Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a film!
To be honest, just watch it. It's eye candy, it's escapist, it's science fiction.
Don't try to read too much into the plot, the visuals, the characters. Just slam it into the player, sit back, and ENJOY IT!

Unless someone is paying you real money to write reviews that purport to plumb the depths of what the director meant, what the actors were trying to...
Published on 7 May 2010 by Mr. M. Booth

versus
29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Undemanding but entertaining Sci Fi
The subject of very bad reviews, I was not particularly keen to see this film. Having actually seen the film, I agree that there are too many fight sequences, to the point that you could be in a PS2 game. These sequences are at times too drawn out and some become predictable and tedious....

Also the plot could have been better developed too.

So what...
Published on 11 Nov. 2006 by D. I. Shipley


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My favourite past time movie, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultraviolet [DVD] (DVD)
Milla Jovovich is my favourite female kick ass character. The fight scenes are my where my fangirl moments go into overload. A lot of different ways to kill c;
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very polarised reviews, so watch it., 23 Jan. 2008
By 
J. Tory (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultraviolet [DVD] (DVD)
I cannot believe the number of really bad reviews for this movie. There are some great special effects in this movie, and some lovely SciFi touches. Milla is gorgeous in the movie, the actions scenes are well thought out and implemented. Seriously what is there not to like. All i can really think of is that there is a seriously large anti SciFi thing going on among the nay sayers, but really if you dont like Sci Fi why buy this movie in the first place?

So my advise is if you like Milla, Sci-Fi, Martial arts, or special effects then give this movie a chance, and ignore the flat Earthers and their reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Film!, 9 Jan. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultraviolet [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film just on the off chance - wasn't too expensive so I thought I'd give it a go. Not expecting much. What a surprise! Amazing CGI, lots of action, twists, but also a slightly sensitive side. Mixture of emotions are brought about by this film.
Buy this film - you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Even though I've been warned I still went ahead and watch this.....go me, 5 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Ultraviolet [DVD] (DVD)
Personally, I believe Milla Jovovich is great, even in this because she handles the 'tough' role really well. Cameron Bright also did a good job in his role. In this film I'm going to hold the director entirely responsible for bringing together this mess. `Ultraviolet' is something that I'd expect from Uwe Boll. The film relies completely on CGI and still manages to fall short of expectations. The movie bears some resemblance to `Equilibrium,' like the art of the Gun-Kata and how society is stratified. If you haven't seen `Equilibrium,' you must. It is Kurt Wimmer's greatest movie of all time.

On this film Wimmer thought that the pretty colors are supposed to distract us from the incoherent script? It didn't work on this film. `The Sky Captain'-style post-processing just makes everything look blurry. (And why is it applied to only half the shots?) Just about everything in this movie is borrowed from something else, and it's slapped together on the thinnest of premises and tarted up with lots of CGI. When there's a break from the ridiculously-choreographed action sequences, you're bludgeoned with nonsensical subplots and indescribably awful dialogue until the heroine met the villain in their final showdown.

Anyways, I think that there is no justification in watching this film, spare yourself the pain and re-watch `The Fifth Element' or any one of the "Resident Evil's" instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Forced to write a review too!, 6 Sept. 2007
By 
William J. Walker "Billyjay" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultraviolet [DVD] (DVD)
I sat down to this with low expectations and it certainly didn't disappoint. I didn't expect the film to be emotionally engaging or that it be brilliantly plotted.

I did expect it to deliver well executed action and have a coherent story.
Actually all we get is Milla Jovovich's bared midriff(which the camera lingers on at every opportunity)and well choreographed, but badly thought out, combat scenes that would seem barely credible in a computer game, finally some chase sequences so poorly rendered that you would be forgiven for thinking they'd actually lifted them whole from the aforementioned video game.

The most annoying thing is the complete absence of internal logic in basics like the fight scenes: in one scene 20+ guards run at her with swords(why are they using swords?), she has guns but fights them with her own swords. In the next scene 20+ guards run toward her with guns. Why? If you had a gun and were faced with a 'killing machine' who'd already killed 350 of your mates you would stand at the side of the room and shoot them(probably hide behind something too), unless of course you were trying to get yourself killed in a movie.

This is the sort of film where the action becomes boring very quickly because there is no sense of danger or tension, you never feel there is the slightest danger that the lead character won't get to fight 'the end of level baddie'.
This comes from the school of film making that suggests that, as long as you keep the screen full of things happening, it doesn't matter what those things are. It DOES matter.

Good action films don't have to challenge the intellect but they should not insult it. This does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable, 22 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Ultraviolet [DVD] (DVD)
A film that isn't afraid to do whatever the hell it likes. It's an sci fi action movie and is a hell of a lot better than the resident evil movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i liked the comcept it was an awesome film, 9 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultraviolet [DVD] (DVD)
some say poorly made , i liked the comcept it was an awesome film, espcially the fight scenes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced, frivilous sci-fi girlie butt-kickin' fun, 15 July 2007
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ultraviolet [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is not as bad as some reviews would suggest.

The basic premise is fine; skinny vamp-heroine in hardly any clothes takes on the bad guys with guns and swords blazing. It's based loosely around a comic and has many similarities with the overbearing authoritarian dystopia of Aeon Flux. It's not as good as the Aeon Flux cartoon, but it is better than the Aeon Flux live action movie.

Mila does her usual tight-trousers trouncing of bad guys; there's an outlandish bike chase, and some cute use of CGI (like the change in hair colour / wardrobe to match mood / surroundings). The film slows down when the plot gets soppy, and the effects and action could have been a bit slower and a little more coherant but... whattheheck.

It made for a great evening's entertainment. Lots of action, little blood or gore, hardly any foul language or actual sex (although plenty of skintight costume), so fine for most kids.
If it's cheap enough, this one would be worth buying to pass on to your mates...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as people have said, 4 Nov. 2006
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultraviolet [DVD] (DVD)
Ultraviolet has had a reasonably bad press getting bad reviews and many of the people I have talked to thought it was terrible, I however greatly enjoyed it. Milla Jovovich plays Violet a hemophage (something of a vampire) who is sent to steal a weapon that will supposedly wipe all the hemophages on the planet, however the `weapon' turns out to be a young boy with a terrible secret.

Although the film has a tendency to greatly overuse CGI backdrops and has some truly terrible dialogue in places, this is more than made up for by some brilliant fight scenes, using Gun Kata a fictional martial art that was used in the film Equalibrium, and some great visual ideas such as the colour changing hair and clothes, and the sword/uzis used towords the end of the film. Overal, although the film is lacking in many respects it is nuntheless highly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Typical over the top Sci-Fi flick, 23 Feb. 2013
By 
Steven Mason - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultraviolet [DVD] (DVD)
if you love all things sci-fi then you will like this movie, the story is quite original, the acting is what you would expect from Milla, but to be honest it isn't that bad (i've seen a whole lot worse)
this is a good film to kill a few hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ultraviolet [DVD]
Ultraviolet [DVD] by Kurt Wimmer (DVD - 2006)
£2.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews