the tracks. Not a crime to try something different but this is only album number two so it would have been nice to hear her explore her songwriting further through the piano.

Of course there are moments that are up to past glories....
Lead single Last Year is catchy enough... it's sort of a hybrid of her past style with her new folky sound... I can see why it didn't even dent the charts, it's enjoyable but it kinda floats over you.. you could take it or leave it..

Sinking In is another catchy enough track, you can kinda tell she was asked to write this for the album so it could be chosen as a single as it's far more energetic than the rest of the album.

The same side is another reasonable effort. One of the better tracks here, a nice piano-led track with good pace to it.

Trying Not To lose is the first real shock of the album,,, it's this new folky style she's trying out. An acoustic guitar carries this tune but it's quite lifeless.

Something About You is another track that could have been lifted from her debut.. a nice track with good lyrics

Place to Hide is where the album heads downhill fast... another folk-style number. Bland is all I can think of

Right Here is another bland folky song.... Might be some people's cup of tea, not for me
Counting is yet another bland track.. by this stage you feel they are starting to sound the same, something her debut album never did

Already Gone is a return to her earlier style, a nice piano track but nothing special really.

Alone is another track that I personally don't care for.. sounds country instead of folky this time

Passionate you is a piano led track, nice but by this stage, I feel underwhelmed by the album and am indifferent to it.

Overall, this album fails to match her debut. It's neither catchy nor soulful. This folky style might have made Katie Melua but I don't think it will do Lucie any favours.
Of course, it's not all bad and I think it could have fared better if it had been marketed better. I mean I didn't see Lucie pop up anywhere on t.v. to promote this. Hopefully, she'll get to work on a third album and recapture the success of her debut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proof that patience is rewarded, 13 Mar. 2007
By 
L. Foxall "foxall" (Warrington, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Same Side (Audio CD)
I have waited a long time for this album - 2 years & a few months (thanks to it being put back twice) to be exact and when you produce an album as good as Breathe In, it is always going to be difficult to follow but to be fair to Lucie, she has managed to come up with a very creditable follow up in The Same Side.

The two opening tracks are the only singles to come from the album so far - 'Last Year' & 'Sinking In'. Like the first 2 singles from Breathe In (What You're Made Of & Breathe In), the first single from the Same Side is a ballad with the follow up being a lively yet easy-going pop tune and just like its predecessor, The Same Side contains ballads which can either push Lucie's vocal range to its limits & express her true emotions or are laid-back, with in some cases a lively edge. On the whole, it is pleasure to listen to & like a lot of albums I've reviewed on Amazon, there are no songs on it which I dislike. The material is of a very good standard but if I was to have any favourites, they would be 'Place To Hide', 'Almost', 'Counting' & 'Passionate You'. My only reservation is that I wish Mercury would have released a CD & DVD edition with footage of her live material. They did launch a CD & DVD version of Breathe In last year (excuse the pun) in the Netherlands so why can't they do a version of The Same Side with like this in the UK?

Despite this, Lucie has produced another high quality album. Not only was it well worth waiting for, but it also ensures that Breathe In was not a one-off. Shows that patience is rewarded after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lucie delivers again, 20 May 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Same Side (Audio CD)
What a brilliant second Album lucie has delivered. I must admit it took a few plays to realise this but now it is hardly off my playlist. I have my favourites like "Something about you" and "Alone" but i can assure you all of the tracks are pleasure to listen to. A follow up album can always be a bit hit and miss, this i'm pleased to say is most definitely a hit. Well done lucie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful CD, 21 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Same Side (Audio CD)
I love this CD. Lucie Silvas is a great lyricist with a fabulous voice but unfortunately she is often overlooked. This is a beautifully mellow album that shows what a fantastic songstress she is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing - no other words for it!, 13 Mar. 2007
This review is from: The Same Side (Audio CD)
I went to see Lucie in Amsterdam after seeing her in the UK in 2005, and she performed the majority of the songs on here. You will not be disappointed, how can you be? If you only have to buy one album this year make sure you buy this as its worth this and more, artists like Lucie Silvas are gold-dust and we need to see more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Same Side
The Same Side by Lucie Silvas (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews