Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Misleading Picture, but it's fine
Yes, the image is misleading, but if you read the text it does say that it is all plastic. There's no problem with this product, it does exactly what it is supposed to do. I suppose the one downside of it being plastic is that the screws are self threading and if you take it out a number of times you might end up with loose screws. Generally, these things aren't removed...
Published on 28 Feb. 2011 by The Soft Machine Operator

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just adequate
It works but doesn't fit flush. If you aren't too fussy then this is good value for money, but if you have spent a bit on the rest of the system you are likely to be disappointed.

Colour match - not quite black 7/10
Finish - plastic 7/10
Fit - 5/10
Published on 3 Jun. 2011 by Paul Mcintosh


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just adequate, 3 Jun. 2011
By 
Paul Mcintosh (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: StarTech.com 3.5 inch Hard Drive to 5.25 inch Front Bay Bracket Adapter (Personal Computers)
It works but doesn't fit flush. If you aren't too fussy then this is good value for money, but if you have spent a bit on the rest of the system you are likely to be disappointed.

Colour match - not quite black 7/10
Finish - plastic 7/10
Fit - 5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Misleading Picture, but it's fine, 28 Feb. 2011
By 
The Soft Machine Operator (COVENTRY, WARWICKSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: StarTech.com 3.5 inch Hard Drive to 5.25 inch Front Bay Bracket Adapter (Personal Computers)
Yes, the image is misleading, but if you read the text it does say that it is all plastic. There's no problem with this product, it does exactly what it is supposed to do. I suppose the one downside of it being plastic is that the screws are self threading and if you take it out a number of times you might end up with loose screws. Generally, these things aren't removed. If you're looking for a holder for a floppy drive or a card reader, then this will do the job.

The one i received is black, but the front panel is textured slightly. My case is actually smooth, but I'm not bothered about the mismatch. If you have a glossy case, this might look out of place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does a job., 19 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: StarTech.com 3.5 inch Hard Drive to 5.25 inch Front Bay Bracket Adapter (Personal Computers)
My antec 300 case has no external 3.5 inch bay which was fine until I wanted to use a small fan controller. I struggled to find a solution. Here is the one I eventually found. It is cheap and it works fine allowing simple installation of a 3.5 inch external devise in a larger slot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Needs longer screws for 3.5 inch mounting., 19 Oct. 2013
By 
Traveler - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: StarTech.com 3.5 inch Hard Drive to 5.25 inch Front Bay Bracket Adapter (Personal Computers)
I bought this adapter along with an Icybox IB-866 3.5 inch Front Adapter with 4x USB 3.0 Interface.

The Icybox IB-866 came with 4 mounting screws suitable for mounting in a traditional 3.5 bay but they are far too short to use with this adapter. The adapter comes with 4 self tapping screws suitable only for mounting the adapter in your PC. I ended up having to resort to using longer, larger diameter mounting screws to secure the Icybox. The screws I used are the type used to hold on case side panels, hard drives or PSU's. Although not ideal, this did make the mounting very secure and took minimal effort as screws were just long enough to get a good enough bite without too much driving.

The adapter did fit well enough with the HAF922 press clip retainer system but I secured the opposite side with the screws provided regardless. These went in easily.

The 5.25 front panel size is a tight fit, so much so I had to slightly reposition a drive above it just to give the little extra needed to slot fully home. There was a bit more room with the 3.5 slot, a little more than I would have preferred, but it will do the job intended. The finish is fine, no different really to the finish on most optical drive fronts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's good with a little but., 11 Aug. 2012
By 
Mr. Warren Gill (Guildford, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: StarTech.com 3.5 inch Hard Drive to 5.25 inch Front Bay Bracket Adapter (Personal Computers)
I'm in the middle of a rebuild, so needed to use a 5¼" bay for a card reader & multiple USB 2.0 & 3 sockets (Akasa AK-ICR-17), this was the ideal solution, it's a good solid plastic and it has 4 lugs to secure whatever you want inside be it a drive or card reader. The adapter comes with 4 screws which will be used to secure the adapter to the PC case if required.

However you should be aware these lugs which secure your device into the adapter are where you will need to use a bit of care as to secure a card reader or drive in it, you will need longer screws than the ones supplied with (in my case the Akasa AK-ICR-17) instead you will need to use the longer type which are usually used to secure either a 3½" Hard Drive or a PC blanking plate, as the ones supplied are too short to go through the lugs & into the reader or drive and secure it.

The colour on mine is fine and will match the PC case perfectly, it's jet black as it should be, not pale or faded as I've heard from other places about the same thing.

If you need one of these this is the cheapest place I can find it, in fact it's over £9 on ebay!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars let down by build quality, 11 Sept. 2010
By 
This review is from: StarTech.com 3.5 inch Hard Drive to 5.25 inch Front Bay Bracket Adapter (Personal Computers)
I bought this to go with my Antec 300 and a 3.5" Akasa fan controller, because the Antec doesn't have any external 3.5" ports. The bezel is made of matte plastic so it doesn't match the glossy metal of the fan controller (not saying this as a slight against the bracket, more for general information) and the rest of the bracket is made of metal.

I reduced it by a star because it isn't the best build quality, it feels very light and flimsy and the metal has a few sharp edges, all of this I'd be happy to excuse because of the low price, but it doesn't sit flush in my case, there are small spaces at the edges of the bracket between it and the case that allows light from my LED fans to pass through and which makes it look very cheap, which is disappointing (I've put a picture up to demonstrate the space).

It's a good buy though, and is let down by the quality but for the price, it's understandable. I'm happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Near Perfect fit, 7 Dec. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: StarTech.com 3.5 inch Hard Drive to 5.25 inch Front Bay Bracket Adapter (Personal Computers)
The StarTech bracket is a one piece plastic adaptor. I bought 2 to install Akasa card readers into 2 different computers.
A Corsair 600T - suposedly a tool-less fit, but needed some screws as the adaptor wobbled a little (not a shortcoming with the adaptor). And an Antec 1200
Near perfect fit in both PC's, flush with the other drives already fitted & the card readers also fitted secure & flush within the adaptors.
Colour match between all associated items also pretty good.
The only thing i would recommend, is to drill out the adaptors existing screw holes a little more.
There is a more info on the StarTech web site, incl a data sheet.
I haven't included a link, as Amazon don't allow web links in reviews, but it's easy enough to find the item - once on their site, just type drive adaptor into the search box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Card Reader now Installed!, 2 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: StarTech.com 3.5 inch Hard Drive to 5.25 inch Front Bay Bracket Adapter (Personal Computers)
I needed a Bracket for my Sweex Multi-Card Reader to fit into a 5.25" Front bay and this did the trick. Although my bays are tool-less I did need to use a couple of screws {3 in fact, but only 2 required to secure it} which I already had from a bag of assorted Computer Screws previously bought {very handy to get some}.
The black bracket blends in well and it and the card reader are flush fitting, gives quite a neat, professional look. Would recommend.

N.B. This was my first computer build and the case used is a MESH 6XR9 Xtreme Gamer Midi Tower from Compucase, also bought on Amazon;

Compucase 6XR9 Xtreme Gamer Midi Tower (ATX/Micro ATX, Thermally Advantaged Design, Easy Detachable HDD Shockproof Trays) - Fiery Red
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Plastic isn't the greatest quality, but my biggest strife is the screw ..., 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: StarTech.com 3.5 inch Hard Drive to 5.25 inch Front Bay Bracket Adapter (Personal Computers)
Plastic isn't the greatest quality, but my biggest strife is the screw holes have no purpose, standard HDD screws don't go into them. It jiggles at the front of my case because of this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Works but isn't a great fit, 16 May 2013
By 
M Poole "The Tillerman" (The wilds of Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: StarTech.com 3.5 inch Hard Drive to 5.25 inch Front Bay Bracket Adapter (Personal Computers)
It works, as I ordered it to hold (obviously) a 3.5 card reader in a 5.25 bay. It's a bit lightweight and is just a bit small in the faceplate to completely fit snugly into the opening, but it's not going to get a lot of hard use as it's just there for the card readers and USB ports, and with luck it will stand the pushing and pulling.

The screws are not long enough to fit from the metal housing to the case itself, but having owned computers for so many years, there are plenty of loose screws to use.

If I were to buy another one, I'd want metal for a bit better fit and solidity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews