Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Show From A Classic Live Performer
A DVD of the late and great Gene Pitney, with most of his greatest hits. It's great to see this has finally been re-issued after being deleted for some reason last year.

The DVD itself is fairly basic, with no interviews or any added features, which given Gene's death this year, would have been a nice extra, but the concert is excellent.

The quality...
Published on 7 Oct 2006 by pixiepoison

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thank you....
I love Gene Pitney. He angst in his voice. The unique sound and individual style of his songs really does it for me. He seemed a nice guy too. This was. Little disappointing as its Gene in the later years.
Published 20 months ago by Thommo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Show From A Classic Live Performer, 7 Oct 2006
This review is from: Gene Pitney - It Hurts To Be In Love [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
A DVD of the late and great Gene Pitney, with most of his greatest hits. It's great to see this has finally been re-issued after being deleted for some reason last year.

The DVD itself is fairly basic, with no interviews or any added features, which given Gene's death this year, would have been a nice extra, but the concert is excellent.

The quality isn't 100% what we've come to expect from DVD in terms of picture, but is better than VHS, and doesn't detract from the experience. The audio is excellent and really recreates the atmosphere of seeing Gene live.

All in all, a must buy for Gene Pitney fans and fans of the classic 50s/60s era Rock 'n' Roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heavenly Stop, 8 Sep 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gene Pitney - It Hurts To Be In Love [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Skip the introduction as it's only excerpts from all the songs. Start the concert with "Twenty Four Hours from Tulsa" and watch the whole thing right through to the instrumental which has video clips: Heavenly Stop.Then go back and watch the centre bit again with the reggae version of "Nobody Needs Your Love", "Jamaica Farewell" and "Angels". I went to four Gene Pitney concerts (the best was when he was accompanied by Bobby Crush on tour) and watching this brought back memories.

The first few songs follow on one after another, with hardly a breath, due to editing presumably, but there is some chat from Gene when it gets to "Nobody Needs Your Love" and that gorgeous American accent (and smile!). R.I.P. Gene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gene on song, 5 Dec 2006
By 
Mr. Chris Townley (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gene Pitney - It Hurts To Be In Love [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Rare chance to see Gene in fine voice singing live with full orchestra and backing group at Foxwoods USA. A must for any Pitney fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a glimpse of greatness, 18 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Gene Pitney - It Hurts To Be In Love [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
I'm really pleased to have this dvd. 24 hours from Tulsa got me at the age of 6 - my mum is a fan. For a treat I took her to see Gene for her birthday a few years ago in the uk. I liked it more than she did I think. And we saw him again in 2004/4(?). Excellent musicians and arrangements - I was stunned by the musicians on the 2 UK tours I had the privilege of attending. This dvd is a little flatter than my recollection of the UK concerts - mainly the audience seems a little less involved than the uk audiences and the music seems a little more polished than I like - the uk musicians seemed a little more in the groove and enjoying the whole thing themselves than those playing on this dvd - but it is a glimpse of what for me were two unforgettable musical evenings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must for pitney fans, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gene Pitney - It Hurts To Be In Love [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
all the old favourites and more now we cant see gene live the next best thing.all gene fans will already have it if not buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Legend still shines, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gene Pitney - It Hurts To Be In Love [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Gene Pitney a mastershow of how legends still have it after so many years.Gene Pitney think this must of been his farewell tour in the UK if you like Gene Pitney then this is a must have DVD all his hits and more in this special by a special artiste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gene Pitney - It Hurts To Be In Love [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
one of the greatest singers ever. I never realised that he wrote "rubber ball".the disc was even better than the cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fan, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gene Pitney - It Hurts To Be In Love [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Another wonderful cd , I'm a great fan of Gene Pitney I can listen to him at any time,love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thank you...., 27 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gene Pitney - It Hurts To Be In Love [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
I love Gene Pitney. He angst in his voice. The unique sound and individual style of his songs really does it for me. He seemed a nice guy too. This was. Little disappointing as its Gene in the later years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gene Pitney - It Hurts To Be In Love DVD, 2 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gene Pitney - It Hurts To Be In Love [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Gene Pitney was a first rate singer and performer, so I was delighted to find this DVD was available. The order was sent to me within a very reasonable amount of time from first placing the order, and arrived in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gene Pitney - It Hurts To Be In Love [2006] [DVD]
5.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews