Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent non linear game
This game is a change from most movie based games in that it actually stands on it's own merits.

The mission based section of the game has you doing jobs that actually appear in the movie (assasinating Paulie & Mob bosses)

However there is a whole section of other "jobs" to be done the main bulk of which is extorting money from businesses...
Published on 9 April 2008 by Mr. Terence Jones

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars One for the Fans
This game is defiantly one for the fans, I was impressed how each event in the film your character was molded into. With good shoot outs and brutal executions fighting was fun. Designing your character and choosing what your wear also gave the game an edge when being involved with the cut scenes.

Having said that in some elements the game felt rushed, if you...
Published 7 months ago by Joe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent non linear game, 9 April 2008
By 
Mr. Terence Jones "terencej72" (Glasgow, Scotland, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is a change from most movie based games in that it actually stands on it's own merits.

The mission based section of the game has you doing jobs that actually appear in the movie (assasinating Paulie & Mob bosses)

However there is a whole section of other "jobs" to be done the main bulk of which is extorting money from businesses.

IMHO i would seek to do some missions then extort some businesses to start bringing in money for yourself (which you'll need for weapon upgrades). Stay clear of attempting to take over rival families warehouses & compounds though as the crew you can hire only becomes effective once you have gained a high enough rank and have nearly completed the mission part of the game.

You'll then find the game more enjoyable and less frustrating as some of the enemies are inteligent (ducking behind walls and shooting you).

There is enough variety beyond the normal Linear type games and you can explore the city to your hearts content taking other missions (either hits or favours)

This is actually a really enjoyable game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, worth the wait., 25 Sept. 2006
By 
Mr. R. Taylor "robfosters" (Welling, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The 360 version has been a long time coming, but it's been worth the wait.

Being a big fan of the film, it's amazing how much fun you get out of recreating the famous scenes such as the restaurant cop shooting and the infamous horse's head scene. Gameplay is varied, the control system that allows you to punch, headbutt, slam against walls, over railings and a nice choice between garotting and strangling, is great. There is also an option of pressing RB at the right time for a mafia style execution.

Plenty of side missions allow you to not follow the game in a linear fashion. That's boring because once you've finished, you feel like you have missed out. No, after a story mission, you can go to the next mission or do a multitude of things such as favors, contract killings, business extortions and so on. One other option you can do following your original gangster design, is to get classier clothes and hire crew with the money you amass. He starts out quite boring, but quickly becomes quite dapper with his new clobber. Your mates are handy as well. Instead of you fighting, they will do the deed for you in most cases. The story in itself follows the film quite well and the fact that most of the actors in the original do the voiceovers gives it an even more authentic feel.

The only minus points are the graphics. At times they feel unfinished and all a bit samey. They are not quite up to 360 standard in my eyes. Still looks great in hi-def though.

All in all, great game and the minus points do nothing to detract from this. Finished it in about 30 hours of play time, so now....Godfather 2 please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Someday and that day may never come, 13 Oct. 2006
By 
Mr. A. J. Denby (Torquay) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
a game will truly live up to its hype. I love the Godfather films, i love reading mafia books, i love games but in this game there's just enough of a fault to stop this getting 5 stars.

There's nothing fundamentally wrong with the game and as the other reviews point out the game is very deep and there's an easy 24 hours or so to complete if you try and rush through. The recreated New York is massive and thats part of the problem especially in the early stages when you've not bought enough safehouses and have to drive around to be able to save. The sheer length of time i seem to have spent driving around started to get to me by the end. The other annoyances i had were with the targeting which i found a little imprecise/dim and your crew members you recruit as you grow in the ranks. You can only ever have one who is increasingly more powerful as your character grows but again not too bright and wont be guided or aggressive if your character's health is low. Not helpful when you start a mob war. End of the day these are relatively trivial issues though and Godfather is a fine game and worth waiting for on the 360.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid, fun game, 7 Feb. 2009
By 
Ms. B. Phelps - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Gameplay - 9/10 - The gunplay is well handled, the bare fist fighting even better. Driving is average however.

Story - 10/10 - EA did fantastically intertwining the story into the game. And, well, it's the godfather.

Graphics - 8/10 - Character models look nice, but feels quite porty.

Overall - 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad., 28 Jun. 2014
By 
S. J. Raw "Crash 999" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Godfather (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I originally played this on the first xbox. I thought it was a very good game as far as movie adaptations go. The 360 version had been out for ages but I never got around to trying it, then a few days ago I found it for under a tenner and thought 'what the hell'.
Okay; Firstly, having read reviews stating it was a polished version of the original, I expected some significant improvements. Exactly how these would manifest I had no idea. Perhaps some additional missions, or new weapons. The reality? Sod all. It does not feel one scrap different to the original xbox version. The graphics, when you compare them to games such as Skyrim etc... are about on par with playstation 2 quality games. Another godawful trait this game has is it's lack of brightness control. In many areas it is darker than hells shadows. It makes locating doors and moving around walled areas almost impossible in certain places.
So... Does all this mean you have a bad game for the xbox 360? Well... No. What you have is a cheap and fun 3rd person shooter. The missions are basic and nothing too tough. The fact that you get shot to ribbons on a regular basis will see controllers thrown in temper all too often. The controls are easy to get used to, and the overall concept is good.
EA Games could have done SOOOOOOOO much more with this game on the 360 version, and I can't help but feel they were a tad lazy with it, but if you want a few hours fun and guns for the same rice as a fish supper then you could do worse. I like this game as it roughly follows the movie story line, and let's you play either strategical, or all guns blazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars One for the Fans, 30 Sept. 2014
This review is from: The Godfather (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is defiantly one for the fans, I was impressed how each event in the film your character was molded into. With good shoot outs and brutal executions fighting was fun. Designing your character and choosing what your wear also gave the game an edge when being involved with the cut scenes.

Having said that in some elements the game felt rushed, if you were looking for a GTA game with a solid story line and great free roaming you may think to reconsider. The setting of New York didn't really set the the scene, not because of the graphics but the way you interacted with city. Games like GTA and more similar Mafia Two had the attention to detail which does does make a big difference. Don't expect all the characters from the film to be in the game or if they are their not in it for long. If you are looking for a Mafia style game, Mafia 1 or Two would be a better investment with the games roughly being the same price.

Overall if you are looking for a fun game with good shoot outs and a fan of The Godfather I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't forget the cannoli..., 6 Feb. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
In a list of the top ten games of all time, this would be up there.
Its obviously been made by people with enormous respect for the movie. All the characters are here, Micheal, Sonny, Fredo, Tom Hagen, Sollozzo, Tessio, McCluskey, Paulie and The Don, of course.
Contracts, fight clubs, banks to rob, safes to blow, cops to bribe, Barzini, Tattaglia, Cuneo, and the Stracci's. You even have Luca, showing you the ropes!

Replay value - 10. Go get the guide if you can. And all the extra DLC. An awesome game.

And yes! Peter Clemenza's wife DOES say it!

"Don't forget the cannoli". Just before you go and whack Paulie.

Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy boyfriend at Christmas, 28 Dec. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I brought this game for my boyfriend not knowing he used to play it on his playstation. He actually likes it better on the Xbox than he did on the playstation can't get him of the Xbox now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Godfather, 11 Oct. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The Godfather is definitely an underrated game. For it's time, it's one of the best. This game includes more missions and cutscenes than the original on the PS2. Fantastic fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Godfather (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
If you like shooting places up, taking control of businesses and making money with a cool store to boot then this is the game for you. love the mobster theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Godfather (Xbox 360)
The Godfather (Xbox 360) by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
£23.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews