Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little set...but
I bought this set because I really wanted a DVD of Bachelor Mother, and after I'd read the reviews for the other set which included the film, I decided that this one might have a non colourised version.

Unfortunately I was wrong. The DVD in this set is the exact DVD which is being sold as a twin pack with 'The Major and The Minor' It seems they have just...
Published on 9 April 2007 by C. Cousins

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A miscast Ginger Rogers upsets the cart!
After their key witness against a racketeer is murdered, the U.S. Attorney (Edward G. Robinson, on the side of the law this time) springs an ex-model (Ginger Rogers), who is his last chance to get the mobster (Lorne Greene), from prison but will she testify knowing her life is at risk? This nifty little thriller, directed by Phil Karlson), is based on a play and, indeed,...
Published on 8 Dec 2010 by The CinemaScope Cat


Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little set...but, 9 April 2007
By 
C. Cousins "PoppyCorn" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Screen Goddess Collection: Ginger Rogers [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this set because I really wanted a DVD of Bachelor Mother, and after I'd read the reviews for the other set which included the film, I decided that this one might have a non colourised version.

Unfortunately I was wrong. The DVD in this set is the exact DVD which is being sold as a twin pack with 'The Major and The Minor' It seems they have just placed it along with the others into a slipcase. The film transfer is awful the colours bleed into one another in every frame and I quite honestly have to wonder what was going through the minds of those who thought it was a good idea to release it in this condition.

Anyhow, BM is still a good film so I'm glad to have it, whatever its condition; hopefully the original version still exists and will eventually be released.

The rest of this set, ARE in glorious B&W, and seem to be good transfers, and they're great. I had never heard of 'It Had To Be You' or 'Tight Spot' before, and would never had sought them out - which would have been my loss. The former is a romantic fantasy comedy - great fun. The latter is a drama with Edward G Robinson as a high profile DA who wants to bring down a mobster and only Ginger's character can help. Tight Spot really shows off her dramatic skills and while it is nowhere near '12 Angry Men' or anything of that calibre it is still an interesting insight into her acting scope.

The 'Top Hat' DVD is the EXACT one which comes in the 'Fred and Ginger Collection' set, it even has that printed on the DVD and the introduction to the film by Fred Astaire's daughter who also mentions the 'F&G Collection' - which I think is really lazy of the producers, after all this set should be all about Ginger (that said, it's a nice bonus for those without the F&G collection).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb! I'm so pleased to have this title., 16 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. Motown NYC (New York City, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tight Spot [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Superb! I'm so pleased to have this title. Great Ginger Rogers in the later part of the 50's. Brian Keith works well with Ginger. And the addition of Edward G. Robinson adds to the impact the film, even though he's the "Good Guy."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All we need now is a well dug grave., 11 Jun 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tight Spot [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Tight Spot is directed by Phil Karlson and adapted to screenplay by William Bowers from the play "Dead Pigeon" written by Leonard Kantor. It stars Ginger Rogers, Edward G. Robinson, Brian Keith, Lorne Green and Eve McVeagh. Music is by George Duning and cinematography by Burnett Guffey.

Sherry Conley (Rogers) is offered a way out of her prison term if she agrees to testify as a witness in the trial of mobster Benjamin Costain (Green). Holed up in a hotel room under police protection, Sherry starts to form a close relationship with Lt. Vince Striker (Keith). Just as Costain's hit-men start to close in...

Is it noir or not? That's a question that has cropped up quite a bit since Columbia released it as part of their Film Noir Classics III Collection. The presence of Karlson (Kansas City Confidential), Guffey (In A Lonely Place), Bowers (The Mob) and Robinson (Scarlet Street) certainly gives it strong noir credentials on the makers front. What transpires is more crime melodrama than noir, but Tight Spot does feature noir traits. From Guffey's shadows and half lights photography, to the characterisations portrayed by Rogers and Keith, there's enough here to keep the noir faithful replenished.

Rogers' performance (casting) has also been much cause for debate, which is understandable as it is a role that could quite easily have been given to better femme fatale actresses of the time. Yet although she takes some getting used to, and that hair cut is just bizarre, Rogers does a nice line in sharp tongued sass, even putting some sexy sizzle in to the bargain during a slow dance sequence with Keith. She does fine work, a bit over theatrical maybe? But she nestles in nicely alongside the strong turns from Keith, Green and Robinson to lift an average story to better heights.

Much of the film is set within the confines of one hotel room, which is both a blessing and a curse. At times it works in the film's favour because Karlson is able to wring out some claustrophobia, a real sense of impending threat is evident at times. However, at other times the picture feels just too stage bound, stripping away some of the realistic atmosphere the makers strive for. There's also a problem of tonal shifts as comedy sticks its oar in at regular intervals, including a frequent visit to a hillbilly television show that serves no purpose other than to annoy Keith's increasingly agitated detective.

A mixed bag without doubt, and at the half way point some may be wondering what they have let themselves in for? But the cast and makers come through in credit once the second half arrives. Because then we get action, twists and a grand finale. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A miscast Ginger Rogers upsets the cart!, 8 Dec 2010
By 
The CinemaScope Cat - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tight Spot [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
After their key witness against a racketeer is murdered, the U.S. Attorney (Edward G. Robinson, on the side of the law this time) springs an ex-model (Ginger Rogers), who is his last chance to get the mobster (Lorne Greene), from prison but will she testify knowing her life is at risk? This nifty little thriller, directed by Phil Karlson), is based on a play and, indeed, most of the film takes place in a hotel room where the Feds are hiding Rogers from Greene and for a thriller, it's pretty heavy on dialogue. Rogers is miscast. She's a bit long in the tooth for the part but worse, her tough little cookie, street waif act is so calculated that you're always conscious of her acting. The part screams for a Shirley MacLaine or Joanne Woodward. The film's neat little twist towards the end isn't much of a surprise but rather predictable. Still, for all its obviousness, it's fairly well done pulp. With Brian Keith as the cop assigned to protect Rogers, Katherine Anderson, Lucy Marlow and Kathryn Grant.

The British Sony DVD is a sharp, clear anamorphic 1.85 transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A minor classic and an underrated gem, 19 Mar 2011
By 
Paul Johnson (Benfleet, Essex. U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tight Spot [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
If you're looking for an intelligently-scripted and well-acted thrller,I would urge you to disregard the negative reviews that have appeared in this column. "Tight Spot" is an underrated gem. If you can only see Ginger Rogers as the young and glamorous beauty who danced so perfectly with Fred Astaire in a string of 1930s classic musicals then this hard-hitting performance from an older Ginger may not be your cup of tea. But if you approach it with an open mind you'll see just how convincing she could be in an off-beat role. Back in 1940 she won an Academy Award as Best Actress for her role in "Kitty Foyle." This performance- though very different in style and coentent - is just as good if not better.

The story centres on a District Attorney (the always great Edward G. Robinson) and his efforts to convict and deport a vicious mobster (Lorne Greene in an unusually sinister role). After his key witness is murdered, the D.A. sets his hopes on a former model - played by Ginger Rogers - who is serving a five-year prison term for complicity in a robbery. In the hope that she will testify in exchange for her freedom, he arranges for a police detective (Brian Keith) to take her out of prison to a first class hotel where she is heavily guarded by a fleet of plain-clothes policemen. While she is happy to enjoy the comforts of the hotel, the culinary delights of the restaurant and the free alcohol, she makes it very plain that she has no intention of testifying. It is in her performance as a streetwise,prison-hardened,smart-talking and irritatingly cynical woman that Ginger Rogers shows her acting range. She delivers the dialogue with a natural verve turning every witty line into a comic projectile and she is matched line-for-line by Edward G. Robinson and Brian Keith who do wonders with their supporting roles. While the action takes place mainly in a hotel room, there is a lurking sense of menace that sustains the interest and in the last 25 per cent of the picture there is a surprise twist that leads to a most satisfying climax. Veteran action director, Phil Karlson does a fine job in getting the best from his cast and the result is a minor classic. But it's Ginger's show from beginning to end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed, Very mixed. we didn't like 'it had to be you'. - but rest good!, 28 Dec 2009
By 
Peri (Region 2 area) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Screen Goddess Collection: Ginger Rogers [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly I agree with most of what C. Cousins "PoppyCorn" review says.

I bought this set because I really wanted a DVD of Bachelor Mother, as we still have the b+w video of it. Having read Poppy corn's review, I thought I'd chance it. What you get is a cardboard box containing 3 DVD cases (with 2 films per case).

'Batchelor Mother' - yes the colourisation version looks really bad (like a poor you tube video of an old video on a TV, but having said that - this was the first coloured version I've watched, and it was lovely to see how the colours were supposed to look, but you can see the 'aged' film looks and blurred quality - especially on 32 inch HDTV ready TV's!

'The Major and The Minor' - A film I had missed, but b+w brilliance, okay you have to be able to ignore the fantastic Ginger Rogers not looking 12, but she does look a look younger than her true age at the time, and her charm and great portrayal of a 12 yr old girl wins the day. Yes the war time movie shows the support for troops, especially with Ginger Rogers' Mother playing her mother! (sometime we realised watching the credits!) But for me another fine moment of acting!

'It Had To Be You' - I don't agree with poppy corn on this. having watched BM, M+TM, we started this, and after 10 minutes of watching this downright bizarre film (all the while thinking didn't they remake this with a better twist as runaway bride with Julia Roberts), ended up skipping a few (the rest) chapters, after none of the start of the chapters caught any of my families attention. The end doesn't quite work in any of our opinion.
I like enjoyable, if silly, but this was so dreadful bizarre. Let me start out my saying, she wakes up having imagined a red indian who follows her around letting her know she doesn't love her fourth finance's, having run out on the other 3 at the altar. Choas ensures (it seemed), whilst they sort this out, oh and then LOL and behold her imagination chap, is a real fire man whose station is down the road from her parents home. I'm afraid I really felt standards dropped when her imagination chap reported a fire at her 4th wedding, and the real chap turned up - silly. But maybe your cup of tea!

'Tight Spot' - Not our cup of tea, so we've left that to watch later.

'Top Hat' - Poppycorn is so right in her review! "the DVD is the EXACT one which comes in the 'Fred and Ginger Collection' set, it even has that printed on the DVD and the introduction to the film by Fred Astaire's daughter who also mentions the 'F&G Collection' - which I think is really lazy of the producers, after all this set should be all about Ginger (that said, it's a nice bonus for those without the F&G collection). " I so agree! (yes its b+w)

The Gay Divorcee - a b+w Fred and Ginger Classic, many think this is a the second rank of their work, but a very close second rank. I still enjoy it with all its silliness (in a good comedic way). Spot some of the other F=G regulars in here too!

This is the review based on both mine, my mothers, my husband, fathers and brothers, who all watched this together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tired plod, 9 Feb 2011
By 
M. G. Lemmens - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tight Spot [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I saw this movie years ago and remembered it as quite good. Boy, how memories can deceive you! Right from the kickoff i didn't buy Ginger Rogers as having ever been in a police station, never mind a prison. Her tough gal act is totally phoney and hokey. Besides that, she talks, and talks and talks some more.......she never quits yapping for more than three seconds. She doesn't just chew the scenery, she devours the entire set. The other actors look on forlornly, and the cop protecting her looks as though he'd rather blast some holes in her. I can sympathize with that sentiment. And poor Edward G. Robinson is totally wasted here.
I love Ginger Rogers in the right kind of movies: musicals or comedies were her forte, but this is a casting disaster and a total star trip.
So unless you absolutely want to see every movie she's ever been in, i'd give it a miss. I wish i had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ginger Rogers, 28 Jun 2009
This review is from: Screen Goddess Collection: Ginger Rogers [DVD] (DVD)
I got this DVD for my mother who dose not get out much and depends on her TV and DVDs she enjoyed it very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dull and very boring, 16 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Tight Spot [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Tight Spot on the cover it states this is a "Gripping Thriller" what I thought would be a good thriller turns out nothing of the sort. with actors like Edward G.Robinson and Ginger Rogers you would think here's a good movie with some fine acting. just forget it!
the story is about a gangster's mistress (Rogers) called Sherry who is moved from prison to some swanky hotel suite in the hope that she will testify against the danger mobster played by (Lorne Green)however, Sherry's dilemma is highlighted in vivid detail. testfy and she faces assassination if she remains silent she will encounter the wrath of attorney (Robinson)very little action is in this film most of it is focused on (Rogers) who is cheeky and cockey and is just plain boring to inflict any interest in the film. even Edward G. Robinson seems to be playing his role with no flair of interest. Ginger Rogers should stick to dancing and Edward G. Robinson given better roles to which we like to see him. I watched 20 minutes of this dire boredom and run fast forward on my dvd remote it certainly is'nt a gripping thriller and I have wasted my money on buying this dvd from Amazon. the misery of this film is that it is 1 hour and 32 minutes long or should I say it's 1 hour and 32 minutes long of pure damn right bordom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Screen Goddess Collection: Ginger Rogers [DVD]
£39.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews