Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a film!
To be honest, just watch it. It's eye candy, it's escapist, it's science fiction.
Don't try to read too much into the plot, the visuals, the characters. Just slam it into the player, sit back, and ENJOY IT!

Unless someone is paying you real money to write reviews that purport to plumb the depths of what the director meant, what the actors were trying to...
Published on 7 May 2010 by Mr. M. Booth

versus
28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Undemanding but entertaining Sci Fi
The subject of very bad reviews, I was not particularly keen to see this film. Having actually seen the film, I agree that there are too many fight sequences, to the point that you could be in a PS2 game. These sequences are at times too drawn out and some become predictable and tedious....

Also the plot could have been better developed too.

So what...
Published on 11 Nov 2006 by D. I. Shipley


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a film!, 7 May 2010
By 
Mr. M. Booth "MB" (UK OK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultraviolet [DVD] (DVD)
To be honest, just watch it. It's eye candy, it's escapist, it's science fiction.
Don't try to read too much into the plot, the visuals, the characters. Just slam it into the player, sit back, and ENJOY IT!

Unless someone is paying you real money to write reviews that purport to plumb the depths of what the director meant, what the actors were trying to express, what comment about modern society was intended, then don't try to analyse it. It was made to earn money by entertaining people, full stop.

Alternatively, don't buy it, don't watch it, but above all spare us your angst.

Personally, I liked it. Action, sci fi, nice sets, undemanding storyline. Go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great action Sci-Fi, 6 Mar 2008
By 
J. Tory (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I feel this film has been unfairly hammered in reviews. Yes the story isn't going to win any Oscars, so if thats what your looking for then give this film a miss; you'll save yourself some grief, and spare this film more bad reviews.

However if you love watching a barely clad Milla taking down bad guys a dozen at a time, while still having time to make sure her outfit matches her mood, then this movie is for you. As an added bonus their are loads of cool gizmos in this movie which should appeal to any sci-fi nerds out there, like me.

My only real criticism is that quite a few of the CG scenes (especially the city shots) where clearly done on a low budget, and the blu-ray version really highlights the poor quality of some of the renderings. If you have bothered to actually read this review all the way to the end, then i'll be honest and say its not worth 5 stars but i think the movie needs some affirmative action in its ratings, and providing you like this genre you'll get a kick out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love this "bad" movie !, 9 Mar 2012
This review is from: Ultraviolet [DVD] (DVD)
Don't expect Citizen Kane- you won't get it here. You shouldn't be bored, either. This is nothing more or less than great candy floss entertainment.Some people have been very harsh.

This is probably the most comic book like live action movie I've seen, and if you want an hour and a half of fun, look no further.

Better than Aeon Flux, which thinks it's deep and clever but isn't good enough, this is just simple fun, and really no more than one extended chase .

Corny but fun lines, "great" fights, plenty of wish fulfillment, a fun heroine, a dictatorship to bring down and a hissable villain; just hang your brain at the door and enjoy.

Cannot have five stars, but is too entertaining to get less than four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Undemanding but entertaining Sci Fi, 11 Nov 2006
By 
D. I. Shipley "David Shipley" (KENT United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultraviolet [DVD] (DVD)
The subject of very bad reviews, I was not particularly keen to see this film. Having actually seen the film, I agree that there are too many fight sequences, to the point that you could be in a PS2 game. These sequences are at times too drawn out and some become predictable and tedious....

Also the plot could have been better developed too.

So what is good about the film?

Set in the future, the world is in the midst of a war between humans and people infected with a vampire like virus which gives them superhuman skills.

Milla Jovovich is actually quite good in the ambiguous lead role. She has fled the laboratory that infected her with the Hemomphage virus which resulted in the death of her unborn child. Now embittered and angry with Humanity, she has become a lethal assassin for the Hemophage movement.

However, her stance is turned upside down when she encounters a laboratory bred, nine year old boy. Well played by Cameron Bright, he is a vessel for a virus that could threaten Hemophages or Humanity. Both sides want to get hold of him. In scenes reminiscent of John Cassavates 'Gloria', this boy's plight cuts through Ultraviolet's cynical exterior and awakens her maternal instincts, and she goes on the run with him, trying to protect him from her fellow Hemophages and the security forces of Humanity's dictator.

She and Bright develop a convincing and sympathetic relationship while on the run, and just like Gloria, this enhances and underscores the moments of danger and peril

The sets are superb and give the film real atmosphere at times, I believe that Shanghai was largely used as the location.

See the film for what it is - undemanding but entertaining Sci Fi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My favourite past time movie, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultraviolet [DVD] (DVD)
Milla Jovovich is my favourite female kick ass character. The fight scenes are my where my fangirl moments go into overload. A lot of different ways to kill c;
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Even though I've been warned I still went ahead and watch this.....go me, 5 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Ultraviolet [DVD] (DVD)
Personally, I believe Milla Jovovich is great, even in this because she handles the 'tough' role really well. Cameron Bright also did a good job in his role. In this film I'm going to hold the director entirely responsible for bringing together this mess. `Ultraviolet' is something that I'd expect from Uwe Boll. The film relies completely on CGI and still manages to fall short of expectations. The movie bears some resemblance to `Equilibrium,' like the art of the Gun-Kata and how society is stratified. If you haven't seen `Equilibrium,' you must. It is Kurt Wimmer's greatest movie of all time.

On this film Wimmer thought that the pretty colors are supposed to distract us from the incoherent script? It didn't work on this film. `The Sky Captain'-style post-processing just makes everything look blurry. (And why is it applied to only half the shots?) Just about everything in this movie is borrowed from something else, and it's slapped together on the thinnest of premises and tarted up with lots of CGI. When there's a break from the ridiculously-choreographed action sequences, you're bludgeoned with nonsensical subplots and indescribably awful dialogue until the heroine met the villain in their final showdown.

Anyways, I think that there is no justification in watching this film, spare yourself the pain and re-watch `The Fifth Element' or any one of the "Resident Evil's" instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Forced to write a review too!, 6 Sep 2007
By 
William J. Walker "Billyjay" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultraviolet [DVD] (DVD)
I sat down to this with low expectations and it certainly didn't disappoint. I didn't expect the film to be emotionally engaging or that it be brilliantly plotted.

I did expect it to deliver well executed action and have a coherent story.
Actually all we get is Milla Jovovich's bared midriff(which the camera lingers on at every opportunity)and well choreographed, but badly thought out, combat scenes that would seem barely credible in a computer game, finally some chase sequences so poorly rendered that you would be forgiven for thinking they'd actually lifted them whole from the aforementioned video game.

The most annoying thing is the complete absence of internal logic in basics like the fight scenes: in one scene 20+ guards run at her with swords(why are they using swords?), she has guns but fights them with her own swords. In the next scene 20+ guards run toward her with guns. Why? If you had a gun and were faced with a 'killing machine' who'd already killed 350 of your mates you would stand at the side of the room and shoot them(probably hide behind something too), unless of course you were trying to get yourself killed in a movie.

This is the sort of film where the action becomes boring very quickly because there is no sense of danger or tension, you never feel there is the slightest danger that the lead character won't get to fight 'the end of level baddie'.
This comes from the school of film making that suggests that, as long as you keep the screen full of things happening, it doesn't matter what those things are. It DOES matter.

Good action films don't have to challenge the intellect but they should not insult it. This does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very polarised reviews, so watch it., 23 Jan 2008
By 
J. Tory (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultraviolet [DVD] (DVD)
I cannot believe the number of really bad reviews for this movie. There are some great special effects in this movie, and some lovely SciFi touches. Milla is gorgeous in the movie, the actions scenes are well thought out and implemented. Seriously what is there not to like. All i can really think of is that there is a seriously large anti SciFi thing going on among the nay sayers, but really if you dont like Sci Fi why buy this movie in the first place?

So my advise is if you like Milla, Sci-Fi, Martial arts, or special effects then give this movie a chance, and ignore the flat Earthers and their reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ultraviolet, 27 Jan 2008
This review is from: Ultraviolet [DVD] (DVD)
i think this is the sort of film you have to watch several times to get the hang off and appreciate because it is very fast paced.
The film itself didn't do too well because of it's resemblance to Aeon Flux but i think this is better because of the fast fighting scenes of gun kata, while the story takes a while to comprehend the special effects and choreographed scenes are absolutely incredible, the acting is not fantastic however there is a very emotional scene in playground with Violet and six. Once you get your head round it, i think this film is well worth watching!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Film!, 9 Jan 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultraviolet [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film just on the off chance - wasn't too expensive so I thought I'd give it a go. Not expecting much. What a surprise! Amazing CGI, lots of action, twists, but also a slightly sensitive side. Mixture of emotions are brought about by this film.
Buy this film - you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ultraviolet [DVD]
Ultraviolet [DVD] by Steven Calcote (DVD - 2006)
2.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews