Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2007
As far as interactive DVDs go this is one of the best. The graphics are good and the the two hosts are excellent- playing both Hollys in true Red Dwarf style. The trip through red dwarf between rounds is very refreshing and should satisfy any Red Dwarf fan.

The dvd displays the player's scores between rounds, which can be a bit sluggish, and the whole game can take about 1 hour to complete so it might not be suitable for a party with loads of friends. It might be better to have an option to only play a few rounds at any one time (there are 8 in the dvd).

I played this as a viewer and my wife played it as general knowledge. Most of the Red Dwarf questions are quite challenging and most of the general knowledge questions are ridiculously easy so it's best if each player answers the same type of questions.

Apart from these minor niggles this is a thoroughly enjoyable intereactive dvd but is best left for big Red Dwarf fans who will enjoy the mix of video clips, audio clips and trivia immensely.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2007
I have played a lot of these so called DVD games in the past and i was very annoyed by the lag and/or poor production values. So tentiveley i rented Red dwarf beat the geek as i didn't want to splash out. Apprenhensively i loaded it in my dvd player. The first thing that hits me is the production values. Being my favourite tv show i still didn't think they could of made a playable dvd, but this is it. The loading times are next to nill the range of questions for both red dwarf fan red dwarf geek and general knowledge are even, and its a genuine delite to play. The only criticism is the comments from the holly's get a bit repetitive after a few plays through however only so much can be recorded definitley one for all fans of the red dwarf and one for you non fans as well, excellent value for money.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2006
Overall, I enjoyed playing this. There is a fairly good spread of questions, many of which involve looking at clips from the series. The two Hollies make entertaining enough hosts and they very much play the same characters as they did in the series. My main criticism would be that there could be a little more variety in the clips. Often you will see the same one repeated during a single round of questions, although there will be a different question associated with it. I also found the whole "trip through Red Dwarf" theme a little unsatisfying. All you see most of the time is a cheap looking red schematic diagram. It largely just serves to waste time during rounds of questions and it would be nice to have an option to get rid of it altogether.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2009
Loved this DVD it was really good value for money. Liked there were different levels of questions so that everyone in the family could play. The one annoying feature was Holly's comments after you answered a question, a lot were repeated throughout the DVD so became annoying.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
I'm obviously not as much of a geek as I think I am. I have played this twice since I bought it a few months ago and it's OK but a bit hard to tempt folks to play if they aren't RD fans so you either have to play on your own or switch it to the general knowledge setting for the other player. Some of the questions are ridiculously easy and some are really difficult, even when you alter the settings. Helped to pass the time...it's ok.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
let it be known that I really enjoy Red Dwarf so something like this plays on my nostalgia button like a box of frogs slipping and sliding in a firkin of extra virgin olive oil . because I am called upon to remember hilarious scenes one after another my funny bone ends up being worn out
Obviously you should only buy this if you are of the same mindset , thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
This is a great DVD game that seems faster and better presented than other DVD games we've played!
Loved that it had different levels of questions - avid fan, general fan and general knowledge for those who dont like RD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
This DVD is great fun! I play this from time to time and it is very entertaining, the difficulty can range from extremely easy to ridiculously difficult. Its a great bit of fun that any Dwarf fan will enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2014
Good time wasting fun. Hate the fact that my 11 year old has only seen a couple of episodes of RD and can beat both me and the computer!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
Very good game for Red Dwarf Fans and also has an option for non Dwarfers so they can compete alongside on general knowledge
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse