Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alison Balsom, Caprice, 27 Feb 2007
By 
Mart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Caprice (Audio CD)
Alison Balsom, Caprice

This is the third CD from Alison Balsom, released September 2006, again on the EMI Classics label and has since been awarded the title of 'Solo CD of the Year 2006' by Brass Band World magazine. Named after Paganini's `Caprice No. 24 (the fifth track on the album), this is a collection of widely varied pieces of work, only one of which was originally written for the trumpet. Almost the entire disc represents transcriptions of works for other solo instruments and orchestrations.

Starting with Mozart's familiar `Rondo alla turca' is a safe introduction to ease the listener into this sometimes uneasy collection. Opinions will be mixed, for Mozart's original version (piano sonata in A major K331) for piano/harpsichord is so recognisable for it's keyboard rendition that a trumpet transcription, and a very fast one at that, may be hard to adapt to. Love it or loathe it however, it demands admiration for its speed and virtuosity.

Next is `Libertango', the first track of two by Argentinian composer Astor Piazzolla. This is a lively jazz/classical tango-style piece, and along with `Piazzolla' (track 18) I find a pleasing and surprising choice, given the musical style shown on Alison's first two CDs.

Other transcriptions, such as Swedish composer Oskar Lindberg's serenely beautiful `Andante' and French composer Jean-Baptiste Arban's lyrical `Variations on Casta Diva' are two contrasting pieces, the former showing subtlety while the latter is again pure virtuoso trumpet playing.

The title track `Caprice No. 24' is one of my favourites of the album, and along with Rachmaninov's `Vocalise', Mozart's `Der HolleRache' and Bach's Andante from `Violin Concerto No. 1' will probably be the most immediately accessible of this collection.

Variety, and my previous suggestion of uneasiness, comes in the form of Manuel de Falla's `Seven Popular Spanish Songs', orchestrated by Luciano Berio. Although I like these pieces, I think they create too much contrast with most of the other music on this album.

In summary, I love much of this album but think the range of styles, while comfortably handled by Alison's performance of trumpet, may not be so comfortable for the listener to accommodate and a slightly more themed collection may prove more popular. I was also slightly disappointed with the album cover photography. Given Alison Balsom's striking appearance on the EMI video promo for this album, from which the photo shoot was clearly taken, I think the cover artwork could have been so much better.

Alison Balsom fans will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very uplifting and enjoyable, 20 Jan 2010
This review is from: Caprice (Audio CD)
My daughter has a flair for playing the trumpet apparently so with this in mind we thought we would get this because Ms Balsom is a great role model I think and there's not a brass bandstand in sight. The picked arrangements keep the pace of the CD going and most are uplifting versions, light, easy and we have enjoyed listening to it all over Christmas. I would highly recommend especially if Like myself you are looking for an introduction to the sounds of trumpet music that are contempory as opposed to listening to music you might hear as an OAP on Brighton beach!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars alison balsom caprice for trumpet, 15 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Caprice (Audio CD)
This is a superb piece of playing. I have listened many times to exquisite sounds, from someone who is very talented
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful trumpet playing!, 24 Jan 2007
By 
Andrew Harrison "andrewharrison_rules" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Caprice (Audio CD)
This album is a classic. From the dramatic opening of Mozart's 'Rondo alla turca' to the exquisite title track 'caprice' which captivates any fan of good classical music, she also does her 'transcriptions' ofach's first Violin Concerto - delightful! She is going to go far in her career! Her Classical Brit award is just the start of many good things to come for this young musician. It is so refreshing to see young talent come and produce good music for all to enjoy. Alison is a breath of fresh air for all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfection to the ears, 22 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caprice (Audio CD)
played this and was blown away alison never puts a foot wrong playing is perfection the sound is so very good now her biggest fan and have purchased more of her work a must buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Trumpet Virtuoso, 7 Aug 2011
By 
LeSaint (Dunfermline, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Caprice (Audio CD)
Alison Balsom is a complete master of the classical trumpet and this CD shows off her talent to great effect. Well recorded and the playing is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Trumpet, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caprice (Audio CD)
Lovely sound, exquisite skill, enjoyable choice of music. Alison has done well to adapt musical compositions for her instrument.
The CD was bought for my granddaughter who is learning trumpet and enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely sound, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caprice (Audio CD)
We heard Alison Balsom at the Bridgewater Hall in Manchester and as we enjoyed the concert so much that we had to buy the cd.
It is as wonderful as we hoped.She has such a beautiful clear tone. Agood buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a Woman., 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caprice (Audio CD)
I bought this for my son for Christmas and liked it so much that I bought another copy for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Case of Excellency, 4 Oct 2011
This review is from: Caprice (Audio CD)
Excellent performance, excellent recording. Ms Balsom seems to be the artistic daughter of the well known French trumpet player Mr. M. Andre!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Caprice
Caprice by Alison Balsom (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews