Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game Of The Year
The best FPS since Half Life 2, and one of the most original and innovative games Ive ever played.
The location is Rapture, an underwater city, which you stumble across after a plane crash. The game is very freeform, thanks largely to plasmids that become available. These are powers that can improve combat and abilities such as hacking. The context in which these...
Published on 22 Sep 2007 by Stevie G

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars wow what a game
this game is awsome its just gr8 in every way its got so much to offer. with brillant graphics and a unbellivable place to show them off (a underwater city) and brilliant game play and a captivating story too top it off.

the only downers i would point out is the end is a little bit dissapointing after what you do throuhgout the whole game and it has no...
Published on 16 Nov 2007 by J. Bevan


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game Of The Year, 22 Sep 2007
By 
Stevie G "Stevie G" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock - Limited Edition [Tin Case] (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The best FPS since Half Life 2, and one of the most original and innovative games Ive ever played.
The location is Rapture, an underwater city, which you stumble across after a plane crash. The game is very freeform, thanks largely to plasmids that become available. These are powers that can improve combat and abilities such as hacking. The context in which these abilities can be acquired make it more believeable than games such as Deus Ex. The depth of abilites is staggering and would require several playthroughs to master all. New ones can also be invented and purchased. Many can turn the environment against your enemies, providing genuine choice when approaching a firefight, rather than a tacked on afterthought.
These powers give Bioshock the depth of an RPG but the accessibility of any other shooter available.

The game never feels linear as you can travel at your own pace and between levels at any time. This leaves you free to explore the truly magnificent surroundings. Impressively, there are no times where it isnt clear what to do next, as hints are available if stuck. As Rapture was built around the 1950s, the decor has a recognisable look but a unique feel for an FPS. The graphics give the game a huge level of immersion, there were numerous times where I stopped playing and just admired the surroundings.
However its the atmosphere and depth of plot that really make Bioshock stand out. This quality holds throughout and the combat is equally meaty. Simply superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric action at it's very best., 23 Sep 2007
By 
Ian Tapley "thefragrantwookiee" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock - Limited Edition [Tin Case] (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
If this just a normal FPS set in a decaying urban environment, then it's graphics alone would make it brilliant. When I first played it, I kept waiting for the FMV cutscene to end, before I suddenly realised I was looking at in-game graphics!

But it's not just a normal FPS. The designers have added layer after layer of additional good stuff that make's it so much greater than the sum of it's parts. Here's a few:

The setting and story - the jaunty but decayed art deco city of Rapture is a beautiful thing to behold and, much like the classic 'Resident Evil' games, clues you can collect throughout the game allow you to piece together the city's short and troubled history. There's a great twist in the story with a 'Usual Suspects'-style reveal which will leave you thinking "How come I didn't notice that before?".

Weapon upgrades - As well as the usual rack of weapons, you are given the chance to create a customised arsenal by using the limited number upgrade machines to increase the killing power of your weapons, be it reducing the recoil of the Thompson or adding a 24-round autoloader to your six-shooter.

Plasmids - these are the genetic power-ups discovered by Rapture's scientists. Some you will have to pick up, but others can only be aquired by entering secret areas or by using your camera to research your enemies. There are different types of plasmid too, ranging from offensive ones such as Incinerate to passive ones such as the one which makes you invisible when standing still (great for sneaking up on enemies). The Adam used to buy plasmids also leads to the game's important moral decision for the player - to save or damn the Little Sisters.

Hacking - Rapture is littered with autodefenses such as security cameras (which unleash security bots), machine gun turrets and rocket turrets. The game allows you to use a puzzle-based system to hack into these elements and turn them into your allies. So, whilst you're all alone in Rapture, you don't necessarily have to be without backup. The hacking system can also be used to reduce the cost of supplies and unlock new ones.

Atmosphere - the makers of 'Bioshock' have gone to great lengths to increase the fear factor of the game. They've done this through intelligent use of light and sound; meaning that you'll see the shadow of some terrifying new enemy before you see the enemy itself or you'll hear there footsteps or demented singing (I never knew how scary the words "Jesus loves me, this I know..." could be).

Taken separately, all these elements would be good. Put together they make one of the best games I've played in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Utopia from Dystopia - Or how to lose the missus, 31 Aug 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock - Limited Edition [Tin Case] (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I was not really expecting much from this game... I found the Market Place Demo visually stunning but lacking something... Traded in Shadow Run and the Darkness and picked up Bioshock.

8pm - Pop the Game in

Okay... right back to the Demo... the opening welcome and tuturial sequence is the market place demo and I fully expected to to be turning the game of in 30 mins.... at 08.30 in the morning I did manage to turn it off woith some real reluctance.

The graphics are superb and its worth exploring the levels to just to view the detail put into the architecture of the unground city... I mean you occassionly come past shattered aquariums and you have fish twitching in water that drains away... (it even sounds real). Blood pools in the water in a realistic manner.

Play this with HD and Surround sound and you become as immerersed in the game as the City is in the sea.

Ostensibly your helping an NPC rescue his family and are provided destinations to reach. Along the way you will find tape diarys of the inhabitants of the city as you travel. Pick them up and listen as they provide clues or codes and they add to the immersion in the story.

Gene therapy drives this dystopian underworld and as you advance you get to pick up powers... electroshock to overide doors or incinerate to melt ice etc. (incidentally incinerate an enemy and watch them run about setting collegues on fire screaming... very good visually)

Weapons abound, however each weapon has its unique characteristics and up to 4 ammo types. In this game it really matters what weapon you use... take for instance attacking a Big Daddy/Rosie/Elite Bouncer - same class of enemy different levels of aggression and strength - try a machine gun with armour piercing rounds or a shot gun with exploding shells ... aim for the head - it works... fry them them with the napalm and your wasting your time.

You have enemies - spider splicers - who climb the walls an ceilings and move extremely fast.... use a gene therapy slot to boost your speed.

Hack into safe, doors vending machines to get ammo, etc

th enemy AI is really quite good and varies from enemy type to enemy type.

Every element of this game is well thought out and the plot is enjoyable with an engaging storyline with moral options on whether to harvest young people or rescue them....

I tend not to go for games without co-op or online play as the the 360 for me is about sharing our gaming experience with mates but this game is a must to own.

Its not an FPS in the run and gun sense and its not Tomb Raider in the puzzle sense... its a game of its own and you will want to explore the large underground city for the scenery, atmosphere and upgrades... you will definitely need the upgrades as each successive level gives you harder and harder enemies... don't worry though as with a research camera you can take pictures and research each enemy and gain bonus's in attack.

I would be surprised if you complete the game without research and it does make for some tense moments.. more research points for an attacking or enemy ... so camera in hand gun in your belt ... you have to be quick to point and click and then blast away

Buy this !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like Nothing Before It., 28 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. SCM Bell "Black Cat Theory" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock - Limited Edition [Tin Case] (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Every time you pick up an FPS, regardless of the hype you always ask yourself `have I just made a terrible mistake?' Because even in this world of cell processors, photo-realistic graphics and real actors for every Medal of Honor: Frontline there has to be a Medal of Honor: Rising Sun!
For anyone who has followed the Genesis of Bioshock it should be apparent to you that developer 2K mean business. This game fully intends to break moulds rather than follow trends. Mixing one third premier class FPS, one third survival horror with one third role playing game should produce something truly special for the Xbox 360. And it does.
Remember when you first booted up Gears of War and looked out across the ruined city while that fantastic atmospheric score swelled behind you? Remember when you first shoved Dead Rising in your machine and made it down onto the floor of the mall, grabbing the nearest object that came to hand and wrapping it round some unfortunate zombie's head?
Well, I'm here to tell you that my first two hours on Bioshock beat both of those hallowed moments, hands down.
I have been playing computer games since the days of the ZX80 and never in my entire life have I seen such a cinematic, awe-inspiring and frankly beautiful first level as that of Bioshock.
From a Lost-esque plane crash showcasing the singular best water effects ever to appear in a game you are catapulted into a world that is as disturbing as it is beautiful. The locations and detail are mind-bending, leaving your average Hollywood movie for dust and the voice acting and character detail is beyond reproach.
The story guides you forwards smoothly, giving you enough rein to feel that you are free to explore but never enough so you are just wandering around aimlessly.
Like many games Bioshock sports the `ambient character dialogue' that has been par for the course since GTAIII and here it is once again used to maximum effect truly instilling you with the sense of a utopia gone very, very wrong. Keep a look out for the ghost of the plasmid junkie in the ladies bathrooms - that was well disturbing!!
To conclude I could spend the rest of the morning talking about how great this game is but there is no point. If you are reading this it is just confirming what almost everyone in computer-game-land is currently talking about.
This is probably the most important computer game event since GTAIII and you'd better believe it. So get out there and get onboard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure genius, 12 Sep 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock - Limited Edition [Tin Case] (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Absolutely excellant game. Very, very clever plotline and absolutly stunning graphics and design. Some of the best animations I have ever seen, and a real sense of desperately wanting to know what happens next. You can quite easily just follow the objective arrow and complete the game within 4 or 5 days. But most people will get a lot more out of it by taking their time to explore and find all the sometimes charming, often gruesome but always fascinating little side stories and easter eggs in the game.

Overall, one of the best shooters in a long time, and one of the best storylines I have ever witnessed in a game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game Of The Year, 7 Sep 2007
By 
C. Rainbow (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock - Limited Edition [Tin Case] (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
My Xbox is mainly for Sports games, but once in a while, a game comes along and really grabs my attention and I get hooked. Bioshock is just that. The graphics are simply beautiful, especially if you've got an elite and a quality LCD. The real quality of this game though is the whole atmosphere. Its really pretty scary and its created through the Art Deco city, the music and lighting. Just buy it, play it and you'll love it, but remember, its not one for kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simulacrum gaming at its most beautiful, 19 Sep 2007
By 
Liam Cheevers "Cheesey" (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock - Limited Edition [Tin Case] (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Before you even start to speak of the engaging story, mangled opponenents and brilliant weapons system, you must appreciate the aesthetics of what i must say is the best game i have played on the 360 thus far.
The city of Rapture by the time you character arrives is the 'fastest growing pile of junk' in the world. The only visible signs of life are the 'splicers'. These are humans who have bee so genetically modified they are physically and mentally volitile as you will quickly learn. On arrival you are met by an unknown ally who goes by the alias Atlas who promises you escape from Rapture if you can help him. Beyond this point to tell any more would ruin what i believe is an exceptional story with all the twists and turns of the greatest thriller.
Coupled with the great story is the authentic art deco 40's-50's look. Never since maybe Oblivion have i spent so long appreciating the environment of a game. Its so engrossing and you are compelled to stop you objective once in a while and have a look at the brilliant posters and messages dotted all over Rapture.
The weapons system is brillaint and simple and is great when you are caught off guard. The simple buttons makes this less frustating to learn than recent FPS games. The plasmid idea is also brilliant and believable and isn't like say Jade Empire where your powers are just there and there is no real explanation. Bioshock keeps its ground covered and the end score is a realistic game which has blown me away.
The only criticism is i wanted to play this for 50 hours not 15 or 20, but this is not really a criticism. My advice is if you love games buy this one it really is up there with G.O.W, GRAW 2, Rainbow 6 Las Vegas, Condemned,Call Of Duty 3 all the great shooters and more. BUY THIS GAME.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best 360 game in ages, 6 Sep 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock - Limited Edition [Tin Case] (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
****** possible spoilers******

To a 360 owner there has been a mass of average games recently released so its good a game as excellent and frankly genius that Bioshock is came along.
Completed - Played this came from the moment it came out till I completed it some 12 hrs later and the 41 achievements I did complete makes me want to go back on a harder setting and get the the dual ending and the other 9 achievements.
You play a un-named character that crash lands in the middle of the sea and you swim to your game area in this FPS - Rapture - an under watercity built in the 50's to bring the best and the brightest to expand and develop mankind.
That was the Fifties and all was good..well all good has now turned in frankly pear shaped. The residents have turned into splicers - killing flesh eatting misfits. You guided by a character known as Atlas and you must help him and work your way to safety. - Thats all i'm gonna tell you about the story but know this its got a view twists and all is not what it seems.
You have various guns to upgrade and magic Vial's to give you enhanced powers and skills to kill your foes. The foes are clever ... they hide and react like you want them to act - randomly and with malice! This isnt even going on about the star of the show the BIG DADDY this bad boy on the hardest setting will kill you with one punch- they are solid.

The graphics are simply stunning, the lighting and general over design is extremely well thought out and a joy to wonder.
A brilliant learning curve and easily upgradable weapons and powers makes this a nice easy game to grab and put down.
The mapping system and goals are displayed easily and can be well read quickly within the game menu.

But its the story and the eventual ending ( there are 2 depending on how you act) that keeps this going - you want to play it more to complete it, you want to know about the big daddies and little sisters. Its a frankly awesome game that no 360 owner should be without. Download the demo from live to see and if your still not sure rent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeper than Rapture, 2 Sep 2007
By 
C. Hill "triple_optics" (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock - Limited Edition [Tin Case] (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
OK, i've never bothered to express my opinions on a game before and i'll admit i'm no hardcore gamer, however i am an FPS junky! After all the anticipation and suspense before Bioshock's release, im so glad it was WORTH EVERY DELAY!!! Im not concerned with all the discussion about pigeon-holing this game to FPS/RPG/RPS/FPRPG Etc... What i am concerned with is how this game has come to be... i am absolutely astounded with the everything: The AI and its variations, the ENTIRE combat system (Worth buying for alone!), lighting FX, SFX, maticulous Art Deco theme, level design and structure, immersive 'submerged' storyline... I can't fault anything in this game... If it was edible, even Gordon Ramsey would be lost for words - well expect maybe one :D #$*%!

Although the entire game shines like gold, in particular, the life of this game is maintained not just by the innovating style of gameplay, but more the most original story concept i've EVER witnessed! It has everything... Mystery, horror, suspense, caution, power, corruption, greed, mutiny, deceit, decay, revelation, tribulation, with twists and turns that'll keep you on your toes (or fingertips!)

Im currently on my second playthrough and it still freaks me out! I've read a few reviews of this game, its good to know some people have the intellect to methodically break this game down to describe and justify every element that makes this game just so bloody successful and pleasing to play! im almost too satisfied!

If you've got an xbox 360, then i would consider it a sin to not own this game! My sympathy goes out to the rival game developer's who now have to live up to the bar of pressure Bioshock has just applied to the industry :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best fps in a long time...sucks you in and doesn't let go!, 5 Sep 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock - Limited Edition [Tin Case] (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
OK i completed this game the other night, I took my time and didnt run through it as others idiots do with their games as thats just a waste of money and I do not waste my gameing experiences...I lap them up with enthusiasum. I took in the sites....explored my surroundings and can tell you that if played in this way bioschock rocks. I love games that give you choice and that is where bioshock works whilst still remaining a fast paced shooter that gets the adrenaline pumping. Deus ex is the nearest game to compare it too as someone has already mentioned but what he fails to understand is that for all its choice deus ex was so very slow and the action was a bit rubbish. Also cyber punk storylines have been done to death whereas underwater utopias have not.Bioschock is a resource fps that makes you think but manages to keep you running around blasting, using special powers, hacking and generally loosing endless hours in the fabulous world of Raptures under water city. I kid you not the environment is like nothing you have seen before and is very eye pleasing. You will be sucked in immediatly choosing what special powers to kit yourself out with and what weopons to upgrade as you dont have enough room for them all. Will you be a mean wrench weilding close combat ice throwing fire starter or a machingun mad trap laying trickster? Tailor the powers to fit your game and who you are. This game has got it all. Not since the origional half life has a story been so good and not since Deus Ex and System Shock with its upgrades and resource management has a game grabbed the gamer and said "you choose how your character develops!". Play it again and the experience will be different from the first. Buy this now if you don't own it or I'll splice your ass. Oh and to the pleb that said it doesnt have shadows...look again. Buy this and take your time with it. And to the other chap that waffled on about it being a city under the sea and not some type of space station which is more believable...have you missed the point altogeather and over dosed on plasmids. It works because its science fiction...its different from reality. Stick to the sims if you want realism like mowing the lawn (Yawn!)and leave the gameing to someone thats been doing it longer and better than you. Ta ta for now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bioshock - Limited Edition [Tin Case] (Xbox 360)
Bioshock - Limited Edition [Tin Case] (Xbox 360) by Take 2 Interactive (Xbox 360)
Used & New from: £4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews