Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STILL GOLDEN
Excellent - the best ensemble acting and writing of any US cop show bar none. Still as gripping and moving as I remember from first watching the show on Channel 4 in the mid-90s. And to the best of my knowledge the episodes are presented in the correct order originaly intended by the writing/production team. Its the original transmission order by CBS which was out of...
Published on 26 May 2007 by S. O'Donnell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant TV but lousy set
Homicide was a high-water mark in network TV. Brilliant actors and even more brilliant writing. And the production values of the show were as good as a Hollywood film. Unfortunately the color in this set is terrible. It's almost black&white. The sort of colors you see on old faded snapshots from 50 or 60 years ago.
Published on 13 Feb 2010 by Mr. Kurt Tidmore


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STILL GOLDEN, 26 May 2007
By 
S. O'Donnell (Stirling, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homicide: Life on the Street - Season 1 - Complete [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent - the best ensemble acting and writing of any US cop show bar none. Still as gripping and moving as I remember from first watching the show on Channel 4 in the mid-90s. And to the best of my knowledge the episodes are presented in the correct order originaly intended by the writing/production team. Its the original transmission order by CBS which was out of order (for Nielsen ratings "sweeps" purposes) and it is that order which gets listed on historical websites about the show. Hence the confusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent US Police Drama!, 6 Feb 2008
By 
Scots Lass (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Homicide: Life on the Street - Season 1 - Complete [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
Highly recommended, this is a 13 part first season of Homicide - Life On the Street - which gives the viewers fully realised characters, hard hitting story lines and a look at the day to day frustrations and triumphs of a murder squad.

Two points - the cases are not closed per episode, there are on going investigations and recurring storylines for the main characters. Also, the pale colour used to film the early episodes on disks 1 to 3 will have many viewers reaching for their remote control to adjust their settings. Do not - all becomes more familiar in disk 4.

Buy this, borrow it or rent it - but see it. It is ground breaking drama at its finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, correct order., 21 July 2008
By 
Alan Calderwood "calderwa" (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homicide: Life on the Street - Season 1 - Complete [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
Although I have seen all of the episodes of Homicide it was a long time since I watched the first series. Great characters, stories and acting. A nice helping of laugh-out-loud humour as well. I would say it is probably my favourite "cop" series - up there with the (very different) BBC series "The Cops". Prefer it to "The Wire", though that series gains by being less episodic, letting a main story develop.
As for the question of episode order, well I checked the web sites etc. and concluded that episode 3 on the disk should actually be at episode 9. Big mistake. It makes no sense to watch it in this order, as flashbacks from other shows (4 and 5, say) quite clearly refer to what is in episode 3 on this disk. This episode was transmitted out of order for some reason (it is rather downbeat and atypical, maybe they were concerned about ratings for a new series), and they tacked on a "one night last September" caption at the start of the episode. Watch the series in the order it is presented on these DVDs and enjoy. Terrific!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A strong adaptation of a great book, 22 Jun 2010
By 
Paul Lessingham - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Homicide: Life on the Street - Season 1 - Complete [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
I came to Homicide: Life on the Street after watching all of The Wire and reading David Simon's books Homicide and The Corner. It isn't essential to have read the book on which Homicide is based before watching the series, but it is helpful as a lot of the storylines in Season One are lifted directly from the book.

Homicide is clearly a forerunner of The Wire, though given the limitations of its network position it isn't really fair to compare the two directly. The series is a departure from the conventions of the network police drama, mainly in showing the darker sides of police work: the familiarity with death, the banality of murder and its investigation, the institutionalised racism and corruption within the police. It doesn't go nearly as far as The Wire in this respect, but it's still a significant break with typical detective dramas and it feels every bit as fresh now as it must have done when first broadcast - largely because newer shows such as Cold Case and Bones are still peddling the same formulaic plots and characterisations that Homicide reacted against.

Homicide doesn't have the sheer scope and ambition of The Wire. It's a police drama and its focus is firmly on the police: we don't really encounter anybody else except when they come into contact with the police. The city isn't a character in the way that it is in The Wire and the narrative is less complex, though it still puts most detective dramas in the shade.

Is it as good as The Wire? No. For all its qualities, Homicide is still a network police drama. The Wire is much more than that, and in many ways the comparison isn't a fair one. It's best to watch Homicide for what it is: one of the best and most sophisticated police dramas that the networks have yet produced and are likely to produce for some time to come. Maybe the best tribute I can pay to it is that of all the police dramas I've seen since watching The Wire, Homicide is the only one that still feels satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 27 Jun 2008
This review is from: Homicide: Life on the Street - Season 1 - Complete [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
Perhaps the best cop series I've ever seen. Highly recommended.

The episodes are not in the wrong order, they are in the order that the producers originally intended, rather than the much-criticised order that they were shown by NBC. NBC often aired them out of order so that more eye-catching episodes were shown during 'sweep' periods.

The quality of the DVD is good and I can't see the need to purchase the American version. I must have recieved a different box to previous buyers, as I can't spot this mythical missing cast member, and wouldn't care so much if I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 Stars for the UK release only, 9 Dec 2007
This review is from: Homicide: Life on the Street - Season 1 - Complete [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
I was extremely pleased when I saw that Homicide: Life on the Street was being released in the UK on DVD. I LOVED this misunderstood series when it aired on Sky back in the Nineties. However, I'm disappointed at the complete lack of any extras or bonus footage and features for the UK release. All you get is the episodes. Fortunately, I bought the entire collection in the form of a US Region 1 special edition "File Cabinet" boxed set, which has LOTS of extras and looks just amazing. I would urge that all fans of this series (who want to see some extras) buy it on the US Region 1 discs instead, as the discs seem to work on UK Region 2 players.

The only plus points about the UK releases are the DVD menu presentation and complimenting music on the episode listing screen, which is a darn sight better than the US disc menus which are without music and look very bland. Also, the UK PAL format always looks clearer and sharper than the US NTSC format on our UK TVs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Preamble to The Wire, 8 Jan 2011
This review is from: Homicide: Life on the Street - Season 1 - Complete [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
After seeing the whole of The Wire, some of the CSI series and some of Law and Order, I couldn't resist this at the price. Though it is very early ninties it is an exceptional cop show with tremendous character development as it goes along. So much character development that it reminded me very much of The Wire (it's even set in Baltimore). Gripping story lines (murder of a child as one example), carry on through the episodes and the cops do not always prevail. What raises a smile to your face, apart from the splendid occasional humour by the writers, is the fact that this 1st series at least, is pre DNA so the cops have to rely on old fashioned detective skills a little more than current shows. I'm almost done with series 1 after watching it it in 3 hours stints. Hope the following 5 series are as good!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the facts Jack!, 24 Jan 2008
By 
Cng "Furball" (Essex , Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Homicide: Life on the Street - Season 1 - Complete [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
Homicide is one of, if not the best cop show to come out of the states, great plots, superb cast & acting and some suprising guest stars.
This box set contains all the episiodes in the season & nothing else (no extras), however having waited for years for the release in this country I'm loathe to fault it.
Watch Homicide & you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A perfect partner for The Wire, 25 Dec 2011
This review is from: Homicide: Life on the Street - Season 1 - Complete [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
Like many others, I came across Homicide Life on The Street after watching The Wire (which I thoroughly enjoyed). Whilst I found Homicide (Series 1) a little slow paced and it took a few episodes to begin really enjoying; my patience was soon paid off. Stick with it and you'll be generously rewarded!

In Season 1 the main focus is placed upon the Homicide detectives themselves. From this we learn a great deal about their individual characteristics and personalities; relationships; and their own particular style of conducting a homicide inquiry as well as focusing on the homicide cases themselves. I highly recommend this - Series 1 provides the crucial introduction to Series 2 and the following series, which goes from strength to strength.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as good as it gets, 18 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homicide: Life on the Street - Season 1 - Complete [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
This series is superb. The ensemble acting and camera work are so good it is hard to believe this is art not reality. The stories are fantastic full of uncertainties and the many loose ends add to the realism. It knocks most British cops shows out of the water, and is at the other end of the spectrum from the slick CSI style of many American series. It is up there with The Wire and Deadwood in the ®as good as it gets® category. Who cares that there are no extras on the DVDs it is still great value anyway. Don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Homicide: Life on the Street - Season 1 - Complete [1993] [DVD]
£11.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews