Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars20
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 December 2006
I decided not to buy any of the previous Need for Speed games on the PSP, simply because they looked rubbish on the back of their box! But I thought I would risk it with this one, and I've been quite happy. Unlike other Need for Speed games, there are a great selection of 'beautiful' cars, unlike the usual 'pimp mobiles,' of which there still are a few for that kind of racer.

The visual is great. The frame rate keeps up to speed without any jolts, which is very handy when you're doing 200+mph down-town! The odd glitch appears where the road vanishes for a second, but this has only happened to me a few times, and I've finished the game.

The good: nice selection of cars. You can customise all your cars. The story line is quite good, and has an interesting suprise for you at the end. The controls are very good for a PSP racer, and it's just great!

Complaints are: it's too easy for keen racing gamers. Your crew members don't drive some of the real nice cars, and occasionally get in your way which is very frustrating.

Here is a list of the cars, for those interested:

Mazda Speed 3

Nissan 240 SX

Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IX

Chevrolet Cobalt SS

VW Golf GTI

Pontiac Solstice

Mitsubishi Eclipse GT

Pontiac Firebird

Toyota MR2

1967 Ford Mustang

Mazda RX-8

Toyota Supra

Audi TT 3.2 Quattro

Chrysler 300C SRT8

Pontiac GTO

Lotus Elise

Ford Mustang GT

Mazda RX-7

1999 Nissan Skyline R34 GTR

Subaru WRX STI

Nissan 350Z

Aston Martin DB9

Porsche 911 Carrera S

Mercedes-Benz SL65 AMG

Chevrolet Corvette Z06

Ford GT

Porsche Carrera GT

Lamborghini Gallardo

Lamborghini Murcielago

Happy racing!
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2011
i bought this game after reading the reviews from different websites and it seemed to be the better need for speed game. this is a great game and has many features. the problems with the game are that the steering is a bit odd although im comparing it to ps3. and the game is very easy.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2009
Taking the streets in a variety of souped-up dream cars, what's not to love?
Like to engage police units in a chase and watch as they get left in tatters in my wake. A bit like the chase scene from 'The Blues Brothers'.
Technically, I would prefer less collision detection, but in a racing game for a hand-held, it isn't too bad.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2007
this is the first need for speed game ive ever bought on any console. I dont normally buy racing games because i dont think they are all that fun but this oe was bril!
For a start the choice of cars is pretty good and the actual 'team' racing is so much fun.
I would reccomend this game to anyone as the graphics and sound are good for a psp game and it is just fun in general.

Although i do have one problem. There seems to be a glitch were the road dissappears for a couple of seconds but it doesnt happen very often.

Overall this is a great game. Well worth buying it!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2008
This is an excellent game for those who likes cars. Compared to the earlier versions of Need for Speed games, this one has better features. I've actually got this on the PS2 as well, and it's great. More, nicer, cars. Good graphics, also well-developed storyline. Plus, there are crew racings here, 3 styles, ur crew could help u win by either drafting, assasinating, or brawling, you'll know those 3 when u play the game. :D

So if ur a racing fan, get this fantastic game.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2006
Great game, I bought this for the online aspect at the same time as a mate and I have to say it is great fun. As it is EA you can use the same online account that you use for FIFA.

The single player mode is okay but what I have done so far seems a little easy. Online is the clincher for this game. I have never had so much fun on my own!

Buy It!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2007
This is the first car racing game I have bought for the PSP and I have to say that I have not been let down. It is simply awasome!

*Graphics are really good, though there is always room for improvement.

*Music is good. I was pleasently surprised to learn that you can even upload your own music tracks to listen while you play. Unfortunately, these dont work while you are driving around but nevertheless, a great inovation.

*There are plenty of cars to choose from as you advance through the game.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2010
1st off if you have driven nfs "street" race games on a console it is a bit of a dissapointment or if your a true gamer. You must consider it is on the PSP which as we know from previous games graphically poor. YET nfs carbon is one of the best. Great selection of cars. Police chases are very good, if you have the sound loud enough you can hear the police car radio so you know when a police car will pop up. The driving itself is very fun with the wide selection from old classics such as a 67 mustang to the more recent fast cars like the lambo gallardo, ford gt, porsche carrera gt. Some of the music on there is very good no matter what genre of music your into rock is there as is some rap etc. You get used to the controls really easily and car control is no problem after a few races or police chases. The storyline is good, the crewmen are a pro and a con in this game. They are very handy if your 2nd last lap and your car isnt up to scratch. However they have a slight (and it is slight) tendancy to get in the way).

To sum up it is a very fun game, it is by far not a short game, the graphics and sound is great. The road disappears for a brief second if it is longer press the start button and wait (be patient). On the off chance that you stray out of the orange boundry zones press the select button to place your car back on the road. IT IS VERY FUN DO NOT MISS OUT I HAVE COMPLETED IT MANY TIMES AND IM STILL NOT BORED OF IT.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
Item arrived in mint condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2007
NFS Carbon is i reckon the best racin' game on psp yet!! you can do:

Allsorts of customizations with your cars

listen to YOUR music in the menu

Take the journey in an adrenaline rushin' speedy races to find out who killed your bro

Play with other NFSC users! up to 4 players i think?

And much more!!....

I reckon this is the best NFS goin'!! This game is definetley worth the money!!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)