Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Renee revives yesterday's divas
The presentation is sumptuous, from the front cover showing Renee in typical early 1900's dress, to the album's triple gatefold cover presenting the CD and an extensive 80 page illustrated booklet with full lyrics (translated to English) and some precious photographs of the singers to whom this album is dedicated.

It's another Renee personal project, this time...
Published on 27 Aug. 2008 by Mart

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars I love Renee Fleming
I love Renee Fleming......have several CD's but this one is harsh and screechy!
I am SO disappointed. She slides to the notes, screeches at times and worse.....The thing I love about her singing is the emotion, the compassion she feels in the music oozes from her normally. This .....a definite NO. Awful at times. It is as tho' it is all too much for her and she is...
Published 11 days ago by Ms. Hilary Morris


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Renee revives yesterday's divas, 27 Aug. 2008
By 
Mart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: "Homage" - The Age of the Diva (Audio CD)
The presentation is sumptuous, from the front cover showing Renee in typical early 1900's dress, to the album's triple gatefold cover presenting the CD and an extensive 80 page illustrated booklet with full lyrics (translated to English) and some precious photographs of the singers to whom this album is dedicated.

It's another Renee personal project, this time a tribute to the soprano divas famous around the 1870's to 1920's who are in need of someone to remind today's listeners and writers that great singers were around long before our current generation of opera superstars. The only reason we forget is because those divas of yesterday are preserved only as pictures and words in the history books, while today's artists are able to leave future generations with recordings which will enable a more valid discussion on the merits of their vocal ability.

Renee revives the sopranos of yesterday, Geraldine Farrar, Maria Jeritza, Mary Garden, Emmy Destinn, Magda Olivero, and while the music choices are not the most familiar, Renee's intentions are admirable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art, 24 Sept. 2010
By 
Dr. Dragoslav Aleksic (Ljubljana Slovenia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Homage" - The Age of the Diva (Audio CD)
This is the best colection of arias she ever done. Very interesting choice,and beautiful done. Her singing is absolutelly spectacular, just spectacular. Chech and russin arias are so good sung with so much beauty and power in the voice that those must be heard several times to beleave. Briliant, briliant...By this CD.
D.Aleksic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I love Renee Fleming, 8 April 2015
By 
Ms. Hilary Morris (stockport cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Homage" - The Age of the Diva (Audio CD)
I love Renee Fleming......have several CD's but this one is harsh and screechy!
I am SO disappointed. She slides to the notes, screeches at times and worse.....The thing I love about her singing is the emotion, the compassion she feels in the music oozes from her normally. This .....a definite NO. Awful at times. It is as tho' it is all too much for her and she is grabbing at the notes however she can.

Please do not buy this. It will disappoint. Much better to choose the arias you love from the lists of downloads. I wanted Vissi d'arte so bought this. This rendition is NOT up to her usual standard and I will NOT be playing it anymore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fleming at her peak, 13 Dec. 2007
By 
Ralph Moore "Ralph operaphile" (Bishop's Stortford, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: "Homage" - The Age of the Diva (Audio CD)
Voices don't come much more rapturous, powerful, creamy and expressive than this. Renee Fleming is now at her absolute peak; her voice retains its tonal beauty but has acquired more edge and vibrancy, too, to counteract the old accusations that it was all bland beauty and no feeling. If some of her embellishments and apparent liberties with the score - for example, particularly at the end of the "Vissi d'arte" - seem a little mannered or excessive, there is no doubting her desire to communicate a true depth of emotion and re-invent what can sometimes seem, by repetition in recital albums, rather hackneyed arias, such as "Tacea la notte". I don't think that the inclusion of the Gounod aria was a wise choice, despite her accomplishment; the voice is now too grand and Straussian an instrument to accommodate easily its demands and the subsequent aria from "Die Liebe der Danae" comes as a sublime relief. Here we find her back on home territory - but you can't knock her desire to formulate as eclectic a programme as possible. She certainly refutes the charge that she is only interested in pure sound, both by her treatment of the more familiar arias and by her inclusion of comparative novelties like the two Korngold pieces - which are stunning. The top notes are all in place, the pianissimi breathtaking, the lower register refulgent, the middle of the voice wonderfully rich. I had the pleasure of knowing Renee when she was still a student in New York City, shortly to return to her studies in Germany, and she was charming, open, modest, honest and utterly dedicated to her art. I believe that she has retained these qualities even as the world's foremost soprano, with the world at her feet. Clearly everything she does with her voice is to enhance the music, not for self-aggrandisement. Just listen with an open mind and revel in the sound she makes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Homage" - The Age of the Diva (Audio CD)
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HOMAGE: The Age of the Diva, 14 May 2012
By 
Norman L. Castleton "NLC" (Lowestoft, Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Homage" - The Age of the Diva (Audio CD)
Superb performances by Renee Fleming of pieces made famous by or associated with other singers. I had not heard some of the items before and this makes the CD even more interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Amazing: Why don't I like this?, 28 July 2008
By 
Charles Voogd (Underwaterland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Homage" - The Age of the Diva (Audio CD)
Maybey it's not done to be negative about a recording of ms. Fleming but I dare to do so.
What could possibly the reasons for this?
1. I found listening very tiring. Between the very different tracks (you go from Italian to Czech to German to French etc.) there're not much pauses. Going within a second from a Czech aria to a French doesn't work for me.
2. the programming: could be my fault but it's not very interesting. Is the aria from Smetana's Dalibor really great? And to follow this with Visi d'arte (in which Callas and Tebaldi are unsurpassable) is a culture-shock I can't come over. Following the harrowing difficult Korngold aria `Ich ging zu ihm' with a Gounod colloratura-aria within a second .... I couldn't feel comfortable with that. What has the Verdi/Trovatore-aria to do with the fin du siecle feel this album hints at? Recording more than 15 minutes of Janacek's Jenufa isn't necessary. The Decca recording under Janacek of this opera is THE benchmark. Can't be bettered. Every other version is obsolete.
3. The singing. Is ms. Fleming's really a great voice? There's strain in the Korngold, in the Puccini, in the Strauss. Listen to the other Decca-recording of Korngold's Wunder der Heliane (with Anna Sintow, whose voice isn't ideal anyway but it's an open sound) and probably you know what I mean.
4. The choice of orchestra and conductor. Probably this was more a marketing-trick than a necessary choice. Something like: `ah, Kirov, and Gergiev, that must be great', which isn't (to my ears). The recorded and produced sound of this very Russian sounding orchestra doesn't do a great job in the Italian and French works, sound clouded in the German and is unsurpapssable in the beautiful orchestral opening of the Rimsky aria. Strange...
5. the little essay in the booklet by ms. Fleming: do never compare yourself with the greatest singers of the past - not even a hint - those times are over and will never ever come back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"Homage" - The Age of the Diva
"Homage" - The Age of the Diva by Renée Fleming (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews