Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sounds of a Scandinavian Electronic Jungle
I was turned onto Trentemøller through my interest in house music, having it described to me as a cutting edge electro-house cd. Really, "The Last Resort" is a far more minimal, downtempo electronic affair, with greater emphasis on ambience and atmospherics rather than thumping house beats. Most of the songs showcase a sophisticated writing approach that goes beyond basic...
Published on 10 April 2008 by Tom Chase

versus
1 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not your last resort
OK CD FOR CHILLING OUT TO, SOME NICE SOUNDS ON THERE BUT DONT EXPECT ANYTHING TO OUTSTANDING. A GOOD CD FOR AFTERHOURS BUT IVE HEARD BETTER. IF YOU HAVE THE CHOICE GET A LISTEN FIRST AS YOU MIGHT BE EXPECTING A LOT OF VARIETY WHICH YOU WONT HEAR. 2 STARS THOUGH FOR THE CHILL FACTOR, WOULD GIVE 2 AND HALF BUT WE DONT HAVE HALFS. ONLY BUY IF ITS YOUR LAST RESORT.
Published on 4 May 2009 by Howz ur father?


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sounds of a Scandinavian Electronic Jungle, 10 April 2008
By 
Tom Chase (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Last Resort (Audio CD)
I was turned onto Trentemøller through my interest in house music, having it described to me as a cutting edge electro-house cd. Really, "The Last Resort" is a far more minimal, downtempo electronic affair, with greater emphasis on ambience and atmospherics rather than thumping house beats. Most of the songs showcase a sophisticated writing approach that goes beyond basic build-up play. Instead, the songs have an overt progressive structuring to them, shown especially with the sublime opener "Take Me Into Your Skin". The song starts with lifting ambient sounds, with textures gradually building to what I imagined to be a huge beat drop, but instead the ground gives way to a surprising anti-drop, a minimal beat driven by a heavy base, sounding as if you've just been plunged underwater. The song twists and turns as it re-builds steam, showcasing a deft touch for textures and layering, and a use of very organic sounds that forges a quite natural, dream-like atmosphere (this is a recurrent effect throughout the album). Gradually this builds to the final climax of a thunderous half-time full-on electro assault. The rest of the album tends to follow suit with this progressive styling, with most songs fashioning varying dynamics and sequences.

One aspect of the album I particularly enjoyed was the use of acoustic instruments. Being a guitarist and drummer myself, I always enjoy good use of acoustic sounds in electronic music. Two songs predominantly stick out for this, the first being the wondrous title track. The song evolves around a fast, swirling finger-plucked classical guitar part that is paired with a down tempo trip-hop beat, making for a trippy, trance-like groove. "Into The Trees (Serenetti Part 3)" builds its way through baselines and textural themes until it breaks down into acoustic drumming. A drum roll/march steadily builds as layers are added behind the mix, lifting the volume until a blistering drop is unleashed. This is one of the few moments on the album that showcases more traditional electro-house styling, and it works magnificently. The drumming is carried on throughout as the volume levels begin to drop and the song returns to the minimal electro groove.

Trentemøller has created a fresh sounding, exciting sound with "The Last Resort". This has become one of my favourite electronica releases in recent years. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a masterpiece!, 2 Dec 2006
This review is from: The Last Resort (Audio CD)
I rate 'The Last Resort' as one of my 'finds' of the year. The cd contains 13 tracks of the most stunning electronic music I have heard in 2006. If I had to make comparisons to other artists, I would perhaps compare Anders Trentemoller to Biosphere or Soulsavers; beautiful, 'widescreen' electronica that is perfect for late nights or watching snow fall at dawn.

The Last Resort is an absolutely essential purchase for fans of electronic music, particularly as initial copies come with a bonus cd of Trentemoller's single releases, which is just as good as the album proper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electronic music at it's best, 21 April 2007
This review is from: The Last Resort (Audio CD)
I bought The Last Resort on the strength of Trentmoeller's remix of Royksop's: What else is there single and on the fact that a DJ friend of mine thinks of him as a religion!! And the Danish producer really doesn't disappoint on this release. The vast majority of tracks aren't "club" friendly which is the opposite to what I was expecting and a nice surprise, but all are examples of a master at work. This release is a must for fans of electro/minimal house or just people who love electronic music. Perfect for those after club post bedtime chill out times. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for the Electronic Collection, 27 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Resort (Audio CD)
I guess it's a bit of a modern classic electronica album.
All tracks are good. No deadwood. A decent all-round album.

Production awesome. Sounds huge! Great textures Mmmmmmmmmm

It's not too arty so it's accessible. You can enjoy it without mind altering substances and I guess with.

Lots of emotion and substance.

Nice use of real instruments to get rid of the square edges. Cant seem to conceive a track without some form of real drums now.

I doubt you would be disappointed unless you are a narrow minded genre specific DJ who only likes Psy-Trance infused Happy Hardcore :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 23 July 2013
By 
P. MOULDING "pm" (Lancashire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Resort (Audio CD)
Atmospheric feel, nice melodies and rhythms, new and interesting sounds. A journey into the mists of consciousness. 3 more words required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The dark side, 5 July 2011
By 
R. J. Panter (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Resort (Audio CD)
I stumbled across this album by mistake. I had already heard (and loved) Trentemollers productions on a mix album by Naked Music titled 'Lost on Arrival' where he had two remixes contained within. These were both upbeat cosmic/funk house that were top class. On the strength of that I bought this album.

Immediately though from looking at the album cover I realised this was something much, much different. And on first listen I realised I was in unknown territory. This album is a very dark, bleak, electronic, minimal affair. However, even though it has minimal feel it also dictates a very epic status.

Opener 'Take me into your skin' is argueably the best track on the album. With its dark, menacing feel you are taken away to some eerie, wild place that holds secrets or surprises that could creep up on you at any time. The track eventually builds to a crescendo which, at the moment you think it will explode, drops into nothing. The void it leaves stuns you. However, the final section of the track is spell-bounding with a superb section of drums.

'Evil Dub' is exactly what it says on the tin. You would really not want to listen to this album alone in a dark room. This track, like others, actually oppresses you. It holds you in and crawls all over your skin.

'Always something better' continues in the same mould but builds to a tremendous, upbeat finish that will take you completely by surprise.

Various tracks you feel are set to finish (and they almost do) until Trentemoller obviously had a second wind and then builds the track into an unusual, surprising crescendo. This often happens and really adds a varied dimension to the tracks.

Towards the end it livens up with 'Chameleon' and 'Into the trees' which although still regarded as minimal are probably more likely to be played on dance floors in house clubs. These could be described as dark, futuristic, electro bangers.

Someone else who reviewed this album said it made them feel like they were in a dark forest, which I completely understand (although you really wouldn't want to be listening to this in a dark forest).

All through the quality is second to none. The use of beeps, clicks, crackles and bass is absolutely first class. And the bass is also one element of this album that is very solid throughout. Although minimal, unless you have decent speakers some tracks will overload the bass on your system. It is very, very heavy in some tracks.

Minimal fans will absolutely love this but if like me you are not so into the dark, minimal feel then you will also get to love this simply because it is electronic music at its peak. The production of this album is something to behold and a must for all house music fans.

My only criticism is that this album can, at times, become slightly monotonous and long winded. Most tracks are over 6 minutes and a couple even reach 8 minutes, and it could also be described as quite a slow burner in places. But if you are in the right frame of mind it is a dark joy. It can be oppressive but if you engage that and set your mind into the scene trying to be created then you will love it.

It is almost like a long detailed book. If you don't put the time in to this you won't get any reward. It's hard going in places but if you stick with it then you will not be disappointed. I have had this album for about two years and only now after several full listens, the last of which compelled me to write this review, do I actually appreciate it fully.

This really is seriously good and in my opinion it is a modern masterpiece.

On a side note if you want to get a feel for what Trentemoller plays in the house clubs then get the limited edition which contains a disc 2 of the singles he has released on Flat Poker records. These will connect much more easily with the minimal house heads and is a much more common sound in house clubs. The likes of 'Physical Fraction', 'Polar Shift', 'Chameleon' and the 'Always something better' (Trentemoller remix) are much more lively with a more solid house beat but still hold that dark, twisted, oppressive feel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars trentemoller last resort, 16 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: The Last Resort (Audio CD)
Wow this Cd is very layered and very changeable, when I got this Cd I wanted the gutzy tunes of killer Kat etc(its on another Cd- wrongly described on lastfm etc) those louder tunes are great however these quiter more delicate tracks are somthing else- how they merge dub into minimal electro like silk is beond me.Peaks and troffs, false peaks and simple drums guitar and instrumental. For me It fits neatly inbetween earthy and urban. A 100 course meal for the senses
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Soundscape, 8 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: The Last Resort (Audio CD)
As with the previous review, pure chance find (actually on itunes) and got a double 'cd' of this album

one word describes this album - soundscape - a two hour thirty minute soundscape.

perfect minimal electronic music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 1 Sep 2009
By 
M. L. R. Jones "leejones" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Resort (Audio CD)
One of the best cd's in my collection! slow, methodical, deep, sometimes evil and mesmorising. i have fell to sleep to this cd many a time and i mean this in the best of ways. it jst takes your mind somewhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seconded, 27 July 2009
This review is from: The Last Resort (Audio CD)
Just to second all the other 5 star reviews and say that this is one of the best slabs of moody electronica you will find anywhere. There is something about the production that is just perfect. I played it a couple of times on Spotify and had to get the CD. Now I have a couple of his other records on order, it's that good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Resort
The Last Resort by Trentemøller (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews